Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anne de Bretagne

10/11 rue St Thomas, Intra Muros, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#68 of 69 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1456 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    3.8
    Room very small, very tired and tatty decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, very tired and tatty decoration. Ensuite so small that you could not use shower, which was filthy and rusty, and toilet while the door to the bedroom was closed!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Never again!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy, we didn't complain because the poor young man on reception was working alone and quite frankly I doubt he has anytime to inspect the rooms and man the reception. I suggest that they take there covers to a laundry service or better still they buy new ones because they are well past being suitable for a customer to be expected to have paid the night to sleep under. Our window in the room did not close properly and the same problem with shower door. There were cigarette butts on window ledge which is surprising as it's a non smoking hotel. We found rubbish under beds which makes it quite clear that they do not Hoover properly if at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Room tired but comfortable breakfast very good for price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location but very noisy late into night from drinkers and then street cleaning vehicles on cobblestone and empty streets echoing

    Room tired but comfortable breakfast very good for price very reasonable room rates pleasant receptionist

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.0
    Staff were extremely helpful and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As per previous comments we were clearly paying for the location in the centre of the intra muros. But be warned we have a VW campervan and the parking was difficult and sparse (ok if you are under height restriction). Parking in the centre is confusing with regards to accessibility and charges, thought at one point needed to pay £45 euros for one night but if you leave before 9,30 am only 4E so good for early ferry. Room was large but sparse and broken mirror taped with electrical tape didn't help especially with young children. Bathroom had seen better days. Also main delivery area outside hotel so be prepared for 5am noise. Apart from that great location!

    Staff were extremely helpful and polite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Really love the great location within the walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really love the great location within the walls. Love the room with a balcony and a city view. Please checkout my youtube channel for my vlog about my stay in St Malo 😊 just search Gail Talks / gail agbayani .on youtube . Thank you!!😘

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Location and friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had several rooms booked for our cycling group - some were more updated than others. Ours had shower attachment on bath tap with no wall holder or shower screen. Generally the hotel is a bit worn looking all round, but clean and tidy.

    Location and friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Central position and secure lock-up for bicycles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The annexe, opposite the hotel where we were put is badly in need of redecoration. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice. Charges for leaving bicycles in garage and added tax.

    Central position and secure lock-up for bicycles

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    one of the most beautiful cities I have ever been too. would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reviews say about bed bugs. I only read this as we were nearly there which then put us on edge. I checked the bed and mattress and couldn't find anything however it didn't help us to relax when it came to bed time. Decor is outdated but not that bad.

    The location is perfect. Lovely building. The breakfast was also very nice continental style. Excellent coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is out dated, the rooms are horrendous. The beds are uncomfortable there are marks all over the walls and floor and the bathroom is awful. There is no plug in the bath so you can’t have a bath! There is a shower head but nothing to hang it on and no shower curtain. The breakfast cost €8 and consisted of a few coissants (they ran out) some toast and that’s about it. I’m sorry I really can’t say anything positive apart from the location. In fairness it was cheap and you get what you pay for but this was beyond that!!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    A great value comfortable stay inside the beautiful walled town of Saint Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a pity that the Lift is too small to fit a Baby Buggy, and being British it would have been a bonus if there were Tea Making facilities. But overall a great place for the money that I can't complain about.

    Comfortable Family room with lots of space for a family of 5, in a great central location within the walls. Just minutes away from shops and Restaurants, and the walls around the town. Convenient local parking just 3 minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value intra muros
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault but there was quite a lot of street noise we could hear. We had the windows open because of the heat and it ws mid August.

    Very good value. Very near lots of restaurants and Porte St Vincent underground parking. Good bakery nearby for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tables were not cleared very quickly when people finished breakfast to free up them for next guests. Had to request plates and milk for cereals. Had to bang on desk twice to get a receptionist to attend to us. Was put in annex on third floor which had no lift for two friends with walking difficulties.

    Good central location. Croissants and bread for breakfast very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    A lovely little 2 star Hotel in the centre of the old walled Town of St Malo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was too small to fit my friend's Buggy.

    Fantastic location within the walled town of Saint Malo. Friendly staff, good wifi access, even on the 2nd floor. If you brave driving into the narrow streets of the walled town, there is paid parking 3 minutes walk away (and it is free at night between 8pm and 9am!).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything 😀😀😘
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly, the town it was busy and a live ,we have visited the market and the Carrefour ,fantastic. The hotel it was close of everything. Great price 👍

    Everything 😀😀😘

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because location is soo good you do get the noise at night, but we got used to it !No air con so if very hot use wet towels to keep cool!! No kettle/tea making in room and no fridge but guess that's why it is so cheap !

    Location is great. Cheap price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.0
    Great location in the old town close to the wall and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite hard for the taxi to find as the streets are so narrow and one-way. Our room had a very sloping floor but they happily swapped us to another room.

    Great location in the old town close to the wall and the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value, superb location and easily accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to put shower gel when showering without having to bend down to reach it. A minor thing in the big scheme of things but a little holder/shelf would be useful!

    Comfy beds, clean facilities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    I would stay here again but maybe in a more expensive room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was tiny and the shower curtain was mouldy. We could hear the next room.

    The staff were very helpful, the room was small and dated but clean. The shower worked well with plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Basic but central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning Very noisy with windows open. Constant noise outside all night making it difficult to sleep No facilities to make a drink Shower broken Bathroom needed a good clean

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location, very basic hotel, internet not so good, lovely staff, location excellent,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loads of ants in the room, had to ask for restock of toiletries, no tea/coffee in room, bathroom tiny, had to climb over toilet to get to shower!

    Friendly staff, open windows, central location, and reception open 24/7

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.0
    I was out most of the time and avoided being in hotel other than to try to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual room felt wonky and floor tilted and so creaky. I felt anxious like I'd fall through the ceiling. No soundproofing. Could hear someone snoring next door and people staying above having a wee in the night. Wi-Fi barely reached 3rd floor and was intermitant to non existent.

    The location only

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location in a very Nice city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been wider and mattress more soft, comfortable. But room is not big enough to increase the size.

    Excellent location in a very Nice city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was limited. Basic and no coffee tea etc on rooms

    Spacious, clean bathroom and location. Parts of the hotel looked tired but on the whole good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.8
    Shocking and run down hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We played musical rooms for over 90 mins due to broken showers in rooms 121, 221 & 126, eventually was given two rooms 225 & 226. Internet across road was impossible to connect to. On arrival told I had no parking space and told ticket needed to be up to 7pm. Then once I had parked the car and paid 20 euro was told I had a space for 15! Next morning I had a fine on my car 45 euro for not paying until 8pm.

    After much discussion the hotel deducted the fine from the bill.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Location was excellent within the town walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel very tired, needs refurbishment, our room was on 4th floor steep steps and damp in corner. Very noisy. We were advised in advance that we could store bikes in their garage, but on arrival told we had to pay for it.

    Location was excellent within the town walls. Strong water pressure in shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Would advise people to avoid this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness was non existant. Skirting boards missing, Filthy and sticky carpets. Old and tired fittings.

    Probably the WORST hotel experience of my life. The bathroom was a disgrace, shower filthy, toilet did not flush. Booked 2 rooms both were as bad as each other. Avoid at all costs!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot outside so kept window open-some inebriated local shouting off for hours in small hours-not the hotels fault but sound echoes off the walls of the streets . should have been rounded up by gendarmerie.

    Location inside town walls great. Close to port. Easy access to bars etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic. Day staff were friendly but night staff were zero help - even after they double booked someone into our room and had a stranger open the door at midnight, reception did nothing for us!

    Location is good and breakfast is worth it for the extra convenience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place was a little run down. The central heating was on full and we could not turn it down The staff were unable to do anything about it and said we'd be glad of the heat later as a cold night was forecast. We either had to leave the windows wide open and be kept awake by the street or suffer the heat.

    Comfy bed and central location, Very pleasant reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    There was no hot water in the morning either from the basin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in the morning either from the basin tap or shower, both were completely cold although we ran the tap/shower for a period of time. We also did not get our booked wake up call which would have been a problem if our boat was departing early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, wonderful staff and nice breakfast in historic St Malo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were hoping to have a refrigerator in the room since we have small kids. No way for us to store some foods. Also, there was no coffee/tea in room.

    Excellent location in historic St Malo! Lots of restaurants and grocery store within minutes from door. Parking was available with hotel very close to room - that made arriving via rental car easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    OK for one night, very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffee was not good

    Good selection of pastries, yogurth and cereals for breakfast. Hotel needs refurbishment but is ok to stay for a night. There is no wifi, just two very old looking computers in the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.8
    Very poor quality rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were nothing like what was displayed when making the booking. The room was more like a refuge/ makeshift overnight accommodation. Very small, décor was in desperate need of repair throughout the room and bathroom. Bathroom tiles were painted? The bedspread had not been cleaned, under the bed was presumably the last residents cosmetic etc. The room was just appalling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Fine for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, very old, tiny bathroom

    Centre of st. Malo within the castle grounds so a nice walk to shops and restaurants. Also close to Ferry terminal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    They could do everything so much better .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality all round . Noisy . Rubbish service and breakfast. No internet . No staff . Not good at all . Very rare for me to be negative but this place needs to get its act together off season or not .

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    I have stayed at this place a few times and they are always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at this place a few times and they are always very helpful. I’ve made mistakes with bookings in the past and they have always helped me change things around unlike most other hotels in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Was a nice hotel but wasn’t the Anne de Bretagne as that was closed. We were sent to the Hotel de la
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast.

    Nice breakfast, not enough time to make the most of it. Was a very expensive extra, thought it was €8 each but turned out to be €12 each way too expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    2.5
    I can’t rate “Anne de Bretagne” because we didn’t stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can’t rate “Anne de Bretagne” because we didn’t stay there. “Anne de Bretagne” was closed. Our reservation was transferred to “Hôtel de la Cité”, which was excellent. Lovely room, great shower. I can wholly recommend “Hôtel de la Cité”, but that wasn’t the hotel I was asked to rate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy

    Liked the location. But being so central meant there was noise late at night. Secure bike parking for our cycles was essential and was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    Our worst hotel in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staircases don't have even rails. No soap in the room - you should ask in advance or go back to the reception (4 stores in our case) to collect it.

    Location and staff on the reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing to say the least
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar as advertised poor service

    Not a lot, the hotel directly opposite was also Anne de bretagne and appeared a much better hotel and I would suggest that the images on the net are very miss leading

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Cyclists stay away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged 3 euros per bike per night. First time anywhere in Europe in over 30 years charged for bikes. Annexe musty; door lock failed and had to change rooms.Central location meant noisy at night.

    Reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location for a brief visit to St Malo and an early morning start to the ferry terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would prefer to sleep under a duvet rather than have sheets and blankets on the beds as I consider that more hygienic.

    Restaurants and shops on the doorstep of the accommodation. Very characterful property and lovely views of the pedestrianised area from our room window.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Cheep but not so cheerful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in the attic, not especially clean and with a very small window that didn't open properly. It was a very hot evening with no air-con or air from outside. We had to sprinkle sheets with water to reduce temperature. Had requested 2 single beds and was given a double. Then I heard the nightmare sound of the mosquito....

    Location and price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    This hotel worth staying and I will definitely stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was awful and wr had to go to other hotels to get use of their wifi.

    The location was whitin a walking distance to many tourist attractions in Saint Malo. The staff were extremely helpful and they did everything they could especially one of them. The room was also clean and bright.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.8
    Fine, but there are much better places to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelled like mold, and the shower was covered in mold. There was a hole in the wall and the wallpaper was ripped. Overall, it was just really unclean and moldy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.8
    Won't b back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, generally unfriendly, no inter action at all Had to ask twice for milk at breakfast Shower was in v bad condition Won't b back

    No eggs at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Disastrous Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedding was full of Flea's and I was bitten so badly I had to contact Booking . com to complain as well as sending photos. All the staff saw the extent of the bites all over my body and confirmed by a doctor. I have not yet recieved any compensation for this problem nor any communication since my first communication with Booking.com so I am very disappointed with the customer service - I hope this will be rectified asap as I still have the marks from these bites.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    The only good thing about this place is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my doubts about hygiene of this place. It is old and smelly and the bathroom was terrible. I did not feel like having shower at all !!!!

    The only good thing about this place is the location. Nothing else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok for a one night stopover but no more, but staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electrics were not so good, fittings loose from the wall and lights that faded on and off. The shower had a lot of mould.

    The Staff were very friendly and very helpful, lovely. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.2
    Worst hotel room in all our travels in Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having room in the annexe which we weren't aware of and nothing like the photos on booking.com. Very disappointing. Filthy carpets holes in doors mould in shower . Shower head broken had to tape up. Also there was a charge to keep a bicycle in garage but was not told of charge until checking out.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Good Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Five minutes to the beach (or to the sea, depends on a time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything in the room seems to be old and in need of a renovation. No elevator in the second building (the one without a reception desk).

    Five minutes to the beach (or to the sea, depends on a time of a day), 1 minute to the big square with very good restaurants. Helpful receptionists. Very good place to explore the history and the unique nature of Saint Malo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.4
    Great location, hotel is a bit tired but, reasonable for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light was hanging off the ceiling on the wires. Although the room was huge there were no chairs apart from two hard back horribly uncomfortable ones. There is supposedly "parking". This is not clear at all. They only have three spaces and driving round the old town in St Malo is a nightmare. I had requested parking but, didn't hear back. After an hour of driving round the old town we arrived to be told very abruptly and rudely by the receptionist that we didn't have parking. No sorry for the mix up, no real advice on where to park. We had a top box on our car, which ruled out most of the car parks. I picked the hotel mainly for the parking! I would stay there again but, have learned a lesson.

    The room was huge and the hotel in a stunning location in the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Budget hotel in the heart of the mediaeval city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of the rooms do vary. This occasion we had a great room which had obviously been more recently redecorated than some others, and everything was I need a reasonable state of repair. The one I stayed in previously had a broken shower head holder so you could only use it hand held. The door handle of the en-suite was hanging off the door of the room I stayed in last month. That said it's a cheap and cheerful hotel right in the heart of the medieval city, the staff are brilliant and it's location, cleanliness and garage is why I keep coming back

    The location and the fact that the hotel has a garage where we can secure our bicycles overnight are a real bonus. The rooms are always clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    Everything exept location were unsatisfactory. Even water has an unpleasant smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. We with my wife stayed 5 nights. We had breakfast only once. But we were charged for 6 breakfasts. 2. We are seventy and 65. We were offered 3rd floor with no lift (another their building has a lift.

    More or less the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, in need of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room would definitely benefit from refurbishment. Old carpets, creaky floors, some lights in the room not working.

    Fantastic location inside the city walls. The walls, cafes and restaurants, and the sandy beach all just a stone's throw. Open parking (at a reasonable price) very close too. Family room quite spacious and clean. Polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    basic but fine for night before ferry 2 rooms at very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    basic but fine for night before ferry 2 rooms at very reasonable price located in good place for wonderful indian restaurant and centre friendly staff room clean view lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    As expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are 2 buildings, across a narrow street. The bathrooms in the main building have a slight smell of stale/old/mildew, most likely caused by the poor ventilation. To be fair, an application for major upgrade work is already posted and approved for 2018. Hopefully the shortcomings will be corrected.

    The location is perfect, the main building, where we stayed, has an elevator which is a big plus in an old city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and tired and not good value for money. They need to rethink breakfast which should b complimentary to entice visitors. The rooms are small and pokey.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Fun. Hotel is good and St Malo is fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving a car to the hotel in high season is very difficult following SatNav (perhaps the hotel has better driving directions?)... narrow streets, crowded with people mean it's better to park outside the walls.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.4
    Worth for the location, but not anything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Terrible wifi connection in the <Annexe> Building (where our room was). - Although the room was big, it had several issues: a hole in the ceiling, a hole in the toilette's door, the bathroom door was completely scratched, the bed cover wasn't clean. Our sink was also clogged, we informed the hotel on the morning after we arrived and when we came back in the evening, the sink was still clogged. Reception said they thought seeing someone passing, but if you manage a hotel and a client informs you of a problem in the room, you make sure it is fixed.

    Location Intra-Muros of Saint Malo, it was perfect. The room was also big and the bed big and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.4
    Would never stay at that hotel again . We were in the annex across the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/ bathrooms in both rooms was terrible mouldy all around the walls ceiling. Grout around shower was black. Centre. Light did not wOrk. No fan or window. The beds in the. Hilder s room were very uncomfortable no mattress protector just a thin sheet. If it wasn't for the fact that st malo was very short of hotels and ours was fully booked we would have asked to be moved or. Gone to another hotel.

    Location and staff. Very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    4.2
    Not good, very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't what we booked, we ordered a family room and on arrival were given 2 doubles (an email to inform us of the non availability would have helped) One of the doubles wasn't ready, dirty towels bedding and a lot of take rubbish in the room, we had to wait in one room until the other was prepared. The wi if codes didn't work, one of the room keys didn't work, despite both being replaced by reception we still had problems! The entire building is old and tired, needs a lick of paint and some management

    Not a lot, the location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Bed bugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found numerous bed bugs in our family room- we now have to wash, freeze, steam or throw away entire contents of our car in case of contamination. No hand soap in any loos in site (in rooms and communal areas). Smell of urine in communal Loos. A very poor breakfast rounded the trip off.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.3
    The location, the receptionist, the town
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel was dated, needed renovating, and was a little noisy late at night - people walking in the hallways - coming out of elevator.

    The location, the receptionist, the town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    Location was excellent. Shower dirty and no tea and coffee making in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent but Hotel looked a bit tired in the annex were we stayed. Shower tiles had black debris in many places and did not look very clean. Shower head holder was broken so you had to hold the shower head. No tea and coffe making in the room which was disssapointement even though it is only rated as 2 star. Receptionist was very helpful when we arrived. You now have to pay for parking nearby which if you stay for a few nights anywhere in Saint Malo will add about 17 Euros day to the cost and is a bit complicated in how it is charged. You don't pay between 8.00pm and 9.00am but if leave your car all day it's 17 Euros whatever. Nearest free parking is about 35 mins walk away. Up until this year I believe it was free to park so the French are finally catching up with Britain on charging for car parking. We still enjoyed our stay and with a little bit of TLC this could be value for money hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    The location was excellent and the staff were very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew it wouldn't be the finest of hotels as the price reflects that. However the floors were stained, holes in the blankets and paper ripping off the walls. I don't think you should have to pay loads of money for somewhere to be clean and respectable

    The location was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great to be able to park our car in the garage despite being in the walled part of st malo. A definite bonus. Brilliant location to catch the ferry the next day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Handy overnight stop if you don't have to carry much from your vehicle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a real issue - our vehicle was just over the 1.90 metre height restriction for all the nearest car parks outside the walls, so we had to park a long way away.

    Location was excellent for walking round the old town, and not far from the port. Fine for an overnight stop after arriving in France in the evening. Room was fairly small and basic but that's all we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.5
    Don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room we booked was not available so we were given a double and a twin room (next to one another in the attic - very hot and musty). The twin room shower was broken, so we asked for an alternative room. The next room was disgusting, the bathroom was covered in mould, the shower curtain was black at the bottom, the toilet and sink were broken and the extractor fan had been blocked with toilet paper (we ended up using the bathroom facilities in the double room). The double room was on the fourth floor and when the door was closed the window flew open, not great when you have a young child in the room. We expected a fairly basic room but these were dated and unclean. The toilet near the reception had no toilet paper and smelt revolting. We paid extra for breakfast, we struggled to find clean cups and plates, the croissants were either burnt or soggy, the bread rolls were so hard they were virtually inedible and there was no milk for the cereal. The floor was so sticky, that your shoes made an awful noise when you walked anywhere in the dining room. The staff gave us a refund for the breakfast and explained that the hotel was being full refurbished this winter - long overdue in our opinion and of little comfort to those people staying before the work is carried out.

    Good location in St Malo - other than that nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decoration was very poor and shabby. The shower head was broken and was like a tap and the tiling was old and cracked etc. In deed of total refit.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Fine if you don't plan on spending much time in the room. In need of some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is quite noisy from the local bar and then traders deliver from the early hours. It's difficult to leave the window open because of this and the visiting seagulls! We travelled by bicycle and although they provide a 'shared' garage this is at an additional cost of 3euros per night each bike (the site doesn't mention this).

    The property is well positioned in the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.4
    Cheap but not cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairway bad visability lighting didn't work , no lift , broken hand rail , small bathroom & shower needed replacing carpets & decor of room was poor so was bedding .

    Availability of parking & being so local Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    Shame about the shower room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were expecting basic which it was but the shower head did not fix to anything (attachment was broken) so you had to hold it with one hand whilst using the shower. We popped to a local shop and bought some cable ties so we could fix it to the pole which at least meant you had both hands free. The tiles, ceiling and shower door were black with mould which was a shame as the rest of the room was clean but this let it down hugely and made it feel dirty and therefore not good value.

    Good location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Overall, very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bathrooms were very disappointing. Both were shabby and in need of a makeover. There was no tea/ coffee making facility in the room, in fact it was very basic. There was an electrical? fitting hanging from the wall. The bed was low quality and barely comfortable. The bathroom was worse than basic. Very cramped and far from clean, in particular, the small shower cubicle had black, mould?, around the tiles near the shower tray. There were no shower products other then two small pieces of soap. No hairdryer, no shelf above the wash basin and hardly any room between the WC and the wall. The bathroom was shabby and had a feel of 'student accommodation of years gone by!! I wish now that we had complained about the rooms on arrival and asked for a room of suitable standard. This is the first time that a booking.com recommendation has been so disappointing, and I am surprised that you can endorse such poor facilities. I also feel that some form of compensation would go some way to make amends! I look forward to hearing from you as soon as possible.

    The breakfast almost saved the day as it was good value and plenty of choices. The dining room was almost as if it was not the same hotel as the bedroom, as it was clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the parking facility was fairly easy, indoor opposite the hotel. Although it was not easy to locate the hotel initially, mainly due to a change in traffic routing which confused the sat nav.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Value for money,but a bit rundown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a coat of paint everywhere,and the parking was a garage opposite which you could only get 3 cars in [if you were a good driver]and it was 15euros a night.

    Room was small and basic but being central and the price we paid,we had no complaints.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: