Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le 21ème 2 stars

21 rue du Fossé des Tanneurs, 67000 Strasbourg, France

#81 of 82 hotels in Strasbourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Good place for people rushing catch up their next destination by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet sliding door is dirty

    Location very near arc de triomphe, there is mcd in the corner, near other f&b, near shopping area. Not that far from gare du l'est train station (if people will continue their journey take train to strasbourg, colmar will definitely need to go gare du l'est metro station)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.3
    Strasbourg is prefect. Hotel is very bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very litle bedroom. Without restoran. For restoran person tell me,that I need goo in city. Price is very big and servis is 0.

    Hotel don't have restoran. That information is wrong.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Location is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House keeper didnt change the towel and didnt check the toilet paper.

    Location is really good. Staff is very kind. Room is little bit small, but enough for one person.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location but keep expectations low
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very basic and offered rather poor value for money at approx £120 per night.

    The staff were helpful in locating free car-parking. The location is very close to Petit-France (old town) and the Christmas markets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    The location was central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carparking across the street was good but expensive. But thst was the case of many hotels in Strasbourg.

    The location was central. Basic but clean and simple.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    3.8
    Awful stay, typical of overpriced Strasbourg hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelly ( like sewage from the bathroom). The wifi didn't work. The cleaner left my room unlocked all day until I came home and found it open! Told staff about above but they just said sorry in a manner that didn't imply sorry. The receptionist is never there and has a sign saying back in 5 minutes. Permanently. If you don't ring he won't come so don't have a sign saying you'll be right back. It's treating people like they're stupid.

    Location was central and by 3 team lines.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.0
    Cheap, but wished I had spent more for another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi sucked. TV was the size of a small PC monitor, and was mounted too high on the wall. Colors were distorted as a result. Bathroom was ridiculous. Smelled very musty.

    location was good. room was fairly quiet. bed was comfortable. price was decent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    4.2
    Run down - Bad service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a very run down place. I am in Strasbourg about once a month, and this is by far the worst place I have stayed. Service: I had originally reserved the place for three nights, but 3½ weeks out I had had to shorten my stay to 2 nights. Therefore I first phoned the place to change the reservation. I did that a couple of time, and was always told by the people in reception that they were unable to change it and to call back later. In the end I sent the hotel an email to change the reservation. This was two weeks before my arrival. When I arrived the first night the change had not been registered, so I asked the receptionist to make sure it was done. When I checked out two days later they looked surprised and told me that the money had been withdrawn on my card and that invoice was for three nights!! - He then invited me to call the hotel manager to sort it out. I called, and the lady would only speak French, which is why I ended up having to have a friend call on my behalf. The conclusion was - she was told - that since I had booked over Booking.com I could not change the reservation with the hotel! - They sure could have told me this from the very beginning!!! - Totally unacceptable. I am telling all colleagues from the European Parliament, who all travel to Strasbourg once a month, to stay way clear of this filthy scam. The internet didn't work.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.3
    When you only need a bed in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room I also requested a parking place and when we got there during a busy Christmas period and wasted our time in traffic jams and security checks, they informed that it is not possible to leave the car there. I would have expected them in these special circumstances to inform about this before hand. Otherwise, the rooms really need to be reniewed.

    The hotel is in a great location, you can heat your room yourself, quick and easy check in. So when you staying in Strasbourg only for a night or two, and cannot find anything relatively cheaper - go for it. :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    4.2
    Desperate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you book this hotel then be prepared to ‘rough it’. Of course it is only a 2 star establishment, so expectations should not be very high in the first place, but the room rate I paid was not exactly cheap. On the positive side, it does have a great location, but that is the best that can be said by way of recommendation. The hotel does not offer breakfast or any bar or cafe facilities, but there are many restaurants and bars nearby. The staff who tended the front desk (on an irregular basis) were pleasant and welcoming enough, but their English was extremely limited. Getting in and out of the building mostly meant keying in a code. My room? It was cramped with just enough space for a double bed. Heating came from an electric convector heater under the window that came without instructions and took a little time to understand how it worked. It was turned off when I arrived and the room was very cold. The bathroom stank of damp and decay. The taps gave off a distinct whiff of hydrogen sulphide when first opened. The linoleum around the grille in the bathroom floor (where the shower water drained away) sank under foot. In order to see in the mirror over the hand basin to shave, you had to stand with one foot either side of the drain. The shower gel provided by the hotel came in the form of a single small plastic sachet which was difficult to open and insufficient for a proper shower. A clear plastic beaker, the kind one uses for children’s parties, was provided for a toothbrush. In the sleeping area, the carpet needed a deep clean. The mattress was reasonable, but there was just a single thin pillow on the double bed. There was a small flat screen TV mounted on the wall but there were no English language channels (not even CNN nor BBC World nor Euronews).

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    5.4
    Dont go unless that's the last room available in town !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not good and only separated from toilets by a curtain ( same old floor) Bed and pillow very hard Curtains giving nightmares (very old fashion) No breakfast ok but not even tea or coffee facility in room

    Nothing except location is good very central

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice location for a modest price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit dirty and quite old (there was mold on the walls etc.)

    Nice location for a modest price! Room was cousy and We had a balcony for ourselves

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    4.2
    Seems like a hostel, not a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower. Only a drain on the bathroom. Didn't look like the pictures. Window was broken. Lock on door to the hall was broken. No A/C. Weird motion sensor lights in halls that didn't always turn on. Very scary. Staff didn't speak any English. Won't ever stay at a place like this again. Only reputable chains for me.

    Central location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    center location in Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    smoken smell at the beginning.

    parking just on the other side of the road, discount with the hotel 18euros per night (otherwise 44euros). center location but quiet during night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.3
    Central Basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Otherwise very Basic, need to refurnish as you could smell the old smell from the smoking era.

    Central location. Customer friendly receptionist and parking vis a vis with a discount card you get.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.6
    Very centeral but that's all
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms, unqualified personel

    Very centeral but that's all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.6
    I have stayed in this hotel and I hope it will be the last time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the bedroom. The smell from the drainage in the bathroom. Wifi didn't work

    The only thing to like was the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Too small bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    great! I like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little noise outside in the night, because it is in the city center

    good location, enough furniture, friendly receptionist

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Good location but expensive to park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little faded. No parking and the public parking, although local was expensive!

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful.Explain everything clearly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.4
    Location very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Help of receptionist towards an tourist, but understand language is a factor. My towel was wet when arrived at the room.

    Location very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Ideal, basic place in central Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't included and the restaurant area seemed to be closed.

    Location was excellent, easy to find.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Picked hotel as it had a bar/restaurant - this was actually shut "until further notice"

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location directly in the centre of Strasbourg.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    4.6
    Good location, in the middle between train station and city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hygiene is not on envious level. Staff doesn't speak any language except French, floor carpet is unclear and full of steams. Hotel doesn't provide you with free touristic maps.

    Good location, in the middle between train station and city centre. Easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    6.7
    The hotel is in a very convenient location, very close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom does not look quite like in the booking.com pictures

    The hotel is in a very convenient location, very close to the Little France district and the Homme de Ferre Tram station. Many amenities next doors. Personnel is friendly. The hotel is quiet. Internet connection is working fine. The price is ok for the quality. You hve facilities in the room, such as a fridge and a microwave, which can come handy, just in case.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is one of the major reasons that I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location of the hotel is one of the major reasons that I have chosen the place. If you are looking for a place to just sleep and shower in, then this is fine. Otherwise, you can find a more comfortable place somewhere else. The room is a bit wornout, the toilet and shower iutdated, heater is not too strong, cold comes through the window as well as the street noise. I guess you get what you pay for. but the bed was comfy and for a solo traveller, the room that was given me is decent sized.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We couldn't lock the door because it didn't work so everybody could enter in the room and when we notified this to the Ower he became mad and he was rude with us by not letting us leave our bagages in the hotel till our late departure.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.5
    Staff was very helpful, location couldn't be better -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom is really tiny, to the point that showering makes the entire floor wet. This is however just a small inconvenience.

    Staff was very helpful, location couldn't be better - right in the heart of Strasbourg.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.8
    Great location right in the downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little drafty

    Great location right in the downtown. The cheapest place available during the Christmas market. Quiet, comfortable, and clean enough for us!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    4.2
    The location of the hotel was perfect, easy to find and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The personal wasn't good, nor was the room it self. It was small and kinda dirty, the bed was to hard.

    The location of the hotel was perfect, easy to find and really close to the centrum.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception does not work over the night and early morning. There is no possibility to get/buy a glass of water, not to mention coffee or anything else that is a part of the basic hotel service. Tiny rooms. Pity as the location is perfect.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    5.0
    Well located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price was for the Christmas Market (ca 100 Euro) period but there was none (50-60 Euro out of this period). The WIFI connection was not working at all. Heating was too noisy. No telephone in the room.

    Well located

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.1
    Location is Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hot water in the shower was not always awailable. Few times I had to remind to bring 2nd towel :( Only 1-2 channels in English/German (rest is French which I could not understand).

    Location is Excellent! Multilingual reception!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    4.6
    Location was great, has elevator, sheets clean, only E190...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was tiny, bathroom smelly, pillows were small and flat. Room needs painting,

    Location was great, has elevator, sheets clean, only E190 for 2 nights which in Strasbourg was good.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    6.3
    Double room turned out to be 2 (very uncomfortable) single...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double room turned out to be 2 (very uncomfortable) single beds pushed together. On check-out we discovered my card had been charged without checking a payment preference which was a pain as we had set aside cash in euros to pay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.8
    Pretty good hotel just in centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pretty good hotel just in centre. Very nice and helpfull staff. Even it is older hotel and I stayed in modest room, it is very cllean. And it is situated in a great place - quite, but in the center, just next to Kleber. I like it ;)

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.3
    The best part about the Hotel is its proximity to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We would have preferred it to be a more well maintained, and cleanly kept, we witnessed, broken Locks on the doors, and experienced, torn curtains and the Baby Crib was also broken Didn't bother a lot since we were there for just 1 night , but would have made it much more convenient.

    The best part about the Hotel is its proximity to the wonderful Petit France area - which is just a stone throw distance and of course its very reasonably priced considering the location.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.4
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problem with keys, and first we got the keys of a wrong (in-use) room. Shower is just a showerhead and curtain in the bathroom. As well bedroom as bathroom could be more hygienic (crumbling paint, dirty spots on carpet etc...)

    Excellent location. Cheap. Underground parking with reduction of the hotel across the street.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    5.8
    Great location and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection was good, but it was so slow that it was useless, even for just downloading emails. Worst of all, in a week of 35+ temperatures, not only no air conditioning, but not even a fan!

    Great location and clean

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    4.2
    location
    • Couple

    Even though the location was great, I will not visit this hotel again. They were not nice. I asked if I can use rest room when I arrived at 1PM, and they resolutely refused to use a rest room in the hotel.

    location

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    4.2
    The only good thing about the place is its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although pre-booked for a late arrival we waited 20 mins on the pavement for the (non-English speaking) receptionist to let us in. The shower room was filthy and smelled very bad. No hairdryer until we asked for it. No TV controller - we could no be bothered to ask by then. No evidence of any multi-lingual ability by any of the receptionists and very little friendliness. Although relatively cheap, I would rather pay a little more and go somewhere civilized next time. Return here? Never!

    The only good thing about the place is its location. Very close to L'homme de Fer and trams and thus to all Strasbourg

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    6.3
    Nice location, just in the city center and clove to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really small room with no hair dryer and strange shower with bad smell but so cheap that one can beat it

    Nice location, just in the city center and clove to the main station, the stuff is friendly and nice

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    6.7
    Very close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were very small. Photos on the booking.com does not match the real toilets.

    Very close to the city centre. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    4.6
    Despite location, you can find really better hotel for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality/price is absurd.

    Despite location, you can find really better hotel for the same price. Only if you don t have a choice!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    6.3
    Dirty toilet bowl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty toilet bowl

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't much facility in the room. Bath was weak, there was no hair dryer.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    6.7
    Location is so good and cost is low.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is getting rather worn and needs some work. But the price is good, you get what you pay for.

    Location is so good and cost is low.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.5
    Location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows

    Location!!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    smelly bathroom

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.2
    Great location, close to railway station and literally in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wireless internet is really poor

    Great location, close to railway station and literally in the city center.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    5.4
    Frendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel needs a good renovation.

    Frendly staff. Hotel is in the center of the city. Good oportunities for public transport.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.2
    Personal perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal perfect

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small elevator

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    4.2
    Location
    • Family with older children

    No wi-fi Uncleaness Unkindness of staff

    Location

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: