Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Au Sleeping 2 stars

18 - 20 Boulevard Daunou, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France

#11 of 11 hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Au Sleeping, but not very comfortably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired and in need of a full make over. The shower was broke no hot water and poor for the €40 i paid. I have had much nicer rooms for €30-€35 all over France and Europe. The bar was noisy downstairs until midnight.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    A good friendly overnighter with access to Town Centre Restaurants, at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase was knackered and the smell of the Restaurant speciality, Couscous Royal, was a bit pervasive. But a convenient friendly central hotel at a good price. Watch out Ebis who don't care about inconveniencing their regular customers. Shame on you.

    The room was clean and tidy, beds comfy, bar was reasonable, barman spoke English, which helped all round. Breakfast was good, proprietor present, courteous, and spoke French slowly so I could translate. FRENCH BAR CUSTOMERS WERE FRIENDLY WHEN WE ARRIVED AND SHOOK HANDS. Bar prices reasonable. It is two star but very good two star and handy for the motorway and the town centre with outside on street parking. Nothing to fear!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    2.9
    RUN! NEVER EVER AGAIN! You better pay 20 euros extra somewhere else, and have peace and quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You cannot call this place a 2 star hotel - it is more like a hostel, boutique or whatever. The rooms are really small (9 m2), the furniture is horrible (I will attach also pictures), the shower and the bathroom is part of the room (improvized). Beyond these dislikes, the worse thing was the so called manager (the real manager was on vacation, this person was named by the manager to handle the things). The hotel is connected to a bar. In our first night, the bar was opened until 2 a.m., with loud music and noises. When I went down to discuss with the managed, I was shocked that the manager was the one entertaining the whole crowd. He shouted at me that for 60 euros, I should shut up. I was disgusted. The next morning, the breakfast consisted in croissants and some juice, ham and cheese, a buffet situated next to the bar bathroom. We were supposed to eat in the bar. However, the worst thing was the fact that the same manager, was managing the croissants with his own hands. I could not believe my eyes. This guy's attitude was intolerable.This place should be called NO SLEEPING!

    One sentence can sum up everything: NEVER AGAIN! The only good thing was the location (10 minutes walking from the Cathedral, but it is very far from the beach and Nausicaa). Bologne sur Mer is a great city, you should check-in in a better place, in order to have great memories.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.0
    Despite initial bad experience, the manager’s attitude improved and our stay was just about alright.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of welcome hospitality - no one gave a key for our room till manager appeared one hour later! Customers ignored during a shouting dressing down of assistants by the manager when he appeared! Brasserie - a misleading description - really a café. One chair in room - no table - wardrobe too short to hang a dress. No replacement tea / coffee etc. No milk. No room valeting.

    Comfy bed - good wi-fi. Good location near buses & railway station. Kettle in room. Good external shutters for windows.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Rubbish
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager had difficulty finding the booking, we asked for a twin and a double but only two doubles available which was annoying. The management need to decide whether they are running a hotel or a drinking bar for friends. The house was completely unacceptable and did not die down until after midnight which is not acceptable especially when children are trying to sleep.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    We weren’t at all impressed with the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny and need a lot of modernisation, decoration, and could do with a deep clean, we wanted a receipt for our payment as we had paid in cash, but they seemed reluctant to give us one, in the end they just wrote paid on our booking confirmation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Decent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel slightly hard to find. TV in son's room not working

    Everything fine for odd night's stay. Room clean and modern. Comfortable and basic. Copious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    It's not a hotel, it's a hovel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything could have been better.

    This hotel is the worst place we have ever stayed in. Small room, no wardrobe just hangers, no drawers of any kind and needed a good clean There is no service whatsoever and our room wasn't touched at all for three days. If you had a problem nothing was done. Very rude manager who ignored us most of the time. Stairs were very steep for us. Breakfast was a piece of bread each with a croissant cut in half. Couple of wafer thin slices of cheese and ham. Stay away from this place as it spoiled our holiday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    3.3
    DON'T stay, it's an expensive doss house!!!! I've stayed in better tents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's called Le Sleeping NOT Au Sleeping. Filthy decor in room, shower room unsanitary, filthy bedding. cigarette burns, marks on pillows, kettle but no milk or crockery. Staff banging on our (& others) door at 22:30 asking for payment for dinner & drinks, this normally is settled @ check out. We were the only ones to have breakfast at that time, there were only 2 croissants, my partner had 1 whilst I had yoghurt & tinned fruit, I went back for the croissant but it had been given to a customer (breakfast was in the public cafe area). Slices of cheese were stuck to the plate & had "hard crusts". As we left the staff "demanded" the key before we even got to the desk!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    As expected for the price with buffet breakfast included.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head needed cleaning or replacing, it was almost completely bunged up with lime scale.

    As expected for the price with buffet breakfast included. Friendly welcome by staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little bit hot - next time I will take a fan with me ! In the morning, the host seemed very keen to get rid of us, we went out for shopping around 10am and when we came back at 10:30 he shouted, "dont forget to leave your keys!" It was a bit embarrassing in front of the other guests.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was clean. good location and value for money. I would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff, good accommodation for what you pay. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin so we could hear other guests conversations & other noises we would rather have not heard 😂

    Staff were so lovely, bed comfy, room clean & shower good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Convenient but cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine - except there was only one thin blanket on the bed - I was freezing. No other bedding available in the room.

    Simple room. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    If you put the effort in to get to the staff, this place is great, just dont expect a quiet palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a single female traveller, it was quite intimidating walking into a bar area then up to the room. I did second guess my decision at first, but felt comfortable enough to stay. And whilst in no way lavish, the room did what it needed. The biggest issue was the volume from the bar area downstairs/ other unseen places. It was loud and penetrating, but as I was tired, it didnt bother me for long. In the morning the outdoor noises started early, which to be honest, made me laugh.

    The staff were really welcoming - way beyond what I could have asked for. I asked where to get a pizza, and the staff member, insisted that he order for me, after much refusal, I conceded, in addition to ordering, he personally collected and delivered my pizza from the shop down the road to my door. smiling all the way. Breakfast also saw some great conversations, and it was over this meal, which I shared with the owner and his friend, that really helped shaped my stay in the town, for the better. So much so, that before I headed off I popped in again and had a cup of tea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    3.3
    Interesting, but not to be repeated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I should have read the reviews before booking. The hotel was not, shall we say, salubrious, and was in one of the less desirable parts of the town. some of the clientele in the bar, and hanging around outside did not inspire confidence....

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.0
    Have stayed at many hotels in the area - cheaper and cleaner!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel in need of redecorating or major clean up. Shower head just hooked on a mount - kept falling off whilst attempting a shower. Not good really.

    Manager very friendly. Breakfast was okay. Only an hour from ferry so location worked well for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    4.2
    I cannot recommend this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was sadly dilidated. The sheets were not clean - I don't think they had been changed. The bed was cheap and uncomfortable, and noisey. The creaking bed could be heard in the room above - all night, and I do mean all night, accompanied by moaning and groaning, right through until dawn. Either the occupants had a lot of stamina or there were different people using the room!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.0
    You can order food in the late evening;
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No curtains, only blinds. When you shut the blinds you have to ventilation. VERY small room.

    You can order food in the late evening; plenty of parking spaces

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    2.9
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the room, the arrogant manager, pitiful breakfast or the fact they screwed up our booking and gave away one of our rooms. Total incompetence

    There was nothing to like.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Big hearts, obliging attitude and basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been cleaner.

    Lovely patron and a cool chef - very friendly and hospitable with big hearts. Good cous cous! Generous helpings and attitudes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    3.8
    Dirty, rundown no basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, no wardrobe or even drawers clothes had to stay in our cases. Small cushions for pillows, no soap or light bulbs, towels not changed after 3 days.

    The owner wá affable and the continental breakfast at €7 was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    Friendly retro all-in-one near the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They ran out of butter at breakfast :(

    Absolutely fantastic staff - it was a last-minute booking at the end of a long day and it was like stepping into a pool of light and warmth. I also loved the divey kind of atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Will come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok!!

    Breakfast fresh ,good sleep comfy bed,all staff friendly and helpful! 10 minute walk into town.Bus stop outside door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Cozy, clean and very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy, clean and very pleasant!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    2.9
    At least the sheets were clean-but I didn't look at the mattress!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, smelly, dark stairwell. Cramped, smelly bathroom/shower. Cramped bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Au sleeping

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    Dont think I would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single beds were very narrow and uncomfortable. Room small up a dark stairway. Tried to add on price for breakfast although it was included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    They were very accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were very accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.4
    The bed was clean & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place could do with a re-vamp, very tatty. No where to hang garments only in the bathroom!

    The bed was clean & comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    4.6
    Poor cleanliness and very essential room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness and very essential room. No working light on the bedside table and on the mirror.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    A quick overnight in Boulogne to go shopping - normally very pleasant but ruined this time by noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise at night.

    Reasonable price not too far from the centre of town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    A characterful place for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains did not keep out light, so take a sleep mask.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.4
    cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on street parking noisy at night

    room was tatty the tv didnt work despite me telling the reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor booking organisation, very saggy bed, over priced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    3.3
    Horrible bed, bathroom not clean at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible bed, bathroom not clean at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.4
    Ok if you really must.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Extremely small shower. Not too comfortable bed. Crappy breakfast.

    Location was Nice. Parking easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.0
    Affordable and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow, steep stairs. Worst mattress I have ever used.

    Convenient to the train station and good food in the restaurant. Pleasant, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Basic, good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cigarette burns in bed cover.

    The hotel is basic but it serves the best coffee in town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.4
    Dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's rough and the edges, dated. Cheap at £50 but stayed at the ibis for same and that's really nice.

    Not much. Parking directly outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    Not any star
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.1
    We were made welcome.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitable and accommodating service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    2.5
    HORRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was horrible. I didn't felt safe in the hotel and me and my partner were bitten by fleas the next morning. HORRORSTORY

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff, location was ok, I new it was out of town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No toilet roll in our room but others in the group did have, I realised when it was too late so I could hardly ask!

    Friendly staff, location was ok, I new it was out of town but it was 700m to the old town so it was fine. There is also a kebab shop next door.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    5.4
    We liked the warm and friendly welcome of staff, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs leading to our room were not properly lit and posed a safety hazard. Bathroom facilities quite old, Our bed had seen better days and needs to be replaced. We thought the overall decor of our room was quite distasteful and size of room did not worth the price we paid! Our coffee has been sitting on the warmer for far too long and was overbrewed!

    We liked the warm and friendly welcome of staff, and willingness to help. Made a first great impression. Price of our food and drink was cheap compared with that of area we live in England. Shower in ensuite bed room was superfast and most comfortable. The location was fine and town centre was just down the road.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    5.8
    Happy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Being overcharged, my booking total for 2 rooms was £155 but when everything came through on my bank account it was just under £200, what a rip off.

    Happy staff

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Perfect location, short walk from the beach and the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location, short walk from the beach and the old town. Very helpful staff, despite speaking only French they've gone every extra mile to make our stay pefect.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    6.7
    Au Sleeping has changed hands and the new owners have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a fair walk from the centre of town - which is OK except when it is cold and wet - which it seems to be most times we go there. A lift would also be nice but we cannot see where they would put one.

    Au Sleeping has changed hands and the new owners have up-graded the facilities and opened the bar/brasserie for lunch and dinner - which is useful. The owners and staff are very friendly and cheerful and if it does not offer a great degree of comfort, it is still very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    7.5
    Good free parking, only ten mins pleasant walk from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water in the morning! The owner did apologise when I told him. Walls are very thin and no soundproofing from your neighbors so you can hear everything they are up to!

    Good free parking, only ten mins pleasant walk from the city center, easy to find/drive to

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    2.9
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room on the 4th floor and no lift noisy/smelly restaurant./night club below flashing neon light outside window 24 all night long no kettle in the bedroom asked for twin beds...didnt get them shower so small you couldn't turn round

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    6.7
    Price, excluding the breakfast we never got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst was that after specifically asking if we could have breakfast at 7am and paying in advance for breakfast, we found out in the morning that everything was closed, no staff and a sign that breakfast was at 8am. And there was another couple with the same problem. We needed to get the channel train and had to leave so paid for breakfast we never got. Another point is that the street looks a bit dodgy at night to leave the car, especially if even the budget ibis got a fenced carpark.

    Price, excluding the breakfast we never got

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi didn't work in our room. Paid for two breakfasts (14 Euros) having been told by manageress that breakfast was served from 07:00. In fact, breakfast was only served from 08:00 on a Sunday morning. We had a Eurotunnel booking and therefore had to miss breakfast. No one around to claim money back. A lot of noise until early hours.

    Friendly staff. Convenient parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    6.7
    The room was a fair size with a reasonable bathroom and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a fair size with a reasonable bathroom and good wifi. We were round the back so no noise, and we could see where the car was parked from our window. The staff were helpful, and very patient with my schoolgirl French! The location is quite good with a supermarket up the road and not too far to walk to the old town and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.1
    The hotel and bar is value for money and close to the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was situated on third floor although not a problem but could be for some people. Breakfast basic

    The hotel and bar is value for money and close to the centre of town. Good parking right outside the door. Owner very polite and helpful. No problems with the stay. Good evening meal (extra).

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    4.2
    The Chef was helpful and friendly and although I didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no WIFI although it was advertised, the manager told me that I could use his blue tooth but that meant I had to sit in the down stairs café to use it, for their amusement he then switched it on and off from his phone and he and his wife and other staff were all having a good laugh. Hotel and rooms smelt of damp, the shower is in the bedroom which doesn't help, my clothes all smelt of damp. The towels were not changed in the 3 days I was there and they too smelt of damp, I had to ask them for clean ones. the toilet was dirty on my arrival and I had to clean it myself, under the bed was very dirty. The room was never cleaned whilst I was there. i

    The Chef was helpful and friendly and although I didn't speak French and he hardly spoke English he really tried. Parking outside was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.3
    Liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no lift and we were located at the top floor, which is the 3rd floor but a lot of stairs to climb. They had no wifi - fibre was being installed outside.We stayed only 2 nights, but the towels were not changed.

    Liked the location. Very quiet, peaceful location. Served the purpose ok.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    Easy parking right outside the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was very basic, which was fine for an overnight stop, but I wouldn't want to stay for a long period

    Easy parking right outside the door. It was very quiet and a code was provided so we could gain entry late at night

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.3
    Location was good and we parked easily outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very basic and not terribly appealing to be honest and on first sight I wondered if we had made a huge mistake and should have stayed at the ibis budget next door for a few extra euros. However it was clean and we got a good nights sleep so it did what it said on the tin!

    Location was good and we parked easily outside. We were lucky with arrival time and there was actually someone on reception to book us in and give us keys and the door code. We noted that later on this was not the case and a telephone call was required .

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    5.8
    I felt like WiFi access was not encouraged, 22 character...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I felt like WiFi access was not encouraged, 22 character password, system constantly tried to reconnect, weak signal, unusable. Not in an area I would transit at night.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    7.9
    This was our overnight stay before a quick sprint to Calais...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our overnight stay before a quick sprint to Calais for a ferry, so we just wanted somewhere to sleep for the night. The staff were waiting for us on arrival and were very pleasant and helpful - particularly as we had not been to Boulogne before. The room was small but clean and warm. At first glance the bed didn't look comfortable, but you don't sleep with your eyes - the mattress was firm and comfortable. The shower was hot and powerful and the windows fitted with electrically operated shutters and as a consequence was nice and quiet. The only room for improvement at this price point would have been more sachets of coffee and milk. But, we were in a rush to catch that ferry so no problem for us.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    9.2
    We wanted a clean, affordable bed for the night in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wanted a clean, affordable bed for the night in the centre of Boulogne, no need for any frills, and we found it. Easy free parking on very wide pavement in front of hotel. Quiet area but close to the restaurants in the centre. Spotlessly clean room, everything worked and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.5
    They have not received my booking via your site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They have not received my booking via your site.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.5
    excellent friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty!!!!!!!!!!!!! Awful!!! Dont ever go there!!!

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sleeping in what felt like a nightclub

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    6.7
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfasts and convenient parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    5.0
    friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    food and no cupboard in room

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    5.0
    Bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep stairs, small bathroom, view, smell of drains when window open, limited breakfast choice,

    Bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    2.5
    Plenty hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small box room, poor bed,poor fittings. NO kettle despite asking everyday.

    Plenty hot water. Parking good

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    The owner was charming and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was charming and helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    Staff attentive, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff attentive, friendly and helpful. 5 minutes (up hill) into old walled town.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful, welcoming owners/staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad experience

    Friendly, helpful, welcoming owners/staff..Beds were comfortable, kids happy with wifi

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I thought the breakfast was too expensive

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    We've stayed 4 times, it's cheap, convenient and new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's nothing not to like

    We've stayed 4 times, it's cheap, convenient and new owner was just as pleasant as the old one

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    5.0
    Cheap, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi anywhere, eventually the owner allowed me to tether my phone to his via bluetooth.

    Cheap, clean

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    4.2
    friendly staff,comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food in restaurant,was terrible,no clear info re menu,breakfast was not good value at all

    friendly staff,comfortable beds

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: