Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes 4 stars

D 570 Route D'Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France

#34 of 38 hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 470 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Atmospheric accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cabane de Gardian
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes! However, they are part and parcel of the area and as long as one comes prepared, you'll be fine.

    Ideal for discovering the Camargue. Sleeping in a luxurious version of the traditional "cabane du gardien" by the waterside with horses and ducks is an experience. Well appointed rooms with every mod con. Breakfast excellent and all the staff were delightful, though special mention should go to Mélissa, the restaurant manager for her professionalism.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing on some levels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manadier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty pool

    The location is good and ithe complex is set out beautifully. Staff were friendly and efficient but the room was dark and basic. Food was nice but nothing as special as we’ve had at other hotels . The pool was not clean enough to get into but the surrounding area and facilities were very nice and well looked After . Surrounded by nature which was a plus point .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Too expensive for what it is worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cavalière Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality was terrible for 20€ per person. Room was 300€ and was not at all like in the pictures ! I was terribly disappointed and chocked I paid so much for this. It was super dark like in a covent, bugs everywhere and the bathroom was impossible not to be flooded when you had a shower. No complimentary tea or coffee in the rooms like advertised: they do not deserve to be rated a 4star hotel.

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice but should be renovated! Wifi not working
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cabane de Gardian
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi is not working properly which is really annoying. The hotel looks nice on photos but the whole infrastructure should be renovated soon.

    The cabins are really cute and what we loved was that there were 2 pools, one for adults one for kids. The breakfast was very good and the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    Price per night too high in relation to the standard of the establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cabane de Gardian
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At some points the staff was trying to please too many guests at once, which was unprofessional. They forgot to clean our cabin one day, which they did nothing about. WIFI was broken in all the cabins. No air-conditioning in our cabin. Almost everything cost extra at this place, which is strange since the price per night is too high in relation to the standard of the establishment. They reserve 300 euros from your account when arriving (not for the cost of the cabin which was pre-paid). This reservation stays on your account long after you’ve checked out and settled the bill.

    Overall friendly staff, the cabins where clean, nice patios outside the cabin and comfortable beds. The best part of the establishment was the food and personnel at the restaurant Pont des Bannes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful property, lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Cabane de Gardian
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of water! (Not their fault) Mildew is my own personal threat in the world:(

    Staff did their very best to help us out. Our first room had mildew, which I am highly allergic to. The second room was a decent improvement. The location is tranquil, nature filled, fun to explore. Sadly, the entire town experienced a loss of water, so we fled without showers or breakfast the next morning. Nonetheless, the staff were lovely, even helping us out with a small car issue. And they refunded half our money due to the water!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manadier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't quite feel the 5 star element I'm afraid - felt it was very expensive for what it was. For that reason alone we would not return. Restaurant food a bit more more style over substance/taste. Accomodation while lovely was not 5 star - shower very small (great if you were under 5 ft)! No tea/coffee/water in rooms.

    Location excellent. Lovely quirky authentic place to stay. Friendly staff. Clean. Stay in a thatch roof cabanne for authentic experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    4.6
    Would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabane de Gardian Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not properly cleaned, no shower curtain making taking a shower impossible without flooding, very poor internet connection

    Overall hotel concept, very immersed into nature

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Good, unusual accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cabane de Gardian
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was good but very overpriced.

    Peaceful but that was probably because there were a lot of unoccupied rooms. We would not stay here in a busy season.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Out room/cabin was super nice - roomy and romantic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabane de Gardian Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was to complicated - but good.

    Out room/cabin was super nice - roomy and romantic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Excellent staff, poor pool, peeling and run down, not heated not accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Manadier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not heated, not usable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    we loved the apartment with the terrance on the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room massouscles
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we loved the apartment with the terrance on the water

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Great for a nice horse ride, make sure to request the cottage rooms..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cavalière Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed by the room, online it shows these beautiful bungalows but we got a room in a row of others...nothing special.

    Horse facility

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Restaurant location, staff and food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabane de Gardian Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi and internet access poor. Mini bar in room not cold. Horses stubborn.

    Restaurant location, staff and food excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.5
    Super comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Cabane de Gardian
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mosquitos

    Super comfy bed Super location Friendly staff Weather

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    We really liked the layout of the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower room/bath tub area is not divided from the living area. On top of this the shower neither has a curtain nor a door. Therefore by taking a shower, the water will splash far into the living area. Also there is no privacy in the shower area. If you are with family I think it's fine but if you travel with friends it might not be suitable. The dinner restaurant is rather overpriced for the quality of the food. Nevertheless, the staff there are really nice.

    We really liked the layout of the resort. We had a 4-bed room and it was nicely done with a private balcony out to a small stream and the wild of the Camargue. There is a possibility to book horse riding that starts at the hotel which was just great! The owner and employees are very friendly and quick in helping with any issues.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.3
    The location is really great, the place is quite unique with...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked the Massouscles for 3 adults (it says it fits 4) and ended up having to book another room (in fact the hotel was accommodating and exchange it for 2 rooms) as it is impossible to fit 3 people; it should be advertised as 2 adults and children, small inconvenience but annoying upon arrival. The hotel is considerably run down, tap was broken, door did not shut, bed was uncomfortable, decor poor overall. The general impression was of a coach-holiday type of place, defensively not good quality for money as it is quite expensive overall and one expects a touch more consideration. Dining at the restaurant was average at best, with a bill of 140, it compares really poorly with what can be found in town, where for the same amount we got great and copious seafood.

    The location is really great, the place is quite unique with its horses and cabannes and ponds, truly lovely. The staff was very helpful, kind and accommodating, the beauty therapist/masseuse at the SPA was really good, professional and very skilled.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful area of France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My main complaint is administrative. I had to cancel my original booking (within the timeframe for it to be free) and then rebooked for another weekend. However, the hotel had taken the full price out of my account up front for the original booking. The hotel advised that they would make the refund the day after I called. However a week later they have still not refunded my money and now say they only process refunds once per month. So I have to wait more than a week longer for my money, leaving me very out of pocket. This is not acceptable and very disappointing. This is also not stated anywhere in the T&Cs. As for the stay itself, drinks are a little on the expensive side. 5 Euro for a bottle of still water or a small beer. Shower had to be done in the bath tub but with no shower curtain. Wifi service is rather slow, but why be online when you have so much beauty around you!

    This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful area of France. Very close to the town of Saint Marie de la Mer. It was a beautiful and unique experience to be able to sit on the veranda outside the bedroom and watch the white horses feeding and sleeping. You really feel close to nature. The pool area was very nice and the staff friendly. The food in the Pont de Bannes restuarant was excellent, if not a little on the pricey side. Definitely recommend staying here, especially if you like horses!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    4.2
    The nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very worn and unclean cabins. They offered to move us for a second night but didn't contact us to arrange. The cabins are about as basic as you can get. They reminded me of the accommodation which I stayed in when I travelled through South America. But then I was spending 5-10 dollars a night and not €160. This is not 4 star accommodation.

    The nature

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.8
    We expected quirky from all the other reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very basic, far too expensive for what you get. Of the 4 advertised restaurants, only 1 is open at any one time. No fly screen on main door. e40 for breakfast and they assume you have had it so check your bill on leaving! Everything has a cost at this place, and it won't be what you expect it to be! (E75 if you lose your key, e40 deposit for a pool towel, e28 for the bottle of e7 rose wine in the room bar fridge etc)

    We expected quirky from all the other reviews...it is, but!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    4.2
    The location to the village of Stes.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The reservation did not match what was requested. The extra bed was like a drooping horses back. We were given another room only after we complained and they'd said the hotel was full, but it wasn't. The room only had one plug, no reading lights & paper thin walls.

    The location to the village of Stes. Maries de la Mer was good, 20 minutes walking time to town. Far enough off the road not to hear any traffic noise.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    Very nice location with a lot of services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast is too expensive

    Very nice location with a lot of services. Bike renting service recommended

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.4
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Leaking shower. Establishment past its prime. Very pricey.

    Nice location. Natural setting

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Unique rooms in a totally magical environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unique rooms in a totally magical environment. The staff went out of their way to make our experience perfect!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: