Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge Saint Pierre 3 stars

Grande Rue, 50170 Le Mont Saint Michel, France

#8 of 13 hotels in Le Mont Saint Michel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 771 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was super hot!! They didn't have any fans or anything to make it more comfortable and of course no air conditioning and if you opened the windows to try to make it more comfortable, you had many seagulls outside making lots of noise and you couldn't keep the windows open very wide for fear they would fly into the room.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing. Would not return, but Mont St. Michel was amazing to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to figure out where the park. No one explained you would have to haul bags yourself from shuttle up a hill, then one flight up to checkin, then back dowstdirs, further up the hill, up some more steps. Front desk clerk a female finally took pity on my wife and carried her bag the second half of the journey.

    Taste of food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Staying over night on Mont Saint Mishele is very special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware there are lots of steps to climb on Mont Saint Michele including to our hotel room location!

    The location and view were great, the check-in staff member was supper busy but extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    We loved the ability to walk around after all of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaning staff obviously missed some of the previous guests items when they supposedly cleaned our room. We found a medicine kit, clothes and a mans dopp kit. Our room was away from the hotel up LOTS of stairs without any view. The room met our needs and was comfortable.

    We loved the ability to walk around after all of the tourists left for the day. The hotel was nice and I would probably stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    2 nights in historical Mont St Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room located separately from the main hotel building, near to cemetary with just the view of the adjacent roof

    Cozy room, fully equipped with basic amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful, secluded room in the hotel’s annex, away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that we had to repack when we arrived to avoid taking our luggage up the 88 steps to our room. The hotel should have made this clear when we made our reservation.

    We had a wonderful, secluded room in the hotel’s annex, away from the noise and crowds. Plus, we were already about halfway up the hill making our trek to the Abbey a little easier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice to escape the crowds by staying overnights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs to our room! Wish we had left most of our luggage in the car and travelled to the island with just a backi

    Very clean and nicely decorated rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was far beneath expectations... The room was dirty, stains in the bedsheets, dusty, noisy,... The price for this type of room felt definetly like a tourist trap...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Expensive, mildewy room in an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated, smelled like mildew, and the bed was not very comfortable. None of this was unexpected however; I think there are not many choices of places to stay overnight here, and they are all expensive. It was a treat just to be able to stay overnight and walk around the area after the other tourists had left—very mysterious and beautiful.

    This hotel has many rooms around the mont; ours had a beautiful over the bay from it’s small window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Incredible! Hands-down best part of our trip to France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was better than expected!

    The room was amazing! Amazing views out the window, from the bed! Felt super secure and tucked away which was nice given the pedestrian activity on the island. After a late check-in, we were able to enjoy a feast for dinner at the restaurant, which was most welcomed. We were able to store our luggage after check-out so we could continue to explore the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    It was very quaint, beautifully historical and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small for 4 people but it was to be expected.

    I loved staying in such an awesome place with so much history and beautiful surroundings!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    The double rooms were comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the 4 bedder, kettle, tea and coffee facilities were not provided. Price was a little on the high side.

    The double rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    This fulfilled a Bucket List item for my wife, and staying on Le Mont is worth the effort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Those of a certain age need to be aware of the number of stairs and tight quarters.

    Room 416 is the only room with a terrace which allows a wonderful view of the tide change. Bring a bottle of champagne, or see the wonderful barman in the restaurant and enjoy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great place to spend a night on Mont Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems. Just a warning to visitors that the hotel has no elevator and requires bags to be carried up stairs. But then again, the entire island is full of stairs and not at all accessible to handicapped or people with limited mobility.

    Lovely little hotel on Mont Saint Michel. Rooms were actually much bigger than I expected. Tiny room for toilet, but the shower and sink area were adequate size. Very clean room with windows overlooking main area of the “city”. No complaints at all. We didn’t eat at the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Anywhere else I would expect more for half the price. You pay to stay on the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we booked several months in advance. We were bumped to the annex due to a Rick Steves tour. The annex was about a third of the way up the hill so we didn't have access to hotel amenities without major exertion. Being higher up would be good if you had a view, but you don't. Everything including the hotel and restaurants are on the lower level. You need a code to get into parking( which is not free) they didn't provide it. Room had a musty smell and the Internet didn't work

    You get this for location. There are not a lot of options if you want to stay on the island. Our room had a tub. The bed was two singles pushed together but comfortable. The room was decent sized and We had a tv. Staff was friendly but we didn't see them except check in and out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful island, clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was not full, yet my request for salt and pepper was a bother. I had to ask twice and then it was delivered with a frown. I don’t like to complain about staff and I understand if they are extremely busy, but restaurant was not busy. We just want to receive same service as others. My request was delivered politely.

    The staff in the restaurant appeared to dislike serving Americans.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Overall excellent, just sad we were 15 minutes off on our timing for the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff did not know the time of the morning services at the monastery. The time they gave us was wrong. We missed the service which was a disappointment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.0
    Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend if you want to stay on Le Mont St Michel itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food disappointing. Fresh oysters were wonderful but the other food was mostly from the freezer and the kids pizzas were awful. Service was great though and our waitress helped us make the right choices!

    Amazing location. Excellent staff, very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    It's ok, a nice hotel but the price of the room reflects the location not the actual value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected more in terms of comfort of the rooms, our room was an annex and wasn't very warm having in mind the bad weather outside.

    Perfect location, right in the heart of Le Mont Saint Michel, nice service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, calm, breathtaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 43€ meals sucked. The taste was equivalent to something you could get at Denny’s in the U.S.

    The kindness of the staff was amazing! The rooms were decent sized and had a great view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    3.8
    I’d highly recommend visiting the island, it’s a pretty magical place to go, I wouldn’t however stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a small infestation of ants! Powdered milk was provided for coffee and the shampoo/shower gel wasn’t renewed prior to us checking in and was empty. On checkout I informed the woman at the desk about the ant issue and she didn’t seem surprised or to care, I wasn’t even offered an apology let alone a refund. The hotels restaurant is also much to be desired. They didn’t seem to want to serve any one in groups less than 3 (couples were out) the wait staff were arrogant and the food was poor. We waited 30 minutes to be served, I had to ask them for menus after 25 minutes of watching two wait staff following each other around the floor. I wouldn’t recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Staying on the island is a very special experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was not very welcoming. Plus felt we were misled to believe breakfast was included.

    Staying on Le Mont Saint Michel is a must to get the full experience and enjoy the island after the tourist crowds have left for the evening until after breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Should have just stayed in St Malo and taken a day trip to St Michel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not find the staff to be welcoming or very interested in the guests. The room has poor if any WiFi and only French TV making evenings difficult as the town closes early. Dinner in the restaurant was not good food just fast service. The worst breakfast we’ve had in France within our last 2 weeks vacation. Fruit salad bitter, eggs undercooked and low quality cereals and meats (and they charge $17.00 per person)! Just not worth the money spent!

    The rooom was clean and fine for sleeping, no problem with that part. We realize it’s an older hotel so did not expect luxury.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sistematic way they try to charge you more for anything . First evening they charged us 1 bottle of wine more and 1 more of water. And before we left they tried to charge us 1 more night

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Recommend the expense to stay overnight to fully explore all that mont st Michel offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not stay at mont st Michel with large, heavy suitcases as the rooms are located further up from the reception and you need to navigate many steep flight of steps. The bus also deposits you 300m from the entrance to the mont st Michel...

    We stayed one night at auberge st Pierre and this was an excellent way to see all that mint st Michel offers. The rooms were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    Historical spectacle that really hits the pocket
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a family room which isn't in the hotel, but up in the ramparts. While quite charming, it was up way more stairs than we had expected. Not ideal when each of us was lugging a suitcase and hand luggage! And of course, you are left to lug everything yourself. So only bring essentials for your stay. In addition, the breakfast was the most expensive of our two-week stay in France (including pricey Paris). 17 Euros each for the buffet breakfast and my 12-year old son only ate half a pancake! But in general the food is very expensive on Mont St Michel, so if you have fussy eaters take snacks with you.

    Mont St Michel is a vision out of a fairy tale. Everything about it is special. So get there early or stay overnight - you'll want to avoid the hoards of fellow tourists who dampen the effect somewhat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place to spend the night on the Mont.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to spend the night on the Mont. We read the review ahead of time and managed to pack light (one backpack each), so it wasn't too bad dealing with the shuttle to the island and walk up the stairs. The room was nice, quiet, and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Great location but could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was controlled centrally and didn't come on until 9am so the bedroom was very cold when we dressed for breakfast. Also, the tea/coffee facilities provided ONE tea bag and ONE coffee sachet per day for a double room and only powdered milk. Since there was a minibar in each room it would have been easy to provide long life milk as so many hotels do at less than Eu258/night. Breakfast was not included and was over priced. Better (and cheaper) breakfast at a hotel up the hill on our second morning. The dinner on the first night was adequate at best and again over priced compared to the Deguesclin next door where we ate a terrific meal the following night.

    Well maintained and excellent position

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notice should say not to carry luggage upstairs to check in as you turn right back around and carry the luggage back down to walk to another location in the village. For the price an option for porters would be suggested. Older guests may have difficulties and those with young children. Not a good value for the money even with the premium location. Room stated city or landscape view. We had a view of a wall of the other rooms. Also a slight musty smell in the rooms. Which is expected as it’s an older building; however, for the price.....

    Good location on Mont Saint Michel and good water pressure.. Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    MSM is the essential venue for a tourist. Prior visits: 1968 and 1977. Access is easier; food worse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price on overnight on the Mont is higher than Paris on the Quai Saint-Michel, but this simply conforms to the laws of supply and demand. But you get what you pay for. Unquestionably!

    Location, location, location. If you want to enjoy Mont Saint-Michel, go before or after the tourist season (we were there near the end of September 2017) and (1) stay overnight on the Mont, (2) climb to the Abbey and hear Vespers, (3) dine on the mainland, walking back to the Abbey in the dark, and (4) watch the sunrise from a vantage point to the east (our room balcony). (5) Leave before 9; breakfast elsewhere. The parking is very organized. Call the Hotel the day of arrival to get your access code, and follow the guard's instructions to the overnight lot. Take a small pack of essentials with you. Take the shuttle to the abbey. We checked in at the second floor Reception of the Auberge and followed a very polite and courteous young lady to our accommodations much higher up the Grand Rue. Get up to the Abbey outer doors by 6PM and wait for the nun to offer admission. Do not pay any attention to passing tour groups. Once in there, you will not be allowed to leave until Vespers is over - about an hour. Don't pass this up. There are very few nuns and monks in the Abbey, but they must be selected by the beauty of their singing. Walk down and take the shuttle to the resto. We chose La Ferme Saint Michel which requires taking the shuttle all the way to the turn to the parking and then a short walk. The other restos are closer to the Abbey. If you want a fine French meal, select carefully, or somehow get to Pontorson. Take the shuttle back from where it dropped you. The walk to the Abbey in the dark is well worth the effort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    the property had character as it is an old building and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property had character as it is an old building and luckily we had good heating to dry our clothes and warm us up as we were drenched due to bad weather

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing to say the least.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff helpful in words, but not in deeds. We needed a porter to bring our bags up the 3 flights to our room and back down in the morning.

    This facility is NOT in the least user friendly to people with canes or disabilities. They do not have porters to carry bags up old, narrow and steep stairways. It was exhausting just getting there. Most of the restaurants were closed for dinner in the evening and not open in the am for breakfast. It was not in the least relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    The location is very near to all the main points of interst.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite heavy to take the luggage to the room (too many ladders). The rooms are too dusty for so high price.

    The location is very near to all the main points of interst.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic view, big room, comfortable beds, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view, big room, comfortable beds, great location. Best part of our vacation was staying overnight on the Mt. St. Michele - check off my bucket list! Quiet and easier to maneuver without the crowds of tourists. A unique experience I'll remember forever. Oooozing with history! I love this place !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Code for the parking wasn't sent to sleep before I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Code for the parking wasn't sent to sleep before I arrived. Or if it was then it wasn't clear. Also general parking wasn't clear in advance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    So glad we stayed overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the St Pierre restaurant was not good at all and food was over priced and lacking.

    Mont St Michel is very very crowded during the day. Staying overnight gave us an opportunity to explore the nooks crannies and alleyways alone. It was marvelous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    It was OK. I would recommend not staying overnight at all on the island. Just come for the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food wasn't that great, but it wasn't anywhere else on the island either. The reception staff were very nice and accommodating.

    Good location if one were to stay on the island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Recommended if you're in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While it is a tiny island, the hotel did the best it could with the rooms. Ours was a bit of a walk away from where you would check-in, luckily, we were staying the night, so we had a small bag with the minimum necessities, but if you are going to be going for a few days, getting around with baggage may be difficult. Also, parking is a bit odd, while you don't have to have a reservation, you still have to call to get a gate code, they recommend 24 hours in advance, but we goofed, and wound up calling a few hours prior with no problem. Then on your way back to your vehicle, you need to stop at a pay station to then pay for your parking, so it is recommended that you carry that stub with you. And to no fault of the property, don't expect there to be much to do after 10pm, most shops and eateries do start closing early, as most tourists are off the island, though we were lucky enough to find one place open at 11:30 just to grab a few beers.

    Beautiful views of the sunrise, and sunset. Very medieval feel to the entire island, not just the property. Room was quite adequately sized, 2 twin beds with a pull out sofa just up 3-4 steps on the side of the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall a fantastic stay. Important to embrace the old world charm of Mont St Michel in general
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tight and no elevator... this was a function of topography; they should have had someone helping w bags. Retrieving stored bags the next day a bit of a process.

    Oozing w character and old world charm. Each room was unique.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    We stayed 200 yards from the hotel near the abbey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed 200 yards from the hotel near the abbey. Which i think was very lucky as it was quiet. We had a sweet little terrace and a beautiful view. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Not enough coffee or tea only one sachet so we both couldn't have a drink!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    Enjoy Le Mont-Saint-Michel, avoid this hotel & restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Le Mont-Saint-Michel was fabulous. The shops were not. Now there is shop after shop with exactly the same items for exactly the same prices. I've been coming here since I was just 5 years old. I'm now 61 years old. I really miss when this a real destination before it got Disneylanded to death. The staff was absolutely NOT fabulous and ranged from disinterested to disrespectfully argumentative. I received no parking code, and they argued about this, the wifi was horrible and they lied to me over and then they argued with me about this and finally, the manager emailed me in response to my complaint and then she argued with me about arguing with me. Worst trip to Le Mont-Saint-Michel so far and it could have been avoided simply by staying somewhere else. Wifi was HORRIBLE and knocked me off 32 times the first 18 hours I was there and then the lied to me about it 8 times telling me that there was no problem, that nobody else was having any problems and then finally that they reported the outages. NEVER an apology for lying to me, NEVER an apology for pretending that I was the problem. Dinner was sub-par & breakfast was dismal and the prices were exploitive. My suggestion... stay and eat somewhere else. This used to be my favorite hotel and my favorite restaurant in my favorite destination. Now I have a nasty taste in my mouth from the bad attitudes and entitled demeanor of the staff here. I will not do this again.

    Le Mount-Saint-Michel was fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Le Mont Saint Michel is beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were warned that there would be many stairs and we had too much gear with us. This was all our fault. What I didn't like was that the woman who took us to our room walked slowly with her back to us the whole way as we struggled. We had a few small bags that were cumbersome to walk upstairs with our suitcases with and I would have felt a lot better about this accommodation if she had at least offered to carry one of the small light bags.

    Le Mont Saint Michel is beautiful!! I would recommend visiting there and our accommodations were good, just not great. The location was lovely and the view was as promised - a view of the bay. We just didn't realize that we wouldn't get a chance to see the bay fill with water. We were there less than 24 hours so it was no fault of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    We had one of the rooms in a separate building higher up the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's obviously very expensive for what it is, but that is to be expected for the location so we didn't mind so much.

    We had one of the rooms in a separate building higher up the island with a sea view. Great views, we loved sitting at the window after dark drinking wine and relaxing. The decor is a bit dated, but the rooms are clean and comfortable and we had no complaints.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    A walk back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What can I say but character oozing from every angle. Do yourself a favour and spend at least a night. Once the crowds leave you have the place to explore at your leisure. Ooh what a magic place. Book a room with a sea view. Higher up so be prepared to climb but we had a private balcony to watch the sunset Plenty of places to eat - the shuttle bus makes it easy to get from the carpark . Just take a small overnight bag

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    This property is far from ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is far from ideal. One room (we had 3) was dirty and smelled of cigarette smoke. ( I know it is non smoking BUT>>>!. The restaurant was ok. They know that they are a rarity on le Mont so the attitude is: tourists? They wont be back,so...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Place to Stay to Visit Mont Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had some electricity problem right before going to bed. Was fixed but you except no issue for that type of hotel

    Great place to stay in the heart of Mont Saint Michel. It is of course a bit expensive due to limited space there but totally worth it. Highly recommended for romantic getaway. make sure to stay up late and wake up early to be able to stroll in the empty streets of Mt saint Michel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    One night is enough. Memorable, though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to know that it's a trek to get to, so pack light. When we got to the hotel we were told that our room would be an additional 200 steps up the hill. We got a family room which had 4 twin beds in a room with a desk. It was just adequate. There's no air conditioning and it was hot. But if you leave your window open, many, many tourists walking by could see right in to the room.

    The location can't be beat. Being able to be on the island after the hordes of tourists have left was really amazing. We went up to the top of the abbey and watched the sun set at 10:30 PM with others on the island. Truly memorable! The room was small but clean. The bathroom was quite nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Our ocean view room came with a marvelous balcony, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was off-site from main hotel, takes some practice to find it easily.

    Our ocean view room came with a marvelous balcony, great spot for watching the tide roll in. Excellent breakfast buffet. Staff is terrific.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    A million stairs naturally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A million stairs naturally. This room was located away from the main residence but cozy non the less. Pricy, but that goes for the whole island. Parking is a long way away just take this in to consideration if you have small kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Well worth the price to be able to stay overnight on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well worth the price to be able to stay overnight on the Mont. Don't bring a lot of luggage that you will need to drag through the cobblestone streets of a medieval town. Staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Magical stay in Le Mont Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    . Mornings start early with the deliveries to the various restaurants and stores being brought in on rattling hand carts.

    The hotel is located in a magical spot. We came back very late from a visit to a friend in St Malo and after the night shuttle dropped us off the mont was bathed in stars and the night entrance to the hotel was like entering your own castle through back steps and ramparts ( bring a flashlight).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great location -- make certain to ask for a second floor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We rented two rooms. Our son had phenomenal views and was able to watch the sun set; he was on a second floor location. Our room was on the first floor and was literally facing a sidewalk/pathway -- so no view. We had to open the window for a breeze, but this created a problem with people sticking their heads through. What jerks!

    Beautiful rooms. Reasonably priced. Potential for great views if you had the correct room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    One of the only few options if you want to actually sleep on Mont St.Michel but beware its drawbacks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly pricey for what you get: cramped room (what is understandable due to its age), spartan choice of breakfast buffet, having to carry suitcase up endless steps, staff like on Valium, giving us faulty key twice so we had to run up and down to get new one with tired children waiting.

    Placed on Mont St. Michel itself and that is its main and only advantage but a significant one due to its atmosphere, but only in the evening when incredible tourist crowd subsides. New mainland parking and shuttle bus works well and smooth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    The resturant was a disaster, both the service and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The resturant was a disaster, both the service and the food. OK, we are on an island but come on - it's France - ready made fat bread pizza - shame on you!! Reciption services was a copy of Faulty Towers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    Location was a bit of a hike but had an amazing view and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room fridge did not work, receptionist did nothing to help when I mentioned it to her

    Location was a bit of a hike but had an amazing view and a balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great when you Figure out How to Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although parking worked out fine ultimately, the procedure for getting in and out of the lot is very confusing. I needed to use the "Apel" button both times--in and out--to understand it. In the long run it worked fine, but having guys waiting behind you in line until you get it right is frustrating. We did receive some instructions from the hotel about parking, but they were too general for us to make it work. I say either send really detailed instructions from the hotel or tell everyone that they need to hit the "Apel" or Call button immediately.

    Breakfast buffet at the main hotel was huge and delicious. Mont St. Michel experience is astounding. Staying on the island is a must, and The Aberge is very good. Rise early and see the sunrise when you have the entire place to yourselves. A peak experience!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful setting, same hotel as we used in 1991, but not half as good as we remembered!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not offer a friendly welcome. We stayed in the annexe, no problem with that, it was something we expected, the receptionist walked us to the room, no conversation, grumpy, no offer of help with luggage. It was my birthday, hotel was aware as we had completed a survey beforehand, no birthday wishes!

    Did not eat at the hotel. Amazing location and pretty room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Great experience in a historic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to get to the room with our luggage more easily but I didn't take their offer of assistance so it was not a problem.

    It was hard to dislike anything in this historic setting. The staff, the view and the facilities were up to our expectations. To be able to stroll the property encumbered by hordes of people was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    A peaceful night to remember with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except the busy streets during the day

    The historic isle is one of France's jewels a visit that always surpasses ones expectations so long as you arrive after 5pm and leave before 10am as the crowds are tremendous

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Loved the Medieval-style decor of the room and the view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the Medieval-style decor of the room and the view, very atmospheric. Had to climb a-ways up the steep main street and then several flights of stone steps to reach the room. However, this is to be expected in Mont St. Michel. Pack light!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Room was very clean and beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure wifi was not available in our room only an unsecured connection. The hallway outside our room had a strong mildew smell. The restaurant had average food, slow service and was overpriced.

    Room was very clean and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Arduous climb to view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room information cautioned us about the distant location from the hotel (up the street) and ...then stairs up to the room, we were still surprised how long and strenuous it was to get to the room. I went to buy a pizza to bring back to the room because my husband had a difficult time getting to the room.

    Nice to stay on Mont St Michel so I could easily get up to the Abbey before most people arrived in the am. Nice view of Normandy landscape after we finally got to the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    lovely hotel to experience Mount St Michel overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a lovely hotel on Mont St. Michel where we spent the night. After high tide surrounds the island, you can walk the town easily in the evening. The hotel offers a breakfast room and has a restaurant. We had a sea view room so we could watch the ocean coming in and out with the tides and left the window open to hear the sounds at night. World class shower with a rain shower head! Very comfortable beds. We had a small sea view window which gave us a broad view. The room below us had a very large window but may not have been able to see as far as we could Something to discuss when making reservations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had nothing to do with the hotel, but the crowds in the morning and early afternoons. I'm glad we stay on the mount, because it was wonderful in the late afternoons and night.

    I was there with my family, consisting of five adults. We arrived and received a wonderful welcome. We stopped and had something to eat before we went to our rooms. Both room we wonderful. The nicest rooms we had on our eighteen day trip. The staff were excellent. The day we were to leave, we decided to do more exploring, and the staff took our luggage to a storage room. We had a great time and would highly recommend staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Great spot on Mont St Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining choices less than ideal. Enjoyed breakfast though.

    Large room, nicely appointed and decorated while still maintaining historic charm. Nice view of town and bay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.8
    Staying on Mont St Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, this island has become a tourist trap. I hoped for a somewhat spiritual moment, but the throngs of people, the tee shirt shops, etc., kept me from truly enjoying this island. And, my Fitbit said I walked 21 floors just getting from car to first room to second room. The food and room costs were high, because the choices are few.

    We wanted to stay on the island. Reserved a room and after walking forever, up steps, we were taken to a room w a view of a wall. We asked for another room. We did get a view room, so were pleased. The rooms are very small.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I said above, the room was barely 10X12 with 2 twin beds pushed together to make a king, and no room to spare for the rest of the furniture that was jammed in there.

    We were not aware our room was not actually there in the inn, but instead was quite a hike up a series of stairways and walkways quite a distance from the inn itself. The room was tiny - we could hardly move around in it, but we did like the veranda that was attached to it. Both the toilette room and bathroom had lightbulbs missing, and there were no washcloths. There was only 1 coffee packet so not enough for both of us to have coffee in the morning. Definitely disappointing for the price we paid for this room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.7
    Decor and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address of the hotel is not where we stayed. We had too climb numerous sets of stairs to get to the room carrying our luggage.

    Decor and cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    3.3
    Avoid this hotel if you care about care and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been cleaner. The very old carpets needed cleaning. There is a sewer stench in one corner of the room. The internet did not work and they were vague about a solution. The room was away from the actual hotel - almost like a hole in the wall directly on a busy pathway. There was no air flow. The room was cold and damp and the space heater had to be on full force to improve the situation. The room heaters did not work. The hotel staff just dropped us off and we were on our own. I would not recommend this place. It was costly and we regret not demanding a better room.

    The bathroom was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.3
    Superb Location - Avoid the Crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service was slow even though the restaurant was empty. We had to flag down the waiter to order, for dessert (we finally decided not to order), and pay the bill.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    I loved staying right on Mont saint michele.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved staying right on Mont saint michele. We went on to the island around 6 pm and, since most of the tourist leave in the evening, we pretty much had the place to ourselves to explore all the passageways. Our little cottage was charming - one of the coolest places i've ever stayed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.8
    Mont location fantastic, but high price to pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two singles pushed together was our "double bed", room very small. No real amenities, no cork screw, no milk and only one creamer packet, despite the kettle. Room smelt of mould.

    Location on Mont St Michel was great, had the Mont to ourselves in the late afternoon and early morning. Balcony/sitting area was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable on many levels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I did not like.

    The room was nicely sized- not too big, but not too small. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were spacious. the location was great too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.4
    You go for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY small room (I am sure they all are on the island) with very tight quarters. The room had a very musty smell that would not go away.

    I realize that on the island it is hard to find space for rooms but this was a cute location halfway up the hill. We had a room with a balcony which helped a lot with making the room OK.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing. So fun to explore mont st Michel at night and early in the morning before the tour buses got there. They were very accommodating. We didn't get there till 11:00 pm and they stayed late to check us in.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: