Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Appart’City Thonon les Bains 3 stars

18 Boulevard Georges Andrier, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France

#15 of 15 hotels in Thonon-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1225 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on day two was poor. 50% of options empty and not replenished. Staff did not seem interested in replenishing and no apology.

    Good location and comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Group
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty floors in the rooms and in the elevator. The cooking panel, cran are badly establishted and shaked in the kitchen. Threre is no bin. Very thin blankets. To sleep under them it is cold.

    Rooms are placed near the railway and bus station. This is convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    road was closed upon arrival - hotel not accessible. Only with help from local police, that allowed us to pass the road blocks we could get to the hotel. Lighting in the room was broken, was not repaired until next day.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanless of the room and noisy from outside

    The room was really dirty and noisy ( railway with frequent train passing by) the garbage wasn't removed from previous guest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mirror in the bedroom would be useful (although the mirror in the bathroom was a good size and we'll lit)

    The kitchenette was well stocked with utensils, pans etc. The room was simply furnished, but I had everything I could need and more. Everything was very clean. The hotel is 100th from a large Carrefour; ideal if self catering. The receptionist was friendly, cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated right in a train track so you are aware of trains passing. This wasn't our main concern though, it was more the fact the windows couldn't be locked. There were no protective measures outside windows so a worry wth the drop from the third floor. Room was hot so would have been nice to have had some fresh air. There were shutters which we had to have pulled down whilst there.

    Secure car parking although quite tight to get in and out of. Nice and clean as well as spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows not comfortable There is no ac Very annoying location next to the railway intersection

    The lady at the reception and the staff is nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 blokes would rather have the booked twins, but got doubles.

    Its basic cheap accommodation and actually better than it looks from the outside. Safe box pick up of room keys etc so can arrive anytime if reception closed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was small and had little room to move around with 2 suitcases on the floor. Small kitchenette and bathroom. We didn't receive our entry codes but were able to phone and get them. It was Sunday evening and most places were closed. The building is next to the rail line so had a bell ringing regularly when trains came through the road crossing

    It was a self contained studio apartment that allowed us to cook our own meals. A big supermarket is behind the building. The apartment had windows that opened and a fan which was great as we were there during a heat wave. It was a short walk to the train station and upper town. A funicular took us to the lakeside. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no bed sheets for one kingsize bed!!!! And nothing was offered as replace, with no one to address the issue quickly.

    Good price for accommodation. Garage is there, close to Geneva.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little parking so had to pay extra for basement parking, would have been stumped if this was booked out. We were lucky that our room was away from railway tracks, still heard occasional train, would not risk staying here again and possibly get a room on the tracks!

    Good location had no trouble finding and accessing the building, adequate room equipment including cooking & eating arrangements - generally OK.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -Owned parking, but you have to pay 7€/night into a labyrinth of flickering lights with no signs ....thriller -The room is TOTALLY different than the one they show in pictures, the beds are awful and near by there are train lines...every 1 hour you experience "earthquakes" - Kitchen's dishes are dirty and on the stove you can't even boil an egg / The pan is deformed, ready for trash - Bathroom bad smelling, you have to discover the light-switch in the dark, walls are smudged with dirt Spider webs all-over, shower curtain too short , no drainage for the water spelled on the floor from the shower so you can easily slip ...but despite all of this you can have *hairdryer for 1€ /day *mats for 1€ /day - And the best of all...on New Year's Eve 20:00 no hot water available for shower.... etc...etc....LOL

    The day i left !!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had to pay extra for WIFI , which only seemed to work on the ground floor

    Good location only a few mins walk from the town centre , Lake and Train station Nice room that included Television and cooking facilities Car parking was on site in the basement with lift direct to the rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible stay. The room was so hot as some kind of heating was running all the time and there was no possibility to switch it off. We had to open the window during the night. Overnight it was loud because of the train passing by right in front of the building. Everytime a stupid train was coming a bell is ringing and we woke up, even though we are usually having a strong sleep. We cannot recommend a stay as it was not really clean and we slept only 2 hours and woke up having headaches. Pictures do not show the reality!

    Quick check in

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot, noisy becayse of level crossing bell, trains and traffic, reception shut 2 out of my 3 days due to Sunday and Bank hol and also no brekky on those days. Brekky was poor, nothing hot and only bits of bread left at 9 so lucky there is,a boulangerie up the road. Also, contract had to be signed and all in French so no idea what I signed for.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy location adjacent to the level crossing and a road junction. Not as advertised, room far too small, bed not as on our confirmation document ie not the king size we were expecting. I would never stay here again nor would I recommend anyone else does. Very poor signage and lighting to access the parking.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The studio was not at all as pictured. It was tiny with too much furniture. The mattress was dirty and uncomfortable. The kitchenette was only superficially "clean", the dishes were sticky and everything we used had to be washed before. The block of appartments is in the noisiest part of town, just above the railway, impossible to sleep with the window open.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience was not very good. Reception was extremely difficult to figure out as we were arriving late at night but hadn't recieved communication from the property about the procedures for any of this. Finding the apartment was extremely difficult as well. The location is very poor (directly next to the train tracks) and the apartment had very dirty walls and uncomfortable beds. Not at all what we expected. We were quite eager to leave the following morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise of alarm before train passes nearby. You can't actually hear the train itself, but sometimes the sound that precedes it can wake you up in the middle of the night. Still, it shouldn't be the factor to decide whether you'll book the place or not.

    Value for money. Helpful and friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 2 bed family room was not as photos advertised. It was bare, minimal, uncomfortable. Towels were dirty with what looked like snot on one. Room smelt smokey. There was metal corners on damaged walls which our 9 month old tried crawling to. Kitchen wasn't the cleanest and location not great next to tram track. Balcony too open for young children. We only stayed for 1 hour due to all of above and checked out using ibis nearby instead. Would not recommend.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not clean

    Well located but not very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean, everything OK. I needed parking place - I got it. Just great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Railway line so close it was noisy and just so uncomfortable Wifi as good as useless. We left a day early.

    Beds ok. Balcony ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprise to be informed after booking that you will be charged if you stay after 10h00

    Next to the station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currency problem

    The staff hospitality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some restoration will be an add value

    Proche de la gare supermarche

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor services

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclear access, next to train overpass with poor noise insolation

    Not much besides decent size room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opening hours of reception is very short no chairs or siting are in reception

    Near downtown

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, uncomfortable and noisy.

    The lady at the reception was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The kitchen equipment

    i liked my bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room outside railway

    Central to city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -railway nearby, sometimes noisy - wifi not included / per day 2€

    - Very nice reception - good location - good value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the building is right next to a railwayp

    the price was cheap

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Couple

    The lack of cleanliness, from the lobby to the room, was intolerable. There was a smell of rotten eggs from the bathroom sink which did not drain and we were greeted each morning by "silverfish" bugs on the floor and walls which were also stained and filthy. The kitchenette was ill-equiped to handle meal preperation. Although there were two stovetop burner discs, only one pan could fit on the cooktop due to the small surface space. Additionally, the cooktop was located directly over the mini-fridge/freezer rendering the freezer useless due to ice buildup. The noise from the train crossing, just outside the hotel entrance, was unbearable beginning at 5:08 a.m. and continuing until midnight. We expected that a hotel would be staffed on a consistant basis but beware that this facility has limited staffing hours during the day and no staff is there during mid-day, evenings or on Sundays and holidays. The breakfast was limited, often times stale, and the lack of staffing led to a dirty breakfast area. Entrance to hotel greeted guests with weeds, cigarette butts and often dog feces.

    Location was near supermarket and city center.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room 5m away from railway line with goods trains running through the night. Sofa bed sqeaked every time you moved. No cutlery in the kitchenette.

    The fact that we only booked for one night.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stuf speaks poor english, rooms are cold, the heating doesn't work in room, bed were ruined and very uncomfortable to sleep, they don't have enought parking space... This hotel is far from what they declare

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quite hard to find a parking spot for 3 cars, 1 room didn't have a blanket for one of the beds & also smelt badly of cigarettes.

    Warm room and comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unusual service and wonderful staff!

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Family with older children

    Looking tired needs updating

    Great lication

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Super dirty

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very close to train lane, and too noise at night, even can not sleep.

    easy to find, close to center city.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The way I was treated by the Italian lady...

    The moment I left...

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Close to centre

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Entretien meubles peinture

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Basic accommodation but ok for a short ski break

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: