Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Au Chapon Fin

11, rue Lebascles Place Du Marechal Leclerc, 86000 Poitiers, France

#34 of 38 hotels in Poitiers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 528 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building converted to hotel. Window blinds could be made more easy to use as in room was no conditioner nor ventilation for hot days. Tiny parking space for surcharge (sure better than nothing but can be used mostly by experienced drivers). One of the beds was so shaggy that cracked as soon as I sat on it (my approximate weight 12st).

    Located in old city. Loads of boutiques around. Nice lady on reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value for a 2-star despite shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water took ages to reach the tap and wasn't hot enough on the second morning.. Wifi lost for a while

    Excellent location and private parking but access to the garage involved a tortuous journey through one-way streets. The room was spacious and well-furnished for a 2-star. Friendly helpful owner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for our overnight stay when traveling through France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one little problem with the shower head not staying in the holder.

    A very good location in the center of town, we had a basic room just for 1 night which was clean with basic furniture. Parking was 6 Euro for the night which was secure after 9pm. Breakfast was available (not included) Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Fortunately we were only staying one night, definitely wouldn`t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very poor, the curtains were hanging on a piece of wire and couldn`t be drawn back. The entire room needed re-furbishing, the bed was uncomfortable. Need I go on?

    The breakfast was `ok`. Its situation in the heart of the old City was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely room and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there was more options for check in times as I had to explore before checking in, which I would imagine would be annoying if you have extra luggage. Also there was limited toiletries, for example no toothpaste.

    The room was in the ideal location and was a good size. There was a tv and desk and an extra blanket, which was nice. I was pleased with my room, but I am aware that some rooms are smaller so I think I was a little lucky with the size, view from the window and overall room furniture.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    A nice find
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "2 person lift" is only for 1 and a bag. I'm glad that it was quiet enough for us to use the small car park.

    Once you've found your way through the incredible one-way system you find a perfectly situated small hotel. Comfortable bed, sufficient bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    A low budget hotel which is well situated, clean enough, but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was very noisy especially at night and in the early morning, I changed rooms but to little effect.The shower head was not secure and kept falling off its fitting which was quite annoying

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Difficult to find Very French hotel great location excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower Handheld only attached to bath taps although lots of good hot water.

    It was a great location staff very nice helpful always pleasant Breakfast was good value beds comfortable bathroom good except fir as above

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    good location, nice for the price, LOUSY wifi access
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi was VERY BAD. Always dropping, frequently unavailable, low signal. USELESS when I really needed it!... it was close to having no internet access.

    Nice location, right at the center of the City

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's 'onsite' parking arrangements need to be a lot clearer. Apparently it has parking but I was just given a street name (suggesting a public car park) by the hotel with no instructions on finding it. Difficult as the hotel is dead centre of Poitiers with pedestrianisation (ie no vehicle access). I parked overnight in a nearby public car park which turned out slightly cheaper anyway. The room was a little shabby, though clean enough.

    Location and value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    The excellent location made it a good deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a very old and decadent hotel, in dire need of renovation, although that didn't spoil our stay. (well, we asked for a hair blow dryer, and got an ancient model that deserved a museum...) We only saw a young woman who seemed to do all the services from 7 am to 9 pm, naturally not with the happiest of faces.

    Very central, quiet room, clean sheets, good shower, can't complain overall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty rough. Not dirty just very old. No headboard on the bed, children's bed was just a pop up thing. Shower had no shower curtain. There was a wifi network which I was unable to connect to - the receptionist tried to help but it still didn't work.

    Excellent location for going out for dinner and breakfast. We didn't want to spend longer in the hotel room than we had to. Although there was a lovely view of the town square from the room. And there was a fan in the room which was useful as it was jolly hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is adequate, however I do not recommend it given the disappointing welcome I experienced.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is advertised on booking.com as pet friendly. I booked on this basis and made special request for a pet friendly room as I was travelling with my small (pug) dog. On arrival, the manager was surprised that I had brought a dog and gave the strong impression that it was not welcome, telling me it was aggressive (actually just excited and thirsty after a long day in the car) and asking where it would sleep...... After much explanation, and at the point where I was about to walk out and find another hotel, he (reluctantly) relented and showed me to a room. I felt very uncomfortable about this 'welcome', especially after a long day travelling in the car. Throughout this initial period the manager spoke only in French (mine is passable, but basic) - it was not until later in my stay that he started to talk to me in good English. Parking is advertised on site, however on arrival in Poitiers it became clear that the hotel is located within a reserved traffic zone that is protected by electrically operated bollards. I was unsure how this system worked, so opted to park in the commercial centre car park (at a cost of €23 per night) nearby rather than risking the bollard system and the network of one way streets around the area. Internet worked well until it became unavailable at 2300 and seemed to be off all night. The shower worked, but the bracket holding the shower head to the wall was inappropriate for the cable and shower head, making use of the shower a hand held experience; one for soap, one for the shower head - not good!

    The room was very clean and of an acceptable standard. The location is first class - right on the main square in the centre of town and immediately adjacent to a good variety of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    The location and the fact that it had parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms didn't have soap (the container was empty) and when I told the reception they asked if I could wait for the morning because they had no staff. The access to the parking was closed at 9pm and we had to almost beg to go get something we had forgotten from the car. The bathtub was a bit high and not the easiest to get into.

    The location and the fact that it had parking. The rooms were reasonably good and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location - but be aware it is on a pedestrianised street and you need to go straight to th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been helpful to have been told that the hotel entrance could not be reached by car. Indication that those arriving by car would have saved time and frustration.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Dissapointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was there for the 4th time during last 10 years. Things goes bad. The furniture is obsolete, with a broken wardrobe. No internet during my 3 days of stay. Each day somebody used to assure me that the problem will be fixed. The choices at breakfast are limited.

    The posiition of the hotel, just in front of the main square of the City Hall. The staff is helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Super location for seeing the city and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chilly bedroom - it was January and sub-zero outside but... WiFi was capricious.

    Super location for seeing the city and very nice staff. Parking, to avoid paying in the streets

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.5
    Depressing hotel, last modernised in the 80s probably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor.

    The location in Poitiers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    A good value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bolster rather than pillows

    Good quality breakfast very good location and good size room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotelier was helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    We all loved it
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t access car park after 9 pm

    Amazing location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok if you just want a bed in the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were very tired and the hotel was noisy especially the plumbing from other rooms

    The location so near the town centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    Poitiers was amazing will look for an alternative hotel next time I go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi none existent, parking was suppose to be included only to find 6 euros was added to my bill on departure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desperately needs redecorating and new furniture

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with updating

    Great location with on site parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi fi can be more better in 3th floor.

    Nice room. Comfortable bad, big bathroom with good bath. Super I like it. Reception lady very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Just what we needed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was as expected for the price

    Location and private parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed, wouldn't stay there again and wouldn't recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortable bed, dirty carpet. Very basic. The whole place needs attention.

    Secure parking and location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Peaceful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location - smack bang in the middle of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi is very temperamental !

    Service was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Fine
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in by 9, parking hard to find and very very tight. Communication was difficult

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location + parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Brilliant location though difficult to reach by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager was a pure joy to deal with.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.0
    Pretty average, but commendable for an evening step at reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness and noise

    Bathtub

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.7
    Central, cheap and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are a bit old and the staff a bit funny.

    Very central and cheap. Room was quite big.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    the gloomy foyer, the stale old cigarette smell
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the gloomy foyer, the stale old cigarette smell

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent aceuil
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Emplacement

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    It was a great option for one night after a visit to the Futuroscope.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in an old building, so everything inside looks old.

    Good value for a hotel in Poitiers historical center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.0
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is smelly, small, a king size bed is not big enough for one. My legs were hanging off the bed as it was really too short, and I am a woman, normal height! We hade one little window in our room, with a view to a concrete wall across the atrium.

    The location is great! You couldn't ask for more. The rest is terrible.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    I liked the location and the value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not like the noise created by the other guests at night and in the morning, it was very disturbing when one was trying to sleep.

    I liked the location and the value for money

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.9
    The location just in the core of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the rooms have the windows toward an ugly inner courtyard; unfortunately, I asked for a quiet room and I had one of these rooms. TV-set was out of order for two days without a quick reaction.

    The location just in the core of the city. Nice and helpfull staff. Tasteful breakfast. Excellent cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    5.4
    In a fairly good, central position for seeing the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Seemed a very 'Run down' hotel, with an uncomfortable sofa bed as a second bed.(rented to us as a room with 2 x double beds) and a broken door handle in the bathroom, so we could not shut the door!

    In a fairly good, central position for seeing the local sights.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    3.8
    It's 10 steps away from City Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The 2 beds were partially broken and very uncomfortable. The furniture of the room was very old. The bath had no curtain. We were kindly asked to have breakfast at 8h (and nothing was ready before)

    It's 10 steps away from City Hall. The breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    Lovely old town house right in the centre, but rear rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a bad experience as such, but if travelling by car access to hotel parking is on a tiny street to the rear of the hotel. There is no vehicular acces to the front of the hotel as the central area is (beautifully) pedestrianised, so make sure your sat-nav is up to date(!), and get directions first.

    Lovely old town house right in the centre, but rear rooms very quiet. Patron is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Brakfast is fair value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.3
    Nice location in the center of town, secure parking in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception is open in the morning and afternoon but is closed during the day until 3 pm or so. Factor that into your travel plans. Decor is tired and in need of refurbishment (peeling wallpaper in the room, etc.). Also, breakfast was skimpy, there could have been more choice and better quality.

    Nice location in the center of town, secure parking in the back (although a bit tight).

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.8
    The bathroom was so nice and French ^^ and the balcony was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The proprietor was very inquisitive and curious about the purpose of my trip, what was I going to do in the morning etc even if I made clear it was my business.

    The bathroom was so nice and French ^^ and the balcony was very nice too. Plus even if the room looked in the main square there was an excellent system of windows to keep the noise out, so the room was perfectly quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    4.6
    There was a bath tap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The internet is not working even though if the owner tries to convince you that it does. Also the owner is very inflexible with traveling times.

    There was a bath tap.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    6.7
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need advance instructions to find the car park, so make sure you get them because there is extensive restriction on access to roads in the city. Hotel is very tatty and was only saved by the standard of cleanliness. Breakfast awful, mummified ham and mangled cheese. Avoid!! WiFi is poor.

    Very convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    The perfect location, quiet, yet on the town square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The perfect location, quiet, yet on the town square. Lovely continental breakfast, with home-made jams. Staff were helpful and friendly; when a problem with the central heating occurred on a Sunday, efficient electric heaters were quickly produced.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    6.7
    Pet friendly with parking seemed ideal for stopover on...
    • Couple

    So central sat nav tired to take us through pedestrian precinct. Reception's early closure made for fraught arrival and never did find hotel's rear car park, but multi storey we found was cheaper anyway!

    Pet friendly with parking seemed ideal for stopover on journey south. Good sized bathroom with proper bath. Central location next to town hall. Good breakfast presided over by friendly manager.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    7.1
    Nice building and good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In definite need of refurbishment. £200 spent at IKEA would have improved the furnishing in our room 200%! Also, half the light bulbs were out, so not much light .

    Nice building and good location; large room with balcony overlooking the Place

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Location, free parking, staff, bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom was really cramped.

    Location, free parking, staff, bed

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was cold, mattress was poor, was overly pressured to get the breakfast and to stay another night

    The location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff sorting out wifi reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows on the bed were slightly uncomfortable.

    Friendly and helpful staff sorting out wifi reception.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.9
    Great location on the town square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location on the town square.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast and parking are not included so final invoice is always higher No wifi

    Friendly staff Central location Parking available

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: