Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Astrid 2 stars

39 rue de Bernières, 14000 Caen, France

#7 of 63 hotels in Caen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in we were not given instructions for reentering the hotel once the desk was closed. We went out for dinner and found the door locked upon our return. We eventually found a number to call, but could have entered the code if we had known about it.

    This hotel was well-located for visiting the center of Caen. Street parking for our rental car was readily available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative at all

    The people were fantastic. They were very welcoming and helped me in every detail of my trip. The location is amazing as well, very close to bars, restaurants and historical landmarks of Caen. The hotel is superb calm and there are places to eat nearby that are even open during midnight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be additional wall hook or two in a bathroom to hang a towel/clothes not next to the shower

    Breakfast in the room, code to enter the hotel in late hours

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fine but a seating area and UK TV would have been nice.

    Basic hotel. A good clean room in the city centre. The hotel does not have a a bar, a restaurant or breakfast area. But it is ideal for a business stopover or a couple of nights as a tourist if you are happy to eat and drink elsewhere. It suited us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even if there was no breakfast room, the served breakfast was served on a clean tray with a plate mat, freshly baked bread, and anyting wanted which was asked by the landlady on before, very good! Very kind and helpful landlady!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish I have time to try their breakfast.

    Despite the rush between my booking and arriving, I was still welcome with warm smile from the accommodation. The location is perfect for walk in the city center of Caen. Everything else were also perfect for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. Though could be awkward for the elderly as none of the rooms are on the ground floor. The cheapest way to travel from Caen airport is the number 3 bus, but you would have to alight at the Place de la Republique, just 10 minutes stroll from the hotel - not so good with bulky luggage.

    "Superior Double" room was spacious, large comfortable bed, Excellent shower, separate lavatory, large table for breakfast etc. Room was spotlessly clean throughout our stay. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. An excellent continental breakfast (9 euros extra pp) served in your room was truly a bonus to set us up for the day. Tram stop nearby was used to go to the railway station for a day trip to Bayeux.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no restaurant and we chose not to eat breakfast in our room as it was also rather pricey. But not a major deal as we tend to prefer to go out and explore anyway.

    The room was fantastic value and was perfect for our requirements. It was clean and comfortable. We've found standards vary hugely at this price point but this was top of the range for what we paid. But much more than this the hostess was amazing. Super-friendly and lovely, she couldn't have made us more welcome or been more helpful. This is a big deal - low-cost hotels are usually extremely anonymous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. But luckily found a public all night carpark with a minutes walk from the hotel and not too expensive either.

    Simple very clean rooms with separate wc and bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Great central location. Good large comfortable beds. We needed somewhere to stay for the night after arriving via ferry from Portsmouth to Caen before a long drive in the morning. This fitted the bill perfectly. Great places to eat nearby and had a lovely evening meal in a cute cobbled lane lined with old cottages buzzing with people and restaurants serving delicious local food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -A lot of noises (street, washing maschine room below, flush which started working randomly in the night) - small room with no storage possibilites

    -personal was very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no view to speak of, but it really didn't matter to us as we were out all day anyway.

    The lady on reception was lovely, she had a huge smile on her face permanently and made us feel very welcome. We were very lucky with parking as the road outside the hotel was being worked on so the parking meters were not in use which meant we were able to park right outside the hotel for free. The room and shower room/ toilet were cosy and clean, the beds were really comfortable and plenty of towels, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that I can think of.

    The front desk staff was especially helpful. Restaurant recommendations were perfect. We will stay there again if we return to Caen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Very comfortable stay in the heart of Caen - friendly welcome, while room was modern and clean. Good shower pressure. Continental breakfast was brought at exactly the right time I had requested.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved most everything. Bed was a bit firm for my needs. Would have loved some cheese with breakfast but compared to how great everything was, these are minor things.

    Hostess was awesome! Willing to store luggage until our room was ready. Ordered a taxi for us that arrived exactly on time. Room was large and super clean. Breakfast in the room was tasty and plenty for two.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift - but we are spoiled Americans!

    Our hostess was one of the loveliest people I have ever met. The location was fantastic even thought we never stayed in Caen while we were there. Next time, we WILL. The room was immaculate, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. One small note - no lift. But that might not have been any kind of problem if I hadn't had a 68 pound beast of a suitcase with me. Our lovely hostess helped us up with all the other luggage and wanted to help us with The Beast. I would not allow it. We truly loved our stay and would definitely return!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet was a bit noisy. And the room was small, but it was ok for 1 person. The price seemed a bit high considering Caen is a small town.

    I loved the hotel, it was very clean and nice, my room was on the 1st floor so the lack of elevator wasn't a problem, the staff was very friendly and the location was very quiet (big plus). It's on 2 minutes from the tram stop and basically in the center of the town. Also, you get a code for the outside door in the case you return to the room late in the night. The bathroom is small, but the shower place seemed wide enough for much bigger people than me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing - even the shower curtain was changed every day

    I was immensely impressed with this spotlessly clean hotel - foremost the manager, who was delightful and for whom nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ordered the continental breakfast for our room but did think 9 Euros was too expensive for what we received

    The location was good and room very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room extremely small and noise most of the night, had to sleep with window open as no air con. Smelt like an old ashtray!

    Very central, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish French Hotels had kettles and tea in the room!

    Right in the center of town. Very organised and the room was spotless with fresh towels and lots of spare pillows.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our neighbours didnt like my kids slamming the doors...nothing really

    The interior throughout is modern and clean. We arrived very late and the staff were amazing. The central location, parking available across the road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming hotel, very friendly owner who stayed up to make sure we could check in after a late ferry and a lovely breakfast served to the room. Thank-you Madame!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, just be aware there is no lift.

    It is very close to the centre of town for restaurants and the start of the canal, which was a great bonus because it was a super place to start a lovely long, scenic run. The rooms are very compact but comfortable and provided everything we needed. There is no breakfast room but a tray of delicious croissants, bread, jams, yoghurt, orange juice and lovely coffee can be served in your room if required.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise made by a toddler banging and running around the room up above our room could be heard during one of our nights there which interrupted our sleep. Also, the sound of the shower running late at night could be heard as well. These were the only thing we did not like about our stay there. The ceiling was not sound proofed or not thick enough to block the noises.

    The madame was friendly and helpful. Inside of the hotel and the rooms were clean which is very important for our family.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The hotel was new, the room was beautifully furnished, very spacious and clean. The hotel was in the centre of the city near many shops, restaurants and bars. The owner was very polite and helped with everything we need.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is ideal for the chateau, the abbayes and the river. We were greeted with a warm smile and whatever we needed would never be a chore. So clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money, would happily stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an issue for us, but there is no elevator.

    Great location for walking to Caen attractions, restaurants and accessing the train station. Just a half block from a tram stop. Very nice and helpful innkeeper. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crying baby in a room close by so not total soundproofed within the hotel but from streets very good isolation. No elevator.

    Best 2 star hotel yet, super attentive and helpful staff. Clean and fresh. Close to city centre incl restaurants and shops. Many parking spots along the streets outside, take notice of signs on streets saying forbidden to park (interdit...)! Ask hotel staff for translation in case you are uncertain.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally adequate for an overnight stay

    Convenience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. No elevator.

    Location. Updated bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was very helpful and the hotel location is a short walk to the Train Station, and the center of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facilities in the room.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view?

    The lady who looked after us was Literally an angel. The location was great. The price was really fair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The staff was amazing and kind. Super helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and helpful woman who works there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is high.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect hotel, clean and great service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location following ferry crossing. Very obliging receptionist / manger.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a kettle in the room

    Staff and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine

    Very kind women with a very kind personality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room , great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    central location, family room, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Very helpful and friendly! Great location near the chateau

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, comfortable room near city centre. Very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is without a lift and no air conditioning, although it is only the end of May, it was very hot at the room.

    The host was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not have hot breakfast.

    Good directions to good restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -very friendly reception -good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    Great location, very clean hotel, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Location excellent. Service was excellent, very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good clean room. Nice staff. Great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. C'est Magnifique!

    Very clean and very comfortable. Well located in center of town. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff and immaculately clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WAY over priced

    Loved the lady who ran the place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room and friendly staff. We had an early start for our ferry and they organised fresh croissants for us to take with us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh but dull and bland decor

    Very central location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and bathrooms were a bit too small.

    The location is perfect. Everything was very clean and new.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought that the breakfast was expensive for what you got.

    Well located hotel , comfortable room and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real dislikes

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Time and a lift.

    Lovely hotel & staff, very helpful. Good location although very short stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Madame at reception lovely, very friendly & helpful, easy walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable. Breakfast was brought to the room by staff. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a lot of noise outside late at night

    the room was very clean and tidy + the owner and staff were very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall old hotel with no facilities whatsoever.

    Centrally located in Caen

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be a problem

    Excellent staff, location and room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice. Staff very friendly. Great place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful hostess in a family-run hotel, extremely friendly, helpful, and caring.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all as it met all of our needs

    Extremely clean and a very welcoming host. Ideal location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cheerful welcome even after a very late arrival. Secure storage provided for bicycles. Plenty of breakfast options nearby.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no lift but that wasn't a problem - need to decide the day before if you want to get a breakfast since it is served to the room

    + comfortable room + cleanness + extremely nice and helpful staff + breakfast served in the room (!) at the hour of your choice + this place should be a strong 3*

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There's no elevator, but the owner helped us carry our suitcases to the room.

    The property is conveniently located in the city center with restaurants, grocers, and department stores within easy walking distance. Bus and tram stops are just a few steps away. Our room and beds were very comfortable, and the Astrid's owner is friendly, welcoming, and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Room was very clean with new and matching decor. Excellent location and staff are very helpful. The hotel has a family feel about it, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bar would of added to a brilliant stay. But that is easily outweighed by the good points

    Lovely clean comfortable room. With the most pleasant helpful lady running the hotel you could wish for. Would definitely go back and would highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No toiletries except a tiny bag of shower gel, super tiny room and very, very uncomfortable bed.

    The room was very clean, central location, the owner is very welcoming and corteous

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast is really bad and expensive... Nine euros for one croissants, one cup of coffee and two small part of bread. We were cheated!... I would never recommend that place!

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: