Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais du Silence Aux Maisons 3 stars

11 r Anciens Combattants d'AFN, 10210 Maisons-lès-Chaource, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Maisons-lès-Chaource

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 123 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Booked the same day as we stayed on way to port, good enough for one night .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good but expensive, bed was clean but cobwebs in some places, air con worked then leaked water on to floor looked like it had been doing this for awhile as skirting board was bowed.To see out of the window you had to bend down all you could see was a house wall.

    Very pleasant staff, only 2 working on the night we stayed but busy all the time not just on reception bur serving in restaurant lovely food, also large car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great apartments with all the facilities you need perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great apartments with all the facilities you need perfect location and ample parking, fully equipped kitchen enough to cook a dinner if required .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    stayed many times and will continue to use this great place as a stop over en route South.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed in the annex building. The buildings heating or plumbing system was very noisy, with plant noise periodically through the night. It may be something to do with the recently constructed and wonderful swimming pool building on site? I will next time request a room in the original main building which will be much quieter based on previous stays.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Great upgrade to a suit and very comfortablE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for the spa but not being told the pool was free. Seemed a bit too exoensiv for a family of 4 to use. Also room not completely cleaned eg cups not washed, rubbish left in drawers not removed from previous stay

    Great upgrade to a suit and very comfortablE

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely place to stay. Comfortable clean rooms. Interconnecting ones available for families. The restaurant has delicious and high quality food. Children’s menu too including small versions of the main menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Great swimming pool - large family room - nice and spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff weren't over friendly in terms of explaining things, wifi, pool etc - it appears to be more of a restaurant that has launched a hotel and spa - there was no bar area to sit in, and if you don't want to eat in the restaurant onsite, you need to travel.

    Great swimming pool - large family room - nice and spacious - beds were of a high quality with memory foam mattresses. Located in a little village - nowhere to eat other than on site, which was expensive, but were restaurants in nearby town, Bar-sur-Seine, but a lot weren't open due to Summer holiday - better to go in the other direction, which we found out the next day!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent one night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit basic

    Rooms a bit small but comfortable and quiet. New pool area very attractive. Food very good although not particularly cheap. Good overnight stop

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money but could be better.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant decor very dated. A discreet small private garden area for dogs to poop would be helpful. Some staff could be dressed a little more professionally. We couldn't shower due to a faulty shower head. Thought the €10 discount compensation for a facility so critical to a hotel stay was a bit measly.

    Amazing quality of the food and wine in their restaurant. Stunning location. Incredibly accommodating of pets. Staff very competent and friendly. Ground floor room we stayed in very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely dinner served in the hotel restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in restaurant is a bit dated, but it doesn't matter. All very clean and comfortable.

    Lovely dinner served in the hotel restaurant. No vegetarian options on the set menu but they went to the trouble of making vegetarian alternatives which were delicious. Helpful staff and very tranquil spot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Restaurant deserves a Michelin star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was adequate but a bit pricey! Our friends didn't stay for breakfast and found a wonderful boulangerie in the local village that sold excellent croissants and coffee. We wished we had done the same!

    We stayed here on our journey home from Provence and we all agreed that it was an excellent choice. It was a bit of a drive off the motorway but through beautiful countryside, so well worth the effort. It has all been renovated recently and everywhere was spotless. Our room was not large but beautifully decorated in a modern style and perfect for an overnight stay. Our evening meal was superb and as good as others that we had in restaurants with Michelin stars.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.1
    As we used it for a stop off on the way home we wanted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we used it for a stop off on the way home we wanted to make an early start but no one at the hotel to serve breakfast or even to speak to until 8am.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower control fully functioning.

    Food excellent. Location for stop over very good and very pretty. Quiet Secure.\ Very helpful, friendly and welcoming staff - lovely local atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    The dining room was beautiful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room was beautiful and welcoming...the dinner, sublime...the location, out in the countryside, so restful. This was a wonderful destination to relax and have a great meal. Even better, they are in the process of building a new spa facility with a heated, indoor pool and a massage therapist. This was our second time there and we can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Restaurant was excellent they obviously have a very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather small.

    Restaurant was excellent they obviously have a very good chef.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Quiet country location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet country location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful place to stay with equally wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOthing

    The owner was wonderful and took us in his car to the nearest restaurant. All staff were very accommodating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Extremely pleasant and restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was superb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    What a gem
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    First class restaurant. Not cheap but top quality. The swimming pool was a nice surprise. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Stay here if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The restaurant was simply the best we have ever eaten at.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Telsis Du Silences
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not great

    Restaurant is excellent and staff really friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.8
    Family (4) overnight stay at Relais du Silence aux Maisons on way to skiing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Great location for overnight on way to skiing in Chamonix. Fantastic hospitality, free upgrade, superb 5* dinner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    Will visit again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little

    Everything! Staff good, room good and good value -food excellent.Only complaint could be the late arrival of a bottle of wine

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    The very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The very friendly and helpful staff. A comfortable ground floor room and a great dinner and breakfast. Power went off in our room as we were going to bed and was still off in the morning so we were given a free breakfast for the inconvenience. Loved this hotel and wish we could return.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    8.3
    Quiet convenient location, only 30 minutes from autoroute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you want to go out for a drink, you need to drive as the nearest town (Chaource) is a 10 minute drive

    Quiet convenient location, only 30 minutes from autoroute. It is an economic stopover in a part of real France! The restaurant is very high quality!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    A lovely restaurant and excellent attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A lovely restaurant and excellent attentive staff. Good spacious family room. Beautiful views too.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.5
    Had the best dinner experience here, so far this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had the best dinner experience here, so far this year.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    7.9
    Dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not being advised that the main hotel was out of action because of renovation work. The breakfast

    Dinner

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Relais du Silence Aux Maisons traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: