Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux 3 stars

18, Route des Moulins Banaux, 89190 Villeneuve-lʼArchevêque, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Villeneuve-lʼArchevêque

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 225 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are being gradually updated. They are ok but not as nice as the restaurant.

    Lovely restaurant set in old watermill with mill stream outside and peaceful garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and cramped, and poorly decorated. The bathroom, although adequate and cleanly maintained, needed modernising. The breakfast was very poor value. This was surprising give the quality of the restaurant. Our recommendation is to have breakfast elsewhere!

    A lovely setting, and beautiful old building. Easy to reach from auto-route. An excellent dinner.The staff were friendly and welcoming. But otherwise see below.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a very odd shape, full of strange angles, one of which meant it was impossible to sit squarely on the WC. In the opposite corner on the floor by the shower was a large amount of black mould. The plastic lemon tree was covered in dust, serves no useful purpose and should be put in the dustbin without delay. The wallpaper was becoming unstuck in multiple locations. We have been provided with better breakfasts elsewhere at the same price. It was also curious that the coffee was already on the table, albeit in a thermal pot. We spent 25 minutes at breakfast and other tables, awaiting guests, still had there coffee pots sitting there. This seemed very peculiar as it does not take very long to make and serve a fresh pot of coffee. This was not helped by the milk being ice cold. Our "special price" from Booking.com was actually MORE expensive than if we had booked directly with the hotel!!!

    Location on the edge of the village with all the old mill equipment still in place. The meal in the restaurant was also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stair carpet leading up to the room was old and tired and we were a little concerned, however it is clear that there is a programme of refurbishment going on, and on arrival at the room we were delighted.

    Our room was lovely, pale contemporary colours, extremely clean, and most importantly, the plug was in the right place for me to dry my hair in the mirror! The village/town is close enough to walk on foot, where you can find a shop and boulangerie if you want to buy your own meal. Limited choice in the shop, but enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquil place and food and wine were excellent. Our fifth stay en route to the south

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large tequila!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful garden. Room freshly renovated. Excellent food and wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room difficult to access and small

    Dining room was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and a superb restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee making facilities.

    Location is nice and quiet but still close enough to Paris and CDG Airport. Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal in restaurant was disappointing.

    Beautiful setting in an old mill, our room recently renovated.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could have been a little larger and a couple more towels would have been good

    Restaurant food and service great

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful stay - excellent food, friendly staff, comfortable room and very affordable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The town has nothing to recommend it. The hotel is an ongoing restoration project and the appearance at the rear and when arriving at the hotel parking is not very appealing. The wheels no longer turn.

    Good restaurant. Small bedroom nicely modernised. The double water wheels.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Climbing up three flights of stairs and finding only a double bed. The room description suggests a large double bed [60" plus]. The bathroom was also on the small size but the accommodation overall was very clean.

    Lovely location on the river. Friendly staff and ambience. Amazing food, beautifully presented, once we'd translated the menu!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Thought the entrance/parking area into the hotel was untidy and uninviting. The day we arrived there was a strong smell of food rubbish. The path around the side of the hotel is a potential hazard, paving very uneven. Carpet up on the landing area leading to the bedrooms is very dirty and off putting when walking to the rooms. Bed side lamps kept flickering, which was unnerving, think due to an unstable electrical lead.

    Loved the restaurant in the hotel, the food was excellent. Best steak ever. Highly recommended. The bedroom was a pleasant surprise, very modern. Nice little touches, sweets left for our children. This would be a beautiful place to stay once some money has been spent on it, but overall a comfortable stay with very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No bad experiences at all. Everything was perfect for all of us.

    We loved the beautiful old building and grounds. The restaurant is excellent with good value for money. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice and comfortable with a nice view. It is located in a nice quiet area, but not too far from town.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed here 8 years ago under the previous management and had a wonderful time so the new owners had a lot to live up to. Despite a mix up with rump and kidneys, the food was excellent and the service attentive without being obsequious. The wine was great and eating on the terrace a treat. Will return here in the future to see how renovations progress.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Last time we stayed the breakfast was rather limited, so we chose not to have it this time

    The hotel is a perfect midway stop for the Alps. This is the second year we stayed. We were a party of 3 adults and 5 kids ranging from 8 to 14. The hotel is full of character and the food in the restaurant is delicious and they created a special menu for the children.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely old world charm. Nice peaceful location, fantastic food, all at a good price.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient place to stop en route travelling across France with excellent and good value evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful ambiance in ancient mill set in gardens. Great room and good food.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Wow, what a fantastic place and what fantastic food. Very special! I would love to read about the history of the building

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    There are no shelves or hooks in the bathroom, very inconvenient.

    The food and location

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tranquillity

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, excellent evening meal, lovely grounds and garden

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The refurbishment continues and the quality of service and cuisine remain high.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sink in the bathrom leaked. The restaurant food was very good but the service extremely slow and unfriendly

    Good locatio nand setup

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The setting in a restored mill was lovely The room was clean and comfortable The staff were very helpful. Our dinner was wonderful

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: