Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citotel Hotel Arc en Ciel SPA 3 stars

13 Rue Chanzy, 85100 Les Sables-dʼOlonne, France

#17 of 37 hotels in Les Sables-dʼOlonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1185 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was perfunctory and disinterested. A sheet of rules was thrust at us by a man chatting on the phone, just said sign it!!

    It was very stylish in a quirky way, clearly an artistic designer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very basic, no tea/coffee facilities. Only 1 sachet of shower gel provided...very basic for the money £100 per night

    Position is great overlooking the sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access roads to the hotel are very narrow. Bathroom very small, although we’ll equipped. Breakfast baguettes were hard as logs and inedible.

    The quirky ambience and excellent use of space. Excellent large secure open air car park behind locked gate and high walls. Many cafes and restaurants on the promenade road which is only 100 meters away. Amazing decor especially in breakfast room where there were lovely croissants and jams. Very helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When got there told no parking as requested this is our main thing we needed as we traval on motorcycle we got it in end when we was looking for other hotels with parking

    Location ok nice coastal walk.didnt have breakfast so cant comment on food hotel funky and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff. On site parking as it seems to be hard to find somewhere for an overnight stay. Quirky hotel, a plus is the kettle in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning steady dripping noise even switched off Balcony pretty useless

    Central location Secure storage area for bicycle Air conditioned room Double bed for single occupant Included breakfast in rate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small bedroom uncomfortable bed , tiny bathroom - you could barely fit in to brush your teeth let alone dry yourself, no soap ,breakfast terrible, NO PARKING with a we don't care attitude. We had to drive around the town looking for parking and then had to walk to the hotel with our bags. An absolute disgrace and not at all what i thought i booked. Who is at fault here ? the hotel or booking.com because you are still offering this hotel showing a large bathroom and with parking- It has only 14 spaces available and will not inform you when you make your booking online that you have to phone up to reserve a place. The next time I stay at a hotel that I reserve through booking.com if it does not match up to the description you post I will not book anything with you again. Its also advertised as having 3 stars. I would like booking.com to inform us on what we should expect for 2 , 3 or 4 stars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bedroom with a very cold bathroom! Parking complicated by virtue of major building project going on next door.

    Helpful friendly staff. Décor and ambience, when you became used to it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park about a 5 min walk away, and access to the hotel by car can be difficult due to narrowness of roads. The decor was frankly bizarre.

    The location just back from the seafront was great. The breakfast option was good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved a parking spot but hotel did not have this recorded. Decor like a 1970 disco , all purple and silver No parking available

    close to beach and restuarants good wifi clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly and happy to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking payant.

    Situation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa facilities included

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet access very weak - I was unable to work from my room or the reception. I would hesitate to book again for this reason.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was not good

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Loggia
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is in fact a jacuzzi which you have to book in half hour slots and pay €6 which is a shame.

    Lovely friendly staff and great venue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult parking situation, because of small streets and we had a bad smell in the room

    Nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolument à la hauteur de nos attentes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and the decoration. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in a great location, staff friendly and the jacuzzi was great! 😀

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy. They even sold ear plugs

    The fridge and freezer that you could use and the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Confort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was BBQ facilities and fridge for guest to use

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation exceptionnelle

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath of jacuzzi in the Terasse in front of the Sea. The breakfast is very good. And. Hotel is very Clean I'm very happy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not clean Bathroom was not clean and smelled

    Location excellent, personnel was helpful and kind

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet actually was a room on the balcony with no wash handbasin and two steps to negotiate at night. The shower was on the other side of the bedroom, up another step. So many possibilities of tripping in a strange environment . The clashing '70's' orange red and green decor which was neither restful or romantic in our so called superior room. The breakfast was shockingly bad. Hard bread rolls impossible to eat.small 'bake in the oven' croissants , three very small portions of dried up cheese and some overripe bananas and too hard to eat kiwis was the breakfast buffet at £10 euros each. I live in France for six months of the year and I've never experienced anything as bad as this. It was truly awful. In a country famous for it's delicious bread and croissants, this was shocking.

    The location is good the bed reasonably comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed too hard. Strong smell of (cigarette)? smoke whilst on balcony, perhaps coming up/down from other guests. We did not think Breakfast was not good value for money.

    Quiriness, balcony, decor and facilities. Secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restrictive availability of rooftop hot-tub. Staff were a little grumpy; and whilst we had a fluent French speaker with us, the staff spoke too quickly to be understood.

    Funky rooms, quite small, but well designed. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This time there were just some pretty small / odd things. Coffee cups left dirty for the entire stay, coffee not refilled, no milk in the room (although I get that may be more that the French don't really have milk in coffee). We had to ask for things like toilet paper to be replaced etc.

    It's a great location, and really quirky / arty hotel. Something different. The jacuzzi on the rooftop is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quirky well located hotel. Friendly staff, roof sun deck and hot tub for personal 1/2hour bookings usage if wanted. Lovely ad hoc picnic area with helpful facilities in a sheltered outside area. Private parking. Comfy bed with star lights above!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had a bit weird smell, especially in the bathroom.

    A comfortable and surprisingly big room. The place was very bike friendly, and we enjoyed our stay. The location is very good.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The excellent location and the decor of the hotel. Staff were friendly,helpful, humourless and accommodating. And they upgraded our room for free! Beautiful city to wander around. Plenty to see and do.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The room is ideal for a couple looking for romance. The dining room is beautiful period room. The breakfast is good value for money. Particularly good hotel for a romantic occasion.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was a bit difficult

    Location was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor was a bit too funky for our taste.

    Great location. Clean room.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The jacuzzi spa was exceptional! Perfect way to end a day travelling.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were excellent. As a solo traveller I was made to feel part of the community.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the toilet room was too small !!!!!!!!

    location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    within easy reach of the promenade and beach, shops and market within easy walking distance

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room wasn't ready. Toilet too small

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed not long enough. It was a very nice hotel with very nice staff.

    We loved the rooftop spa.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited parking at hotel, book ahead! Room a bit tired, bed firm.

    Excellent location for access to the sea front.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy.

    Themed rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Decor and staff

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower did not work and staff did not care. No owner in sight.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not as good as it was a few years ago. Certainly not worth 10 euros per head.

    Helpfulness of staff

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Citotel Hotel Arc en Ciel SPA traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: