Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge des Deux Rivières

Pont De La Taule, 09140 Seix, France

#4 of 6 hotels in Seix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room no 1, in need of work to bring it up to standard, but having said that, the food in the restuarant was very very good and the owners Robert and Philip were second to none, we had a great stay 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bathroom were extremely shabby and dated. It was a double bed in a single bedroom making it hard to get out of bed. When we arrived we were given a bowl of so called soup with a sausage in it and for a very small starter-pate and sweet we were charged 18 euros which was excessive.

    There really was not much to like.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-everything was great.

    This auberge is a gem on a point where 2 rivers meet. It is run by 2 Belgian young men who are amazing. We arrived drenched wet after an evening motorcycling in the mountains. We were made so welcome, the motorcycle was parked in a private garage and we had a delicious dinner in a quaint cosy atmosphere. Food and hospitality were top class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that although the rooms were fine, they could do with an some money being spent on them. Showering was not easy with no curtain and having to hold shower head!!! However, it was not a problem and the rooms were very comfortable.

    The two hosts were great and interacted with us very well. Food was really great and restaurant was very well done. Fantastic position as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dont expect high quality equipment in the rooms, it's low budget but with a nice personal touch.

    The hotel is really nice placed in the crossing of two rivers, the noise of the water is really calming. The restaurant is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst it was as we expected the room was very basic, also the breakfast was over-priced

    The owners were veru hospitable and couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. The evening meal and wine was excellent and the service superb. The shower was great, very hot and good flow of water. The bed was very comfortable and the wifi was excellent. The coffee was good. Great location, Seix is well worth a visit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometime during evening there was a huge problem with a water leak. The hosts did not know if it was the sewage of heating system. They immediately asked what we were doing, so we felt a bit accused. It came down to a problem with the heating system...and we had to move into another really chilly room! Though we received an apology for the inconvenience, the host still requested 2€ city tax...not even a cup of coffee was offered for the inconvenience

    Nature was wonderful Host was friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never in all my stays at different hotels and guest houses have I had a room as poor as this one, in desperate need of care and maintenance, from the toilet which took an age to refill to the windows which looked like they would fall apart if you closed them to hard, on a busy junction with road noise to noise from the restaurant below, I would not recommend this as a place to stay, even for one night, we could not wait to leave.

    The best thing about this booking was leaving the next day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a reflection on the Auberge but the immediate area is a bit of a phone notspot

    The Auberge is in a lovely old building. Robert offered us a choice of rooms and we opted for one on the second floor with loads of character. Both he and his partner Philip are welcoming and helpful. Our evening meal was excellent with a good selection of regional dishes cooked with flair by Philip. Breakfast was very good too, served at the table by Philip, which was a nice touch. The guys are making a well-deserved success of the Auberge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a little dated, Wi-Fi hit-and-miss.

    Absolutely fantastic hosts!!!! Nothing too much trouble and a very warm and friendly welcome. Thanks Phillip and Robert!!! Really enjoyable stay. Lovely location and outdoor terrace overlooking the rivers. Fantastic local food and excellent Belgian beer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibly the outdoor space needs a little TLC but it was a gorgeous spot to have a beer in the sun!

    extremely comfortable bed and knowledgeable, friendly hosts. Good location. The food really is outstanding as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic welcome from staff and best meal we had in our whole time in France. River was crystal clear and great for swimming. Secure storage for our cycles.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Careful with your head and Robert, the “multicultural waiter” • The “room”: A room barely 2.5m wide and the vast majority of the room and the whole bathroom less than the minimum 2.1m height. It doesn’t fulfil EU standards and if it were in Catalonia, the “hotel room” could not be authorized neither to rent to tourists nor as a residence: you are forced to sit when using the toilet or the bathtub. Be careful when getting in the bathroom. (I hit my head four times.)! I highly dissuade you from taking the attic rooms under the roof (nr 8, 9, …?). We asked to move to another room because my height (1.9 m) but they replied us it was full. But this was not the real bad experience: • At the restaurant, I asked for one of the plates “a la carte” (trout) from the menu because I did not want the two plates full “menu” meal. Robert, the “maïtre-sommelier”, warned my dryly that the trout would take 35 minutes. I asked him to confirm the serving time of 35 minutes. He responded that if I wanted fast food, I should leave and go into town. Despite his rudeness, we did not immediately leave by considering the other people working in the restaurant had been polite. 65 minutes later the requested trout arrived at the table, with my wife’s second course (he could have asked her if she wanted to wait such a very long time). No explanation or apology was given by Robert for the more than an hour wait for the trout. The day after, Robert’s business partner, Philip, was kind enough to invite us to a coffee because we were “so kind”. • Robert, when he speaks with people like us who he considers to be non-French/English/Dutch/German speaking (although we do speak French, English and German), he speaks in an unintelligible potpourri of words and half-phrases mixing Spanish from Spain, Spanish from Latin America and Italian (we are catalan speakers, but it’s too much info for him).

    Edifici antic força ben conservat de moment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and in need of an update, numerous bulbs were missing from the light fittings and the water was literally boiling hot to the point of being dangerous , the manager was friendly but the food menu was in French only so we decided to go elsewhere to eat as apparently chicken was out of season and the only meat on the menu was veal which didn't appeal to us ☹️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The location of the hotel is unbeatable - so so pretty, with the most beautiful mountain scenery from the property itself and easily driveable nearby. The food is excellent, the hosts are superb and although the rooms are simple (which is reflected in the very reasonable price, I should say) they are clean, comfortable, have good beds and include everything you might need. The building is very old, and Robert and Philip have kept the original features like the way you open the windows! This is one of our favourite places to stay on our journey south - we always build in an extra day here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really lovely location with garden next to the two rivers. We were travelling by bike and thought this was in the centre of Seix for some reason, it is not, it is a couple of km down the valley and was well worth the extra few turns of the pedals. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. There was secure storage for our bikes as well, even a track pump to put some air in our tyres. The Belgian couple who run it couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming, both spoke excellent english. On the day we arrived the restaurant was only open to hotel guests and was a set menu, however they were happy to do a vegetarian meal for one of our party. They said they have a full vegetarian menu alongside their normal menu on other nights. The restaurant itself has been very nicely done up in keeping with the venue and the food was delicious, properly home cooked and a very reasonable 19 Euros for three courses. As the owner is an ex sommelier there is an excellent and reasonable beer and wine list, which we sampled a little too much of. Overall highly recommended if you're after a good value friendly comfortable stay with excellent food and wine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aggressive owner who scared my daughter. no professional staff . Bedroom undo over our stay, poor food, had to claim orange jus for the breakfast, Smelly bin crossing the restaurant over our meal. Not enough parking place......not recommended.

    Fire place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was extremely helpful in accommodating our very late arrival. Breakfast was wonderful. Our room was simply decorated, but spacious, clean, and comfortable. I would have loved to spend a few more days. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor condition of the room. Lack of alternative choices for breakfast, mentioned this on check out was told , there could have been other items available if we had asked. No mention of this anywhere.

    Good hot powerful shower. Dinner on the terrace over looking the rivers, Staff friendly. Location. Freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wasps in front of the window and the spiders were not really disturbing. Who likes edible dormice in the room is in the right place.

    Nice and friendly cook. Good starting place for several hikes. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quaintest place myself or my family has ever stayed in. The staff is friendly and attentive. Take advantage to have a meal while youre visiting, the food is amazing. Location and the view of the river(s) from the terrace are wonderful and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed felt a bit short due to proximity of inclined ceiling but not a big issue to bear given every thing else being so good. Would have preferred a shower to the bath

    The BBQ was excellent and plentiful. Hosts very good Secure storage for my bike.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and needed a little TLC.....the bathroom door did not close!

    Robert and Philip were amazing hosts and very welcoming. The evening meals were incredible and Philip created something special for my vegetarian husband.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was a little tight on headroom and to say that there is a view from the room I was in (standing to look through the Velux windows) is a bit of an exaggeration. But maybe I am just nit-picking, as I highly recommend this lovely little hotel.

    An excellent welcome and, it seems, in whatever language you find it easiest to speak. The terrace overlooks a picturesque river and there is a well-tended and peaceful little garden right on its banks. The breakfast is very good and the menu is unusual and very interesting and, of course, delicious!.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit basic !!

    The view from the room, we had 2 rivers flowing just under the room window, it is really beautiful. Dinner was excellent too .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room and some of the facilities were lacking basic care, maintenance and housekeeping, lots of cobwebs, mess on the riverside etc.

    The hosts say that it has been their dream to run an auberge and this shows in the quality, preparation and presentation of the food and wine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel last minute and feel like with hit a jackpot. The owners are very nice, accomodating and helpful. We arrived later than expected and found our room and a table in the restaurant waiting for us. The hotel itself was wonderfully quaint and rustic. We had the family room with bath. This room is very spacious accomodating five plus a small sitting area. It also has an increadible window with a view up the river. For dinner, they kept the kitchen open late to feed us one of the most memorable meals we had on this trip to europe. They have excellent variety and it was all well prepaired. People seemed to come from around the local area for the dining. In the morning the continental breakfast was excellent with fresh baked breads.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were rather tired and had obviously been done up on a budget. My room was under the eaves, which is quant, but a bit cramped. The bathroom certainly needed a serious makeover. The restaurant had not been cleared up from the night before, although thankfully breakfast was in another room. I guess that it could all have done with a womans touch.

    This was a lovely location but unfortunately we arrived in the rain so couldn't explore too much. The Auberge is a really old Inn mainly run by males and it has a certain old world charm.There were 6 of us on motorbikes, we managed to get them all under cover but only just. Food was good and plenty of it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are a little thin

    The restaurant was top class

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely nice location in a wild mountain valley, two hosts with a lot of passion for what they are doing - a small paradise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    super nice and helpful staff, great food, homely atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, decor a little tired.

    Great local food and wines. Great value room and lovely staff. And for France a good cup of tea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No screens. Flies. No fan. Broken lock on door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely people, great food and care in a lovely location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, restaurant (food and decor), helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Magnificent location. The staff were very helpful in finding gluten-free solutions for me at dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small friendly hotel in tiny village sitting on the confluence of two rivers and surrounded by mountains. Great terrace restaurant above the river.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just everything was faultless. Even parking for 5 motorcycles. Food & rooms good. Location good. Staff good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    L'auberge: hospitality, food, Environment: walking, mountains, not many tourists

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room basic needed up dating , bed not made up daily , no soap in containers one bulb missing in one bedside lamp

    The atmosphere at this hotel was fabulous. Although our room was basic it didn't matter. The setting next to the river is lovely but what made the place was the two guys who run it. They made us feel so welcome and the food we had was just lovely cooked to perfection.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were great hosts and looked after us very well throughout our stay and were always very helpful. The location is great, in between several towns and we had the Guzet ski-resort 20 minutes drive from the hotel, as well as hiking paths in the mountains within easy reach. The food in the restaurant was fantastic so I would definitely recommend trying the extensive menu as well as the winelist. The room was comfortable and basic. I would recommend anyone to stay at this auberge.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners go out of their way too ensure your stay is almost perfect. We traveled with our two dogs they where made most welcome and could go all around the hotel. Then you get too the best bit. The food is fantastic, loads of choice and all perfectly prepared and served. Well done to the owners we had a great time. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Both rooms we booked were in a terrible state and crammed into the eaves of an attic. Couldn't access the wi-fi from the attic rooms but then they should be condemned anyway.

    Excellent location Excellent food

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Absolutely superb location with fantastic terrace and garden. Owners parents are very friendly and accommodating. Nice food and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is perfect, next to a beautiful clear river. The hosts are lovely and friendly and speak perfect English which helped us tremendously. The food and wine were fantastic! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Robert and Philip run this place with real pleasure and commitment and it shows. They give their guests a really warm welcome, and go out of their way to help them and accommodate them. They also produce fantastic high-quality food. All this with a romantically beautiful location right next to two rivers. Our room was basic but absolutely fine. We stayed there three nights and were sorry to leave.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    After our stay at the Costa Brava we were passing by for 4 days and it was wonderful, ideal for hiking and biking. It's a small piece of heaven. You wake up with the sound of the 2 rivers, the smell of the mountains and fresh croissants. The food is delicious as is the wine. The atmosphere is easygoing and our hosts Philip and Robert were very helpful. A real value for money!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only real issue was that the wifi signal was not very strong in our room.

    Auberge Des Deux Rivières is a fantastic small inn with wonderful hosts. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night and it was spectacular. The food was great and the wine suggestion was spot on. We then enjoyed some wine on their wonderful terrace the following afternoon. The fresh air and sound of the river is truly relaxing. The rooms are a bit quirky but that adds to the charm for us.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are a little 'tired' and could do with redecoration but it was all clean and comfortable enough especially for the price. Another pillow each would be good. The WiFi didn't work for me sadly.... We went in July and the whole area, not just the hotel was buzzing with flies. Really bothersome...

    The location is fantastic and the two guys who run it are very helpful. The food is good too as they source local producers for meats, cheeses and wines. Very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The old hotel has lots of potential, recently purchased by the hosts but is in need of refurbishment.

    Location great next to a river with private stoney beach and small garden overlooking the river Good local food served on atmospheric outside terrace next to the river. Very good hosts with excellent English

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They could have lit the fire a bit earlier in the evenings! It's a lovely log fire - they usually lit it around 6-6.30 but maybe around 4 or 5 would be good. Also maybe converting the reception desk to a manned bar in the evening would be good to create an ambience before dinner and give the guests somewhere to mingle. Breakfast could be better too: currently it's just pastries and coffee, but a cooked option would be welcome. But these are just details: we really enjoyed our stay.

    Loved the place. Nice pair running it - they are interested in the local culture and do what they can to offer interesting local dishes and wines. Particularly enjoyed their knowledge of the cuisine. The fondue was great! Good location, great value. We hope to be back.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were very warmly welcomed by the owners, who prepared us a very tasty meal. The hotel is clean and in a picturesque location about 2h from Toulouse. The owners speak Dutch English and French and are very knowledgeable about the area. It was great value for money too!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice breakfast and confortable beds! The surroundings are beautiful. I went with my dog, all perfect.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No complaints.

    Great place. Great hosts. Lovely rooms. Fabulous food. Great log fire. Good place to get talking to other guests.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything is perfect. Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We only stayed one night but it was very nice. The staff were great and the evening meal was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The cuisine particularly-excellent. The location and scenic surroundings. The welcoming and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. location 2. staff

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Philip and Robert were very good hosts (friendly and helpful). We had a delicious meal in the restaurant. The room was clean (though fairly basic).

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: