Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Auberge des Moulins

2 Rue de Pontarlier, 25110 Baume-les-Dames, France

#3 of 4 hotels in Baume-les-Dames

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 246 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.8
    Fantastic eating. Questionable quality hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located at a very busy intersection. There is no place to go with the dogs at all. The forest that you can see on the map is inaccessible. The "modern" solution with bathtub in the room and without any water isolation is inconvenient.

    Restaurant is of exceptionally high quality (very long waiting for each meal though).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    8.3
    Nice stopover.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors and exterior could do with a bit more TLC. The car park is exposed to the road so not very secure.

    This hotel does not look promising from outside, but the rooms and the restaurant have been recently modernised/redecorated. Food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    5.8
    My expectations from their web-site and the logis ratings were not met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at 4pm after a long drive from Austria. The welcome was okay but I could not get a beer so I had to go out again. There was no water in the room. Dinner was 7.30pm to 8.30pm only and the modern restaurant filled with men who were obviously lorry or van drivers. There were no couples staying and my understanding was that on the whole this was their business. I had to pay the night before so I declined breakfast as I was not sure of my itinerary the following day. There was no-one around when I left at 9.30am to say goodbye to.

    The meal was good but not worth a Logis 3 saucepan. The bed was very comfortable. The area was beautiful and it was great to be in the country and luckily the traffic calmed down at bedtime.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    5.8
    Wonderful Restaurant; Hotel a bit weird.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dark reception with dim lighting which only comes on about 10 seconds after you've entered. Not at all welcoming. Some quite weird features. One bedroom (10) was reminiscent of Gerard Hoffnung's "bathroom with bed", having a very modern freestanding rolltop bath in one half of the room with a shower handset but no curtain or screen. Despite our careful contortions with the handset we still managed to spray the bedside table. Neither of plugs in the the two ultra modern wash basins held water - very inconvenient, especially for wet shaving. The separate toilet had a nice new Villeroy & Boch pedestal - but no holder for the loo roll, which was plonked on the shelf behind in the manner of most service station loos. In another other room (9) the w.c. was so far off the ground the occupant had a job to reach it and had to sit with legs dangling.

    Excellent Restaurant, though it appears unable to cope with large numbers of diners, including residents. We hadn't booked a table for the second night of our stay and had to eat elsewhere, which actually suited our touring plans quite well. The place was clean and well fitted, although there are a few eccentricities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    8.8
    2 star is under rated.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike, I would advise you to turn up during the stated times for reception, that's stated in the details so, no excuse.

    Despite a failure to book the restaurant in advance the patron squeezed us in. The food is outstanding, the room was clean, the bed comfy. All in all a good stay, highly recommend it. The reason for the 2 star rating is Madame has a life outside work and does the maximum possible in a shorter time. If you don't need to attended to all the time then you will be fine. Do book the restaurant, you'll be glad you did.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant room, good restuarant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very soft and dipped toward the middle (used by too many single travellers?). House wine surprisingly expensive.

    Pleasant hotel located a few miles from Baumes les Dames. Excellent food!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    9.2
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to main road

    The food was good and the room was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for an overnight stop on our journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.2
    outside modest, inside tops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    squeaking toilet door

    room was spicy, well equipped, clean and quiet. Dinner was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely stunning evening meal;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely stunning evening meal; not to be missed! And very nice breakfast too. Definitely a culinary gem!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    7.9
    Very good restaurant😊
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good restaurant😊

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    7.9
    A very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent dinner and very good breakfast. Nice valley.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2016

    7.5
    Sublime restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant is the highlight ... Best dinner we had in France ... Superb

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    4.2
    There were 8 of us but meal took far too long, 3 or 4 hours,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were 8 of us but meal took far too long, 3 or 4 hours, I lost count. Good food but expensive compared to other meals on this trip. Whilst the owner was O.K. the rest of the staff were miserable. Dingy and a weird 1970s disco style dinning room

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2016

    5.8
    Dinner was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It looked good from the photos and the price but it wasn't. Beyond the restaurant the place was a bit shabby, dimly lit. Shower cubical had black deposits in the corners. One tiny piece of soap each, small towels. House red was undrinkable. I would not stay again.

    Dinner was good. Good friendly service from madam.

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2015

    7.9
    The room was very nice and the breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The corridors really need some work and are very tired, giving a poor impression. The wifi is set up so you lose your connection and need to keep logging in which is annoying.

    The room was very nice and the breakfast excellent. A good car park and easy to find

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    3.8
    The welcoming was very unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The welcoming was very unfriendly. The owners (?) gave us the feeling, that we were not really welcomed. Unfriendly serving while eating. No children's menue available, not any effort to serve anything that an eleven years old boy could eat. Sand in the salad. As we told that fact, we were told, that is is normal and there was no excuse. Meal was good, but too expensive. But what disturbed us most was the unfriendly staff.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    7.1
    The cuisine was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The vins en pichet can be improved considerably

    The cuisine was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2015

    7.5
    The hotel has a charming atmosphere and as aide from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel has a charming atmosphere and as aide from language problems the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2015

    8.3
    Excellent dinner at the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent dinner at the restaurant. Very nice and friendly staff and owner.

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2015

    7.9
    Friendly, good food, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, good food, comfortable

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: