Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avalon Hôtel Paris Gare du Nord 3 stars

131-133 Boulevard Magenta, 10th arr., 75010 Paris, France

#1164 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2281 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    I would definetly recommend this hotel and stay again
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel was absolutely close to Gare du Nord station about 300m, this made our arrival and departure planning so much easy. The hotel was very clean and comfortable bed. Staff was just great. The hotel is also newly renovated so pretty much - new.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable priced hotel, great location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were so uncomfortable! Me and my partner had such bad back aches and barley slept. Rooms are a quite small but that's fine as we weren't in them a lot.

    The staff were very friendly and always there to help if you needed anything! The location for the Train station was perfect. I quite liked the noise outside the hotel, you kind of expect it going to Paris, so can't understand all the bad reviews about this. (there is ear plugs though)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended. Other hotels in the area available with better facilities/service and better v
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning in the rooms due to which the room was quite warm. It was difficult to sleep at night. We opened the windows for some ventillation however the hotel is located on a busy road therefore due to the noise it is impossible to sleep. We asked for a fan the next day which was very noisy and provided literally no cool air. Staff did not do anything above and beyond to help, I guess the ethos is to help yourself.

    The location is excellant as it is a 3-4min walk from Gare du Nord station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location if you need to get to the train station quick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So we just happen to hit Paris when it was hot. The fan they gave us for the room sounded like a small jet plane zooming through the room all night. They did supply ear plugs which helps and I did sleep for 7 1/2 hours which was great. Being on the first floor means you can’t open the windows with out feeling unsafe. I would use the location again for the same reason we did this time for a one night stay. But only in colder month then August or September…If you’re going to stay there longer then just pay a higher price for the higher floored rooms. They do have an elevator but two suitcases and one person fit in it just FYI.

    It was so close to the train station. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. location very close to the Gare Du Nord train station was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Location was excellent only a couple minutes walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room, the wood flooring was eneven due to loose planks therefore could cause injury to bare feet and the bathroom door did not close properly.

    Location was excellent only a couple minutes walk from station and to get the hop on hop of bus. We booked a small double even though is was fairly small it was all we needed as only there to sleep. Breakfast was ok but a bit more variation would be better. Lots of reasonable restaurants nearby. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I was traveling back from Barcelona to Gare de Nord and stayed overnight at the Avalon, it is within walking distance of the station and as I was traveling on Eurostar it was a perfect location with lots of restaurants nearby. An added bonus is it has an elevator so no heavy bags upstairs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Great little short stay inexpensive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    This was an ideal hotel for a short night stop between destinations. We walked from Gare du Norde. The road was flat and hotel was easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The services were slow as we requested an iron from the day we came and didn't get any. The room was old style with no tea or coffee facilities.

    The location was very good. It was near to the metro stations and restaurants. The bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.3
    Avoid this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hôtel not clean and I'm pretty they have bedbugs in their beds. Breakfast not good at all, pastries not. Fresh, staff not nice and the room was awful.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walk alone during the night near to Gare Du Nord is not safe.

    Very good location, close to Gare Du Nord. There is kettle,tea bags and bottle of the water per person in the room. Good hotel to stay only overnight to pick up Eurostar in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location close to gare du Nord station, we had the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location close to gare du Nord station, we had the small apartment on the sixth floor with a double and two twins in separate room perfect for families.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    VERY NICE STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Kitchenette was useful although a microwave and toaster would be a good addition I am aware of space limitations but I think this could be utilised,also a small saucepan would be of more use than the large one as it is only a studio for 2 people,a small bedside shelf on the wardrobe side of the bed would be useful as there is nothing at the moment,also the shower needs fixing as the height cannot be adjusted. These are just suggestions and did not impact on what was a nice stay in a comfortable,clean hotel.

    Very comfortable hotel in a convenient location good value for money nice kitchenette and good double glazing which was needed being so near to Gare du Nord.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    i can not give this hotel more then 1 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    what i see in booking.com and reality there is a big gape i didn't like this hotel at all the room are very small and you hear all other rooms noises there is no privacy at all even and the sound form every ware i will not give this hotel more the 1 star

    nothing i like accept staffs are good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    A lot more than I expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Illumination, in the night the light was very dim, if you like reading this could be a problem. But really I wouldn't worry about this, it is a great stay for the price!

    The treatment was really nice and so was the room. It had everything we were expecting for and more! We were coming from a horrible stay in London, and expecting the worst, and this was just perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    It was very hot and our original room did not have air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and our original room did not have air conditioning. We were given a fan to take up to our room and fortunately we were able to swap to a room with air conditioning for the next 2 nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked replacement water (and coffee/uht) on the second day - not sure if this was an oversight or just not the hotel policy.. We anyway bought our own water and the coffee/uht no great disappointment I suppose.

    Great location, close to Gare de Nord for arrival and get-away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location, not bad for Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms like in most Paris hotels was very small and smelled bad. We could open the terrace door, but it was extremely noisy (we bought earplugs).

    The hotel is very conveniently located close to Gare du Nord (perfect if you are coming from or going to the airport). The breakfast was quite good for a 3-star hotel. They changed the towels every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Very near to the train station and convenient to the buses.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was near the main street, so , it was loudbut the rest was perfect... Location,people & the price was not that cheap & was also expensive.. for sure.. I will choose again this hotel.

    Very near to the train station and convenient to the buses.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, great location, will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift is small but it is understandable as the building is century-old. It does give the hotel a character though

    Staff are super friendly and helpful! Few minutes walk to Gare du Nord, very convenient if you take trains to/from the airport or TGV. Beds are very comfortable. Strong shower, clean and bright bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Avalon hotel Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to duck down to get to my bed as the wall sloped in. So it was almost like bending halfway. Very uncomfortable. All else good

    Clean room and bathroom. Hot shower. Neat bed and bedding

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money, I don't recommend.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was very noisy, we could barely sleep at night. Not to mention, we were there at summer when the weather was 34 degrees. They had NO AC! We had to open the windows but then, you would have to deal with the constant noise all night.

    Nothing to be honest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Would not return. What you pay is not what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself is not worth the value. There is absolutely no sound proofing and we were next to elevator so we heard everyone. Also rooms were so paper thin we heard everyone's conversations next door and especially when they were in the hallway.

    Sorry I can't remember his name but the night staff guy was absolutely amazing. Definitely someone to keep. Bent over backwards to help in all endeavors. Day staff..not the same enthusiasiam as him.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    I enjoyed my stay in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a air conditioning system and the area around the hotel was a little scary.

    The location is very good because the train station was nearby and we had to catch a train to amsterdam the next day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent beds, great location to see all the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not spacious but furnishings well situated making the most of the space.

    Comfortable beds, friendly , helpful and professional staff. Good value for money and good location to get transport to see all the sights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Tiny room but Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are VERY small ...the bed was just big enough so you could open the door! The temp was over 30 degrees and No Aircon. Open the windows and the busy street is below.

    The location was perfect for Gare du Nord station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Old building but renovated nicely
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy outside but that‘s not the problem of the hotel itself. The hallways were a bit irritating but we managed.

    Old building but renovated nicely Near to Gare de Nord, so we could catch the train easily

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.5
    We were only there for a short stay and were able to sleep in teasonable comfort which was our main
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cramped. It was very tight to get into the bathroom and shut the door. A hole was actually cut into the bathroom door so it could squeeze around the toilet! There were 6 flights of curving staircase up to the room. Other option was an elevator that barely fit one person plus their bag.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. It was surimi fly quiet as we faced narrow inner courtyard. not a good view and not very private but very quiet!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Not a great hotel, but clean and conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have mould in the bathroom. The room advertised is an upgraded room, which is misleading. Only upgraded suites have air conditioning. Facing the street meant noise all night, but they know this and leave earplugs in the room for you.

    The view from my room and the location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location with convenient transportation nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was nearby the road with roaring vehicles rushing by, bothers us all night while you can close the windows because the room will turn in to an oven, a/c was for decoration, no function at all!

    Great location with convenient transportation nearby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall is great but street noise for all night long are to be considered if you are sensitive to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is on the side of main road and there are noise from vehicles in the street all night. My partner had experienced living near the main road and would not find this as a problem at all. However, it was for me. When I closed the window to avoid the noise, the room would be too hot. Hotel provided the ear plug but it didn't help me at all.

    The staff, location, facility, cleanliness are great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy! Heavy traffic outside the window. Clue was they provided ear plugs! Poor facilities eg. No tea or coffee maker, no iron, no fridge, no air con. Tiny bathroom. Had to prop open door to use the toilet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff All very helpful even when very busy.. Staff couldnt do enough It was great to hve an upgrade to a studio Where we had an aircon and roomier as well but certainly an upgrade to what we ordered and paid for on booking.com

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Booked last minute due to problems with rail strikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked last minute due to problems with rail strikes. A good 3 Star Hotel , has everything we required. Very close to Gard du Nord. The street is busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Great budget stay for anyone coming in from the Eurostar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon! Was very stuffy (although it was 30degrwes outside), so I'm sure it would be ok in cooler months. Also no iron in the room and the reception ones were all out with other guests. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay (as an extra friend joined us)- the 1 bed economy room was a really tight squeeze. But the 3 man room was fantastic, plenty of space and slightly separated in two areas so would be good for families

    Great location if you're getting the Eurostar- we arrived late and went from the platform to bed in about 30 minutes! All of the attractions are a bit of a walk (around 45 minutes to the Louvre/ Eiffel Tower etc), BUT a 3 minute walk from a stopfor all of the tourist buses.nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location if you're travelling on Eurostar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning at present - though this will change.

    A great hotel but the only downside was the lack of air conditioning. It was sweltering and we couldn't sleep, despite the fans they provided. the hotel is in the process of installing air conditioning and once this is up and running I'd certainly go back. This is the only thing that stopped me giving it 10/10

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    We made the best of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in our room, the televisions on our floor did not work, along with the television in the ground floor reception area. This was during World Cup soccer and not good enough. No kettle in room but could use one in reception area.

    Nice continental buffet breakfast including good coffee machine. Very good location near to Gare du Nord for access to airport and Eurostar. Balcony small but pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Fairly close to the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite cramped, the door barely clearing the bed. Moving about required a bit of shuffling.

    Opening the window did not make the outside noises any louder.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Good Location & No Frills!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely hot and when we requested a mobile air con unit (which guests checking out advised us to), this was not sent to our room. Had to have the window open all night to keep cool, which resulted in a very noisy night (earplugs are provided with the room)!

    Location was excellent, short walking distance from Gard De Nord.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel great location if youre coming to paris via the Eurostar. Very helpful staff. Amazing room. Street is very noisy but I'm on holiday so I don't really care.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Great value for money, good location if you need to be close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were at times rude, especially to a friend who checked in at a different time than me. Additionally, it should be noted that there is no air conditioning in the rooms so it gets very hot in the summer (especially in the higher-up floors), though the staff did provide a fan when I asked for it.

    Great value for money, good location if you need to be close to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Very near to the Gare du Nord railway station and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the Suite Apartment but still was very cramped and wasn’t very comfortable because of the lack of space. Bathroom door wasn’t getting locked. Not even something like a microwave in a room which was called an Apartment!

    Very near to the Gare du Nord railway station and easy access to public transport as well. Is in a lively area where there is some shopping (not great) and quite a few restaurants. Has a lift!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Paris seems to have small rooms and the rating is different to other countries..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was very tiny.We had to move the bed to be able to get pass to the bathroom.

    The breakfast staff is very nice and friendly and a good choice of foods.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    3.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not working. WiFi not working (fixed hours laters), no water in room & no tea/coffee facilities in room but only advised on arrival. Not sound proofed! Gap around door big enough to see through. Large hole in ceiling, paint work peeling, filthy bathroom floor/grout moldy. Furniture in room well past use by date. Corridors smelled, carpets old & worn. Unhelpful reception staff - barely made eye contact with anyone. NOT worth the 200Euro we we’re charged (even for Paris!)

    Location. Short walk to Gard du Nord station for Eurostar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    3.8
    not very pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was horrible would never stay there again the rooms were small had a smell I was so glad we only stayed one night

    The location was the only good thing about this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    The air conditioner was not working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was not working. It was very hot in the room. We were suggested to open the window to let the air in. But it was too noise to fall asleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. The picture on booking.com was a lie. My room did not have a balcony overlooking the streets with a spacious feeling. My room was like a dusty closet with a bathroom that smelt. Please take your glamorous pictures down as you are lying to the public about the reality of the hotel rooms. I could hear people next door to me all night. I had 3 hours sleep but lucky for me I only stayed one night. It was a hot day so a humid room that stunk of toilet didn't help. Management need to step up, and instead of filling their own pockets, they need to invest in a modern decor and pay their staff well.

    The staff were very friendly and very understanding when I complained. I think management might be taking advantage of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Location suitable for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very stuffy with no ventilation unless the window was open. We could not leave the windows open as the traffic noise was excessive! Insulation from outside passage very poor so noise from other guests accessing their rooms. No complimentary coffee

    Location suitable for our needs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Situated at a walking distance from Gare du Nord station, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Situated at a walking distance from Gare du Nord station, it makes for a good base when visiting Paris. The Disney Express pickup point is also very near. Has some very good Indian restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There no air conditioning or small fridge. I could use one in this heat! This is absolutely the only thing I would like improved!

    The rooms are well laid out and the bathroom facilities are smallish in size, but great in facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for us doing a one night stopover at Nord station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner.

    Location was perfect for Nord station, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Breakfast was fresh and we'll presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Excellent in all respects
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything

    The staff were immensely helpful..the hotel well placed for transport links. The room comfortable..bonus to have tea making facilities in the room!!having the safe was also welcomed I have no complaints..Will use the hotel on my next visit and recommend it to friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue we had was that Paris was experiencing unseasonably warm conditions and the room was hot. However air conditioning is controlled by dates and not by temperatures. Air conditioning was not available during our visit.

    This Hotel is very close the the Gare Du Nord Railway station, so extremely convenient when using the Euro Star. The hotel is clean, offers excellent breakfast and WI-Fi. Rooms are clean and comfortable although small. Staff are extremely helpful. They also arranged an airport transfer at a cost very competitive with local train service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location for gare de nord
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room opposite had a late check in and were not the quietest when arriving so was woken up a few times but this is hardly the fault of the hotel and is not meant to take away from what was an altogether pleasant experience.

    Polite staff, exceptionally located for gare de nord (attending a conference with SNCF)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, convenient to Gare du Nord and local tourist sites a, friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the breakfast was good but, it is somewhat pricey. The room is somewhat small with very little room on each side of the bed, about 10 inches or so. Had to crawl onto the bed from the front. The room safe is sort of difficult to access, as it is on the floor. However, I would NOT hesitate to stay there again.

    I found out that I had to book another night stay . The agent was helpful and was able to provide request. My stay was for two nights instead of one. Location is very convenient to much of the 9th and 10th Arr., very close to the Gare du Nord train station, two to three blocks. Was not too far from the wonderful shopping nearby. The Gallerie Lafayette is a long walk away, or a short taxi away, or by using the close by Metro, just 3 stops away. The front desk staff was very pleasant as well as a great deal of help. Both day shift (when I checked in Saturday Ma y 12), and the night and day shift on the 12th and 13th was exceptional. I had a nice chat with them about many things and found the conversations to be very illuminating .The room and property is kept clean and tidy. The breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    It was very close to Gare Du Nord.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms felt a bit tatty and dated. The first room I went in, the bathroom stank of cigarette smoke, that's the previous guest I suppose. But it didn't leave a good impression. To be fair, the staff were quick to change my room. In the next room though, the shower rail the shower head was attached to was loose. The light in the room was dark .

    It was very close to Gare Du Nord. Therefore it was fairly well connected to the rest of the city. I had no issues walking around the area at any time of day. The hotel was clean, and neat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice Hotel near Sacre-Coeur, would profit from air conditioning in the summer time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning (it was in the room, but we weren't able to turn it on), for an additional blanket we had to ask four times before getting one, bar prizes pretty high (for drinks that you just want to take to your room)

    Friendly staff, cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money (last minute discount).
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything from the corridor

    Excellent value for money (last minute discount). The location is excellent if you need to go to gare du Nord or gare de l’est. Nice room although small and very clean. Free water included. Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arrival staff were a bit grumpy & not too welcoming. Bit noisy due to the local area and no air conditioning other than opening the windows so noisy at night.

    Nice hotel, rooms a little small for the bed sizes but overall comfortable. Loved the old fashioned lift!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was fantastic, sets you up for the day ahead...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room. The location felt slightly seedy but we never encountered any problems

    The breakfast was fantastic, sets you up for the day ahead nicely. Our cleaner was a lovely lady, big smile, nothing any trouble. Despite being on a main road, we both slept like logs! So handy for the Metro & Eurostar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Close to train, clean and felt safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood may not be as safe at night since it is very close to Paris Nord, but we chose it for its proximity. However, we felt safe in the hotel and Nour looked out for us.

    Personal service by front desk. A man named Nour was very helpful to us and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    For the price paid and being in a key location the hotel was generally ok for a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor needs some attention. Flaking paint in my bedroom ceiling, water from shower spills onto bathroom floor, breakfast was not anything special for 12 euros price.

    The hotel staff we pleasant enough, the bed was comfortable, and location was ok in relation to travel from the airport and Gare du Nord.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    For the money you pay, I would not expect anything more,so it was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got lost and ended up in a very unpleaseant area, not far from hotel, if you get out one stop before Gare Du Nord or after, you will end up in very unpleasent area, not as bad in a day light, but would not want to walk at night.

    Bed was comfy, fresh breakfast daily and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    Stay away from this hotel for a peaceful vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very small rooms breakfast is nothing only cold + 1 option of croissant No air condition (biggest issue they dont have even a table fan to help the guest, the receptionist staff weren't that helpful). water was leaking in the shower and repeated complaints no action taken. Horrible old age lift they have. Better avoid and find a different hotel for the same price.

    Stay away from this hotel. If you are looking for a peaceful vacation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Will not recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matrasse worn and uncomfortable The staff was rude and not helpful The breakfast was disappointing and not at all worth the price

    The bathrooms were clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and some fitting were dated and in need of upgrading

    Location is perfect. Eurostar 10min walk bus outside front door taking you to Arc de Triomphe €1.20 which then makes easy walking to other attractions. Breaky was good and varied. It’s not the Ritz but your not paying Ritz prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Clean, friendly accomodation close to Gare Du Nord
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some reception staff better than other. Shower could have been warmer in the mornings.

    Room big enough for family of 4. Beds comfortable. Most of staff friendly and helpful with good English. All you can eat continental breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay for adults with an elevator and scale for luggage, at a cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not the best for families with younger children. Very close to the Red Light district. Very busy and congested but close to the train station.

    Beds were comfortable. The room was fair in size but appropriate for Paris.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    A perfect place for holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing (shower smell) when I came in to the room it smeells bad and when I closed the shower door the smell is not anymore in there.. So I guess that was it. Apart from that everything is perfect

    very quiet and nice and the bed is awesome.. Receptionist JAMAL was very helpful and nice.. He offered me a room early in the morning even before check in time. All other receptionist I passed by are very helpful and nice as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Not as nice as in photos, badly needs an update. Staff was nice but requests weren't met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos on their site and booking are deceiving. It's not nearly as nice in person. Also, our room didn't have a shower curtain. we asked twice and never got one, so the bathroom was a mess.

    The staff was nice and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is convenient for Gare du Nord and also the metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is convenient for Gare du Nord and also the metro. Its close to several tourist sites; we enjoyed a guided tour of Montmartre one afternoon as well as a fantastic meal at the Orange Verte restaurant close by (not cheap but well worth the cost). If you like walking its also not so far to Galleries Lafayette and other city centre attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    If staying for a night, more than fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small bathrooms, excessively warm room.

    Noisy and tiny room and bathroom...but conveniently close to the train station...which was our main purpose for staying there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    I’ll recomend it to anyone who has a plan to visit Paris. Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmm just a small thing but it doesnt matter at all actually. The alley was so small and tiny.. but it’s Paris, and it’s the typical building of Haussmann Building in Paris

    I love the room, it has a quite large bath room, a mini kitchen so we can cook, and the bed was comfortable, breakfast was good. If you are looking for halal food, you can find many of it near by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    I’ll recommend it to anyone who’ll visit Paris. It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor is a bit too small. At the first night of our arrival, the elevator to 2nd floor was out of order. But the old receptionist helped us to get to our room in 2nd floor, and the day after, the elevator is back to normal.

    Location and the room!! We were 10 adults and 1 child 4 years old. We got suite rooms with a window. Bathroom was great. Location was perfect, it just about 2 minutes walk to Gare du Nord Station. It was in a distance walk to McD and other Halal Restaurants. When we arrived at 9pm, we welcomed by an old receptionist (I forgot his name) and he was so much helpful. Thank you Avalon.. will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    safe, clean, decent place to stay with kids, too bad we had just a few hours before heading to CDG
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room for three, bathroom door wouldn’t open all the way since toilet was in the way

    very helpful night manager, location, historical building, charming original little features retained like staircase, crown mouldings... nice common areas, good wifi, free printer, kettle in the room, across the street from bus #30 which takes you to Trocadero (Eiffel tower) in 30 mins

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Worth for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridor of the hotel is quite narrow that we could hear pretty much everything when people talk in the corridor. This affected our sleep in the early morning.

    The room looks exactly the same as described. The size of a double bed room is just enough for us (two girls) with one big and one hand luggage. It is clean and tidy, although there are a few cracks in the shower room(But it doesn't matter). The staff at the reception are quite nice. The location of the hotel is super good that it's located on the main street and close to any of the nearby metro stations which you can reach different metro lines. Also, it is pretty quiet at night if we close the window to sleep. Last but not least, it is good that they have storage room for storing our luggage before the check-in and after the check-out which helped us a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: