Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge De La Canche 2 stars

3 Route Départementale 939, 62170 Beutin, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Beutin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 212 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear someone in the adjacent room snoring!

    For the price this inn is fantastic. A solo traveller, my single room was small, but clean and adequate. I had dinner there - very good. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main stair carpet was worn so you had to be careful when going up and down stairs.

    We arrived late but we're still welcomed.good for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay in Pas de Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the stairs, the treads are quite narrow.

    Clean, tidy, good parking overlooking the river Canche. The food although limited in choice was excellent and cooked to order. The staff could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    It was a good place to stay and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit concerning the staircase but that couldn't be helped.

    We had a wonderful evening meal there on our last night. The restaurant was closed on Mondays and Tuesday's which was such a shame , The dining room well decorated and our bedroom a bit basic. Spotlessly clean and warm,The staircase was a bit steep (my husband has a bad hip so had to be careful ).And being really picky. the outside needs a bit of a paint job.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    For 1 night it was Ok for overnight stop en route to Eurotunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic accommodation - cleanish but dated . At side of busy route nationale and lots of flies in room due to location at side of river. Food was good but very expensive for what it was. BreakfAst expensive for a drink, croissants and bread plus small puréed fruit pot.

    Location and parking and owner was friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff at the hotel at all on the day of my arrival.I asked people across the road from the hotel who called the manager and found that a key had been left in a hidden location. The hotel was dirty and run down. The WiFi access code didn't work and no one around to ask about it. Avoid this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    We should have paid more and stayed somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the bathroom even smaller. You couldn't see out of the window as it was only a skylight. Despite having the window open all evening and night the room felt stuffy and hot despite the daytime temperature only being 21 degrees. The carpet on the stairs was threadbare and positively lethal.

    The sheets were clean . The hotel was in a nice position if we could have seen out of the window, it would have been better. It was not expensive but I think we paid for that in a different way!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Great place for short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could really have done with either AC or a fan in the bedroom, was bakingly hot some nights. Bed was a little firm but was only a short stay. Biggest complaint was lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Breakfast and evening meal very good and reasonably priced. Service from all the staff was excellent and we were warmly welcomed upon arrival. Very informal and friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Close to Calais for an overnight stop. Evening meal possibility.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were tired. The bathroom was tiny and ok but not the usual standard. The carpet to the rooms upstairs were threadbare!!

    Nice location. Rooms were a little tired. We have had lots of better rooms for a much cheaper price. It was lovely to be able to eat our evening meal without getting in the car to find somewhere. Was a bit worried as they said parking wasn't secure. We always travel with all our worldly goods in the car and have had break ins before but it was fine. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    See above comments
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of room and breakfast had increased since my booking was accepted. View of river from bedroom was only by standing on the only chair and looking through the skylight window. Very busy in restaurant on first night and it took over an hour before the starter course and similiar with main course.

    Restaurant cooking was v good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    Good for an over night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without a doubt the bedroom & bathroom could have been better, but then you would have had to rebuild the property. To be fair the proprietor does a lot with what he has. If you are able to sacrifice some comfort for excellent food then strong consideration should be give to this auberge.

    The auberge is situated on the side of the main road going through the village. To one side is the car park and to the rear a garden which is its self bordered by the River Conche, just like the photographs. A good welcome and service while staying . The restaurant is a very good reason to go there. They serve excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic cuisine at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amenities in the room were pretty basic and the view was disappointing. We were in Room No. 2 which didn't face the river. The terrace was being restored so was out of use but should be nice in the summer.

    The restaurant meals were delicious and excellent value - 24 euro and 30 euro menus were both great value and great cuisine. We had a friendly welcome. The bedroom was nice and spacious with plenty of hanging/cupboard space for clothes. Breakfast was in a light and airy room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lounge area. Although plenty of space outside of visiting during summer.

    Nice breakfast. Only resodents and alone during night as hotel was locked up. No problem just quirky.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    3.8
    Tired and grubby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and grubby. Poor plastic shower cabinet. Dangerously frayed carpet on steep staircase. Room poorly ventilated. No air con. Noisy road outside. Evening meal good in parts but expensive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent, well priced hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff make every effort to accommodate us arriving late and leaving early. We were travelling through France and couldn't really ask for more from the hotel . Excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.8
    Reasonable location - food over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was very expensive with no other option in the area - the children's menu at €10 was hugely over priced, the meal was a cheap savaloy and chips with a scoop of ice cream. Not good enough for the cost. Breakfast was also over priced at €8 for bread and mini croissant with coffee.

    Staff were friendly Location close to Calais Family room for 4

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    3.3
    Nice room for a broom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like being in a broom cupboard. Had to sit in reception, which was next to toilets, to have a drink. Werent even allowed to sit in restaurant to drink because we had eaten elsewhere. How did this place get two stars? Must have nicked them from somewhere else.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    A good overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was against the wall so difficult for one person to get in and out of bed without disturbing the other. Some areas are starting to look a little tired.

    Our very small double room was clean and comfortable and okay for one night. Good shower. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dirty

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were fantastic. Gorgeous little place in wonderful location - quiet by a river. Not much in the village but that was what I wanted!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    We were very happy with are stay and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the reception time of 6.30 rather late.

    The food was excellent. A very easy trip to eurotunnel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Probabl okay for young and agile but not for O.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep staircase, poky shower cubicle in mini bathroom, awkward shaped room, noisy road.

    Drinks on the deck by the river, very good food, staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice little hotel. Basic but good enough for an overnight stop

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    L'impolitesse du manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    L'impolitesse du manager

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Hotel in general

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Good stopover for drive down to south west france
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place for a stop on route. Basic room, no staff about but access easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly good food and comfy bed and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly good food and comfy bed and great service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant only open on some days

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    have stayed at this hotel before and will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing although the bathroom is a little small

    every thing ideal for me

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    pleasant place no frills, first class food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pleasant place no frills, first class food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    we wanted a great value one night stopover, it suited us very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast a bit limited in choice

    excellent meal in the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    5.0
    Bad choice
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toughest steak ever

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful Stay in Beutin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant had the best food in France! Would return from the United States just to eat dinner there again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.5
    Paris le tourquet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in room

    Staff friendly clean and tidy. Pleasant atmosphere. 15 mins from coast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    Convenient for visiting Montreuil sur Mer and en-route to Le...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were a bit basic but comfortable enough, no hairdryer but maybe available if requested.

    Convenient for visiting Montreuil sur Mer and en-route to Le Touquet. We enjoyed a really good, excellent value meal in pleasant surroundings. Although on a main road there was good double glazing and the road was quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    4.2
    I am afraid that there was little to nothing that I liked
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were warned that there would be no restaurant facilities available on the Monday night and no breakfast available in the morning. But in fact there was no one in the building at any stage of the visit. A key was left behind a window shutter and we received a message at 7 pm through your office about this. Bearing in mind that there is a large restaurant attached you would have thought there might have been some effort to supply a cold dish since there were no alternative restaurants within a 5 kms radius and I had arrived on a bike. There wasn't even a bottle of water supplied. The room was drab and there wasn't even a hairdrier. Just a very, very poor experience.

    I am afraid that there was little to nothing that I liked

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.9
    Perfect place for a stop off on the way to calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom was very very basic ( shower was all very plasticcy).

    Perfect place for a stop off on the way to calais. Basic, but comfortable, and very friendly and accommodating staff ( who, when we informed them we'd be arriving late arranged for us to get in)

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location after arriving in Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location after arriving in Calais. Rooms a bit on the small side but have everything you need & adequate for a nights stay. Owner & staff friendly & helpful. Restaurant & food was excellent. Plenty of locals which is always a good sign. Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location just off the A16 but far enough not to hear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad, this was a great value for money stop over hotel

    Great location just off the A16 but far enough not to hear any noise (5 or 6 km), excellent restaurant with really helpful and frendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.3
    The man in charge was extremely kind and helpful to us when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The man in charge was extremely kind and helpful to us when we arrived late and managed to find us some food in spite of the other staff not looking so helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    This is a traditional French hotel run by the family not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a traditional French hotel run by the family not your hotel chain. Although they do not speak English it was not a problem. The room was a simple room very clean. The food was excellent all freshly cooked. The fish was really special. If you want somewhere really French to stay this is it.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.1
    The room was very pleasant and well-appointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After 130 minutes at the table we were still waiting to be served the rest of our meal. Much too slow for the end of a day spent travelling!

    The room was very pleasant and well-appointed

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    2.5
    Asked my arrival time I said 7pm.
    • Solo traveller

    Asked my arrival time I said 7pm. Delayed by traffic I got there 8.15. Site deserted, doors locked no contact info, hand notice says "hotel full" ! Rang bell 40 secs no result. Hotel Manager says he waited til 8.45 and left number. Could be true but if so should he not have been there when I arrived ? obvious : there are no staff at this "hotel", service ? terrible. And they took my money. Cannot recommend this "hotel"

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    9.2
    The staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like.

    The staff were lovely. The food was good,but not fantastic. The hotel backs onto the river and would be very pleasant in good weather.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.5
    easy parking was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not worth the money.

    easy parking was great. restaurant on site was handy when arriving late.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was closed (but it was January and I was the only person staying there!)

    Very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    5.0
    No food available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No food available. No tea/coffee making available.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    6.7
    Convenience of the location, fairly near the motorway we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenience of the location, fairly near the motorway we needed.Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.1
    Language problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Language problem

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, car parking, free wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to report.

    Friendly staff, car parking, free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast only available from 0800 hrs

    Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.1
    Clean and fresh room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and fresh room Good food Pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.2
    Meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Meals. Value for money. Staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    General atmosphere, friendly and most hospitable patron
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    General atmosphere, friendly and most hospitable patron

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    The food and ambience was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The food and ambience was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    8.3
    Convenience of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties - steep staircase to rooms.

    Convenience of location.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    8.3
    great food, nice family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great food, nice family run hotel

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: