Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge De La Scierie 3 stars

3 Route De Druisy, La Vove, 10160 Aix-en-Othe, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Aix-en-Othe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 207 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Worth going out of your way to experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter has stayed many (c. 7 times) and I believe this was my 4th visit. The town of Aix en Othe is charming and the market on Weds am is a must do! The lovely grounds of the Auberge are only surpassed by the charm of the owners. And the FOOD! Oh my, this was an experience...let me just say every bite was wonderful topped off with a dessert of a pastry swan swimming on a sea of light and dark chocolate. The price of both the room and the food was extraordinarily reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Friendly, bespoke and wecloming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, the mattress wasn't as comfortable as it was on our previous stay a few years ago. A bigger bath would have been welcomed too, still a good stay.

    The owners and staff are welcoming and amazingly helpful. The evening meal in the restaurant was superb,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Absolutely lovely and nestled in nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool has an alarm that needs to be turned off before entering. It is a French law, so it is not their choice but a legal requirement. Apparently, they had been closed down the previous year when something went wrong with the alarm and an inspector happened to make a surprise visit. I have a feeling the local authorities may have been extremely hard on them and targeted them because they are not French, but British. It is a shame that they had to endure that but now everything is perfect, so it's worth staying there. Any negative reviews are probably due to last 2017's problem with the pool alarm inspectors. I suggest you disregard those reviews because the place is nestled in nature and absolutely lovely.

    The place feels like an old farmhouse with rooms facing the pool. It is rustic and vintage. While the decor is not anything to write home about, the pool is lovely. The entire property is surrounded by a forest and a river runs alongside it. The property is absolutely charming. The breakfast features local products that were high in quality. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly go again. The couple who own the hotel and restaurant are lovely and we really felt welcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    TV on tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu and restaurant hours not clear due to owner having unforeseen injury and remaining staff not explaining restricted times. Profuse apologies given next morning. No restaurants nearby.

    Friendly helpful staff. Room clean and what we asked for. English speaking. Quite location, a little bit of an eccentric place in a really nice area of France.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Rustic country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had unfortunately suffered with flooding this winter and our room was very musty. The river flows right alongside the room. The hotel is a converted old sawmill and although charming, could do with some tlc.

    The hosts were delightful and couldn’t have been more helpful. It was very hot and the proprietor found us a fan which was very welcome, thank you! We were checked in by the owner who had a very dry sense of humour; he was very quirky! Dinner was delicious, superb quality and value for money; the best part of our stay. All the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners had only just been re-granted permission from an officious Water Authority official to re-fill the swimming pool. Thus, it was not full on our visit. This was a disappointment as we had looked forward to a possible swim after a long journey from the south. However, the quality of our dinner more than compensated! The hotel itself is situated in an attractive position, but needs substantial work on the gardens and exterior grounds ( especially the carpark ) to improve the initial impression upon arrival.

    As we were the only guests on this particular night, we received very personal attention.! But we know that the owners, Eddy and his wife, would have provided an equally warm welcome and help in any event. Our room was on the lower level of a purpose built, attractive rustic style building with a small rear terrace giving onto gardens and the pool. It was roomy, well furnished and with a very comfortable bed. The dinner in the evening was outstandingly good. Eddy is plainly a highly experienced and talented chef. The bar and dining room areas are lovely, timber beamed and most comfortably furnished. The gardens are extensive and attractively rural, but need a good deal of attention ( see below). But fundamentally this is an attractive spot, and is easy to reach from A5 autoroute.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    A great start to a short holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome ,clean comfortable rooms ..fantastic food both dinner and breakfast . Quiet rural location . We have stayed here several times over the years ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.0
    We booked as we loved the online photos, but the auberge fell short, & did come up to scratch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spring clean the room. Sort hot water-it was either tepid or cold. Get gardeners to sort lawns, paths, bushes & seating area - not good. Lighten the dark dining room. Tell owner to be more charming & smile.

    The double bed was large and comfortable. The small patio outside the room, by the lawns and pool, was an ideal place for morning tea and evening drinks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    We Have stayed here four times now it is an ideal stopover...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We Have stayed here four times now it is an ideal stopover to get from or to calais when traveling by motorbike. The rooms and grounds could do with a bit of tlc but to be fair it is the end of the season. Bed was quite noisy however... The food cooked by Eddie is absolutely fantastic and also one of the reasons we return, breakfast is also good value. On the whole despite the noisy bed its very good value for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Charm galore in the French countryside
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Jackie and Eddie are wonderful hosts...the inn is lovely and historic set in peaceful grounds with the sounds of a babbling brook nearby. Dinner (Lobster!) was superb, colorful and beautifully presented. The town of Aix en Othe is charming with an amazing market on Weds mornings and a food court to die for. This was my 3rd visit and my daughter's c. 10th visit. Our little dog was welcomed whole heartedly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely, characterful Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Lovely Hotel, full of charm and character. Our room was a little basic, but it didn't matter as it was very nice. We ordered a room right by the pool as it was out of season, so we hoped for no children. As it was, we had the pool and back garden to ourselves; great pool by the way... The mattress on the bed made us laugh; it wasn't, but it seemed, like a horse hair thing from the middle ages, but it was fine to sleep on in fact, and we had a good night. The food was excellent, (as was the local cider - Aix-en-Othe brewed and bottled). The staff were warm and welcoming too, and we would be very happy to stay there again, next time we are passing through.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.5
    The food was out of this world, have not tasted such...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was out of this world, have not tasted such excellent food for a very long while. The provision of a garage for my motorbike was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Facilities OK, food fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Food in the restaurant was superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    It is quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was horrible

    It is quirky... old school French

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Location not easy to find, needs a more obvious sign.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    first class food produced by the French owner/chef and his English wife, the chef having been a top chef in a well known London Restuarant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little more care and maintenance.

    Old fashioned chic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Rural location, lovely grounds, outdoor tables for eating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rural location, lovely grounds, outdoor tables for eating

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Rural. Authentic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rural. Authentic. Dinner service looked amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    the perfect french stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to say

    the informal atmosphere and quiet area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Meals were excellent - the staff were very hospitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Meals were excellent - the staff were very hospitable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    excellant dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    size of bathroom, cleanliness of room

    the cider; the exquise , dinner, good beds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    The hosts were absolutely lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hosts were absolutely lovely! They couldn't do enough for us. Eddy, even guided us in his car to the nearest Carrefour for our yummy extras before we boarded the train. We were all treated so kindly - definitely a great place to explore the beautiful vineyard of Chablis next time!

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    8.3
    menu was good as was meal when served.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    in spite of making this booking several months ago we were allocated a very dark room (the window was very close to a high hedge) and there was no freestanding shower, only a shower hose attached to the bath taps. This was our 2nd visit as we enjoyed the 1st a couple of years ago but that room was much better.

    menu was good as was meal when served.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.5
    Lovely quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool was being repaired so couldn't use it even though the weather was very hot. Poor service for dinner on the second evening We had to wait nearly 2 hours for meal. The place seemed a little run down.

    Lovely quiet place. We had stayed before and had very good service and excellent meal.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.7
    Room was very comfortable with all facilities we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very comfortable with all facilities we needed. Location just off several main roads and motorways was very good. Evening meal was excellent if a little slow and expensive.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    Quiet location, very friendly staff, excellent restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are furnished in an older style, but were clean and comfortable.

    Quiet location, very friendly staff, excellent restaurant, very dog-friendly. Ideal stop-over on the way to southern or south-western France. A welcome contrast to the chain hotels (Ibis, Etap etc.). Best croissants we've had for a long time!

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    6.3
    The owners and staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in need of updating and the only option for dining was a la carte. Normally in the past there was an inclusive menu option. We felt the dinner menu was slightly overpriced for what was on offer.

    The owners and staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    5.0
    dinner was exceptional,breakfast was continental
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the accommodation was clean ,but dated,the rooms smelt ,and needed airing

    dinner was exceptional,breakfast was continental and very good

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff was kind, diner was great and I liked the swimmingpool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a thing

    Staff was kind, diner was great and I liked the swimmingpool.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    excellent diner with delightful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent diner with delightful service good breakfast Adequate room

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Location, staff, room, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, staff, room, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    Second time we've stopped here, peaceful and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Second time we've stopped here, peaceful and good service, food is fantastic although can get pricey with a few drinks .

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: