Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Auxerre 4 stars

Route Nationale 6, 89380 Appoigny, France

#3 of 4 hotels in Appoigny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    3.8
    very unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your wrong address given for the place. Costed us more then one hour surching around , with hotelstaff unable to give us proper answers as to " how to find them" My wife studied in Paris , so French was no problem to her, but ...... The right address is: Le Chaumois 89380 Appoigny , and not just , Route National, as mentioned on your booking confirmation, even the best navigation system couldn't find the hote. I never had such a disaster at early night time with no one on the roads.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place for an overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic water classes and disposable cups for hot drinks. Accor brand could consider making this more eco friendly.

    A very agreeable room with a large comfy bed. We had a downstairs room with a bath but if you prefer a shower request an upstairs room. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice of wines. Lovely service from all the staff. A very relaxing way to break our journey.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Mercure Auxere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way we were left waiting at check in even though there was no one ahead of us. Also a man on the phone kept ordering us from desk to desk even though we first approached a girl who was free to deal with us.

    The room was large and comfortable with a queen size bed. At dinner on the second night the waitress was extremely helpful and patient with my limited French.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    nice room to sleep not far from A6.Disapointment with pool and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool too cold to swim in Aug. Dirty public areas. Breakfast - burned croissant (!), need to request 2nd towel (2 people in room) w delivered 3 hours later. No towels for pool. Pool no maintenance. Mushrooms on sides of pool. Not enough chairs around pool.

    Location A6 convenient. Comfortable and clean room. Lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    All we need is there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Just a bit less group tourists.

    During this 10 day trip we stayed in 7 hotels in Normandie and Bretagne. 5 in castles at much higher rates. Most of them more luxurious than this motel. In my life I stayed all in all more than 8 years in 5 star hotels in Asia. However almost none of them had such a clever bathroom like this one. Everything down to earth, but everything a couple needs was there. And there was no need to make a doctor title to find out how the shower works, like so many hotels nowadays who think they need to get a designer award for their bathroom installations. Congratulations to Accor Hotels with the hope that this Motel is an example for their higher rated brands.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    This was a horrible experience at the end of a really good trip to Cannes.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was extremely disappointed with this hotel having booked what I expected to be 4star. When we arrived at 6.30pm there were no staff able to speak to us in English. The door to our room was ill fitting, the TV had no working English channels, the wifi was not working, the pen provided to give feedback was not working. This hotel should not be sold as 4 star.

    TThe only thing we liked was the location which is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved the motel styling where you can park near your room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed, 1 Single Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After the evening meal, breakfast was slightly disappointing, only self serve. The room was very dark with very sloping ceilings. This was not great for my tall husband. I have food allergies and although these were explained i still had issues. I believe the main problem was language, our french is not good and the serving staff really only had French.

    Loved the motel styling where you can park near your room. Great restaurant for dinner, excellent quality food that was well cooked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room we had booked was not the same than on the picture of Booking.com, but a room with 3 beds under the roof. After reclamation we got a better room.

    Beautiful terrasse and garden. Good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.8
    Good food in the restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room have not been clean and I had to come back to the reception and ask for another room. They apologise and change room without any discussion.

    Good food in the restaurant. Very comfortable bed. Big car park

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    5.4
    Reasonable en- route hotel for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for rooms together and extra towels, which we did not get. High chair offered for our two year old was not clean. Breakfast over priced.

    Convenient for mid point on drive to Mont Blanc. Motel style in that you can park near room. Clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Adequate and reasonable for price, with the exception of breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Ok but nothing special a disappointing Merure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was missing from room. Room seemed “run down”.

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    Expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms were a little tired - the bathrooms smelt damp. The pool (main reason for booking) was feeezing.

    the breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Nice personnel, good food, relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large number of Chinese tourists can cause a bit of chaos, especially when they want to dine all at once.

    Nice personnel, good food, relaxed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice pleasant location only stayed overnight but would stay a few days if we go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception could have been a little friendly

    Nice separate buildings for accommodation would stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Surprisingly good restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from a 4-star hotel. Small room made even smaller by the shape of the roof. Small window, not much light.

    Surprisingly good restaurant!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Blackwell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.2
    Would be reluctant to return or consider another Mercure hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Very basic property. Looked tired and in need of makeover. Exterior dirty and grass needed to be cut! Dinner fine. Breakfast poor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    I stopped there because I have an electric car, to charge it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stopped there because I have an electric car, to charge it during the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Just the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit sterile

    Location. Very convenient. Wine waiter was knowledgable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.3
    Literie horrible
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literie horrible

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location. Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed, 1 Single Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. We could hear the " action" in the next room!!

    The location. It being so easy to get to from the motorway

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Really a truly great place to stop due to the fact that you have proper restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed, 1 Single Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The restaurant the staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.3
    The swimming pool, comfy beds, nice & quiet, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was very quiet and with 3 children we felt it wasn't right for us - we didn't feel comfortable. We booked it for the pool and had to 'shush' the children when they were getting excited in the pool as the adult guests didn't look happy. We decided to eat out because of this. Also the air conditioning was broken which was included but there was no customer service to offer a complimentary drink or added extra for the inconvenience.

    The swimming pool, comfy beds, nice & quiet, close to the motorway, tea/coffee in the room, nice bathroom

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.2
    Top service across all services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check out was its slow, as special requests from regulars were attend ed.

    Top service across all services Standards of service which beats many higher ranked hotels on our trip by far Breakfast was served both in and outside on a sunny morning. Person in charge walked more thanthe extramile for every single guests plus presented a buffet better than what we saw at 4 and 5 star hotels! Compliments

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    We passed through for one night and the hotel was clean and...
    • Family with young children

    We passed through for one night and the hotel was clean and staff were pleasant. It was about a 6 minute drive from the lovely town of Auxerre, which is definitely worth visiting!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    8.3
    The food was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room had a smell, that could be that it was recently painted, or varnish

    The food was very good

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    7.5
    Restaurant excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant excellent

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    3.3
    Smells terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smells terrible

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.5
    Very helpful in the restaurant to serve us when we arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    reception would not accept a 500 euros note

    Very helpful in the restaurant to serve us when we arrived so late. Very pleasant and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.1
    Conveniece for Migenne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Conveniece for Migenne.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    The location, the layout, the staff, the food and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The location, the layout, the staff, the food and the swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.1
    The basic amenities were there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing special about the hotel which was on the road on the outskirts of town

    The basic amenities were there

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: