Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge de la Source - Hôtel de Charme 4 stars

Chemin du Moulin, 14600 Barneville-la-Bertran, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Barneville-la-Bertran

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The one thing we wished was a light in the WC that was not connected to the entire room's lighting system. It became a slight disturbance when one of us needed to use the WC in the middle of the night and all the lights would go on.

    The breakfast was the most perfect way to start each day! A wonderful choices of cheeses, breads, juices, meats and oh, that rice pudding was dreamy! The atmosphere in the restaurant was rustic elegance and it was a treat to join in for breakfast each day and 4 out of 5 nights we guests at dinner. The room was wonderful as were the beds and bedding! Phillipe was so attendant to our every need while having great humor, elegance and that true hospitality that will bring us back. All the staff was great but Phillipe was that special one! Merci, Phillipe!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Countryside Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Groundfloor rooms did not have catches on windows to leave securely slightly open.

    A beautiful property in a beautiful setting. Gardens beautiful and peaceful. The properties exterior and interior design are faultless. Great proximity to Hondleur.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Countryside Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system had some troubles, but it can happen and the hotel staff was prompt in finding a solution.

    The location is very noce: in the contryside but 5 min by car from Honfleur. The rooms and the reception/restaurant are furnished in a modern but cosy way. The breackfast is really worth the price!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Countryside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The seating in the garden was uncomfortable. Take your own cushions. Breakfast was poor. Coffee was cold. Coffee and milk were not replenished. First thing we were told on arrival was that we couldn't have dinner as they were already full. The following morning we reserved a table for dinner at 8pm. A very disinterested young man told us we could not book a table in the garden and if we wanted to sit at a garden table we would have to take our chances but they would probably all be gone by 7 - 7.30 pm. His attitude to service appeared to be one of total indifference. In the bedroom the only drawer storage space was two small drawers at floor level under the wardrobe. No coffee or tea making equipment in the bedrooms. Bathroom lighting was poor. When using the basin, the light came from behind one's head rather than lighting one's face. The shower had a mind of its own, alternating from scalding to freezing without any prior warning. There was no lip to the shower area as a result of which one had to paddle around in the bathroom. Dinner was perfectly acceptable but was certainly not a gastronomic experience.

    The garden was exquisite - a lovely place to sit, relax and read.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only complaint is around costs - for example, it would have been better to have some economical choices on the wine list.

    Splendid food in a very relaxing and pleasant environment close to Honfleur

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is quiet and peaceful and a car is needed to get to Honfleur etc. Very clean and comfortable room. The food in the restaurant is outstanding and better than most restaurants in the area.I would stay here again and can happily recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Countryside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no tea and coffee making facilities.

    Can't fault this hotel (have been back a dozen times) From the minute you arrive to your departure, you are assured of a fantastic stay. The staff are excellent, the food, breakfast and dinner, delicious and all such good value for money. For a wonderful relaxing break you'll do no better!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Countryside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The peacefulness, the food and the comfort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Countryside Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room too small, bathroom too small, no possibility to have breakfast before 8:00 am.

    Quality of the food, friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Countryside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't too good..beside of that everything was great!

    Amazing place! Like in a romance:) friendly staff, great breakfast etc etc.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to see breakfast included due to semi-remote location.

    Charming and cozy!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lounge area could have been a little cosier! Minor detail...wouldn't mark it down for this! It's a "nice to have" comment!

    Beautiful surroundings and hotel was exquisite! Food was amazing! Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Soft bed and tough to locate.

    The Auberge has Charm, wonderful hospitality, quality and quantity for breakfast, picturesque location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We couldn't feel the comfort of a 4 stars Hotel. We had the family room: superficial cleaning, no big mirror, small bathroom with no curtains, uncomfortable bathtub with no shower and no water to drink or minibar in the room. The price was too high for what offered.

    Well kept garden. Peacefull area. good breakfast inside a veranda facing the beautiful garden. 2 Minutes far from Honfelur.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you are ithout a car, you should make dinner reservations at the Auberge the time of booking. Taxis don't run later in the evening in nearby Honfleur. As a result we were dependent on the kindness of a stranger to give us a ride back to the Auberge after 8:45.This is not the hotels fault, however, dining options within walking distance are non existent. The hotel,in their direct communication with us, did not clarify this and their dining room is tiny, and frequently too full to handle same day reservations for their lodging guests. My husband ran out of hot water 10 minutes into his shower. Our friends had no hot water at all.

    The property is beautiful and serene. The rooms were quite charming and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We've stayed before over the years and the hotel gets better each time. It is handily located for driving to many of Normandy's attractions. The evening meals were excellently designed, cooked with flair and supported by a good wine list. Staff were all actively involved in making the experience one to remember.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is so much to LOVE about Auberge de la Source - Hôtel de Charme! The setting is so peaceful and lovely with flowers everywhere and a wonderful water feature. Our room was incredibly spacious, clean and well appointed. The bed was made with crisp, white linens and was so comfortable! The staff was kind and attentive, especially Veronique!! The food was superb. I can honestly say this is one of my favorite vacation spots.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    far too pricey. Had to pay for a cup of tea when we got there. Breakfast not in our rate. It may be Honfleur but it was on the cusp of being unacceptably priced.

    Beautiful setting and rooms. A Truly special hideaway

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only downside was probably because of the proximity to the garden and that it was ground floor, in the morning the bathroom floor was covered in ants. Not a huge problem as long as you remembered to wear the complimentary slippers!

    We only stayed one night on our arrival in France, but wished we could have stayed longer. We had a lovely room opening out directly into the gardens, and it was very comfortable but with lots of character. Staff were all very helpful, and breakfast was good if perhaps a little pricey.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything ! We couldn't fault it ! The accomodation was divine The garden was a beautifully manicured haven The food and service exceptional The actual building and setting was so pretty situated on this quaint lane To get there you drive through very pretty wooded scenery as well

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough dining space for residents. We weren't able to book a table with 24 hrs notice and as there aren't any other restaurants within walking distance we had to drive to Honfleur.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite pricy, wines at supper came with a very big price tag. No kettle or tea or coffee making facilities in room, no minibar.

    Friendly staff, lovely grounds away from the coastal throng of tourists.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was a bit negligent. For breakfast they forgot the hot chocolate order and left us sitting with dirty plates for the whole meal. For dinner I had asked the day before to accommodate my dietary restrictions, but the night of they had forgotten and I therefore missed out on 2 out the 4 courses...and we were charged the full price! The service level needs to be improved to match the look of the property.

    Nice room, although they were actually a bit smaller than advertised on the website.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location/food/staff

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small toiletts. No elevator

    Over all,cosy and clean.beautiful property.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we like it all!

    cosy, local, a real escape

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beautiful grounds and quiet atmosphere made it a refuge from busy Honfleur.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little

    Pleasant surroundings

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough parking for the Inn..And restaurant..so hotel guest are unconveinced during dinner time..not good.

    Liked the room and comfort of the bed.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee facility in room

    Ambiance, staff & garden

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    service was at times eccentric

    restaurant bedroom garden

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food, pretty garden

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: