Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Angers Centre 4 stars

1 Place Mendès France, 49100 Angers, France

#12 of 27 hotels in Angers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar. When we arrived after a long drive it would have been nice to sit in the bar and have a drink, but the bar wasn't open...all weekend, neither was the restaurant. It is a lovely restaurant with a great view of the park, so such a shame it's closed at weekends. We were given a disabled room on the 2nd floor, no idea why as neither of us are disabled. The room was tired. The bath was the narrowest bath I've ever seen, really difficult to get in and out of comfortably with all the handrails for disabled people. Will use a different hotel next time we stay.

    The location was great, just a few minutes walk into town. Breakfast was okay but limited. Like the coffee making machine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good central location. We were passing by so had an overnight stay. Food in restaurant was good. Service good throughout and convenient parking. Comfortable room. Easy walk into centre. Irish bar across the road but not good beer and very overpriced but other good local bars nearby and for a unique experience could try La Chapelle night club which is a converted church although again prices are expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very good hotel easily found with good secure parking. nice big room with tea/coffee maker and comfy bed. Restaurant not open(Sunday), but receptionist recommended a really good restaurant just 5 minute walk away. good choice at breakfast served in restaurant overlooking lovely park. Hotel just 10-15 minutes from town centre and chateau,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well placed for the centre which is a short walk away. It is on the edge of a pleasant park and there is underground secure parking. The beds are comfortable and the facilities are as expected in a Mercure, albeit that externally it is a little tired. The decor internally is quirky . We ate dinner there which was reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Sofa Garden Side (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite good views over botanic gardens the hotel restaurant was uninspired. Definitely the worst (over-priced and tasteles) meal we have had in our twenty years of visiting France. Shame because we have eaten in Mercure restaurants before and been pleased.

    Friendly welcoming host on duty at reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the evening restaurant was closed the 2 nights we were there.

    Ideal location for visiting the town and exploring. Good secure parking for our motorcycles. Located next to the botanical gardens which were excellent for an evening stroll. Great breakfasts with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Calling it Angers Centre is very misleading. It is along way from the historic town centre: 'Centre' refers to the attached conference centre! Poor that the bar and restaurant are closed on Saturday evenings.

    Pleasant room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    When we arrived we were extremely tired as our flight from NZ was over 24 hours plus the train trip from Paris. It was lovely to be greeted by friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with 1 Double Bed Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The underground parking is expensive as On street parking is free after 19:00 and before 09:00!

    Privilege room was large and spacious. Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Sofa Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was well below the standard we had expected. One of the lights and the television did not work although we only found out about the T.V the morning we were leaving. the air con hardly worked, the tea and coffee facilities had only coffee and coffee cream with PAPER cups and the walls looked too much like Ibis rooms to make you think you were anywhere else. Booking in if you are a car drives near on impossible, in England I stay in better equiped rooms with decent tea and coffee equipment including a coffee machine for less than half the price.

    The public areas were well presented

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the decor needs updating

    Easy access by car Secure underground parking Quiet rooms Comfortable beds Breakfast choices - pancakes especially good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed on Saturday night. We had trouble finding the hotel as our sat nav took us down a dead end then we spotted a Mercure but it turned out to be the wrong one!

    Nice room, comfortable bed, convenient location. Lovely city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with 1 Double Bed Garden Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is expensive in the underground car park

    City centre hotel and quiet if you select a room overlooking the gardens. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Just a short walk to the main square and restaurants. It's a typical Mercure. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    I Needed a toothbrush, I was directed to a vending machine in a deserted corridor which was empty anyway. Not enough milk for tea and coffee in the room. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the best location to the centre of old city.

    Private parking is an obvious advantage for travellers with private cars, considering that most other hotels do not offer any parking facilities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Sofa Garden Side (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    18 euros for breakfast is excessive. We walked across the street and had coffee and croissant for three for a total of 12 euros and sat in the sunshine!

    Good location, 5 min walk to old town. room fine for three adults, spacious parking, overall good value and would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for breakfast 10am..no scrambled eggs and told no more being made!Many other residence told the same!yet they kept replacing other items.Staff not interested.

    We had a quiet room over looking the gardens.Disappointed that the restaurant closed on Saturday.We are staying in the Mecure Nantes 9th July..hope better than Angers!! See comment 😟

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive at €17.90, there is only so much one can eat. It would be fairer to charge less for a coffee and croissant. We would not eat breakfast in a Mercure hotel again.

    Good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with 1 Double Bed Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations until 2019 and loud construction noise at 6:30 outside my window

    Comfortable bed and nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some renovation work going on. But that is very temporary only.

    Location and cleanliness. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Sofa Garden Side (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was little to small but lovely

    We only had breakfast at hotel we eat out most nights very nice and would defo return to hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Sofa Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellente situation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel policy to pre-authorize an amount greater than necessary, for accomodation and possible other services,is not correct.

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment very poor, owners very nice but very pokey accommodation

    Area was fabulous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning the floor and table laying during our dinner.

    The safe parking and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious & comfortable. Facilities were good and staff were friendly & helpful. Town was within easy walking distance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Lovely hotel friendly staff locked garage small charge for this but worth it walk to town lovely comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for the lifts

    Large room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed on a Saturday night.clean

    Comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast Comfortable room Easy walk into old Angers

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My group got double charged for parking motorcycles.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room at a great rate. Lovely en suite wet room great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable Mercure as expected.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too expensive

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular

    Excellent staff Extremely helpful Parking was very easy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for twin room but hot double. Reception staff soon found us a lovely twin room! Very helpful!!!!

    Good place for our purpose

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the secure car parking with entry directly into the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We expected it to be in the city centre which it was not

    The staff, the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find from the street address given

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault this hotel

    Great location just a short walk from the centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little old. Needs a facelift Air conditioning is not good

    Location is great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost its to high for a Sunday with very little facilities

    Central to the town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Generösa rum. Bra location. Bra och prisvärd parkering.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Sofa Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking, views from our room were obscured due to the height of the trees so the room was dark.

    The location, and room layout.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noisy guests in room next door.

    Nice location overlooking botanical gardens with secure parking in underground car park. Friendly staff always smiling.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    outdated, older Mercure, bed has also seen better days before, breakfast too expensive for the offer,

    rooms big enough, clean, bathroom too, restaurant service was good, food acceptable

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not appropriate.

    Breakfast was excellent, rooms were clean and modern and most importantly the staff were friendly, helpful and made a real effort to make sure the stay was enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking was from an era when cars were smaller and narrower. Good job we don't drive a Rolls!

    The eggs were indeed extra fluffy. In fact, the buffet breakfast was very good. Despite the initial impression of the building, with its1960's /70's architecture, the room was modern and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I was very picky, I thought the bed was hard. But that's personal preference.

    Clean hotel, nice room, secure underground parking and only short walk into centre. Must of had a recent refurb as it's quite new inside.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not realise that the 8e breakfast had to be obtained from the bar. So had to pay full price for just coffee and croissant. did tell reception but they could not make the price adjustmentI

    the park next to the hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is next door to the Congress Center and so is a business hotel. Also it's located way out of town and very inconvenient for us as tourists. The description" Central " is deceiving so visiting sights means 20 minutes walk each time as public transport is miles away.

    The room is comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Paying for overnight parking - the outside of hotel looked a tatty located next to conference centre

    Friendly staff - good dinner - good view from restaurant

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds could do with an update and the family room was rather cramped.

    Great city centre location with beautiful park to rear of hotel. Car park ideally situated for both park and hotel - underground.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is good but expensive. Shower needed some cleaning (stone) before it functioned properly.

    Room was very comfortable - spacious and properly equipped, including a coffee machine. The location is very good: 5-10 min walking to the center, but very quiet. Breakfast is very good. Excellent parking in the basement.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just the pain with the lifts (there are two different ones to access hotel/parking), but very minor thing, otherwise nothing.

    Breakfast was amazing The staff were very helpful Room big enough for a couple with a young child Clean, comfortable, easy to park and a good nights sleep - lovely park to the rear also.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - the 'centre' in the name refers to conference centre. The hotel is surrounded by the administrative and business area at least 30 min walk from the historic part of the town.

    Free and unasked for upgrade.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a Mercure closer to downtown, which was what we were looking for, but the location was still okay if you are willing to walk 10-15 to the center of town.

    Rooms were nice, spacious and clean, staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is about20 mi Utes walk from the city centre. There are not many good restaurants close by.

    The room was comfortable and a good size. The staff were very helpful. Parking under the hotel was good because parking can be difficult in Angers.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good 15-20 minutes walk from the city centre. Very noisy traffic till 3am... Market setting up from 4.30am. If the air con had of been better wouldn't have need windows open

    Exceptionally clean- very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A C filter fell off in the bathroom fell off about 2 am in the morning.

    Hotel situated next to the Botanical Gardens and reasonable clues to the Chateau etc.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived Saturday afternoon, we checked in and were told that neither the bar nor the Restaurant would be Open that evening. A bit strange we though as the Hotel was quite busy.

    The location is fabulous, just a short walk to the City Centre and the lovely gardens. Hotel was clean, we had a Superior room but that was very small and had a small window over the Gardens.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Verouderd,is aan renovatie toe !

    Enige pluspunt is ligging

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having to pay € 10 per day for the privilege to use the car park.

    Continental breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having stayed at the Mercure on several occasions we like the location, large double room and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A swimming pool would have made it perfect

    room was very clean, bed comfortable, staff pleasant, underground secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    n/a

    Great staff, excellent location for angers sightseeing and good rooms. phenonamal value for money

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Couple

    Excellent position, very short walk to the main shopping centre.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good for exploring Angers good secure car park

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amenities location secure parking

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good hotel to rest in on a long journey to Spain.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food should be improved.

    Good facilities and location next to park.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTHINGa GOOD QUALITY HOTEL

    THIS HOTEL WAS IN AGOOD POSITION FOR THE TOWN CENTRE HAD GOOD SAFE PARKING AND WE WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    great location. great staff great room

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: