Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge Ostapé 5 stars

Domaine Chahatoa, 64780 Bidarray, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Bidarray

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 93 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely Nothing !

    We did an overnight quick break and certainly were not disappointed. Wonderful setting, fabulous suite. Huge bathroom, no shortage of hot water and lovely toiletries. Getting around on the golf buggy was fun. Excellent staff, very friendly & efficient. Dinner was amazing - michelin standard, very impressive and very reasonably priced, we thoroughly enjoyed our short time and look forward to returning. We didn't use the pool however it looked lovely. Both myself and my husband had a massage....a very different and amazing experience and my advice to other travellers - you must do! Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice. Never have I rated 10 to any hotel anywhere! Simply, there was nothing to not like !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We'll, this hotel carries the seal "RELAIS DU SILENCE": the silence INN, but unfortunately this year, the presence of more than 5 small children didn't make the hotel as calm and serene as it promises. Don't get me wrong, i am a mother of 3... But when i sign up for a hotel that brags about it's silence and calm, i do feel slightly dissappointed when the delicate pool turns into a kiddy battle. And when the breath-taking calm breakfast scenery degenerates into running kids around tables. I also missed precise routes and maps for trekking in the direct area.

    Ostape is one of my best basque country get aways. I go yearly with my husband for an escape honeymoon. The food lives up to amazing basque standards. The breakfast buffet is abundant with local French and Spanish delicacies. The wine cellar is sinfully excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Luxe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the food was wonderful, I would suggest more menu variation from day to day in case guests do not want to venture out at night for dinner since the location is somewhat isolated.

    This is a very unique property, almost a destination style accommodation being a little off the main path, but still close enough to other areas to allow exploring, The views here are stunning and the food at the restaurant is first rate. The pool is lovely, clean, and kept at a very comfortable temperature. The room we stayed in was huge by European standards, and it had AC which was a blessing during the heat wave that was occurring during our stay. You feel like a celebrity when staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if the evening meals were a bit more relaxed and not so formal in this very serene rural setting.

    The location and views from our room and dinning terrace were wonderful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views are amazing. The facilities are luxurious - a heated pool outside with the gorgeous views of the hills, a hammam and a hot tub. You get your own golf carts to drive around the acres of property. The food was delicious. The staff was friendly. It was a great experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's embarssing that the reption told me " I don't understand any English" in clear pronounciation when I asked to have a folk & Knife in my room. 「フォークとナイフを貸してください」とフロントに英語でお願いしたら、「私は全く英語がわかりません」とクリアな英語で言われたこと。

    a very calm, relaxing situation 静かな環境

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night good room service at the room next day no arrangement . So there is no regularity and no service arrangement for such high value .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Self drive Golf buggies for transport from car park to rooms, restaurant, swimming pool etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is excellent.

    Third stay and will return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing location and sense of serenity. Great food and surroundings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything!

    This place is amazing and I will definitely go back. It's a little paradise. Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Thank you for your kind arrangement, Sebastian ! Real peaceful retreat. The location marvelous ! The restaurant offer local basque materials with excellent technique and interesting wine cellar.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much to say. Maybe a bit hard to find, but this adds to the charm.

    Simply brilliant. Very quiet, beautiful and secluded place. Great room, in a small house on the big domain. Restaurant is equally brilliant, with impeccable service. I especially like the revisited Basque specialties.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was anxious about the following matter.  Access from a town in BIDARE Movement by a golf cart in the site  It wasn't necessary to worry.

    The wonderful scenery is seen from your room. A meal at the restaurant and wine are good.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly, the weather and the coastal towns which are very run down.

    The staff are all well trained and very friendly and attentive. The position is beautiful, with delightful rooms. The golf buggy was great when it rained!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located close enough to small towns so that you had access to everything you needed, but well off the beaten path so that you could get away from it all. Breakfast was delicious, and lovely to take on the terrace overlooking rolling hills and grazing sheep. The staff made the stay so much more wonderful. Especially Alex, she is the epitome of a hospitality professional!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything from the warm welcome, the stunning accommodation and a very beautiful setting. Not possible to fault. Just brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful setting, most welcoming staff. Food was outstanding, chef evidently a very talented person.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully appointed room, wonderful outlook to the foothills of the Pyrenees, gracious and helpful staff.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: