Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge De L'Abbaye 3 stars

12 Place Guillaume Le Conquerant, 27800 Le Bec-Hellouin, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Le Bec-Hellouin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 126 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu is more elaborate then the kitchen can deliver. Desert was inedible and when i complained no apology or offer to take off bill. In general has clearly seen better days and suffers as do sll hotels and redtaurants in france because they cannot afford to staff properly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful village and Abbey to walk around for a couple of hours. Good clean rooms, pleasant staff, food not cheap but good value in a lovely restaurant. Our favourite stopover on the way back from the Bordeaux area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was closed when we arrived at 16-30hrs and they were supposed to open at 16-00hrs.

    The food was excellent and the restaurant staff helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be difficult, we got the last space on the road. Our bathroom didn't have a door, and the WC didn't have an extractor. Stairs not recommended for the infirm!

    Beautiful ancient village, with the characterful Hotel on the main street, but so quiet this wasn't a problem. The staff were very helpful, and the restaurant excellent. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot, we arrived at 3.30 p.m., half an hour early and were obviously not welcome - the gentleman was 'busy '. We were shown our rooms, in the attic area, ( we obviously hadn't paid enough via booking.com). In every part of the hotel, including our bedroom was a leaflet which was IMPORTANT to read, highlighted in red - Why we should not book with Booking.com. We travelled with another couple and discovered that no one else was staying except us at the end of July! We have stayed here several times in the past but never in such dreadful rooms, I'm just glad there wasn't a fire, we could never have got out! This was our worst experience of the whole holiday , such a shame as we used to enjoy the ambiance of this beautiful old auberge set in an historic village.

    The restaurant staff, a young girl was delightful, nothing too much trouble. The evening meal was very good, breakfast less so.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have been coming to this hotel for some 25 years. the welcome we received was not only the worst ever experienced at this hotel, but the worst experienced in any hotel over the last 60 years. not allowed to come in even to the courtyard to wait. not allowed to have a drink. 'come back at 16.00 when your room will be ready. which indeed it was but with what a welcome. WIFI fairly odd too.

    all was well except - see below

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom seemed "tired" and could do with a major overhaul. Particularly, the bathroom skirting board needs to be one single piece and not miscellaneous bits stuck together.

    Delightful restaurant and excellent food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff very rude. Turned up 30 minutes early would not allow us in. Push you to confirm if you want dinner/breakfast and if not state you must pay up front for accommodation. Room in the attic up two very steep flights of stairs.

    Room reasonable. Pretty courtyard for drinks.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive for the offering. In hot weather rather stuffy as no fan. Had to sleep with the windows open so fortunate that the village is very quiet.

    bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms were quite dark and some were a little small.

    This was a family stop-over for 12 people in a lovely location. The food was excellent French cuisine, slightly pricy, and probably not suitable for children but can't fault the quality.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bad room and there is no door between bathroom and bedroom, you can not take a shower, if you are over 1 meter high. We could not get dinner because we did not order from home. The breakfast was not worth the money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the whole experience very pleasant. An interesting village to visit, everywhere was clean and well looked after. The grounds of the Abbey are well worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No mobile signal. Poor TV reception (at least on the channel broadcasting the Euro football!

    Nice clean room but not cheap. Good variety to choose from for breakfast. Fast wifi. Pleasantly surprised by the choice in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in bathroom on floor and bath mats not very appealing. Room was not what we would class as aSuperior double, which is what we booked very tired decor and we did take into account the age of the property. Have stayed in others over 30years with much better quality

    Location was extremely good. Restaurant service was good and food very well presented and of a good quality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom with very inconvenient bathroom with no door and bath that was bested suited to a gymnast

    The area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly helpful staff. Excellent evening meal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in the attic was very small, no door on the bathroom(!), hotel looked very tired

    Dinner in the restaurant was very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peaceful location and comfortable property. Excellent evening menu.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Superb location in Historic French village The restaurant deserves a Michelin Star

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No guaranteed parking and no wi-fi

    Food was wonderful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better

    Wonderful location and lovely terrace. Service was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely village, good location, comfortable hotel, great food. Not cheap but good value.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu de degustation

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I suppose the stairs could be a challenge to some but you would not want to replace such a beautiful old staircase and banister.

    Peaceful surroundings, good sized comfortable bed and well designed room and ensuite for privacy and quietness. We arrived late but dinner was still served by friendly smiling staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was comfortable although a little small. It was clean and well equipped. All very picturesque but a bit cramped. Good dinner in the hotel. Welcome could have been a little warmer. Great location though - loved the Abbaye.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is not available until after 8:30. As we had a channel crossing booked, we had to leave without breakfast unfortunately.

    Location is excellent. A comfortable room with very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Not dog friendly 2 Breakfast not till 08.30 hrs 3 Attic room OK but stairs not good for an octogenarian 4 Standard dinner disappointing 5 Staff appeared unhappy (not very welcoming)

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The quality of the rooms was terrible, in the attic very hard to get up the narrow stairs all the fittings and furniture in the bedroom and bathroom were way passed tired lots of broken things no parking facility terrible value for money especialy when there is an extra 14-95 euros for breakfast

    The food in the restaurant was excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were unfriendly & breakfast very poor value which made it disappointing

    Location good & in beautiful quiet village. Restaurant not cheap but moderate food

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little - I missed the option of a soft-boiled egg for breakfast, and the wifi signal in our room in the front of the hotel was a bit weak, but usable, but that's about it..

    The tiny, village location off the main track is very peaceful and picturesque. It is an ideal stop on a journey to or from, say, Calais - Dordogne/Bordeaux or further south. A much better alternative to staying in Rouen. Dinner is excellent and the staff are very pleasant and efficient. Our room had a comfortable bed (very important!) We will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Couple

    Expensive, but surroundings made it tolerable. Breakfast. Wifi a joke......

    Bedroom ( best) was sparsely furnished.....no frills. Bed comfortable. Food expensive but very good. Breakfast.....get there early or it will be gone big minus here. No real choices and only one croissant each.....in france!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thought that dinner was expensive and would think twice about taking it in the future. Over attentive waiter who rushed me. But he was new to the hotel.

    Jacki the MD was friendly and helpful as usual. Very easy for the Abbey the real reason for my visit.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very busy restaurant and not enough staff.

    charming village and atmosphere. excellent food. located just where we wanted to be.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom a little cramped.

    Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed is awfully hard, hardly slept. Lounge is nothing.

    Food is good, location is very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room lacked character and food was a little on the expensive side.

    Helpful staff, comfortable room, even in January, and good food.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful find! Really lovely boutique hotel with a fabulous restaurant! Short drive off main route to calais and one we will definitely make again

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very miserable staff ! The head waiter - sometime receptionist never smiled once.

    The location was great

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely characterful hotel, great location

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast expensive

    location,

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    needs total referb everything past its sell by date rooms small and uncomfortable

    food in restaurant good if expensive

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an amazing time, in the restaurant is where I proposed to my fiancée!

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Auberge De L'Abbaye traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: