Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Astrid 2 stars

32 Avenue Louis Barthou, 35000 Rennes, France

#31 of 34 hotels in Rennes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 790 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a short overnight stay in Rennes during my trip from Lyon to Saint-Malo and for that reason booked Hotel Astrid which as well as the city exceeded all my expectations. For me the most important thing was hotel’s location - just right next to the train station (3min walk!) but in the evening I also went for a walk and wad pleasantly surprised by surroundings - some cafes, shops - everything you need! If you walk for 10-15mn you’ll get to big square and some sights. The room itself had everything traveller needs - comfortable bed (with additional warm blanket), small table, chair and TV. In the room there is also a washroom with a shower, big mirror on the wall and a space to hang clothes and put luggage. Breakfast consisted of fresh french bakeries with jams, nutella, butter, cereals as well as drinks - orange juice, tea, coffee. I was absolutely satisfied with my stay and would recommend Hotel Astrid; if I have a chance to visit Rennes again - will definitely book it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smell very very bad. One of the extra bed collapsed when we sit on it.

    Very good location. Short walk from gare de rennes and bus for castles

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Triple room very small, but as we stayed only a couple of hours so it was ok.

    Location was super convenient for us (had to catch a train quite early). We were able to arrive late without any problem. We stayed only to sleep and leave so we cannot really judge the rest...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room located at the extremities of the tiny terrace which is also the hotel's smoking area. Hotel guests smoking at any time of the day right outside our room (the worst time was there @1.30am and the guests woke up my children). This meant that we couldn't open the blinds during the stay they were no curtains to enable us to put the blinds up to let natural light in as the guests would have looked directly into our room. Dust on the table, bedside table, venetian blinds, no batteries in the remote control, bedside table lamp's lightbulb not working. Staff were very friendly, the beds were comfortable and the bedlinen and bathroom clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle & mini bar in Rooms, it's a must.

    Close to Gare,comfortable beds, The Room size is small but just enough.bathrooms were clean.the property have used every inch of their space.its a tie between le florin & Astrid.i was a bit hesitant with the reviews indicating noise between Rooms but I had no problem, maybe fellow Room mates were Polite.I would have no problem returning and would also recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad experience with the Lady on the recepetion. She asked me and my colleague to leave the Hotel just because I unfortunately pour some liquid soap on the table (not on purpose). We were already ready to go but this was not a reason to talk to us like that. I am actually always on the way because of my Job, and I was in many many countries. This trip was the worst only because of this woman

    die Lage

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anointing motion light, which was missing while taking shower and wi-fi, which connection was poor.

    It was okey, for one night stay. Location was good, because it is not far away from old town. Also bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the price is a little bit high for the offered services. Not very good welcome and wifi does not work well

    The hotel is well located especially for the travellers who have to take the train

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff spoke very little English, cost was far too high, room was dirty, lights did not work, sockets where unsafe to use. Wifi connection was extremely poor and the furniture was all wobbly and uneven

    The shower, TV and bed was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower gave me claustrophobia, so small Rooms need air conditioning as it got very hot and had to leave window open which then meant at 3am it was very noisy with clubbers heading home.

    The Hotel looked great, but the cleanliness of the rooms was poor, stains on carpets and wall, shower needed a good dose of bleach, this could be a wonderful boutique hotel if the cleaner was sacked. room 403

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was racist again me. He don't like black. When I came to the hotel he didn't want to open for me, he asked my name first, he told me this is how they do after 19h00 but after there was a group of 4 white people came and he opens the door for them , without asking questions before. After they enter than he start asking questions, he was rude and not polite to my son, he is a disaster for the company

    Niets

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't appreciate the attitude and service of this hotel. First, when my sister and I arrived, we found that there was no shampoo; we went to the counter waiting for the reply, however, nothing to give us. The man even said we could go to supermarket to buy it. He had no patience. Eventually, he changed another room for us; there is no carpet at that room, (when we argued with another man next day, he even said on sunday they have no carpet) and with smoke smell. The next day, the lady promised us that we can stay at night at the lobby because our night bus is at midnight. But the man at the counter insisted to kick us out becuause he wanted to sleep! He even threatened us there was camera to film us. He even wanted to call the police. At that moment, he allowed the african young man to go with their friends even he didn't book the room. And he even allowed the young man can stay at the lobby instead of going to the room. Why we could not stay at the lobby and other people can stay? We insisted to talk to the boss and he said he was the boss. If you want to stay at this hotel, you need to be brave to challenge with these men and need to bring shampoo and carpet for shower room by yourself if you want to take a shower and not to slip on the restroom. I will never go back again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness - bathroom was dirty, also room was full of dust. Staff was not able to speak English. Very small room.

    Location. Very close to the train station - 1 minute walk. If you are just looking for a place where to sleep for one night and then go away, it is ok for the price you pay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea /coffee making facilities Only one light in bedroom worked ( three didn't) but bathroom one did so gave bit of light. Bit limited on space for luggage

    Handy for quick stop . Near railway station, room clean but basic. Did have small lift to get to higher floors Quite modern

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only French channels on TV

    calm, quiet, nice and clean close to train station, perfect if you just want to see Rennes on your way to another place like the channel islands. Good bed Pretty good WiFi 5 Down/1 Up

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet access was a bit hit and miss

    Great location and value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom is very small, basic

    The hotel is fine for one/two nights no more. Not fare from the city centre and close to the train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small.

    It was small but very clean. It was very good compared to the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel si good, service is excelent very clean and comfortable hotel. Thank you for amazing relax.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear alot of noise from room to room

    Bed really comfortable, staff is friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift not working, suffocating rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin, you can hear everything in the room next door.

    Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't there long enough

    The communions made it easy and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the internat connection was not good

    The staff was very nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are rather small.

    The location is across the street from the train station. The hotel is a great value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rubbish left in room and under bed, bathroom was mouldy and filthy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had the room for two nights. it was not freshened up in between nights.

    the location was amazing. the room was clean and perfect for our needs

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi

    Bed comfortable. Very quite, relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi did not work on the upper floors. The carpet in the room was stained.

    The beds were very comfortable. Design of the rooms .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Near train station , restaurants

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very close to train station. Everything was great. And breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in the bathroom was annoying

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not one word of English at reception. Smallest hotel room I have ever been in. No where to put suitcases. Very small lift & steep stairs. Busy street, with people being picked up from station as major constructions at station.

    Location, being so close to the train station, is this hotels best asset.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They closed the front door for a few hours each day, which was mildly annoying.

    Excellent value for money - nice staff, comfortable rooms, albeit small. Great location near station.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were rude! No English, closed the hotel from 12 in the afternoon until 4? The lift is slow and tiny so be prepared to walk 5 flights of stairs, not an issue for me but could be any issue for someone else

    The rooms were comfortable

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't really like was that the door to the bathroom didn't really close properly. It always stayed open a crack.

    Nice and clean hotel, very near to the train station. Our room was renovated, the bed was comfortable, all in all we were very satisfied for what we got for our money :)

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small bathroom, difficult to get in and out of the tiny shower cubicle

    Convenient location for the train station, clean and comfortable rooms, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We couldn't pull up the blinds, so the room was dark all the time. Add the black walls and you get the idea.

    Staff was nice, room small, but okay, cleaned every day really well. The decor was a cherry on the cake. Made you feel special. We were allowed to check in earlier and the reception was always staffed.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The is a high possibility that the room is not ready when you arrive During cleaning all the bedsheets and cleaning products were on the stairs, so you could not walk down the stairs being forced to take the elevator The staff barely knows english

    The room The location The fact that we had been allowed to leave our luggage a few hour more after the check-out The wifi works well

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom in our standard room was slightly on the small side, with little space in the shower.

    Conveniently located a few yards away from the station, yet very quiet. Modern and stylish design. Friendly and helpful staff. Relaxing breakfast room opening onto the garden.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The manager wasn't in smiley mood! may be a bad day...

    location, and confort...

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Couple

    poco sitio para la ropa

    situación and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No private parking

    Easy access to train station

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a little noisy, because of the elevator and neighbors.

    The staff was nice and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was pretty cold, bathroom door doesn't close completely

    right next to the station, easy luggage storage

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room is very small.

    the location is very nice and also close to the center.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only French speaking , not even a single word in English

    Very close to central station , clean good for one night

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bathtub as ordered...

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the train station, very convenient!

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast

    Good comfortable stay near train station for overnight between train and bus

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front desk closed a few hours in afternoon.

    Very friendly, English-speaking manager. Right across the street from the train station.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I love the Astrid, and depend on it when traveling in and out of the gare. It's literally less than a five minute walk to the trains.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise

    great location (near station)

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    value for money, good location

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and the quirkiness of the décor in the room.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: