Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge De La Sélune 2 stars

2 Rue Saint-Germain, 50220 Ducey, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Ducey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    This is one of the best Logis we have ever stayed in. Excellent food and beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cuisine was genuine French, imaginative and well presented. We dined in gardens overerlooking the river Selune. This logis is only 10 miles from Mont St. Michel and makes an excellent place from which to go there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay, great staff and exceptional restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a fan or air conditioning.

    We had read the reviews and wondered if we should of booked another hotel we saw near by as some said rooms were musty smelling. But I’m really glad we didn’t as the hotel was excellent. The room was small but very comfortable, we were asked if we wanted to up grade to a garden room but as only there for one eve we decided not to. It probably would of been quieter if we had as we did have some traffic noise as we needed to leave window open as room very warm but it didn’t keep me awake. The receptionist was very helpful on arrival and showed us to our room. We didn’t have breakfast but I have no doubt it would of been good as we ate in the restaurant the eve of our stay and it was exceptional. The food was first class with great service and was not over priced for the quality of the meal. Although we went for a set priced menu it was al le carte standard, I would re visit the hotel just to eat there again. We only used the hotel as we were passing though so cannot comment on the area but it was close to Le Mont St Michel so would be useful base for exploring that area of France

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in lovely setting in Normandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular.

    Comfortable hotel in a lovely setting. The staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner was very well presented and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff was most welcoming and quickly accommodated our...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was most welcoming and quickly accommodated our bicycle and trailer. Our room was larger than average and nicely appointed with views out to the gardens and the river beyond. We were very pleased with our dinner and the bountiful breakfast buffet. The

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Liked the location ,very pretty village not far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!!very nice ,friendly place to stay.

    Liked the location ,very pretty village not far from motorway.Very friendly staff and excellent food!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    We knew Auberge de la Selune from the last generation - the same high standards are maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one foam filled pillow - not very easy to get a good nights sleep and gets sweaty. Good quality pillows certainly make a huge difference, when one is of a certain age! Quite a heavy duvet for even a cool August night and no sheets.

    The Proprietors are extremely welcoming and both speak English. Madame's is impeccable. The garden is enchanting, overlooking the river. Really beautiful surroundings. The food is really excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Would absolutely return if in the neighbourhood again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the traffic from the close by road if keeping the window open but very quiet if closed.

    A bit old fasion but excellent and with very nice, skilled and experienced staff. Make sure to dine at the Auberge as the food is excellent. Also very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Can't imagine why this is only two star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most comfortable bed, pillows and bed linen, much better than some 4* this trip. By the river and really relaxing. Staff speak English, very helpful. Superb tourist office across the road with the best staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    would return anytime we travel in that area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location of the hotel along the river the ownership and staff--top notch the room and bathroom were excellent the restaurant food and service were as good or better than restaurants in the parts of Normandy we visited parking was available and free

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.8
    Family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the bedroom were not soundproof.we could hear the next door person getting in and out of bed.

    Owners very friendly. Hotel lovely with pleasant garden next to the river. we had a lovely meal which was excellent value. Nicely furnished bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Stay here - the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Beautiful rooms - great, new bathrooms. Warm. Comfy beds. Sensational food, both dinner and breakfasts. Brilliant staff. Superb location with beautiful gardens alongside a rambling river in a delightful little town. It was our second visit - we will be there again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Lovely place in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant did not bother to cater for vegetarian even though this had been mentioned in both the booking as well as confirmation. The offer of a plate of vegetables as a main could be considered lazy.

    Great place to stay in a convenient location and a lovely panorama over the river. Reception very professional and welcoming with a very friendly/helpful attitude.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    a very nice place which is well run by friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lorries outside in the early hours.

    very personable staff and lovely clean room. food served (dinner) was delicious although portions a little on the small side. general area very pretty and worth the visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Great restaurant with a hotel.......good stop over....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to dislike.

    Excellent restaurant. The owners are very nice and both speak very good English. Well located for travel south Cherbourg - Nantes - La Rochelle. Some good local walks by the river.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Dinner was spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hand shower only in the bath. Should have had a hook for it to fit on. Difficult to shower when you are holding ther spray head with one hand

    Dinner was spectacular

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Really great value for the money, the restaurant is absolutely recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the warm side with no airco.

    We were welcomed in the hotel by a very friendly member of the staff after parking our two motorbikes on the private parking. The restaurant was fully booked so we had to wait about an hour before they had a place for us, but they happily served us a drink on the patio in the lovely hotel garden. The dinner was absolutely great, best dessert on the trip! Room was not very big but very comfy and clean with all necessary facilities available. Breakfast was very good and complete.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    perfect accomodation and restaurant, beautiful enviroment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect accomodation and restaurant, beautiful enviroment with well-kept garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The owners, location & accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners, location & accommodation. Fantastic. Reluctant to leave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    No, because I’d like to keep it a secret.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners, Location, Food in particular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Location and quietness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and quietness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely auberge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb restaurant. Lovely garden by the river. Staff very friendly. English spoken.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs to the top bedrooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Good location in pretty market town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner menu could be more extensive.

    Friendly welcome and good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room adequate. Fixtures and fittings excellent. Space at a premium but adequate.

    Quality of restaurant menu was excellent. Breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect setting with wonderful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the road

    Very friendly helpful owners. Perfect setting by river. Newly refurbished rooms. Amazing dinner. Near Mont St Michel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Very good old style hotel-restaurant with superb cooking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could be bigger.

    Pleasantly run family hotel. High culinary standards. Nice garden. Close to the motorway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    Convenient for motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient for motorway Comfortable Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    4.2
    Good place for a rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good. The owners are very helpful in answering my questions as to which Chateau to visit ....

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a little smaller than we would have liked.

    Pleasant stay, excellent restaurant, easy parking and convenient to local attractions.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Amazing restaurant and great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing restaurant and great place to stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely country hotel in a great setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great to have a kettle with tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    The setting; the cleanliness; obliging staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Je reviens
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In hot weather a small fridge in the room would be good

    The staff and the general atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.6
    A plesent hotel with very attentive staff, easy to find, and close to the Veloscenie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service in the restaurant. A very good menu. Good facilities for securing bicycles if using the Veloscenie.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    5.8
    Clean hotel but very 1970s bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dated from the 1970s clean but dated. Very poor shower

    Good breakfast, staff very nice, spoke English

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    7.9
    I would use them again and reccomend
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed could be better

    car park, helpful staff, lovely garden, good position, restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    8.3
    Food and restaurant were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and restaurant were superb.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    The meal we had in the restaurant was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was in need of a bit of tlc but the receptionist told me that the rooms are currently being refurbished

    The meal we had in the restaurant was fantastic. Excellent food, excellent service and very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    hospitality staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    hospitality staff and good restaurant which you can have impressed local food If someone have a trip by driving a car, we recommend this hotel and restaurant

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.2
    The setting was lovely but the town was very small and not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    The setting was lovely but the town was very small and not really open for business end of April. Very close to Mt. St. Michael. Dinner was excellent did not do breakfast. Room was pleasant, clean and practical.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff were fantastic and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good nothing bad about this stay

    The staff were fantastic and very helpful The owners went out their way to help with every aspect of our stay. Would stay again when in the area.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    Perfect stop-over from UK via Caen/Cherboug and return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift. Limited car parking.

    Perfect stop-over from UK via Caen/Cherboug and return.Excellent dinner. Great trouble taken to give me, a disabled person, their one ground floor room in each direction. Excellent English spoken. Riverside garden

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    It is a perfect base for visiting Mont S.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the room there is not enough space to storage all your clothes

    It is a perfect base for visiting Mont S. Michel and a large part of the Normandie cost. The hotel is very quiet with a garden facing the close river. The room is well decorated with all forniture and fittings.. The breakfast, not included in the price of the room, is enough complete.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were really friendly. The room was comfortable and big enough for our travel cot. The hotel is in a lovely location, but not too far from the autoroute if you want to break up your journey (we were on our way to Brittany). The breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    Friendly owners, comforable but not glamourous rooms,lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Friendly owners, comforable but not glamourous rooms,lovely garden,excellent dinner, better than 2 stars ! Unfortunately we were only there for one short night !

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    After a long bike ride towards Mont St Michel this was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After a long bike ride towards Mont St Michel this was the perfect place to stay over. The staff were very helpful and accommodating about our bikes. We were able to relax in the beautiful shady garden and enjoyed a fabulous breakfast buffet before setting off the next day.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    Excellent staff very helpful and excellent English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar area limited choice breakfast No water or tea/ coffee in room

    Excellent staff very helpful and excellent English WIFI good connection even in garden Riverside location and garden

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    10
    Location and the building plus the gardens for a drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and the building plus the gardens for a drink before dinner was very good. We have already re-booked again for July 2015. Would recommend this hotel who appreciate good food

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We cannot think of any improvements

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    10
    Room had a lovely view of garden and river and was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked a kettle to make tea.

    Room had a lovely view of garden and river and was well sound proofed. Very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.3
    Wi-Fi- Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi- Excellent Nice modern room Very good beds

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable bed. Superb dinner Excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.6
    excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    excellent food

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    Picturesque garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a lot going on in Ducey.

    Picturesque garden. Lovely restaurant, great food.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Staff was super friendly, English was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was super friendly, English was perfect. The restaurant was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff/owner are kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi fi after 10pm when needed after a long day of travel. Very inconvenient when LTE not available.

    Staff/owner are kind.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful welcome, fabulous food, comfortable beds with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful welcome, fabulous food, comfortable beds with lovely soft sheets and a delightful pretty garden.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    6.3
    Nicely renovated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Had to pay € 9,90 extra for breakfast which was not mentioned on (Dutch version of) Bookin.com.

    Nicely renovated room. Great view to the river.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Clean comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean comfort. Wonderful food

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Restaurant excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant excellent food

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    very helpful owners and superb food !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very helpful owners and superb food !

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    Dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner! If you can, have dinner here!! Also the very comfortabele bed ander the nearby boulangerie are recommended.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful Location pity we only stayed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful Location pity we only stayed for one night.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.1
    Friendly and flexible hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated decor. Noise from outside.

    Friendly and flexible hosts.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Friendly and very helpful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and very helpful staff . An excellent evening meal - the lamb was delicious . A comfortable refurbished room with views of the river .

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.8
    Staff was incredibile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was incredibile. Location was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.3
    Having their famous "Pie au crabe" for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having their famous "Pie au crabe" for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    8.8
    Warm and welcoming to 98th,hosts and excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm and welcoming to 98th,hosts and excellent restaurant. Garden is lovely

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    Position, people, food, garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position, people, food, garden

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    7.1
    The location was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was nice. Gardens were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    Good value, very comfortable hotel with an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value, very comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.3
    Views of river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a little small

    Views of river Garden Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.8
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Partly wifi coverage

    Very clean

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: