Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Asther 2 stars

14 Bis Rue Des Douves, 35600 Redon, France

#5 of 7 hotels in Redon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    A basic hotel but perfect for our requirements.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well located and close to the pedestrian centre of town. Friendly helpful lady who let us in early and helped us with our bike luggage. Good secure bike storage. A basic hotel but perfect for our requirements.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was very basic. Whilst the bed was not uncomfortable neither was it very good. The breakfast was always the same and lacking in imagination and variety. The write up in Booking.Com led one to expect more.

    The location was good as it was in the centre of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    basic central hotel ideal for a touring stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely helpful couple that run the hotel. Basic hotel with a central location and next to a brasserie with wonderful food. Undercover parking for our motorbikes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Lovely owners made the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was lovely but the whole experience was made by the lovely couple who ran the hotel. I was even given a free breakast as I chose the wrong rate when booking. Lovely people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    Convenient, fine for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenient to the train station. Had asked for a quiet room, and that was provided. Did make a difference, as when there were 2 of us in a different room to accommodate 2 beds, we did notice the street noise a bit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Okay for one night stay.

    The location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.0
    The owners were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a nice entrance but the rooms were okay .

    The owners were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly helpful owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful owners Property simple but very clean and everything functioned well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    We arrived early and they allowed us to leave our suitcases.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and they allowed us to leave our suitcases. Great location next to a lovely restaurant and close to the railway station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.0
    Simple basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple basic hotel. Good breakfast. Secure cycle storage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    Decent cyclist stop for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a one night only place.

    Center, easy to find and convenient off canal. Friendly service. Safe bike storage. Everything worked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Value for money budget hotel with ensuite facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception desk only open for limited periods.

    Walking distance from station and town centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor a little dull

    Excellent breakfast served by the very friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.7
    Correct
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sa situation en pleine ville

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    5.8
    Very friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed against wall on one side. Thick dust on skirting by bed.

    Very friendly helpful staff. A useful stopover.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Good location, mice people, comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    A pleasant hotel in the Centre of Redon which had secure storage for our bikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small hotel with windy stairs.

    Good location in the centre of Redon. They had secure storage for our bikes

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    5.0
    Very hot in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in room. Very small 3 person bedroom. No airco. Next to railway.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful to two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful to two tired Australians. Our bike storage was good and the room was quiet. Breakfast was plentiful with good choice.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.2
    This three star hotel represents excellent value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This three star hotel represents excellent value for money and the staff are very helpful. Location is near the station and a range of restaurants, bars and town centre

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    The owner and receptionist could not have been more helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner and receptionist could not have been more helpful, exactly what good service should be. We have just cycled the length of France and this was a very modest hotel but the nicest we stayed in. Superb value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Georges was so helpful, welcoming and informative - such a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Georges was so helpful, welcoming and informative - such a contrast to other places we have stayed at since! He helped us with parking, making sure our bikes were safe and ensuring we felt relaxed and welcome. Could not ask more!! Breakfast plentiful and lots of choice. Room practical, wifi operational and clean bathroom. Comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    The owners were delightful and couldn't have done more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit of noise from the railway station but no real disturbance. No good cheese for breakfats (but then I am fussy)

    The owners were delightful and couldn't have done more to help us and improve our stay

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location, off town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sated during 3-month maintenance work on train line. When the trains stopped, the jack-hammers started. Arrived before a group of cyclists, but wasn't given the key to put the bike in the shed before the others. When went back later to put bike in shed, was told there was no more space! Luckily I managed to squeeze the bike in. What was that about, madame?

    Great location, off town centre. Junction of both St.Malo - Nantes cycle route, and Nantes - Brest canal. Separate storage for bicycles. Plenty of cafes, restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were excellent. We were assisted with free parking on site, and good information about the town. The room was very comfortable, good bathroom, and we even managed to get canal sport for the N.Z rugby finals.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room was advertised for 32 euro on booking .com.but when I went to pay in morning it was 45.70. Although it was worth it I was a bit disappointed with false advertising. On booking.com the following day it still showed 32 eiro.?????

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    5.0
    Access to Wifi and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms and bed not comfortable

    Access to Wifi and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    Very nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    Very clean throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean throughout. Warm welcome on arrival

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.8
    The owner went out of his way to give us a room when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner went out of his way to give us a room when we arrived on bicycles, soaking wet and before our room was made up.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: