Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge De Clochemerle 3 stars

Rue Gabriel Chevallier, 69460 Vaux-en-Beaujolais, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Vaux-en-Beaujolais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room in the first floor next to the reception counter was very noisy and we were awake until midnight with people comming in and speaking very loudly. The town in April has nothing to do because it is off season- it is better to stay at a biger town like Beune at this time of the year (April 15-25)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic little gem of a hotel, pet friendly and excellent location! The restaurant is fabulous and a must if you are staying over! We will certainly be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is one of our favorites. We were happy to see the fireplace lit. The staff is professional but not stiff. The owners are talented and gracious. The rooms are simple but very comfortable. We will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only dissatisfaction was the Bookings.com advertised a special discount price for the room that was more expensive then the every day walk in rate

    The restaurant dinner was a fantastic taste experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room, while reasonably priced was on the first floor and clearly the smallest, cheapest option in the hotel. We would have gladly paid more for an upscale room-but were not aware until check in. Our lack of french created some communications issues prior to arrival and after checking in otherwise we perhaps we could have remedied the situation.

    The Chef's choice dinner provided was an amazing experience. The food was not only photo worthy-but delicious. Also selected the wine included option. Made for a pricey meal-but worth every penny. Not sure which of the courses was our favorite-but the scallops with Jerusalem artichokes stood out. Absolutely recommend this experience to others!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, in a charming village! With a fantastic restaurant on site! We had an amazing taster menu with brilliantly paired wines, and thoroughly enjoyed our evening on the restaurant terrace. Incredible friendly staff, who made us (and our dog) feel very welcome! We will certainly be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is in the village that Gabriel Chevallier based his book "Clochmerle" and there is much evidence of this including the famous pissoir. I was very comfortable here and I had a memorable meal in the 2 star Michelin restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roomwas comfortable but small. Next time will book a larger room. Good value for money though.

    Hosts ,very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was absolutely fantastic. Out of this world food. Chef deserves another star😎 Dined al fresco overlooking vinyards in this picturesque village in the Beaujolais.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful and charming. The dinner was exceptional and all the Beaujolais sampled were delicious. Lovely atmosphere. Charming village with nice views of countryside. A fantastic place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the food was absolutely excellent and was worth the price we paid but there was no alternative. It was not possible to have a simple meal with a bottle of wine for say €100 for two people. We will problably not stay there again because of the excellent but limited menu.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin light curtains which did not offer any privacy as room was at the front of the hotel. Also allowed too much light into the room at night.

    Did not have breakfast. Had superb lunch and dinner.Excellent wine pairings. Very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we did not book to stay longer. Perfect.

    Lovely staff; friendly and unassuming. Food excellent and relaxing emvironment. It was a special birthday for me that I will always remember. My sister, brother-in-law and partner all agreed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and had no A/C. OK for one hot night, but not for longer.

    An excelled meal, prepared with great finesse and served by very friendly and knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very expensive and due to local demand we couldn't get a table for our second night. No cafes in the village.

    The food was lovely and beautifully presented. Staff delightful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little small and cramped into small room. Probably reflected in the price. Breakfast not good value as thought 14 Euros a little steep. Breakfast on the terrace would have been nicer as room upstairs was very hot.

    Nice location with lovely terrace for dinner. Able to park right outside. Lovely modern bathroom. Nice little area outside our room to sit in the evening. Very good dinner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are very thin and you can clearly hear your neighbors. The whole place would need to freshen up (pictures look nicer than the place actually is). No real service for a three-stas hotel (would deserve more a two-stars rating).

    The small village of Clochemerle is very cute, and the Auberge is very well located.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're travelling with little ones there is little space for them to let off steam on site, but is a little park next to cave up the road - this is no fault of the hotels, just a tip.

    Nice welcome & basic clean accommodation in beautiful surroundings. The evening meal was amazing & if you like fine dining/good food it really is a must. The local cave is also worth a trip & we came away with some nice wine to take home. We will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think any thing

    Rooms cosy. Food excellent Great advice re wine choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small - not worth 90 euro. No reading lamps.

    Food and service were fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the matrass needed changing

    great restaurant - inventive and exciting flavours. professional and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    The view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking

    Very friendly atmosphere and excellent menu.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small overpriced bedroom

    Good restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel in Vaux en Beaujolais worthy of a better rating the it has. Perfect setting, comfortable rooms and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent meal complete change to the normal. Outstanding

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room with great meal. Also a very good location for touring the Beaujolais region. The village is quiet with few facilities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was exceptional

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our third visit. Excellent restaurant even if it does require a mortgage to eat in it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location in a quaint little town. Hotel was lovely with a spacious room. Staff was awesome, Bertrand was the best! Excellent breakfast, and wonderful restaurant on site. We would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Vaux en Beaujolais does not have much charm. We were glad we were there only one night.

    The innkeeper was helpful in arranging dinner for us on a night when the restaurant was closed.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been better to know of the availability of charcuterie at breakfast before croissants and bread had been eaten.

    Comfortable with excellent dinner.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no air conditioning and the temperature got up to 40 degrees. The communal breakfast wasn't our scene. It was at a set time and you had to make conversation with strangers which was awkward with poor French language.

    The location was excellent and the couple who run it were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After arriving late afternoon in heavy rain riding Harley Davidson motorcycles must of given a bad Impression. We were told that no evening meal was available as we did not book, however we were politely told that this was a "Michelin" star restaurant and the Impression was given that we could possibly not understand this fine dining as the staff member pointed us in the direction of a village some 8 kilometers away were we might be more suited. ! To cut a long story short we did in fact enjoy the "Fine Dining" experience, and the food was great. Would recommend the staff do not judge a book by the cover...

    The bathroom was a good size with plenty of hot water. Good size bedroom and comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Really a restaurant with rooms but what a restaurant! The food is at the discretion of the chef according to one's likes and dislikes from a list of ingredients and never fails to delight, surprise and satisfy. Lovely views of the vineyards from the rooms at the front and we look forward to trying one of the new rooms on our next visit.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Impossible to get a Dinner not only in The Auberge (there was a closed party) but nowhere in the village. The closest possible place was about at about 10 km distance.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The error with our booking!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room

    Beautifull area in the Beaujolais

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The town and its environment

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The food and how it was presented was exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was excellent as usual!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lovely staff. They did their utmost to make us feel valued guests and oUr stay special.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet and clean. Especially liked the little private garden for our room.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences .

    The cuisine .

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The dinner was excellent once again, very comfortable stopover on the way to the South.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: