Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge Des Chasseurs 3 stars

711 Route de Naz-Dessus, 01170 Échenevex, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Échenevex

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 265 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not easy to get my heavy suitcase up the narrow stairs.

    We loved the swimming pool with the view of the mountains and the horses grazing next to the restaurant terrace. Also loved the proximity to CERN.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absolutely beautiful location and very welcoming staff. Our room was very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and to top it off a gorgeous view of Mont Blanc from our balcony. Do not miss eating dinner here also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and attentive servers, but at times answering same questions to different servers.

    Wonderful views from the rooms, excellent food though a bit pricey, personal service, funky artwork, peaceful garden and loved the pool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had stayed here before but this time the beds were dreadful, creaky and hard. Breakfast is pricey for no cooked food and I can't see us returning again which is a shame as the setting is fantastic. We arrived late and a lady rang earlier to say the keys were under the mat which was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Family rooms on 2nd floor are garret-style and rather small, with limited thermal isolation. The carpet needs renovation. Check the restaurant and reception hours.

    The property has a nice genuine old-style look and feel. Air conditioning and bathroom amenities were OK. The common areas and garden are tastefully furnished/decorated, and pleasant. The property is in a quiet country area, a few miles from Geneva.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Availability of some kind of snack lunch on the days when we were "chilling out " in the hotel

    Breakfast on the terrace enjoying the peace and quiet of the location and marvelling at the view from the terrace and our bedroom window.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is looking tired in terms of its decor. it makes a lot of the fact that the rooms were individually decorated by an artist, but this was obviously a long time ago. Please note that contrary to the facilities description, there was no air conditioning in our room. Best to check first with the hotel if this is essential to you.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. The evening meal was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit on the small side. We stayed 3 nights so think we could have given one of the larger rooms, but otherwise a beautiful place.

    Besutiful setting and good restaurant, stylish!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WE had nice dinner in the place and was charged 20 euro for half a carafe of house wine. There was no menu with prices and it's very high price for that.

    The hotel is nice in a pleasant landscape. It's clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took 3 days to replace a bulb. Found Kleenex near bed behind curtain. Needs supervision. Some staff seem stressed. Did ask 5 weeks earlier for rooms facing Mont Blanc, yes for double room but tree was taking view! Pity for guests coming from Africa.

    Beauty. location, excellent food, friendly staff in restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The connection to the Wifi was poor.

    This is a little paradise in a very beautiful area, what a nice and friendly family hotel! The hotel staff is so friendly and they do everything to make you feel at home. Lovely breakfast and very good dinners on the beautiful terrace with marvelous views on the Mont Blanc and the region. The hotel is cosy and the rooms are lovely with views on the mountains. Nice swimming pool, very nice area and so calm and quiet evenings, the perfect spot for a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast . Too far from town . Lack of clarity in communication from property

    Excellent lunch and dinner - food serving gentlemen and miss Agatha was very cooperative along with mr Dominiqoe

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been better --a little saggy and rather low The evening meal/ wine were very expensive, although food was beautifully flavoured and presented. Red wine excellent. Poor quality wine glasses given the price/quality of wine

    Location, pool, staff. Really liked screen on window, making it possible to have window open all day/night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time was a little unreliable and it was not made clear that the restaurant is closed on Sunday.

    I loved the cozy and quite location in the countryside at the foot of Jura mountains. The hotel has a good restaurant offering regional cousin.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small and not well maintained. Bathroom was not well designed (at 6' 2" I was not able to use the shower). A kettle and cups were provided for making coffee; one of the cups was chipped and cracked and even though the room was cleaned and the cup was washed it was not replaced. It appears that the Auberge is really focussed on its restaurant and the guest rooms are not a priority.

    Location is great and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent little hotel near a little village. The feel was of a traditional hunting lodge style hotel, lots of wood inside. The room was cosy, with fine views of the countryside. The WiFi worked well. But the restaurant was certainly to be recommended. Excellent menu, and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator ( 2 floors above the ground floor). Room somewhat small. Indoor public areas too dark

    Beautiful setting, Very friendly staff, Good restaurant. Ample parking but confusing ( there are 2 parking lots a close one and a remote one )

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude was poor and very unwelcoming, to the point of rude. On check in with the proprietor (I think) we were merely given a key and room number, no information about breakfast time or if the restaurant would be open for dinner. The folder in the room had no information inside either. Staff were difficult to track down for information or service. I speak French and tried my best. Proprietor and staff seemed to speak no English, despite the Booking.com page advising "we speak your language" The wooden framed bed creeked dreadfully with every turn, which meant two very poor nights sleep. We were offered a different bedroom for the third night, but elected to leave a day early instead. The village has no facilities and there are no other dining options for quite some distance. Sadly, we did not enjoy our stay.

    The pool and terrace area were lovely, with views to the mountains beyond. The room itself, was cozy and had the same pleasing view. The evening meal was good although costly by comparison.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom was at back of hotel - sadly just a roof light with no view. Make sure you get a room with a view!

    Meals and relaxing outdoors were outstanding - fantastic views to Mont Blanc. Evening meals the best we've had in France for many years.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful authentic French hotel in the country. Dinner was delicious and the staff was friendly and gracious. We enjoyed the unique furniture and art work. GPS and signs took us right there. Easy and free parking. (As compared with Geneva nearby.)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Second-floor room with two steep staircases. Restaurant excellent but closed Sunday evening and all day Monday. Nearest recommended alternative also closed both nights. When open, same very limited menu. Breakfast OK but average.

    Very nice terrace with outlook towards Switzerland. Good base to visit the Jura mountains. Very good food, when available.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom windows could have been cleaned and the balcony too. Old bottle of pop and dirty ashtray on the balcony table from the moment we arrived until we left.

    Very friendly. Felt welcome. Good location with magnificent views. Breakfast was fine. Room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No meal or staff on Sunday night ( though it was the Euro 2016 final!).

    Lovely position, friendly staff and excellent food. Breakfast and dining on the Terrace looking over to Mont Blanc was magical. Kind and thoughtful to our dog.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful property in fabulous locations looking over Mont Blanc. Room was great and very well equipped. Food was lovely would recommend and stay again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Restaurant, view overlooking Geneva, artwork, only 20-30 min from airport, hospitality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No personel on arrive, even if I was on time, I have sent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is amazing. Staff is gracious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful place to stay in a great setting. Breakfast was lovely and enjoyed alfresco.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy rooms, great views of countryside, wonderful terrace for outdoor meals, nice pool, very relaxing--perfect French country inn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! Place to go back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent restaurant with good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect breakfast, great view to Mont Blanc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff - travelling as a woman alone I felt relaxed & comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hospitality

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice bed, pressed linens, beautiful view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all great

    Food is michelin * Level; prices are incredibly interesting!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm and welcoming staff, excellent service and high quality food and wine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Also great location for an overnight from Geneva airport

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too small. Non-French staff quite rude.

    Great restaurant, excellent food. Nice view. French staff was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in the country side still being 15mn away from Geneva. Food was also excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!!!!!

    The location is stunning and the place oozes class. The owners were so friendly and the evening meal was wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would like to have stayed longer

    Beautiful looking building, nicely decorated inside. Lovely, welcome outdoor pool. Great views

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A detail really, but the layout of the breakfast room could be improved

    Great pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not easy to find hauling luggage up staird to third floor

    the view from the terrace 19th century feel

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, views over Geneva to Mont Blanc. Service effortlessly smooth. Always there when you wanted something, but never 'in your face'. A bit pricier than other similar places we stayed , but definitely good value for money. Evening meal and breakfast both excellent

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I regret I was unable to access wifi at Des Chasseurs although I checked the code with the staff twice and tried several times.

    The staff were delightful, at all times with that perfect mix of courtesy, professionalism and warmth. I particularly appreciated their kindness when I and my two year old grand daughter had lunch together at Des Chasseurs while the rest of the family were away doing other things.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hello, We've arrived very late, past midnight. Stayed only one night, as we were on our way to Paris. We had previously contact them and they were very kind to leave us the room keys in a place where we can find them. Next morning breakfast was great, nice combo of continental and meatier fair and eggs. We will stay there again if we need to go to Geneva, etc.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is an old auberge so bedrooms are small and wifi a bit weak. Hard to get staff attention from time to time. Guests need to be aware hotel is at the base of Jura Mts in the countryside and difficult to find by GPS. Location was ideal for us but would not suit everyone.

    Very comfortable and quaint country auberge, with beautiful outdoor patio, exquisite views over the fields to mountains in the distance. Lovely restaurant with good service. Room was small but absolutely charming with balcony and view. Great decor throughout. Host was very helpful and accommodating. We really enjoyed our three day stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Stairs

    We always stay there, once or twice a year, visiting our daughter nearby. Staff excellent, food of a high standard. The whole experience, very french and quirky, but suits us. Rooms can be small

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    quiet, design, confort, and special attention.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is very good indeed View is spectacular Wifi is good Easy parking

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely Friendly people

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi iffy. Not close to anyplace to eat except the wonderful (and expensive) auberge.

    calm location in the countryside and lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here 40years ago and it was excellent. It was even better this time

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Locale, hotel, staff all fine.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi. Not so many choices for the breakfast

    Very nice and quite location near Geneva. Very beautiful hotel. Parking. Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Offers a very good dinner menu and a good selection of wines. Our dinner in the restaurant was the culinary highlight of our holiday trip.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can not complain abt anything.

    Fantastiq view,very nice atmosphere.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: