Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Au Bon Coin 3 stars

route des Thermes, 64660 Lurbe-Saint-Christau, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Lurbe-Saint-Christau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    over priced evening meal; no bar for evening drink; animals allowed SO CAT CRYING ALL NIGHT kept us awake,not ideal when you have a long drive following day. staff were informed and simply shrugged and said SO!!!!

    not a lot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They speak very little English here but we have never had a problem with our broken French we have always had some laughs but the owner could not seemed to be bothered. We were only one of two rooms that night. In the morning checking out THEY had a problem with our credit card we had to go though four cards to get one to work. It may have been a French banking problem but just staring at us like it was our fault did not make us happy people. would we return No. Oh I did not mention and this was out of there control also but still effected us. Barking dogs and heavy truck traffic.

    Big room on the second floor, no elevator but typical for this size hotel. Clean room and we had a small balcony with two chairs and a table to seat at. The dinning room was the best part of our stay really good food for dinner. We did not take breakfast as we thought it was to expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool had a dead mouse floating in. The rooms were dark with no natural daylight. Staff didn't speak and I appreciate this is not a holiday hotel, but no effort was made at all. No offerings of breakfast or lunch or dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room and very pet friendly, the owner that greeted us was very friendly and nice chap. Very comfy bed with extra pillows good bathroom and a great shower in the morning and the food in the restaurant was very good limited choice but very good value for money. There a rather strong "musty smell" about the place but it is built on a bank, in the woods and it was raining so that probably explains that. I bet in the winter with the log fire roaring it would be lovely. Would recommend and would stay again, only a short drive back to the main Somprt Rd.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel is very well located for exploring 2 or 3 valleys of the Pyrenees and very quiet but, notwithstanding that the room was not small, the quality is basic: towels well worn and no additional one available because "they are all in the wash"; no coffee/ tea in room despite there being a kettle. There is a limited menu, but well cooked. I would stay again but with no expectation of good facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby and halls smelled strongly of mildew and/or mold. The room was fresher, the tub/shower had areas of mildew. Since mold can be a health hazard, we only stayed one night. The location was very hard to find and was really tucked away without any view.

    The dinner at the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed for me personally was uncomfortable otherwise it was good for an overnight stay.

    The staff were lovely and very helpfull, the restaurant was good and the food was great, the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsmiling breakfast and check-out service, breakfast limited and rather poor value.

    Friendly reception, quite good dinner, satisfactory wifi. Charming setting - a good jumping-off point for the drive through the Pyrenees.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe the ratings for this hotel (3 star and 3 fireplaces for Logis de France) may be suspect or not currently valid. This seemed like a hotel going through some updating and/or change of ownership.

    The very friendly and warm welcome. The décor of the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stank of mould and was so damp all the bedding was virtually wet ! The towels were filthy,it's the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.the whole hotel was in darkness when we came back from eating dinner,no staff at all and the manager didn't care less about the dampness,had a terrible night .there was a dehumidifier hidden behind the bedroom door that was full to the top with water terrible don't stay here

    Nothing was as it should be

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely modern room, with balcony, and large bathroom, plus plenty of storage. Beatiful old wood, objects and furnishings in communal parts. Food is delicious. Owner very kindly arranged a mid-morning coffee and cake (post-cycle) which she brought over to the side of the attractive swimming pool, hidden away in a relaxing location opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress/springs really need to be replaced

    We liked the spacious room and the beautiful rural environment. The wifi worked well. The evening meal in the restaurant was worth a journey - probably the best food we had during two weeks in France.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed needs renewing. Mrs Host rather dismissive.

    Pleasant location. Nice food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell of mildew and everywhere felt very unclean. There was no-where to sit and relax and the building was dated.

    Very welcome host.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although comfortable was s little tired and in need of some TLC

    The spar sauna etc and restaurant on site

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was hard. So many moths, you couldn't open the window in the bedroom.

    lovely breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff attitude. No bar. No lounge. Room smelt damp/old. Overpriced.

    Food was really good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. A Pool !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful setting, ideal overnight stop with the bonus of swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great base for a cycling tour of the western Pyrennean cols. Excellent in-house restaurant, helpful staff and a very friendly hotel cat

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is in need of TLC.

    The dinner was outstanding!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool setting is fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    The disabled facilities excellent with direct access through french window door to car parked outside. Rural quietness with bird song all around.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and good food in the evening. Not many eating options in Valley D'Aspe so good restaurant really welcome. The hotel is on north side of a big hill which means that the rooms stayed cool in hot weather.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the tea and coffee supplies were only for 1 person

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building was old and smelt stale.

    The staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rather barely furnished and understaffed.Dinner was ok nothing special just average.Breakfast was good though.

    It is clean and nicely located

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Peaceful. decent evening meals.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: