Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Amethyste by Popinns 2 stars

2 Rue Des Bains, 35800 Dinard, France

#31 of 38 hotels in Dinard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was basic with no convenient sockets for charging phones etc. The bed was very firm. Bathroom outdated.

    The location was good and staff very helpful with good English spoken. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small compared to what we see in pictures. Duplex had some smell which was gone after opening the window for some time.

    The host was very friendly and the location is very near to beach. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we had was very small, awkward a bit but clean. Second one much better.

    The staff was the best part...very helpful, accommodating and friendly. Tryed with me in English because I do not speak French. Breakfast was fine. Rooms were clean. Location great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection poor, ran out of a few items quickly (basic, non-perishable items)...with no replenishment possible. Bed uncomfortable and hotel noisy, can easily hear between rooms, noise from corridors, toilets flushing, showers running etc. whilst I knew the hotel had a low star rating, (and we did not have expectations of 5-star facilities for 2-star prices) we were still overall generally disappointed in the hotel. Shame as it could be very good with many of our criticisms easily rectified.

    Reception staff very helpful and gave us very good advice on local transport options regarding bus to Dinnan and boat options to St Malo along with some great recommendations for eating in the town. Location of hotel is excellent, 2 minutes to a good nearby beach and about 15 mins to town, both on foot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm at 7 am, because someone burned his breakfast,

    Helpful crew, close to the sea, plenty bakeries and restaurants around, nice area, but still not far from the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head had to be held in your hand as it pointed the wrong way.

    The staff here are extremely welcoming and helpful. It’s in a great location, near enough to Dinard to walk in, but much more peaceful. The beach is a very short walk away, there’s a little park to walk your dog in, & nearby places to eat. We enjoyed the breakfast & it was very good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom space was too small, and the room was in need of some TLC. The breakfast room was far too small for the size of the hotel.

    Location was very good and within easy reach of the beach and several good restaurants The staff were all excellent and very friendly..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The generater from the shop next door woke me up during the night.I was expecting satellite TV but only french TV was available.British customers might want English TV.

    The receptionist was very very nice and helpful.She lent me her phone charger for 2 days because mine was broken.Her name is Dany.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and approachable. The room was adequate for the one night we stayed. We could put our cycles in a first floor room, getting them up the stairs was interesting. We did feel it was expensive, but this was Dinard on a bank holiday weekend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very small and cramped. We managed to park a few minutes away but street parking was in high demand so it's not guaranteed you'll get a place very close to the hotel.

    The location is excellent. Maybe only 200 metres from a lovely beach and with five places to eat less than one minute's walk from the hotel door. The manager was very friendly and spoke good English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for beach and a short walk to the centre. Perfect for our needs. Lovely breakfast first morning. Then we cooked. Little shop around the corner. Fantastic restaurants eat in both. Beach is amazing you can hire all boats and safe to swim.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in serious need of renovation. Shower head was broken so you could only use the hanging hand wand, sink didn't drain well making it difficult to wash your face or brush your teeth, no A/C, stairs were a bit treacherous, bright hall light outside room made it hard to sleep. I asked about changing to a more recently renovated room, and pointed to the photo they use in their own advertisements, but was told that "that room" was already booked. Seems like most of the rooms on offer were like ours- old, a little crusty. But location was great!

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very basic hotel. I was there to attend the show jumping competition nearby. Old hotel very creaky and you can hear other people talking in the next rooms and every creak in the walls and floors and staircase. When another room flushes the loo or put on the shower it is very loud. After a miserable first night I got another room higher up which was a bit better, then woken up again around 3am by loud singing after the nightclubs kicked out! In all don't expect a good night's sleep from this hotel! ps. the party that I was meeting at the show had better nights sleep in tents!

    Staff were pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and continental breakfast. It is worth pre-booking a taxi to and from the airport, as public transport is not very regular or convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms both showers we couldn't t regulate the temperature and room no. 22 the ensuite was just too small the bar staff were very noisy after hours outside then putting chairs away

    Staff very pleasant good location clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk to the main beach and shopping. The room was a bit stuffy, being summer and was very noisy with the window open.

    The staff were friendly, the bathroom was excellent and good location for the smaller beach. Parking nearby was free:)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scruffy hotel. Needs a good overhaul and updating. We booked a twin room in advance but when we checked in, we were shown to a Duplex room but could not believe our eyes. The lower floor had a tiny corner kitchenette and narrow seating area and shower room. Where was the twin bedroom? A vertical cut away ladder like stair some 12 feet in length, was the only way to the upstairs bedroom. Now we are a couple of active and agile 65 year olds but no way were we going to accept this. Not only was the loo downstairs (imagine descending the ladder in the night!! ) but what if we had been up in the bedroom and a fire broke out!! We would never get down that ladder fast enough for safety. In fairness to the staff, they listened to my complaint and swopped us into a proper twin bedroom in the main hotel. I pity the poor couple who then were going to be checking in later and finding they had the Duplex. Definately never going back there.

    Just out of the main Dinard beach/shopping areas but only 5 minutes walk away. The location was in a lovely 'square' with a lively atmosphere and restaurant and creperie across the road.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are rather small. There is no windows or ventilation in the bathroom.

    Good bed and location is great! Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very noisy and I could hear all my direct neighbors conversation and more. The room was damp and needs to be redone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby. Really nauseating smell of sewage from the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A worn out hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection could be a bit better.

    Breakfast was very nice in small room, lots of croissant and pain au chocolat!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See comments above

    See comments above

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a tad expensive

    Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, good location !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration was a bit scruffy in places and bathroom basic but everything else balanced that out.

    Bed was very comfortable. Staff super helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needed a bit of tidying up in the way of a coat of paint inside and outside

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to park nearby

    Did not try the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking

    Staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Proximity to good restaurants and the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Container for water at breakfast was only warm, not hot.

    Lovely little village. Very helpful staff. Impressed with window blind.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better value elsewhere

    Very clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection basic

    Excellent food and polite staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel fixtures, decoration and common areas could do with refurbishment but kept clean.

    Excellent location-nice area-village square and close to beach. Friendly helpful staff (even when the attached grocery caught light and the fire engines arrived)!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Taxi taxi taxi .... Rubbish at the airport there just not there for you please pre book ......I called this hotel and thankfully they sent me a taxi straight away ...again thanks to Danny

    My friend and I had a very pleasant three nights at this hotel ..Danny was wonderful and helped us out several times re places to visit and eat .. She spoke English very well and was very kind

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds were dreadful, really really hard, we didn't get a decent nights rest for the entire stay.

    Great location and the staff were really lovely and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I think if you are travelling with very small children then the stars up to the bedroom area are too steep.

    Brilliant location, near the beach in a very pretty suburb of Dinard. Everything was comfortable and clean with self catering facilities which would save you a lot if you were travelling with a family. Not a lot of facilities in the hotel but you know that as it is a 2 star.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5 euros a beer from the hotel bar - but it was completely worth it!!! :-)

    Everything was fine... not directly downtown but about 5 minutes walk and free parking (or almost free) in front of the hotel...

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No in room WiFi. WiFi only available in reception. This was also very poor - it took over 2 hours to book our next night's stay. Street parking only - you need to be there early to get a spot nearby.

    Not much - breakfast was okay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could off been a bit better

    Clean and good location

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very tired accomodation

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neant

    La situation geographique

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1980,s

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too much noise - near staircase. Overpriced.

    Near sea.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor a bit dated.

    Location,friendly staff and large bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No

    The studio provided a comfortable location to visit the beach and nearby Dinard and Dinan

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our room didn't have curtains.

    The staff were very helpful - they ordered us a taxi from the airport.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: