Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Auberge Camelia

406 Route De Villaz, 74570 Aviernoz, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Aviernoz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 222 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great value, good food, ideal location, convivial atmosphere & hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Highly recommend a stay at Hotel Camelia. The hosts (in fact all the staff) are great, and really understand customer service, helpful, informative, jovial....! Both evening meal & breakfast were excellent, everywhere was spotlessly clean, good car-park alongside, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good value, great location for walking / touring the area, will defo be returning..!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great location, fantastic food, perfect hosting .. and nice Moto Guzzi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a fabulous 3 night stay at Auberge Camilia, welcomed first by Django and then Suzanne. It was the perfect place to stay and tour some of the mountain roads on our motorbike trip, with advise on the best routes from Roger. Our room was really big and had the biggest bed we have ever stayed in, really comfy too. The evenings in the restaurant were thoroughly enjoyable with great food cooked by Tito, conversation with other guests and hosted and entertained by Roger and Suzanne. A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    The owners, especially Mdme Susan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    well, someone opened the door while we were still in the room getting dressed... probably thought we have checked out and we could not figure out how to lock the door. Just that, but it wasn't that disturbing, just shocking.

    The owners, especially Mdme Susan. She was very very accommodating, made us tea in the evening when we inquired for it (English style!). She also gave us a better rate (than booking.com) and a better room than what was reserved on this site since it was our wedding anniversary. And, for us, any breakfast with boiled egg is the best kind of breakfast you can find in France for vegetarians like us. Also, the drive up to the place was SPECTACULAR!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    A useful one night stop-over, with a restaurant, for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is small and a little dated. Very small lounge bar area.

    A useful one night stop-over, with a restaurant, for our onward trip to the Alps. Family room is a good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    We stayed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for one night. The food and service in the evening restaurant was excellent and good value. The breakfast was very good. It appeared to be very much a family owned/run hotel. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly. The owner took the time to come and speak to us during the evening in the restaurant and just as we were about to leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    Outdated and out of touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've mentioned it above. There was also an abundance of flies inside. Needs a good clean too. The owners are to old and out of touch, very pleasant but they should retire from the business. Should of stayed down near lake annex you.

    The beds were camps beds, the food was poor, no choice. Dog that sits a at the table on a chair if you let it whilst you're eating. The place is very dated throughout and needs a complete revamp. One no longer to be recommended by booking.com in my eyes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Hosts in Aviernoz
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful hidden gem in the farmland of France. We had a fantastic stay with Roger, Sue and Django the wonder dog. No request was too much for them and they welcome you in with open arms. Motorcyclists are very welcomed as Roger is a keen rider himself and has great local knowledge on some rides in the area. It is also a very safe area and we had no problems leaving our hire bikes in the carpark provided. The beds were comfy and the view from the room was amazing. Breakfast is provided and Sue had fresh bread ready each morning for breakfast whether she made it herself or sourced it from the local area. Highly recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Motorcycle Trip stopover on way to Mugello Moto GP Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Roger and Sue were excellent Hosts, from moment we arrived giving a warm friendly welcome to their hotel, Excellent Group dinner was provided in the evening with Roger arranging for all the Motorcyclists from different Countries to sit on Large table together creating a great atmosphere and "Crack" Breakfast was very good with large choice of continental food and some of Sue's homemade items. Good bar with nice local Beer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel in a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in a beautiful location with stunning views. Roger and Sue are the perfect hosts....the food was superb the room was nice and big. It's a great hotel if you are on a motorcycle there is plenty of parking which is secure. Had a great laugh with Roger he is a real character and will make your stay very enjoyable. Would highly recommend for bikers and anyone wanting a good comfortable stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    2.5
    The cleanness
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Birthday trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open countryside. Made to feel very welcome. Excellent quality food available in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Charming and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Charming and very comfortable. Great hosts.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and no fans or air conditioning.

    Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    The owners were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed updating. Expensive breakfast. Cleanliness was not quite at the level we expected. No air con or fan.

    The owners were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Place for break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some renovations to do like painting and joint

    Staff are very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Owners very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners very friendly and helpful. Food was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, great place to stay for one night or two weeks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, great place to stay for one night or two weeks! I’ll be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely Hotel. Great Location. Would use again on a journey into the Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Very welcoming friendly staff. Breakfast was an adventure with lots of choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    All very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming and memorably beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners really friendly and hospitable. Setting is spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Biker friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was ideal and owners were really friendly.

    In a lovely location and as a motorcylist it was very secure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    The owners are hospitable and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are hospitable and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and friendly owner! In the middle of nothing - nice hotel old fashion with a huge history

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Well worth a visit in summer or winter.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't grumble

    We were made extremely welcome by Roger and Suzanne, not forgetting Django as well as Lee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    A lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb location and very helpful and friendly hosts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location and very kind host !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Friendly & polite owner, calm, beautiful & peaceful location in a village near annecy (approx 14km).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    The staff was fantastic - we had a party!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was fantastic - we had a party! The food was very enjoyable. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    10
    We were very welcomed with a nice dinner and a special b-day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were very welcomed with a nice dinner and a special b-day cake for my fiancee. I booked 1 room for us together with my parents but Mrs. Suzanne (the owner) arranged two rooms as a b-day gift ;) The staff is super friendly, helpful and kind. Perfect combination with the beautiful place... I do recommend! Looking forward to go back.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    A lovely auberge with great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather was cloudy and later raining, so we could not see the scenery at its best. Breakfast didn't quite live up to the expectations raised by the dinner.

    A lovely auberge with great hosts. Nicely located in beautiful surroundings (but an easy drive away from the autoroute, if you need a stopover as we did). Lovely and large room (we were upgraded, nice surprise). Had a great dinner even though the chef was on holiday. Breakfast was good as well. A recommendation to this place, an we will come back for sure for a longer holiday. And I loved the dog.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Susan and Roger were most welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Susan and Roger were most welcoming. They don't get many Aussies travelling thru. We received a complimentary room upgrade. Dinner was especially nice. Leigh, the chef makes the absolute best potato and leak soup - with scallops. Yum! We also had the best fun and tonic. (It was years since I had one) They've lived in the area for over 20 years and have in depth knowledge of the area. I look forward to returning some time.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Genuine welcome from lovely owners / hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Genuine welcome from lovely owners / hosts. Lovely building in great rural location. Great cooking from Lee, very informal atmosphere at dinner. Felt more like a house party than a hotel!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Exeptionally warm welcome, the very friendly owners and...
    • Couple

    Showercurtains should be washed/renewd regularly! Even if they are clean, they don't look it.

    Exeptionally warm welcome, the very friendly owners and staff, tasteful interieur and exterieur.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Sue and Roger are great hosts and went out of their way to assist us. Would recommend for bikers as plenty of safe parking and Roger is a keen biker himself. Easily accomodates large groups.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    3.8
    The property is tired it needs a good clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is tired it needs a good clean and re-decorating. Breakfast area too crammed, burnt croissants, smelly waste bin by coffee maker. We had the so called superior room it needs a good clean ( cobwebs ) and re decorating, no tea making facilities, view of tv aerial strapped to balcony rails, with dirty metal shutters, dark and dingy, water dripping through ceiling on our last day, no comfortable place to sit outside, (plastic chairs with no cushions)

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    7.5
    Location hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast

    Location hospitality

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.3
    Sue and Roger and Lee are terrific hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sue and Roger and Lee are terrific hosts! Felt right at home. We got a great room. Good food. Loved Django the Jack Russell, playing with our dog.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    Really friendly staff and owner, cosy rooms, family style...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really friendly staff and owner, cosy rooms, family style dinners, amazing food, beautiful setting. .What more can you ask for?

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    good atmosphere happy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was rubbish and not worth the money

    good atmosphere happy place. lovely dinner

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.6
    Such a wonderful atmosphere - full of history in a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Such a wonderful atmosphere - full of history in a beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.2
    Friendly owner, excellent food, adequate comfort and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Friendly owner, excellent food, adequate comfort and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    The owners are true characters who looked after us very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owners are true characters who looked after us very well.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    9.2
    The Owners, the Hospitality, the Advises on near by places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The cooking for dinner could be better

    The Owners, the Hospitality, the Advises on near by places. A real hospitable family...

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: