Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge Du Lac 4 stars

Le Ternay, 07100 Saint-Marcel-lès-Annonay, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Saint-Marcel-lès-Annonay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had difficulty with some of the staff. The matrice was particularly difficult and did not provide the level of service that we expect for 4 star. There was difficulty with the final bill as we realise that we were overcharged for our dinner. We were also brought things to our room that we did not order and then had to pay for. And my wife speaks French ! Certainly felt like we were staying in a chain hotel where money was more important than service. Simple requests such as coffee pods and milk were laborious with some staff being outright rude. An itemised bill was a chore and still unclear. We also had difficulty with getting wifi in our room. When mentioned to the staff, they just suggested that our phones were faulty. All in all, a difficult stay in a beautiful location. Unfortunately tue poor service by “the boss” made for an unhappy The auberge is quite nice. For just the one night I did not get the value for money, particularly on service.

    Lovely location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location by the lake is spoilt by being on a surprisingly busy road (small, but lots of lorries) - and the lake not ideal for our energetic spaniels as difficult to access the water and cars allowed all the way around (although not too many on far side), so difficult getting them off the lead.

    Very comfortable room, wonderful spa bath, lovely restaurant, friendly staff and stunning pool (sadly too cold to use!), great breakfast in our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve stayed before but still found it difficult to find because if you program your satnav with the address provided it doesn’t work

    Beautiful swimming pool, lovely food, very relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is situated next to a lake in the hills. The infinity pool is raised high up, giving breath taking views overs the lake and hills. Staff were friendly and accommodation was clean comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea/coffee making facilities were lacking in the bedroom

    The room was beautifully decorated and clean. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable. The terrace was superb, as was the infinity pool and pool surrounding area. We had a fantastic dinner (my husband said it was one of the best meals he has ever had) and breakfast was similarly superb with tons of choice and quality foods. All in all wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of choice on menu, which was rather limited. Overall, compared with 5 other hotels we stayed at during our trip to France, we consider it was expensive. Other Hotels we stayed at, were providing similar quality at less cost.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Facilities good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When having dinner we had to order everything at the same time, including dessert. I prefer to order my dessert after main course. now we had to order otherwise the kitchen was closed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have stayed longer :-)

    Superb location with great views over the lake and super pool area with views as well. Dining is lakeside when weather permits - wonderful food and great wines. Rooms are cool and decorated with charm. Breakfast on the terrasse. This was second time and not the last.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not working very well. Staff at the reception was a bit stressed.

    Pool and the location of the hotel was very nice. Dinner at the restaurant was very good, as well the service from the young staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food beautifully presented and interesting but a little fussy for our tastes.

    The location is superb, very quiet and comfortable despite our stay coinciding with a heatwave. Staff were helpful, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows at the front of the hotel have to be closed to avoid noise from the street

    Good kitchen and friendly waiters Quality breakfast Easy to park the car and safe

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not obvious from the advertised information that the hotel is actually right on the edge of the road, which was quite busy even at 4am! The road runs between the hotel and the lake, the view of which is restricted by trees.

    Perfectly acceptable hotel with good dinner in a brightly lit dining room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the Auberge is rather isolated getting meals in the country on Sunday is VERY difficult. Had to settle for a pizza in the nearest take away!!

    This is a beautiful hotel a little difficult to find even with satnav- but worth it. cold weather so no pool but nice walks and wonderful view over the lake. Food was superb not available on Sundays or Mondays-most of our stay. very helpful staff/management and good bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful, quiet place to rest. Staff absolutely amazing. Delicious food. Bikes. Great route around the lake for bike or walking - 3.9km. Be prepare to travel for Sunday 's dinner.:)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is pricy: no doubt tasty but some of us left the table still hungry (we were part of a group of 9 adults and 2 children but didn't get enough bread and croissants - we literally had to 'ask' for more) The hotel has a nice terrace by the lake for dinner. Although we made a reservation on arrival to dine outside two/three hours later, the staff did no effort to let us dine outside because or group was to large (We wouldn't have minded to sit side by side on two round tables... Given the warm weather and the view we felt like we missed out...)

    Pool with a view! Nice rooms and beds. Towels for a visit to the pool! Closed parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - will certainly stay again.

    Everything about this hotel is lovely. Most of all its position overlooking the lake with the pretty terrace and fabulous pool. A real gem. Dinner was excellent and breakfast superb.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a room overlooking the lake, ours was tucked away at the back by the back door so not ideal as you could hear people coming in and out.

    Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and really enjoyed our evening meal sitting by the lake. Our meal was one of the best we've ever had, really delicious. The setting was beautiful, I could have spent hours just looking at the view over the lake from the swimming pool . We would stay again

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed on Sunday night

    Location and room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fabulous

    It was just fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to road

    Just beautiful in every respect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely rooms. Hotel in a great location. Staff very friendly, language differences not a barrier! A great base to explore the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    upper sheet and blanket instead of a duvet

    Great breakfast, nice terras, small but nice swimmingpool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive

    Fantastic breakfasts and dinner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing apart from having to leave

    Location is unparalleled

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location, always a treat!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of room service food, that's all.

    The setting and ambience were magical; restaurant excellent, and breakfast super even though 14 € extra.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location. Best value for money... Highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel setting is delightful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to not like!

    Dinner was very good, breakfast was wonderful. Location is stunning and the walk around the lake a must.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy hotel near the lake. Helpful staff. Great meal.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was closed on Mondays, but the staff recommended another restaurant which was very nice, although a 15-20 min drive.

    Very friendly staff, spectacular location just by the lake (there is a road between, but not much traffic). The pool is splendid.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could maybe need a air condition. The night was hot, and the barhroom was damp.

    It is a very nice hotel with superb facilities, a kind staff and a perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very pleasant and attentive owner who made us very welcome late in the evening

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La situation ( route bruyante)

    Pas grand chose

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast a bit pricey

    Great dinner

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    High quality of decor and outside public areas

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We liked the infinity swimming pool ,excellent after a long drive. The bedroom. The view. The food. Everything.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave

    The room, the view, the service, the facilities and the food.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff aux petits soins, excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food and wine perhaps too pricey

    Food

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Auberge Du Lac traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: