Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Araucaria Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Plagne Centre, 73210 La Plagne, France

#4 of 16 hotels in La Plagne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As vegans there really wasn't very much to eat at the hotel restaurant, however, they were very accommodating and the chef's made up our own lovely vegetable salad platter. It was then quite a pricey dinner as it was just vegetables, however, they went out of their way to accommodate us and that was very lovely. All with a smile :)

    The hotel exceeded expectations and the staff are all extremely lovely. The casual trendy look of the hotel and uniform, filters down in to all elements of the hotel, ensuring that guests have a really lovely relaxed holiday, being effortlessly looked after. Gorgeous hotel decor, quite minimalist stylish boutique style, unusual for a ski hotel. Will definitely be staying at the hotel when we return to La Plagne :) Ski in and ski out, the pic taken shows the view from our room directly on to the piste, just lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under 12’s not able to use the main swimming pool. I would suggest they relax this rule especially during the day when adults are skiing. Need to put some English breakfast tea on the tea tray in room. No hangers or real hanging space, apart from coats - but plenty of shelves to fold clothes.

    Room very comfortable and cleaned daily. Overall facilities were very good. Good play facilities for children of all ages. Little extras such as free juice boxes, sweets and popcorn were a really nice touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get a table booking in the evening, we only ate in restaurant 1 night & the food choice was very poor, lamb or chicken nuggets!

    Breakfast food & choice was excellent, bedroom very comfy & the area around the bar was excellent for entertaining by the kids

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly hot and airless rooms.Turned off the radiator but we had to keep opening the doors to cool off

    Distance to the slopes. Great location Friendly and helpful staff Lovely clean modern hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of any note

    Staff were helpful and courteous throughout the hotel Spa was great Food was excellent Ski room and hire in the Hotel was a great asset Had a superior room that was clean and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the ski room were unfriendly The dinner was not great, and we felt for the quality of food it was over priced. The room was hideously small we had to pay extra to upgrade, although the hotel did sort this at a lower than usual fee which was kind. The room size should be stated online as the standard rooms really are too small for skiing with all the equipment etc. For the price we were paying we expected a much bigger room We hated that the hotel was being used for package holidays staying at the hotel. This is not ideal when you are paying a lot of money to stay somewhere. We wouldn’t have stayed at the hotel if we knew package holidays would also be there. It creates a different atmosphere than one we were looking for on our holiday.

    The staff were fairly friendly - reception staff and bar staff were great. The spa was lovely. Location next to the piste was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We all felt the alcoholic drinks were overpriced. Cheapest bottle of wine €22, Gin & Tonic €12 so in our opinion around 20 to 30% overpriced.

    Great location, ski lockers good and food excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very kind and helpfull, The breakfast was very reach, we enjoyed the bar with the library and live concert at the evening. The spa was great - pampering and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms (4 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very expensive because it was school hols in France. Quality of towelling/toilet paper etc not the standard expected at such prices. No seating in reception area. Bedrooms too hot with no radiator control (in our room)

    The Ski room was excellent with daily boot / skis put away for us. Spa is good quality. Bedrooms good. Breakfast good. Great bar staff. Loads to read if you forgot your book !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should find a way to be 100%on the slopes so we can just put our skis on and go - unfortunately you need to walk just a tiny bit.

    Location, design of the whole place: decoration was outstanding - food not too much choices BUT very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were not enough ski lockers for all the guests but at the same time this meant we got personalised service from the ski shop who stored and dried out all our equipment every night and remembered us every morning!

    The decor of this recently re-opened hotel was contemporary, original and comfortable both in the rooms and communal spaces. The restaurant was bright and welcoming, the staff very friendly and the quality of the food very high. The bar area was pleasantly large with great design and areas/corners to read and chill during the day if needed. We had a great gin and tonic and really appreciated the water, sweets and popcorn on tap! We rented great equipment in the in-house ski shop and skied out and in. And took full advantage of the spa and expert treatments.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms are quite small which made it feel a bit cramped and stuffy. the spa would be better I it was for adults only.

    location was excellent. spa facilities were lovely. good choice at breakfast. staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only comment i would make is that you need to provide more than 2 pots of milk in the room. this was not enough, there was 6 tea bags and 2 coffee sachets but please supply more milk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small lift which you had to wait a long time for ...could be improved upon

    Large selection to choose from at buffet breakfast, staff were so obliging and helpful wonderful spa & great location, large relaxing bar at the end of days skiing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found it difficult to get the right temperature in the room. Was not happy at the way I was told off for not booking the restaurant when I went for dinner.

    Room was comfortable and with a nice view. Staff were mostly friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room the telephone has no numbers on it so you don’t know how to call reception or room service also there was no mini bar in the room, I feel this is a must for people staying for a week. There was no bottles of water in the room. Having to book for dinner was a bit of a pain, when you’re on holiday you like to be flexible and we were told off each night we went down for dinner for not booking first. Also no childcare or entertainment for them either, especially in the evenings. These are minor things but overall we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel, very modern, clean, friendly and clearly a great renovation!

    The kids area in the bar was great but maybe they could have some English, French, Italian etc dvd’s so the children can choose what to watch. The family room we had was brilliant, the children absolutely loved the bunk beds. The ski lockers downstairs were brilliant and lending out free sledging also was great with little ones or a lot of shopping. Spa was wonderful after a long day of skiing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garage door was ridiculously too small for large vehicles or vehicles to enter with a roof box, which for a ski resort seems an obvious oversight. Additionally parking should have been complimentary. Staff in the restaurant always seemed flustered and exasperated during breakfast service.

    For a newly opened hotel they had the right "can-do" attitude which is in contrast to the usual response from the French service industry of "c'est impossible". Generous, clean and nice decor. Keep going!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Rooms do not have air-con & get very stuffy. We had to turn radiators off & keep windows open all night. - Front desk made significant mistake on our final payment.

    - Recently renovated, modern & stylish (especially bar/lounge area) - Friendly, multi-lingual & smiling staff. - Spacious spa area with excellent steam room, sauna, pool, & ice-room. - Right on the ski slopes, in-house ski rental. - Wifi is easy to connect, fast, and available everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too small for three people. The evening buffet lacked choice and wasn’t clearly labelled. There wasn’t any info packs in the room about the spa or what was on offer in the bar. Free sweets/water etc or anything about the games room. We found that by accident. There was also no weather/snow forecast displayed anywhere either.

    I liked the design and the games area for the kids.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not pro active at breakfast. Both mornings they ran out of bacon and it took ages for it to be replaced. Same with the eggs. They need to keep an eye and when it gets low then they need to act. My daughter couldn't wait in the end.

    I thought the room was great in a fantastic location however a little hot. If we kept the window open it would cool down but then as soon as we closed the door it would heat up very quickly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel service and nice spa!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighbor smoked on the balcony, not the hotel's fault.

    Loved this hotel in every way!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really comfy and the fluffy dressing gowns and slippers a must after a long day skiing !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool can get very busy! Breakfast prices!

    If the room has a balcony chairs would be nice ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is great, hotel location is just front of lifts... Hotel staff is very friendly, will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area was too hot

    Friendly staff, proximity to the slopes and the wellness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better and bigger room space with more storage and hanging

    Great staff and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very slow

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant a bit to bright.... felt like a canteen

    location and general presentation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good buffet for breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room size is not ideal for 5

    Space for adult and kids

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi did not work for many hours Pool area very small Restaurant/food very average No decent places to eat

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.. 2 mins walk from ski lifts and Scottey's bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited car parking

    Location, spa, cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Connecting Rooms (4 Adults and 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the slopes was a little hairy!!! And could do with more ski lockers.

    Superb. Loved the hotel. Loved La Plagne. We will be back 😍

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive breakfast

    Great Hotel, Clean Tidy, lovely rooms, Right on the piste great location Very expensive breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location location location , staff, spa, car park, access,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water on New Year’s Eve

    Bed comfy, staff so helpful and friendly, wide choice of breakfast food, reception and ski room staff so helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: