Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge de l'Orangerie 2 stars

4 rue de l'Ormeaux, 84420 Piolenc, France

#4 of 6 hotels in Piolenc

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    We stayed here to go to the opera festival and found it much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here to go to the opera festival and found it much more pleasant than staying in town. The patron serves dinner early to accommodate the time of the performance and he waits up until you return. The dinner was excellent, and the breakfast also very good, both served in a delightful courtyard. No difficulty driving to the outskirts of Orange and finding parking within a five minute walk of the Arena. Good beds, air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Quirky place good food accommodation tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This our 3rd year. The facilities are becoming a little tired. Bathrooms in particular could do with a make over . Patron not so warm and friendly we felt a little bit like somebody there just to pay the costs of upkeep

    Excellent food. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Great accommodation. Beware of the owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unpleasant owner. He was chewing something when we arrived and tried to accommodate us in a cheaper room with one bed. We insisted to give us what's been reserved and only then the key from the top floor room with two beds was given to us. The owner responded to our September letter in June. Obviously he was learning English all that time. None of our next letters about restaurant menu, hours and reservation requests have been responded. No menu in English. No menu on a website. It's seemed that the owner doesn't care about English speaking clients. When we ordered just coffee&desert for dinner the owner was forcing us to change the table in a garden terrace for worst table by the kitchen. The only time we saw the smile on his face was when we paid our bills. In the morning you are trapped inside the hotel hence the gates have been locked until 8 AM when owner arrives. No way to go for a walk or to buy anything. Eating in the rooms is forbidden and all the attitude towards the guests is to force them eat in the restaurant.

    Very kind girl watering our table. Spoke very good English. Helped us to understand the menu in French and was very helpful overall. Great rooms on the top floor. Best accommodation in Piolenc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little bit short.

    This hotel is hidden in a narrow alley. At a first glance you might wonder what you have booked. But when entering the facility a very charming small hotel with an exceptional helpful staff appears. The dinner was made to our liking with an accompanying good wine from the area. The breakfast was very good as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fabulous, staff were all very helpful and friendly, dining in the shady courtyard was idyllic. The room was prepared with the aircon on just right to cool down after the journey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    A lovely hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This was the second time I have stayed here, and it was as good as the previous time. The property is tucked away up a narrow street, and is accordingly peaceful. I could not fault the accommodation or the meals. The staff were so helpful, and the breakfast was much better than the large hotel standard elsewhere. A victory for the small privately owned set-up!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    We stayed here over 20 years ago with our then young family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have had a warmer welcome. After 20 years,not surprisingly, there is a different owner and I'm afraid he doesn't compare well with the old one! He was even less charming when he realised we had decided to eat elsewhere in the evening. In fairness, he was friendlier the following morning at breakfast. Despite this we would be happy to stay here again in the future

    We stayed here over 20 years ago with our then young family and we have fond memories of that stay. Pulling up at the hotel now was like winding the clock back - very little seems to have changed - it remains a pretty,old and somewhat quirky little hotel tucked away in the heart of the village and just off the main street. Vehicular access to the hotel is a bit tight as is the parking if there are other guests. The parking is however secure. There are still the same vine covered arches in front of the hotel where one can eat or take a drink - very pretty. The restaurant inside has an attractive arched ceiling and old stone walls. The bedrooms are old but of a decent size and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    A fascinating place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a quirky property,the owners have put in a great deal of work. The food is amazing,and, the location for us brilliant.our last stop before we reach our pad on the costa brava. However if you want to explore the area,again, brilliant. Orange with all its Roman connections just down the road. Mornas with its fascinating castle just 10 mins away by car. Also Avignon and the popes residence only a short distance away. You could easily spend a week here ,but do not pretend to be on a diet. !!! As for wines amazing Cotes Du Rhones if you like that sort of thing. You can at Auberge eat outside or inside . This is our third trip there will be a fourth . If you are looking for somewhere unusual to stay this is the place .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Diserves an extra star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was large and comfortable, not luxurious but we thought it deserved an extra star. It is a couple hundred meters from the surprisingly busy main road, up a narrow, awkward lane and there was no traffic noise. Very good value, an excellent place to break your journey. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and both were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely, old fashioned French auberge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little 'tired' - but no real complaints.

    Lovely, typically French town centre auberge. A large and comfortable room, attentive service and excellent food. We will definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    5.8
    bit tired and room over priced - but food ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tired and dated and in need of some TLC plus I felt it was a tad expensive.

    Bit in need of TLC in need of a bit of a refresh and was a tad expensive for the quality of room. However food was pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.8
    Locked out of room on first night! Cure few applies!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very bad experience with the very rude owner. Due to a "cure few" at 11pm, we returned on our first night at 10.55pm - however the gate was already looked and we spent the night on a friends sofa! Completely ridiculous situation. We were not given an apology, but didn't pay for first night. We were also told off for not leaving room keys at reception, even so we weren't briefed on this "rule". Overall definitely not recommended!

    Nice location and hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Wunderful stay in this friendly hotel with great restaurant and cosy terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we experienced a friendly welcome. nice decorated room sleeping four people. We had a great meal at the patio. A really good and recommended hotel to stay when travelling the Route du Soleil!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Ideal location to visit Orange, a lovely property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet very spacious room on the top floor with nice big bedside air I, old charming house, friendly owner who speaks good English is also an excellent cook, lovely dinner in the garden for very reasonable price and good breakfast. Small scale and personal atmosphere. Private parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.6
    Quaint experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not the most warm and accomodating.

    Amazing that we could reach it by car on such a narrow street that we had to turn in our sideview mirrors, but it sits in the midst of a charming French town, below the site of an ancient castle/fort on the hill above. The room was very comfortable and clean and the onsite restaurant offered a decent breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.3
    An adequate stopover hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom was dark and the bathroom in need of some attention. The whole place looked more than a little tired.

    Lovely shady terrace for eating out in the evening. Good food. Handy location for a stopover.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    After along drive this was ideally located. Plus no fuss or nonsense.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small family run establishment. Slightly quirky but friendly. Excellent dinner. Good VfM.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful location for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late in the evening and the owners prepared a very nice dinner which we enjoyed on the beautiful garden terrasse.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Second visit always excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs

    The food a d the comfort .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort double room was very dated and poor value for money. I would not recommend anybody to stay here.

    Evening meal was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.7
    Lovely setting, very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting, very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    A terrific find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Loved the bedroom, bed very comfortable. Excellent food and friendly, attentive staff. Location ideal for exploring Orange and Avignon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tasty Dinner. Very kind and unsofisticated staff. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    7.1
    Lovely typical French villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car access very tight...wing mirrors in! Room could have done with a dust

    Lovely typical French villa.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    Not a first visit, food and wine superb. Will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Room was very spacious and beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proprietor had to go to a market in the morning so we had to have breakfast quite early and be out of the hotel by 9.00.

    Room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Dinner and breakfast excellent. A lovely little gem hidden away. We were made to feel very welcome and having our dog with us caused no problems.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    8.8
    Very kind welcome and complete breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were in our way to Barcelona. takes 20' from the highway exit to reach the hotel. The way back to the highway is much faster.

    Very kind welcome and complete breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    ambience, comfort, food especially in dealing with me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ambience, comfort, food especially in dealing with me needing gluten free food. Owners are wonderful, helpful and charming. This must be one of the top small hotels in France

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    8.8
    Great evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great evening meal. Very friendly hosts. Situated along a very narrow two way road. Busy village but quiet location. Very convenient for motorway and Orange.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    Friendliness of staff, quality and quantity of food (we ate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet was slow or nonfunctional some of the time.

    Friendliness of staff, quality and quantity of food (we ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel every evening), close to highway, yet in small town.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.6
    Great location I guess even better in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location I guess even better in the summer. Family run business make you feel really welcome

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.6
    Good food & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good food & great location

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.6
    Welcoming, excellent food, relaxing, nothing too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming, excellent food, relaxing, nothing too much trouble. Great breakfast - just what we needed for a long drive ahead.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Great auberge in an old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great auberge in an old building. Huge roo, big bathroom,fantastic three course dinner beautifully presented and a massive breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    Great hospitality, lovely rooms and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hospitality, lovely rooms and great food

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.8
    Atention by the owners and staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to really dislike

    Atention by the owners and staff was excellent. Meals superb. Friendly atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small car park.

    Excellent food. Small family run hotel with friendly and attentive staff. Ideal base for touring the area.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    A character hotel, run by a very friendly owner, offering a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints.

    A character hotel, run by a very friendly owner, offering a great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    A haven of tranquillity after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A haven of tranquillity after a long drive. The staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    7.5
    Centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Centre of town. Cute place and hosts were very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    The welcoming staff and wonderful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My shower had a little problem

    The welcoming staff and wonderful room

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: