Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais du Silence Aux Ducs de Lorraine 3 stars

16 route du Vin, 68590 Saint-Hippolyte, France

#10 of 10 hotels in Saint-Hippolyte

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 478 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    This was a wonderful place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little expensive, though it was excellent!

    This was a delightful family run hotel in the midst of vineyards. The facilities were excellent. There was a lift which was good with a heavy suitcase! The staff were very friendly and made us very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely few days in Alsace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed in this hotel quite a few times and it is always very nice. The rooms are quite individual and the breakfast is good. There is parking right outside and it is very near the centre of this lovely Alsace village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Must return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a proper shower as no curtain? Just stand in the bath. No grab rail.

    Truly lovely two night stay. Great staff attitude. Restaurant was only serving a set meal both our nights. Not fully open two nights a week. Surprising.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room unfortunately lacking certain equipment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no coffee machine and/or an electric kettle in the room.No mini fridge.The hair dryer fixed to the wall isn't comfortable. And something which surprised me very much - this is a wine producing region with wine stores on every corner,and there're no wine glasses and bottle opener in the room!

    Very good location,easy parking.Comfortable spacious room with a balcony looking at vineyards and the hill with the Haut Koenigsburg castle sitting on top of it. Good bedding. Flat screen TV. WiFi was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    A curate's egg, but on balance we'd stay again avoiding restaurant closures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were there for 3 nights Sun-Tues & the restaurant was shut on 2 of them. Poor for an hotel!

    Adjacent parking. Very quiet room with lovely views over vineyard to the mountains. Good buffet breakfast. Bathroom functional, not "French". Moderate walk to a couple of good restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    An hotel in demand of renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to be revamped. The owners should realize that being on the market means keeping the infrastructure up to date. Most rooms without a/c. Moquette in the rooms dirty and 30 years old. Bathrooms never renewed in last 30 years. Definitely not ok

    Hotel is situated in the heart of the wine region

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Good base to explore Alsace wine growing area and to enjoy haute cuisine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room missed coffee/tee cooking facility

    Location is good within Alsace wine growing area. Our room was towards the street and we had nice view for the castle of Haut Koenigsburg. Restaurant is excellent (but pricey)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel with a family and close to many interesting things to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillows would be good.

    A good hotel with kids and to visit the wine region and Haut Koeninsbourg. The restaurant is very nice and convenient and there are a couple of others in town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location, shame about the cheese!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered some Munster cheese, a local favourite, which arrived cold straight from the fridge. It was cold and chalky and inedible. I was offered an alternative which amounted to a thin slice of unremarkable soft cheese. When I checked out I noted that I was still billed for the cheese. Shame on you! I complained that this was unsatisfactory and the receptionist went off in a huff to check my story. In the event the €5.90 was deducted. This was my third time staying at the hotel but this lack of care makes really is unsatisfactory.

    The location and the comfort of the large double room. The restaurant food is excellent but pricey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Idyllic setting. Attractive floral outward appearance. Reception and check in was friendly and seamless. The room was well appointed and met our needs. The evening meal was most satisfying.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Moderate priced and centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The regular room was exceptionally tiny.

    The hotel staff was really friendly. The food of the restaurant of the hotel was good but the waiters quite forgetful. There are other restaurants in the village within walking distance. Otherwise one needs a car to get around. Location is quite central on the wine route.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Perfect relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the area for a girls'wine tasting weekend. This was the only hotel available on the time of our booking but it turned out to be great. The rooms were perfect, clean, spacious with an amazing view. We also had dinner which was a feast together with the great house cremant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Satisfactory overnight stop in eastern France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a slightly old fashioned hotel that could benefit from a makeover and a few modern amenities e.g. arrived the hottest day of the year but no air conditioning. The price was acceptable but not particularly good value.

    It's a convenient location if traveling to eastern France, Basle and Switzerland. Quite comfortable and clean with efficient, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel in beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little dated - dark furniture, heavy bedclothes and blankets ( prefer a duvet). No air-conditioning or large fan (the weather was unusually hot). No curtain around the bathtub so water from hand-held shower got on the floor

    Large room with balcony with nice view of vineyards. Good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Value for Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC would have been nice, but not necessary.

    The location on the edge of town makes it easy to find and a good starting point to explore the Wine Road. Its central location near some of the most interesting towns along the route is a plus. Its price is difficult to match.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were fabulous views from our balcony and the room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel was very picturesque as was the village in which it was situated. It was a very enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Dinner - with accommodation attached.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There was no curtain, standing mat and shower nozzle holder for the shower. 2. No tea making facility in the room.

    1. A delightful balcony 2. And a truly fantastic restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    Hotel for a short trip in Alsace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the facilities are old.

    In the middle of vineyard in Alsace, the location of the hotel is great The calm of the environment was appreciable The restaurant is good We had a private balcony.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu in the restaurant and expensive. Continental breakfast for €12 - I think not. Been out since 0930 came back at 1600 maid service hadn't done our room yet so had to sit in the lobby while they did it.

    What a view!! Beautiful location. Twin room very nicely set out. Very comfortable mattress - great nights sleep. Plenty of parking. Even have an overflow parking. The food was good but only enough choice to eat there a couple of times.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent restaurant,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs to be renewed. Bedroom with old furniture.

    Excellent restaurant, Very good breakfast, St Hippolyte is a lovely Alsacian village.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice accomodation
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good accomodation Nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Balcontact with nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior outdated

    Balcontact with nice view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    The restaurant is quite superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is quite superb. The wine was delicious with every taste catered for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Suited our needs perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a refrigerator in the room.

    Super location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu needs to change periodically

    Stayed at this hotel for over twenty five years,great location and food will go back again and again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Cleanliness and great food plus lovely staff at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and great food plus lovely staff at the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    The shower was not fixed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not fixed!! No curtain too. Showering terrible!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good service at the reception, very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the restaurant could be more focused at the quests

    Very good service at the reception, very good food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Saint Hippolyte is a tiny hamlet surrounded by vineyards. The hotel has a good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm. Saint Hippolyte is a great location to drive to Strasbourg which is great.

    We had a little balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    The location and range of guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or air conditioning in the room.

    The location and range of guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Good overnnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room, mirror behind the door, very difficult to use with two people in the room.

    Pleasant staff. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little on the expensive side but partly due to exchange rate.

    Lovely views from balcony. Excellent food in restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.7
    Good location relaxed overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking. No separate shower.

    Bed huge and very comfortable in junior suite. Water pressure good and controllable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.1
    Restaurant was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.9
    Very comfortable, beautifully decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu and wine list OK but vegetables over-salted and sauce overpowered the overcooked meat. Breakfast facility too small and cramped. Reception staff rather too casual

    Very comfortable, beautifully decorated room. Lovely outlook and attractive restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    We love the location, it's in a beautiful and quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If we could have a room facing the vineyards it will be perfect. Our room is to the side.

    We love the location, it's in a beautiful and quiet little town, vineyards across the street from the hotel. Room is big and comfortable. Staff is friendly, they reminded us about restaurant closing at night and how to enter the hotel several times.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Good parking possibilities, very good location, big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi was made in a very difficult and suspicious way --> ended up not working. Price of the breakfast was quite salty, but fortunately the taste and selection was quite ok

    Good parking possibilities, very good location, big rooms

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    6.7
    The dinner in the evening was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel interior is rather outdated. The terrace above the road not very attractive. It was hardly in use on a nice summer evening.

    The dinner in the evening was delicious. The dining room staff a little hurried and stressed. We appreciated the change of table we asked for.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Location, location,location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Location, location,location!!! St. Hippolyte is my go to for decompression. It's not as busy as the other quaint villages along the Rue De Vin or Wine Road in Alsace, but close enough (a few kilometers) away to avoid the crowds. Plus it's near my favorite castle, Hautbois Koenigbourg.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.9
    Location is the best for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is the best for me. I could see the Catstle from my room. And I like the village of Saint Hippolyte, before breakfast I took a walk this village, I was satisfied very much with silence and this surroundings of this village.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.3
    Lovely location and we liked the area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Resturant staff did not speak English and our French is poor we understood English was spoken this was a problem for us.

    Lovely location and we liked the area .

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Very welcoming, quiet and charmingly old fashioned hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very welcoming, quiet and charmingly old fashioned hotel. Spotlessly clean and incredible value for money. The hotel does not try to be modern or minimalist but relies on extremely fastidious attention to making the guest feel special. Excellent location only 200m from centre of St Hippolyte which is a picture postcard Alsacian town, good car park I visited on business with colleagues but will definitely return with family.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    7.5
    Spacious room and large beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated decor and no fixture on the wall for the shower in the bathtub.

    Spacious room and large beds. Very clean. Separate toilet. Beautiful view on the Haut Koningsbourg. Nice restaurant and good food at fair price.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.9
    Excelent diner, real good cooking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The space between the beds.

    Excelent diner, real good cooking! nice view from the balcony

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    Love the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Love the restaurant! And our rooms had a marvelous view.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Most everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet was poor..went on and off constantly..a little frustrating

    Most everything was great

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location for wine route, restaurant in hotel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not so good which lets it down

    Excellent location for wine route, restaurant in hotel very good, spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.2
    The best thing is the view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best thing is the view from the balcony. Panorama view of the vineyards:-)

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    6.7
    The dinner at the hotel restaurant was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi connection was very poor.

    The dinner at the hotel restaurant was great.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    very good location in Route du vin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good location in Route du vin. quite convenient if you visit by car! Excellent breakfast and dinner. Great view!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    Personal is very pleasant and open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I can get reasonable WiFi only in the corridor.

    Personal is very pleasant and open.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.6
    Lovely old fashioned hotel, spacious room & balcony with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely old fashioned hotel, spacious room & balcony with amazing views

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    Amazing place, people, and facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing place, people, and facility. Great view, dine dining at hotel and nearby. Definitely a place to go if you possibly can.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    location location location , very friendly knowledgable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel clean comfortable but dated

    location location location , very friendly knowledgable staff

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    Nice countryhotel in the middle of wineyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice countryhotel in the middle of wineyards. Excellent food, very professionally served. Rooms a little dated, bathrooms not for older people!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Views, staff, old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Views, staff, old world charm

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    The location is the best if you travel the Wine Road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is the best if you travel the Wine Road.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.2
    Very good fixed meal though arrived on a Monday when Chef...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Very good fixed meal though arrived on a Monday when Chef had a day off. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unless we missed it, there did not seem to be any temperature control for our room.

    See above. Lovely experience.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: