Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'Hôtel Particulier Ascott 3 stars

35 rue du Chapitre, Saint-Servan, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#3 of 69 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 667 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Helene and Emmanuel are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble! They will suggest restaurants etc. It is a 30 min walk into St.Mal o but quite level and you pass some lovely boutique shops!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave after just one night! Will definitely stay for longer next time.

    This has to have been one of the loveliest hotels we have stayed in in France. It is small but perfect. The owners are so friendly and helpful and made you feel at home from the moment you arrived. The room was possibly on the small side for some but not for us. There was a lovely king size bed immaculately made up with little chocs set out for us. Bottles of water and tea making facilities were provided. Breakfast was plentiful and consisted of local produce including a delicious orange cake, freshly baked in house. Helena gave us lots of advice on where to eat locally. The location of the hotel is in a elegant residential area, close to shops although the old town was a little walk away. No problem for us but those with restricted mobility may need to drive and also the stairs may prove problematic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a little tight and could have been difficult if the hotel were full.

    Very comfortable beds and excellent specifications to rooms. The owners were really friendly hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, if you could move the hotel about 1 kilometre nearer to town, that would help.

    Very nice room,if a little on the small side. Very friendly and welcoming owner. Good breakfast and pretty garden to sit out in. Very nice hotel, would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was just great. We needed secure parking for motor bikes, which was really important for us. Emmanuel was so helpful with tips on where to go as we only had one night. The attention to detail in this hotel is amazing. Beautiful rooms with lovely organic products in the bathroom. We had homemade cakes and apple marmalade with breakfast. Can't recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of something...

    The nicest and most helpful hosts I've ever seen! Very elegant and high-quality room in a lovely building with great surroundings and garden. Loved the sound of birds singing. Breakfast was excellent. A really good choice overall!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Although the room is compact it is very comfortable and the hotel and grounds are very well kept. Breakfast included some delicious home-made jams and cake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was rather small, but so attractive and well-equipped that it didn't bother us.

    The house is charming, inside and out. Our room had a pretty little balcony, and eating breakfast in the sunny dining room overlooking the garden was a very civilised way to start the day. We loved the peaceful location, and the walk into central St Malo is pleasant and quaint.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike about the hotel. My husband enjoyed the breakfast but next time I would not take the breakfast due to a stomach condition I have

    A warm welcome from the owners and they kindly gave us a ground floor room because of my husbands knee condition. For our convenience the hotel is ideal for the ferry port and we will stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional service at welcome and overall comfort from A to Z. A classy place in a climate form some beautiful times back. Felt like one of those small B&Bs rather than a hotel. Definitely worth it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was further from the walled town of st-Malo than we had expected so we had to drive there. However, there was plenty of parking so it wasn't a problem Also the shower fitting was a bit temperamental which was frustrating.

    We loved the house and its renovations and ambience. It was also very close to the saint-Servan area of saint-Malo, a beautiful, picturesque harbour area we might otherwise not have discovered, but was well worth visiting. The owners were very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    We liked the peace and quiet; this is a quiet hotel. The parking facilities were perfect although those with a very large car might have a problem with the width of the entrance. The staff were welcoming and helpful and everything was spotlessly clean. We also liked the range of restaurants and creperies which are available nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the bathroom was a little unusual but worked ok.

    The welcome was very good and the information regarding where to go to eat was very useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two flights of winding shares...no problem for a fit 75 year old but might not be for everyone Bathrooms very smart but tiny Huge iron gates enclose car park but my Mercedes could only just squeeze through!

    Not a hot breakfast but excellent fruit, croissants, yogurt, jams and bread produced early for us. Very pleasant owners at this great town house all well kept and stylish Secure parking outside a plus as we had much in our car

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The L'Hotel Particulieur Ascott was a delightful find! Jean and her husband were so very accommodating and provided not just excellent service but also offered kind gestures to make the stay both enjoyable and relaxing. The beautiful house is situated in a quiet but easy to access location in St-Malo, France. Using the convenient bus service, made my business trip each day to the harbor easy and timely. The beautifully situated room, and wonderful petit dejeuner as well as the offer for an evening cheese tray the evening I arrived, made my stay especially lovely. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    We both really liked your hotel. Courteous and friendly welcome when we arrived. Excellent breakfast and helpfull advice regarding a nearby restaurant. Most certainly we shall visit you again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good and fresh products for the breakfirst. Considering prices hereafter, I think some ham, eggs and cheese would be welcome for a complete breakfirst. Not a big deal but I was also a bit surprised to pay 119 € for Friday's night and 140.00 € for Saturday's night

    Pleasant hotel, very quiet with spacious room. Easy to park in the street in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Croissants were lovely and bread really fresh, obviously care and pride was taken in the breakfast. Staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly. Old-world style and charm was very attractive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. The owners very friendly. Our Taxi didn't arrive to take us to the train station and the owners took us in there own car. They recommended a restaurant which was a short walk away in a lovely location and great food. Thank you, we had a great stay and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only that breakfast was poor and no facilities for evening meal.

    Luxurious and very comfortable. Only room in 3 weeks with tea making. Good tv channels. However, breakfast was very poor value and not very interesting. Good location for ferry home and for walking into St Servan. helpful and cheerful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the bedroom might have been a little bigger but it was perfect for a one night stay.

    Hotel had a lot of character and the host was very welcoming and really helpful. The breakfast was excellent too. A little bit outside the walls of St Malo but the walk down is pretty straightforward and only about 30 mins. Great to be able to park on site!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. We enjoyed the breakfast - more than enough to eat! The different cakes that was freshly baked every day, was very unique and special. The owners went out of their way to assist us, regardless of the hour. The architecture of the house was well preserved, and adds to the ambience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked some cheese with breakfast, but that's not usual in France. My wife had trouble getting on the WiFi, but it worked OK for me, so I can't say what the issue was. I didn't like the rain, but I really can't blame the hotel for that!

    This is a great hotel. The staff were super-helpful, suggesting places to eat in Solidor and places to visit in St. Marlo. Solidor beachfront — 15 minutes walk from the hotel — is a little gem that we would never have discovered if we had not stayed here. Our room was small but comfortable, and the bathroom quite spacious. We were travelling with a small dog, and were given a room with access from the garden, which was perfect for us. There was home-made jam and cake with breakfast — really tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not too big a problem but a surprisingly small bedroom (well equipped tho for its size) Fine for a one night stay.

    Brilliant service and breakfast too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast options were limited. They were truly "continental," and consisted of bread, pastry, and a small yogurt.

    Location is great, and the proprietors were very welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not adapted to people who can't walk up the stairs The bathroom is a little small and oldish (but absolutely clean and fine)

    Breakfast is nice and served in the garden if the weather allows Rooms are clean and comfortable Beds are firm and very comfortable Staff is extra friendly Parking is possible Very quiet area / easy to sleep in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The proprietors were incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. We received homecooked Breton specialities each morning with our fabulous breakfast. The garden at the back was lovely for a glass of champagne in the late afternoon. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, we had a delightful stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about the very French hotel was excellent from the delicious breakfast to the welcoming staff and very comfortable bed and clean rooms and the location to the town. The only downside would have been if either of us had mobility problems has access to the rooms are by stairs only.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small window in bedroom as accommodation situated in basement. However spacious, well designed with excellent bathroom.

    Excellent breakfast with local and home made jam etc. Very friendly and helpful welcome .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything in the room [although it was very clean and comfortable] was on the very compact size including the minute wardrobe [about 30cms wide] with hardly any space to store things. Most probably only accessible by car.

    The very warm welcome from the husband and wife team who couldn't do enough to make you feel 'at home' and have a good stay at the hotel. Excellent breakfast with different home made jams and cake each day and freshly baked crusty croissants and bread. Quiet and restful location. Parking spaces for up to 6 neatly parked cars were available and, if there was no room in front of the hotel, parking was also available along the road outside the hotel free of charge. Excellent restaurant just down the road from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit smaller than expected but fine for an overnight only stay.

    Beautifully quirky typically traditional hotel with modern decor. Owners extremely welcoming and helpful. Secure parking on site was very important. Quiet location but close enough to walk to lovely local restaurants and old St Malo. Very close to the Ferry Port Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect.

    This is a really lovely hotel, we're very happy that we stayed here. The two members of staff are incredibly warm, welcoming and friendly, and they speak good English (and they didn't laugh at my poor French). My son loved the resident cat! The hotel itself is wonderful. It's beautifully decorated and very stylish, and the gardens are lovely too (and really peaceful). Our room was very clean with lots of storage, and the bed was super comfy (with lots of pillows) so we had a great nights sleep. The shower was really easy to use, and there are toiletries (soap and hair/body gel which are in large bottles secured to the wall) and towels. Breakfast was huge, my teenage son couldn't eat it all, and consisted of home made cake and jam (which were lovely), coffee/orange juice/hot chocolate, yogurt, fruit, and pastries. There's sachets of tea and coffee in the rooms as well as a kettle, and a telephone. The TV picks up English and French TV channels, which was super helpful, and there's free wifi. There's no food available other than breakfast, but there's an Italian restaurant less than 10 mins walk away (Casa Cosi) which was lovely too. We'd happily book another holiday just so that we could stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Very comfortable overnight stay. Received lovely friendly welcome, room beautifully clean and comfortable (although compact). Breakfast was excellent and promptly served with the added bonus of freshly picked apricots from the hotel garden. Good parking and the Hotel location is excellent with good restaurants (overlooking the bay) within easy walking distance and ferry port close and easy accessible. Happy to recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a lovely stay at this property. It's in a quiet, very picturesque area a pleasant walk from the centre of St Malo. The house is beautiful and the owners very friendly. The house has a lovely garden which is fabulous for breakfast or just relaxing in the afternoon - it's apricot tree was full of ripe fruit in July! We would thoroughly recommend a visit and would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts very friendly and helpful. Small number of rooms (9) so it felt more like a B&B than a hotel. Free parking. Very close (5min) to a beautiful and quiet beach. Hotel not in the old center but you can easily walk to it (15-20 min).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the jersey boat's delay, we arrived at 2am to find the charming owner waiting up for us. Well beyond the call of duty! Delicious breakfast. Can't fault the l'Ascott.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps better quality items on the hospitality tray in the bedroom

    Very friendly owners who already know the area well. Plentiful French breakfast with homemade treats .. Try the madelaines ..if on offer ..and not required by their charming daughter for her school lunch box. Ideal for a 2 or 3 night stay in the area. Great recommendations on where to eat. Spotlessly clean everywhere. Quiet, peaceful garden to relax in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything - that we couldn't stay longer but we're catching a ferry to Portsmouth.

    The proprietor Emmanuelle couldn't do enough to help us with maps, directions, recommendations etc. He was also courteous and discreet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was just about adequate. The water was not very warm but we were not there long enough to tell them about this and we are sure that the staff would have fixed it.

    The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff who got the internet going again when it dropped out. The place was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, the owners, the breakfast, everything was excellent. At some point, I needed a mini-USB cable and it was produced for me. I couldn't have asked for more. The property is withing a short distance of the major shopping street with restaurants and ~20 min walk from the inner city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was poor, breakfast started at 8 am, we were leaving at 0645, did get offered a breakfast tray, but turned down. decor of room not to standard of pictures, would have like to have had a drink, with out going out.

    the location was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was temperamental, but we did not bother to mention anything to staff as it worked fine most of the time. And of course we were there to enjoy St Malo, and escape the screens for a bit!

    Breakfast was served to us by the hotelier, so we felt very looked after. Everything was of a very high quality, plentiful, and varied with fresh fruit, yoghurt, jams, cakes, breads and pastries which were fresh and different every day. Excellent. The bed was very comfy, and the rooms pleasant. The location meant there was zero noise outside, so you will get a good night's rest here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In UK this would be "3 star guest accommodation" not "3 star hotel". Room quite compact (even though we were "upgraded to superieure"), although perfectly OK for 1 or 2 nights. Slightly out of St Malo city, although walkable in half an hour. Breakfast appeared to be an expensive additional cost option.

    Very attentive hosts. Cosy log fire on a blustery evening. Good local produce market in St Servan. Nice little sandy bays nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This lovely hotel is an old merchants home converted tastefully into a very nice travelers rest. The rooms are compact but very comfortable with all amenities. The hostess is delightful - welcoming and helpful. She speaks English and provided a wonderful breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to car park is very tight but there is street parking outside. We had a basic double room which was ideal for one night before catching the ferry home but would advise up grading for longer stay.

    Excellent breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and delicious home made Breton cake.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Don't expect the wifi to work well. Breakfast is nice and its convenient too. But not necessarily value for money.

    The room was clean and tidy and the staff friendly. The building itself was excellent and well maintained

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was free wifi which worked fine apart from in the bedroom area of our room, only in the bathroom. That said, there was a lovely hall and dining area where it worked fine.

    Beautiful building and the staff were exceptionally friendly!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was slightly small and compact, it is an old property which has been converted comfortably.

    the welcome was friendly and ready to please and be helpful. The breakfast was a good continental one, we were in France so we can have an excellent lunch.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful if you intend to park your car in the front yard which is locked up at night. A dangerously narrow entrance! But you can easily park on the street outside. It's a quiet area.

    A wonderful little hotel/guesthouse with only 7-8 rooms, all of them apparently very nicely furnished. An intimate, personal atmosphere. Great breakfast with homemade cakes! This is the kind of places we always look for when we travel. So much nicer than large, impersonal hotels. Five stars in our book!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little difficult to access through a very narrow gate. There's no lift so it was a long climb up narrow staircase to our second floor room.

    Charming hotel with welcoming staff. Lovely decor. In-room coffee machine. Beautiful building and grounds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Decor and bed great, just as needed. Direct route to ferry (10 minutes) - great. Staff could not be more helpful and welcoming. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Through no fault of the hotel, this end of town is rather quiet ( ie shut!) after around 7.30 pm ( visited early Sept. so may be more going on in the summer months proper?). To take advantage of the restaurants its either a mile into the harbour area or 2 miles into St Malo ( approx)

    Excellent "high end" hotel. Achieves its status not by adding trendy facilities or gadgets, just high quality. Owners very laid back with the exact right balance of non intrusive but helpful. I would say it is much more suited to couples - not so much for children

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As is the norm in Brittany, there is no fan in room and this would be my only criticism.

    Good location - there is a restaurant at end of road and beach front with restaurants about 10-15 minutes walk away. Lovely staff who speak English, excellent breakfast. Stylish room with comfortable bed. Secure parking in front of hotel through narrow gateway but parking also available in street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful mansion with elegant decor Delicious breakfast 10 min by car To Saint Malo intramuros Located in a silent neighborhood Very nice staff We didnt miss The lack of ar conditioning,The nights were chilly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    30 minutes walk to St-Malo center, no eggs for breakfast, no air conditioning.

    Beautiful building away from the crowds, good value, friendly staff, free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little small. That said was functional and the size was a function of the original property layout.

    Very friendly and helpful staff! Made to feel welcome despite our basic French. Iconic building with nice interior. Only opted for a final morning breakfast but that was excellent! Whilst there was no dining room for dinner and excellent Bistrot was available at the end of the road. Not located within the walls of St Malo so is quiet and a 25 minute stroll to the old town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very real problem for me was the amount of stairs. There is no lift and our room was on the second floor so my knees suffered greatly! Apparently there is a garden room which we would definitely try to book if we return.

    This is a delightful place to stay. The house is beautiful and the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. They were happy to advise and book a restaurant which turned out to give us one of the best meals we had during our holiday. Breakfast was superb too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only open air storage for our bicycles but in a secured garden.

    Lovely character house in a quiet location with easy access to St Sevan harbour. Top quality breakfast in nicely decorated room. Very welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very minor point but we have quite a big car and the entrance gate was a little narrow to get through. However, there is parking in the street outside.

    Brilliant for catching the ferry - a 4 min drive (or less). Wonderful house, comfortable room, excellent continental breakfast, we really enjoyed our short stay and would definitely go there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entrance to the car-park was tight, therefore I chose to park on the quiet road.

    The owner was very friendly and helpful, location was very good. Room was small but adequate. The breakfast was very enjoyable, especially the homemade items.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like, the only possible issue is how close you want to be to the walled town (Intramuros). Most people would find it too far to walk.

    The young woman who ran the place was charming and extremely helpful, and the breakfast is exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None whatsoever

    We stayed one night in L'Hôtel Particulier Ascott, passing through to Normandy. We were welcomed by the super friendly and very hospitable and accurate hostess. She provided us with all the necessary information to visit Saint Malo. The building is very nice preserved and the (our) room was clean, with a good bed and a nice view over the premises and the surroundings. It was provided with TV and free Wi-Fi. The breakfast was extensive, fresh and good, with a delicious homemade rhubarb pie. The parking is on the premises of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fantastic hidden gem in the outskirts of St. Malo. Small, but cosy room. An owner that didn't know what good she could do for her guests. The best breakfast we've had in France. An excellent choice!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we couldn't stay longer!

    Wonderful classical property beautifully and tastefully presented. Felt as if you were a house guest. Perfectly situated for the St Servan seafront and restaurants, the town, St Malo itself and the Ferry Terminal. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was only just wide enough for my car. People carriers would not get in.

    The reception was friendly. The room was very comfortable. There were english tv channels.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but adequate for a 2 night stay. Ventilation in the bathroom was ineffective.

    The beautifully restored mansion which had been very tastefully furnished and decorated. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, especially the home-made tarts! Very convenient for the port of St. Malo.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity there is no in house evening meal but it did get us out walking. The second floor is a strech with luggage but the staff most helpful. Car parking is a bit tight!

    Very quiet yet just off the main route to Rennes. Also comfortable(but not that short) walk to a number of good seafood resturants. Staff very polite and helpful. Lovely breakfast and lovely well appointed room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and flat,

    Excellent location, beautiful property, wonderful staff, WiFi is very slow,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,comfort,and the lovely people who run it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Delightful hotel with equally delightful proprietors. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed and well-maintained building with history

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs.

    The garden, the staff, the facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly manager, rooms on the small side but tea and coffee provided, excellent location for the ferry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    Everything you could want from a top hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owners friendly and helpful , very comfortable beds. Continental breakfast was good and very filling

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: