Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Artea Aix centre 3 stars

4 boulevard de la République, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France

#29 of 48 hotels in Aix-en-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1193 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked the fabulous central location to the rotund square and the old town you can easily walk ever where. Nice big room sunny and light good big bathroom the only thing we would preferred would have been a seperate shower rather than the shower over the bath a big step over fir folks with short legs or elderly folks it would be difficult. The front desk were helpful with lifting heavy bags up and down the stairs but didn’t seem to have much knowledge on local events or trips. But the tourism office is very close which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -All rooms were smelling either cigarette or cigar. The windows are basically decorative since no fresh air can come into the room. -The bathroom was very small and the actual toilet was ridiculous, you could not sit on it properly. -After 22:00 they are locking the main entrance without any warning and there wasn't anyone at the reception. I was ringing , knocking and calling for 20 minutes until someone opened the door for me. -The breakfast was nice but one person could not clean the tables fast enough so we would have to sit with dirty tables or no cutlery or glass for water for a while or go ask for them ourselves.

    location breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of elevator.

    I must have missed the fact that the desk is one floor above the ground level so luggage needs to be carried up a spiral stone staircase to there and maybe one more if you are on the next floor. The young staff tried hard to help to at least get them up to and down from the desk. Room was adequate but temps controlled to what I guess was a setting of WARM. Only one nite there before our apartment was ready so didnt ask about the AC. Certainly a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to use public parking garage which was very full. We felt lucky to find an open space. Street parking seemed even more difficult to find.

    Great location. Hotel is located near center of town. Room was large and had a balcony. Hotel had soundproof windows which are helpful since hotel is located on a busy corner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom not appropriately ventilated and the toilet smelled of sewer.

    location, staff, value for money, building, place in front to load / unload luggage (but no parking as per their description)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures of Accommodation must of been of a different hotel, certainly was not what we stopped in, bar facilities little more than a table

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The communal areas looked shabby and in need of major refurbishment, and redecoration. The wash basin plug was faulty and very difficult to remove.

    The location was superb, and the staff were very helpful. The bedroom was very quiet, and spacious, but in need of redecoration.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very small but our experience was still pleasant.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are what you pay for and the breakfast was lovely. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only detail was the toilet - it would make a noise and you had to fiddle with the flush button to get it to stop.

    Excellent location, and really good breakfast. Far better than we expected. Also, we were given a quiet room at the back of the hotel, which overlooked a nice street. Lots of good restaurants in the vicinity. Just don't go for the first one you see.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely Nothing.

    The staff was nothing short of amazing; friendly, helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was large! The bathroom was large! The bed was very comfortable with high quality linens. Breakfast was great; coffee, juice, yogurt, eggs, breads, meats, cheeses, sausages, etc. Super location, steps from shops, restaurants, and the old town. The building is old and extremely well maintained. Parking was easy at Rotonde ~ just make sure to make note of where you exit because there are several entrance/exits.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The central heating was broken in our first room and we had to ask for another room. There too the central heating was not working, but it was a smaller room and the space heater sufficed. Second day, our room wasn't cleaned and when we asked about it, the reception complained about someone being off ill - that's not our problem.

    Breakfast was good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing in this hotel that I didn't like...

    Very comfortable bed! I slept really well. Nice, cozy bedroom. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing upon our arrival, despite it being 5 degrees outside, the heating was not turned on and we had to turn it on ourselves and later leave the hotel for a couple of hours whilst the room was warming up. There was also a really strong smell of damp in the room and bathroom. We paid extra for a better quality room and felt it was overall not worth the additional payment.

    Hotel is located in the centre of the city, by one of the main roads and close to all main attractions. Breakfast offers a good selection of dishes and is available from 6:30 which was great for us as we needed to leave the hotel early. Rooms are of a decent size and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is ideal, in the middle of the tourist area. The room is comfortable, the breakfast sufficient, and the staff helpful. Parking is in a garage a short walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we booked the hotel facilities indicated parking was available - it wasn't. We had to park in a public car park and pay extra. When asked the staff advised that they had asked Booking.com to change the description but Booking.com had not done so.

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A smell of smoke from the bedding. The entrance is very dark and there is a large flight of stairs to ascend. No parking on site. Lift for luggage is outside the building.

    The room was big and spacious and the bathroom too. Recently refurbished but not all rooms have been.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have to expect guests from the Arab world. I could not find any TV channel from my region. As a Lebanese, I would prefer to find a Lebanese TV channel as all of them are broadcasting all over the globe.

    Convenient place in the heart of the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator is outside to take up bags.

    I enjoyed my stay there. My room was a comfortable size and bathroom was great. I will recommend this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, reception is on 2d floor and rooms go up from there

    The room was large clean and quiet. very well located in the center of the City Parking place not provided but very closed to the cenral shooping mall

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was off site and it seemed lucky to find it. We did find it and it worked out well.

    We only stayed one night but we were able to walk around comfortably, see some sights, have dinner, then a good night sleep in a comfortable room. Very enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was dirty, plaster coming off walls, tiles mouldy in bathroom, damp stains on ceiling outside room, tiles missing in bedroom, curtains dirty, plug didn't fix properly in bath so had to keep water running all the time to top up, staff constantly absent from check-in desk, very noisy place, TV control was absolutely filthy, carpet outside our room looked as though a murder had been committed.

    Hotel was fairly central to where we wanted to be. We were, however, very glad to get out of it each day. Enjoyed the free sweets while waiting for ages and ages at reception for someone to come and help us. Pleased they had an electrical adaptor plug we could borrow.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon didn't seem to work sometimes

    Beautiful hotel! Lovely rooms, big bath and big bed. I didn't get the breakfast but it looked great. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is at a public underground car park close to the hotel. Was shocked to find it was €25 for less than 24 hours!

    Good location, room was pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Firstly, it was the only hotel which designed our room for the honeymoon (our honeymoon trip included visiting 7 cities). Very ancient and in the very center of the city, amazing classical interior, very clean and had all necessary facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me it was no problem, as I had a small suitcase, but guests travelling with big bags should know that the lovely old house where the hotel is located has no elevator....

    Location is simply perfect, steps away from Aix Vieux and close enough to the gare routiere so you can walk from the bus stop to the hotel - the bus takes you from Gare TGV to downtown Aix as there is no train connection between the 2 stations . Saturday market is just in front!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work. We changed the room , but it didn't work. It was boiling and uncomfortable night . Too hot.

    Very hard to find and park the rent a car. We didn't realised this hotel is just beside shopping centre. In front of the busy road. Some room must be so noisy. We requested back street room, but it was noisy for motorbike.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the triple room on the basis that it has balcony - there was no balcony - I complained and they said this was a frequent problem so beware. Bathroom was mouldy. Staff nice but place felt run down - have srayed in much nicer places in Aix and would not recommend

    Big room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One receptionist let the place down. When we asked for advice about travel plans she told us to use the internet rather than ask her and claimed not to have heard of Arles, the city nearby. If she really had no local knowledge she should have been given some training. Rather than apologising for her lack of knowledge she was just brusque, dismissive and rude. I have never come across such poor reception service before ever. Other staff were great though.

    Great location. Good value - basic but inexpensive. Followed advice of reviews on here and avoided overpriced breakfast - at €13 per person there are lots of nice cafes nearby serving lovely breakfasts at a fraction of the price of this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift located at the side of the building and out to the street couple doors away from the main building. Another thing is the toilet that quite dark and not much ventilation.

    Close to the tourism centre, where you can find all information about places to visits, tour etc. The rooms have lovely high ceiling and lots of natural lights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was unfriendly and very unhelpful. No elevator between ground floor and reception and no assistance with luggage. "Classic" room was thin like a corridor with peeling chipboard open shelves, small 'double' bed and tiny bathroom. Bedroom door was warped and would not close properly.

    Central location, convenient for street markets and old town. Decent buffet breakfast spread.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the hotel August 5th, the airconditioning was not working at all and it was one of the hotest day with high humidity , there was no one in the hotel having the responsibility . The lady in the reception tried to help us but she did not have any technical knowledge to fix it or initiative to change the room. She tried to call the manager but she did not reply the call, even no news from the manager till next day during the check out. The Hotel was not supposed to debit my credit card as of booking date (16.07.17) but they did and sent me a message that this is a mistake, unfortunately now I am pretty sure that it was on purpose. When we were checking out the lady in the reception told us that the manager would be writing us, but there is no message till today. This was our worst experience with a hotel we booked through booking.com.

    Large bedroom & location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator. There was a dump, moist smell in the hotel. Half of the staff extremely polite and willing to help, others either uninterested or not informed about the attractions/events in their (small!) town. Instead of checking online and telling you, they direct you to Tourist Info Office.

    The location was ok, it was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small so very difficult to move around. The bathroom was of a good size and recently renovated. No lifts or help given by staff to climb the stairs especially if you are allocated level 2 room or above. We had 2 big suitcases so it was an effort! In short not recommended if you have a disability or a medical condition.

    Close to all amenities, shops and historical sites. The Tourist Information Centre is about 300m away. The hotel is a piece of history as it was a famous artist's residence. The Aix Markets are held 3 times a week and are right opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were all recently renovated BUT the hotel is OLD. We were fortunate that we were on the 1st floor (in the US we would refer to this as the second floor) and there was a lift that went to this and ONLY this floor. If we were on the 2 3 or 4th floor we would have had to lug out suitcases up there.

    The bed was very comfortable and the AC worked wonderfully. The window opened up completely and allowed for wonderful air circulation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for 2 adults and one child on the booking.com website, but when I got to the hotel they told me it was booked for 2 adults only. This meant I had to pay more for an extra bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator so this would be a problem if you have big luggages. And no free car park available but there is car parking very near the hotel.

    The hotel situated in city center close to tourist attractions, nice restaurants and public transportation. I love that my comfortable cozy room was in silence zone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner doesn't work. In this issue, the staff doesn't offer any substantial help. Can't leave the window open because of mosquitoes and the noisy street. We sweat all night during our stay.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we booked a " comfort Room" the bedroom Was a bit small and bathroom tiny ( 2m2). Not enough hangers and anyway no place to hang our clothe. A bit noisy and impossible to leave the window opened when in. The weather was fantastic and it is is so pleasant to have the warmth to come in.

    Mainly the location and the kindness of the staff always very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realize that we'd have to carry our luggage up stairs to the rooms - there is no elevator. Would appreciate more space for clothing. There were only a couple of hooks on the wall, no closet. And no drawers or shelves for storing clothes.

    Good location (right near the thrice-weekly markets!) , and a quiet comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could use some refurbishment and redocoration. Due to the old-ish looks it does not feel very pleasant. The room has no closet and only three hooks for hanging clothes. For staying over one night it is alright, but it is not comfortable at all if you are there to stay for longer time.

    This is a good place to stay location-wise. The staff members were kind and helpful. Bathroom had all that is necessary for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is not good. You can easily find better place in the city centre for 6-10 euro per person. This is an old building and you may feel that it is not cleaned enough. However, my room was cleaned every day. Overall the price ratio for the room is reasonable.

    The location is quite good. It is not far away from either the bus and train station and you can reach the city centre in 5-7 minutes on foot. The staff are very friendly and helpful 24 hours.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit noisy as close to the breakfast room and the kitchen Overall decoration could use some "refresh" :)

    Excellent location very close to city center Room was good and clean, courtesy tray very appreciated Staff was cordial I didn't take the breakfast so I can't comment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff weren't particularly friendly, except for the kitchen staff. There is no elevator. Our room was quite small and the bathroom very small. Parking is in a public carpark a few blocks away and there is no hotel discount. Breakfast was rather ordinary.

    Absolutely great location. Room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a small studio apartment where the kitchen had been removed /or was waiting to go in?? On the main cross roads - too noisy if you have windows open.

    The rooms were large and had space for the luggage & children to spread out. Bathroom and loos were clean and a good size.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, indeed the town, is a distance from the train station. As well, walking in, there is a complete flight of stairs before reaching the reception desk. Once there, there is help getting to your room. Luckily the taxi driver helped with our luggage. The room was so comfortable we were happy to have stayed there.

    The hotel was very well located in the town, near facilities and restaurants. I enjoyed how clean it was and how nicely it was presented. The staff made excellent restaurant and coffee shop suggestions. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom nicely set up and a good shower. The hotel is near busses, the town square, and easy walking distance to the museum and shops. The wifi worked well also.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could mention which parking underground to look for-- we just lucked into this entrance which was perfectly located. We had no concept of the city as we didn't in Montpellier but knew the words park at Cimedee or whatever.

    Great breakfast, fresh and well attended. Two beds could be moved a bit apart, both very comfortable, neither of us remembers due to a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the third floor and there was no lift,the ceiling of the room was so low I hit my head several times and I am 5.6 foot how this could be called a comfort room is beyond me

    The located and The breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath/ shower very slippery.

    Airy comfortable room and en suite. Friendly helpful staff. In the town centre but not noisy. Really good value. This was our 5 th stay at the Artea- I think that says it all!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tired. But that wasn't really a problem for a short stay.

    Excellent location. Easy walk to bus depot and into town. Very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was clean and there was a comfortable bathroom. The hotel is very near to the centre of the town and all places of interest are easily reachble on the foot along the pedestrian streets

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a little difficult to understand and it was very slow/" and there was only one login per room even though there were two people so it used up your 2 hour slots very quickly

    Comfortable room great bathroom great stay for the night

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Great central location. Spacious, clean, good air con and wifi. Short walk from everything, helpful staff and inexpensive public car park across the road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is 12 euros and not worth it. The coffee is out of a machine and poor. There was little fresh fruit. The bacon was not proper bacon and the scrambled eggs sit on the serving table for quite a while so not fresh. There is a bar which is not used in the evening and I was charged 4 euros for a tiny glass of rosé.

    The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. I didn't like the first room I was shown and was shown another one with courtesy. The building is beautiful and well situated. Staff are excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As pointed out the hotel has no lift to the different floors.

    The hotel is just outside the city centre with a public parking nearby. We got a nice large room with lots of space. The staff was helpful and among other things helped us with dinner in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very friendly place to stay with kind and helpful staff. My room was cool and quiet, the bed was very comfortable and there was a well equipped bathroom. Good breakfast. It's very close to the Grand Theatre de Provence, which was the purpose of my visit. I would look no further for a place to stay in Aix.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs but the staff did the upmost and helped us carry our bags

    The staff were very friendly and directed us what to see around the city. The family room was great value for money. We had a lovely night stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weird feeling from the start... it seems you are getting into a cave, dark, old entrance, ailes... afterwards, the room is ok (in fact, we were upgraded), so no problem at the end (clean, big room, good wifi, good shower, one big bed -not specially comfortable-), but I guess the hotel should be refurbished and modernized to avoid bad feelings, especially with the lighting. Besides, a minimum English level should be mandatory for the staff in Reception.

    Close to downtown, though the city center is not big anyway.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred a queen bed instead of two twin beds together.

    We really liked the location of this hotel. It was very close to the downtown area and bus station. Staff was very attentive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking expensive. No mini bar.

    Great location near to the large fountain with many restaurants nearby. Nice room with a small terrace. Tea and coffee in room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Somehow I missed the fact that the hotel has no lift. - The room is quite small. Almost no space to put 2 big luggage.

    The staffs are very helpful. When we arrived in the night, we found out the bathroom's door is broken. We told the staff about this early in the morning, and by the time we came back in the noon it was fixed. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very happy with the service! The staff at the reception was excellent - very friendly, great suggestions for dinner and outdoor activities. We also received a great suggestion to drive to the sea before our flight and we loved it. It is very clean, nice breakfast for the value. Rooms are very simple, however nicely decorated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is old and the furniture is shabby. The breakfast is too expensive for what you get. The attitude of the staff was terrible when the facility problem occurred. I selected this hotel from the rate shown on the booking com website. It was a huge disappointment and mistake. I am wondering how such a high rate this hotel won. Probably from the location, but it's too high, I guess.

    The location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was basic and when you enter after a tiring trip you have to climb stairs to reach reception. However there was a concierge to help me take my case but don't know if this is a frequent occurrence or if I got lucky.

    Great location. Lovely town with fab local cafés and restaurants. Plenty to do. Staff were very helpful and always at the desk.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have available parking or offer any discount on parkings close by, there is one right around the corner but is expensive. The hotel doesn't have common areas where you can take a break. They don't even have a restroom in the lobby.

    Great small hotel in the heart of Aix Provence. Just a few blocks from the tourist office, the old city and great restaurants. Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor and furnishings in need of updating. Miniscule bathroom where some actions were almost physically impossible. No lift to reach reception on first floor or rooms above.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HVAC leeking water on the floor... no repair, cashier was not able to change a 200€ note for an open payment of 104 €. Breakfast room to much tables no space, breakfast under average for 12€

    location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was non existent, so had to pay steep price for overnight stay. Biggest kick in the teeth though, was having paid IN FULL while standing with my small dog and carrying his basket the night before, having to pay an extra hefty charge for the dog just on check out next morning. 15 Euros, really??? For what???

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This should not be a 3 star property. Rooms are very old and the whole hotel needs refurbishment. The rooms were tiny.

    Location is amazing. Staff were very helpful and honest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception is on the first floor, staff took the luggages for us. Corridor is a bit too dark and make the building looks old and a bit horrible with the weird pictures... not very comfy but staff are nice and heplful.

    Staff are nice and helpful; clean and good location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only potential drawback is the lack of an elevator. This is an issue for mobility impaired people. We had a very heavy suitcase, but the staff carried it up the stairs for us. In fact, the reception is on the second (first floor European style) floor, and they heard my daughter exclaim on the ground floor that there was no elevator. A young man came rushing down the stairs and picked up her very heavy suitcase and carried it all the way up to the room for her. The entryway to the hotel makes it look very quirky. Do not be deceived. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. We slept beautifully there.

    The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The room really was soundproof, and very quiet, even though it looked out upon a busy street. The hotel is located very conveniently, near the old town and most of the cultural and theatrical venues in Aix. The room seemed very newly renovated, and was extremely airy, light-filled, and comfortable. The hallways make it look like this might not be the case, since they are narrow and darker, but the rooms themselves are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a little tired, other than the bathrooms, but I believe that they are in the process of improving it. Internet comes and goes, but this seems to happen a lot in France

    Very central position. Lovely bathroom, comfortable bed, good beakfast, and very friendly and helpful staff. No parking, but there is a very big pay parking lot 2 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After what seemed like a long, hot walk from the TGV bus shuttle; not having a lift or elevator from the ground floor to check-in was a bit rough since we do not travel light especially when we are on a longer trip.

    The people at the front desk were very helpful. It was great to have the option for breakfast when we booked. Toiletries provided by hotel were a nice quality touch.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the hotel is discouraging.An elevator or somebody to help you with the carrying of the luggages would improve your image enormously!

    The room overall,the willingness of the staff to assist you,the very central location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a smoking room although we have reserved a non-smoking room (explanation was 'the smoke must have come through the window from outside' - i used to be a smoker, i know the smell of old smoke in a room)

    Location is excellent, old townvery close

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels like the decor needs an update

    Good location, staff was friendly, our room was plenty big

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: