Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avignon Grand Hotel 4 stars

34, bd Saint-Roch, 84000 Avignon, France

#8 of 48 hotels in Avignon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1235 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is invincible!We travelled with mother who is injured at ankle.The hotel is very close to the TGV station.Besides,the old city wall is just in front of eyes.This is a good place to be highly recommended in Avignon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The 'waterfall' in the corridor leading to our room - a leaking pipe in the ceiling cavity which remained unfixed the whole time we were there. I pity the people who had the adjacent rooms! No vegetables (eg tomatoes and/or sliced peppers) to accompany the cold meats and cheeses at breakfast.

    Lovely, spacious room with garden view. Excellent coffee at breakfast. Good location, with station nearby and short walk into the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's located very close to the city center (5-10 minutes on foot). Comfortable and modern hotel. Breakfast is average, nothing special, ordinary continental, ample. Wifi is okay. From the (pay) parking lot we can get directly to the hotel reception. We had a very big room, with bedroom and small living room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have the breakfast option good location just outside city walls, next to station and bus station. Small but adequate poll that was was nice to use in the hot weather. New tramway being built outside but no noise issues Avignon great for a city break

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disappointing that there was no restaurant for dinner on the premises. I am somewhat disabled and the walk to the sister hotel was just too much for me. I wish we had been informed of this.

    Our bedroom was really nice and the staff were so very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super awesome staff! The receptionist greeted me by my name when I arrived as he was expecting me and my family. We booked 3 rooms here. Absolutely divine!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have been nice to get drinks and perhaps snacks from the hotel bar but the area was not staffed and clearly no one encouraged residents to use the bar facilities. So although it had plenty of tables and chairs both inside the building and outside in the garden it was simply not used..

    Nice spacious and clean bedroom and sitting area , excellent breakfast, helpful staff. The location was excellent, right by the station and the pool area on the roof was private and very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruit at breakfast good but not very inspiring. Air conditioning could have been cooler. Porcelain cups would be better than paper ones ( for re-use), plus metal spoons instead of stirers ( less plastic waste).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We specfically requested an early morning call but this did not happen!!!

    Easy walking distance to town and the restaurant recommended was very enjoyable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect for our stay of 5 nights exploring the city and Provence ( Le Baux-de-Provence and St Rémy). Easy access from Lyon and a day trip to Marseille, plus onward travel to Carcassonne.

    Great location / walking distance to the main rail and bus station. Right outside one of the main city access gates.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very unpleasant. Not all of them one young man on reception was very helpful . The other should really reconsider his career choice. He was as welcoming as an umbrella in a hurricane. Attitude was appalling and disrespectful. Room we had badly needs upgraded, bed uncomfortable, air con? not even sure if it was working. Overall Avignon is a lovely town and we only stayed over one night if I were to revisit I would definitely not return to Grand Hotel or should I say NOT so Grand Hotel 😡

    The location was fab. First impression was good choice but rooms are disappointing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -To reach the city centre (on foot), you need to cross a big street which is currently being thoroughly renovated.

    -The sufficient storage space in the room and the room's rel. quiet (and well furnished) terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a shame the hotel doesn’t have a gym. The bar is part of the reception area. Would be nice to have a separate area for evening drinks. However you can sit outside. None of these things would deter me from staying here again. I have stayed here twice already.

    Location. Just outside the city walls and close to Avignon centre train station. 2 minute walk. Garden facing room nice and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff was unfriendly or totally indifferent. There was a big leakage, but after 6 nights still nothing seems to have happened to that. Bar was basically non-existent.

    Breakfast was really good. Rooms spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the hotel was difficult as there was construction around it. You also need to physically get a ticket at the hotel before you are able to drive into the underground parking.

    We loved how close by we were to the main tourist areas. There was also a pool where we could just sit and relax

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room could need a little bit fresh-up. Very nearby parking garage could need more foolproof signs: "Yes, that's the one for Grand Hotel guests right here"

    excellent value for money, nicely decorated and also quiet room, good breakfast, very convenient location and generous check-in / check-out times

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a beautiful suite. 2 large rooms and a bathroom. Very clean, very close to the train station but you would never know it. You did not hear the train. The staff was very nice as we arrived very early by train, left our luggage and came back. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms need to be furnished with a lighter blanket for the beds. The duvets are toooooo warm. Some things did not work properly (security lock, tv remote, coffee pot). Buffet breakfast was less than we expected for the price.

    Room staff was friendly, accommodating and efficient. On-site parking is a big advantage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was somewhat stuffy and there was no way to control the air. The pool was tiny and not very appealing. This place is attractive for people with small children and lacks all charms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entire hotel was completely barren, there were no decorative elements anywhere. This had a surprisingly negative effect on our stay. We did not feel comfortable or welcome. Also, there were no slippers or bath robes, or nice coffee in the room, or water upon arrival. The road work in front of the hotel is still ongoing, and there was no easy access to/from the hotel with a stroller, had to carry the baby and carrier first down the steps at the front door and then through some gravel to get to the old town. Location near the station not ideal, lot of street people in the vicinity although got harrassed only once. The pool is a joke, very small and not heated. Also, the shower was leaking water constantly and some sunbeds were broken.

    Room was spacious and quite clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. Flushing mechansim for toilet was broken. Staff not friendly when we notified them. Toilet was not fixed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A/C should have been better, and the breakfast buffet was basic, and should have been much better for the price.

    the suite was good and comfortable, but more towels and a better shower design is needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second stay at Grand Hotel Avignon and we would go back a third time, should we find ourselves in the area again. The accommodation, is clean, spacious and comfortable enough for long term stays. Like last time, the bedroom could be separated by a sliding door from the lounge section. The bathroom has two entry points and the toilet is separate from the bathroom. Thick white fluffy towels and crisp white sheets. The shower is very good as well. Less than a 5 minute walk from Gare d'Avignon-Centre, NOT Avignon TGV and Gare Routière Avignon. The entry to the walled city is just across the road. There are major roadworks on the road the hotel is on at the moment, apparently a tramway is being built, this is no way impacted on the stay at the hotel. There is a fridge in the room, which is handy. The internet was a little sluggish. Paper cups and plastic sticks are provided for stirring beverages, the plastic sticks are impractical, as they bend as soon as they hit the hot water. Julian on the desk was lovely, very helpful and cheerful. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lot of noise from the lift area on our last night. Breakfast looked very basic - nothing special, so we enjoyed some wonderful takeaways from the Station bakery. Amazing pain au raisin.

    Very nice suite on two floors - plenty of space, table to work at, small terrace to relax in the sun. And to be greeted by a very happy band of hotel staff at reception was a great starting point.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it wasn't inside the town wall, it was easy to walk in and quiet. It's very close to the station but not at all noisy. They staff are very helpful and their English is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well situated right next door to the station & opposite the city walls. Very easy to walk to the sights without too much trouble. And given the location this is a very quiet hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on day shift is friendly and helpful, but the lady on night duty is professional cold, won’t help.

    spacious room, very nice for families with children. Nice location, 10 m walk to city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING ELSE! We checked in and were given our room key. On arrival in our room I immediately noticed there was NO WATER, at all. We had noticed buckets of water beside several of the hotel room doors but didn’t make the connection until we entered our room. I called the front desk and they informed me of a plumbing problem throughout the hotel and that there were 2 small bottles of water, complimentary! There wasn’t a sign posted at the front desk, nor did the employee behind the desk mention a water problem to us. We finally did get water that evening. Be wary of this place

    It was very close to the old city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly and unprofessional receptionists for a 4 star hotel. Not helpful at all. No recommendations on sight-seeings. We stayed for 8 nights and there was one whole day from 10 am - 6 pm no water running without any warning in advance which gave a hard time for members who got up late. When asked, nobody could give any precise answer as to what was happenning. What a disappointment! Toilettries, coffee and tea were not refilled daily. Had to leave word to the receptionist in the morning, yet when returned in the evening not replaced!!! Strong smell from the toilet. Room not cleaned well. To summarize - the only good thing about this hotel is that it's opposite the train station, spacious room, otherwise, there are many nice hotels inside the wall for you to choose from. No need to walk so far to the centre.

    Spacious room with seperate small living area. A bit old, though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered another room accidentally but the hotel said that they can’t cancel one of them. Two people live in two triple rooms? Kidding me? Not enough lights. One of the rooms inside the suite was too dark.

    Nice location. Spacious room (kind of too spacious for two people. It would be ideal for a family with kids)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to keep my dogs on leash in the inner courtyard so they felt confined. It ws also difficult when they needed to go during the night. Otherwise it was a great experience. I would recommend it highly

    Although the hotel does not yet have kitchen facilities, they succeeded in providing a wonderful breakfast. They also arranged for my sister and I have an evening meal in our room. Excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows weren't very fluffy. There could have been more. Parking was expensive.

    Great Price for the stay. Mostly friendly staff. Nice spacious rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no.

    The hotel is just next to the Avignon train station. Very convenient for traveler to Avignon by train. however there is construction work along the road lead to the hotel during my stay , a bit troublesome to walk around. Happy with the size of the room, very spacious, it is like a small suit. wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfasts were too expensive.

    The facilities are wonderful and the staff, particularly Heather, were helpful with restaurants and sightseeing recommendations. Parking was easy access to the old town was across the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to roadworks, the parking was difficult to reach (you have to turn right just before the hotel, into a road which is itself under reconstruction so seems inaccessible at first).

    The best value for money we have got so far in France. Very comfortable, stylish, big suite with access to the terrace. My wife says that the cosmetics in the bathroom were of very high quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was construction on the road in front of the hotel, so it was noisy after about 8 am. Also mistral wind (this could happen any time of year) whistled through the windows which was noisy all day and all night, so we needed earplugs to sleep.

    Very helpful staff, especially Heather who gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and also advised on places to ride bikes. Location is very convenient to old center city of Avignon and it is also steps away from the train station. Great to have parking under the hotel included in our room rate. Big room with separate sitting area and plenty of closet space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really unhelpful and rude reception staff. Wanted room service, to be told they could not offer any form of salad, as they had no produce. Rather strange for a 4 star hotel. I have stayed there previously on 3 occasions and the hotel has really gone down hill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel doesn't have all of the facilities one might expect from a 4-star hotel - e.g. a very limited bar, and no restaurant for evening meals - although one could eat in the sister hotel if one wanted.

    The location and comfort of the room - a room with south-facing balcony - nothing special about the view, but even so very pleasant to sit out there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The hotel is modern, comfortable and has good facilities. The staff were extremely helpful though management needs to increase numbers of staff at checkout time in the mornings. Through no fault of its own making, the hotel’s access is currently (late 2017) being adversely affected by tramline construction due for completion in 2019 (?). This is not causing significant noise issues inside the hotel but does make car park access (large underground car park) more difficult than it would otherwise be owing to traffic congestion at busy times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location near old city. 7 minutes walk to Papal palace. Very quiet place though very close to railway station. Good choice for breakfast. Very convenient parking underground (17 euros per day).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well I don't think you can move the property inside the walls, but if you could, it would be great to be closer to the tourist attractions. However where it is , it is very easy to find upon city arrival and is close to the train station for those needing that.

    The parking and elevators were great for our abundant luggage. Desk staff very accommodating. Room was upgraded and beds so amazingly comfortable. Beautiful decor in rooms. robes and slippers provided-such pampering.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes I felt like the stairwell between floors in the room will crack. And certainly no walking on it when others are sleeping.

    We got a suite and it was good value for money - spacious and comfy. Location is very good - right next to the wall, walking distance to the center and still not as bad with taxis/parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Local knowledge of the receptionist We specifically asked if anything was happening in the town that evening to be told no. Then we just stumbled across the Cotes de Rhone annual festival of the grape a very very big local event which was amazing and we could have easily missed it if we had taken notice of the receptionist!! The pool was very small and disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was disappointing, with only mediocre coffee and less than excellent croissants and pastried.

    The location of this hotel could not be better: 3 minutes walk from the central train station, and immediately across the road from the entrance to the walled city. The decor is modern with stylish nods to the past. Bedrooms were very spacious with a sitting area in addition to the bedroom. The bathroom/toilet was modern and supplied with high quality soaps etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe, the suit hasn't been used for a while. The drinking cups are not so clean, and the tea and milk is not so fresh.

    We booked a standard room for two. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that luckily has our booking been updated to a suit. And when we open the door of the suit, we were totally shocked. Bright, big space, big balcony, two huge and comfortable beds and two well equipped bathrooms. Locating at the first floor in the suit, any noise from the living room wouldn't influence people sleeping on the second floor. Super gorgeous room and beautiful memory!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heather was very nice and helpful with our stay. I left my jacket in the room and realized a week after check out. I called the hotel and they offered to send the jacket back to me (in Grenoble). I am still waiting for the jacket to arrive but I am very happy with the service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no restaurant (except for breakfast room) and room service menu is limited - but many nice restaurants close by, so it's not really a problem.

    Large clean rooms with aircon, lovely small pool at the top of the hotel, very close to the old city centre and to the train station. Quiet and family friendly. Overall, a very great find! we will stay there again if back in Avignon!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom smelled of dampness and had to open all the doors to get rid of the smell and the mattress was the worse one I had ever tried , not even in a hostel you would find something like that.

    breakfast was good. The staff very nice. the hotel looked nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not the most comfortable. Could feel springs in mattress.

    Location right next to station. Handy for the town. Lovely pool area with towels provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service stops too early, come with your own snacks if you get hungry late in the evening. Swimming pool is a little small.

    Beautiful hotel, excellent location, spacious rooms, quiet garden and very friendly staff. Felt like a five star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't ready a 16:00, the staff wasn't professional and interrupted us at the room several time during our stay. The beds were terribly uncomfortable, both the pillows and mattresses are well overused. The pool is very very small.

    Spacious and clean room. breakfast was ok with a decent selection of foods. The hotel is right at the edge of the old city which makes it very easy to visit by foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a suite room for 4. If was very large but you enter the room from downstairs and climb the stairs. Nobody helped us with our baggage and we had to carry them upstairs to our room. The rooms definetely need renovation.Cushions and the sofa does not look neat and clean. There was a very bad smell in the enterance of the room (downstairs). Restaurant was not open for dinner. They told us it is only open for the groups and we might order from the room service which is available till 9:30 pm. We ordered and they did not bring the food because the guy noted the room number wrong. This hotel is not worth the price and does not have a 4 - star quality.

    Location Spacious room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive.

    The room is relatively huge & very comfortable. Well decorated. Well equiped. It is located 5 minutes walk from the city center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding a table at breakfast was a little manic but we got used to it. The first view we had of the hotel was unpleasant as it looks like a prison or concrete car park. Fortunately it was much better inside.

    Bed extremely comfortable. Quality of food at breakfast excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been more friendly.

    This hotel had underground parking(public) but was also very close to the train station. This was a must for us, because we were travelling by car but one of us left early by train. Also, the rooms were very spacious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air- conditioner in the two bedrooms upstair seemed not working well at midnight. Those days we stayed at Avignon, temperature was up to 37C at noon. We had to leave bedrooms door open to have better air circulation. Next only complimentary water is provided on the first day. As we stayed there for 5 days and the weather is so hot and dry, we had to go to supermarket to take bottles of water to hotel .

    I stayed in a suite and the interior is very new. It is quiet although one room is next to the railway. Daily cleaning is efficient and excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was really slow

    Great hotel, nicely decorated, welcoming staff, close to the old centre of avignon. Clean and neat. And the children loved the small swimming pool on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not within the old town area surrounded by the city wall. However it is still very close to the key areas in Avignon, just 5-10 minutes walk from the old town. I picked this place precisely because it's not within the city wall. From my past visit to Avignon I learned hotels inside the old town tend to have smaller rooms and they are far from the Avignon centre station. I didn't want to drag my luggages all the way in to the old town from the station especially knowing the ground is paved with gravels and therefore it has got uneven surfaces. The hotel is just 3-5 minutes walk from the station and the building and facilities are modern. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I was travelling with my parents so we booked a room for three people and it came with two spacious rooms with double beds and a drawing room with a comfortable and large sofa. I didn't like the carpet but everything is clean and well organised.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fabulous just a walk across the road and in the fortress wall of the town. The 2 rooms were large and beautifully decorated. Staff were very courteous and parking underneath the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The parking was awful - a public underground car park with an entrance so tight and angled that it was really hard to get in before the barrier crashed down, without damaging the car. We ended up damaging our rental car, which cast a blight on the whole holiday, and I grew to dread entering and leaving the car park. Unless driving a Fiat 500 or similar, or having nerves of steel, I couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone coming by car, in spite of its nice staff and facilities.

    The room was really nice, with good facilities, including nice L'Occitane toiletries and a kettle and tea-making facilities, also complimentary bottles of water in the fridge. There was a balcony overlooking the garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were terrible! Couldn't sleep on it Especially after staying in a great hotel with a lovely mattress in Cannes

    Buffet breakfast offered at free for kids and reduced rate for adults was good Suite was very big and water was provided

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception ruined my morning. When I checked in, I asked about the Parking and he told me it's free and he explained me I have free breakfast. I didn't put the breakfast on my reservation so I asked him twice and he told me breakfast are complimentary. In the morning, I went to the breakfast area, and the waiter told me I have to pay 13euro per each person. Because i was told that breakfast is included so I asked him to check again then he said No. So I went to the reception what happened to my family but she just said sorry and she told me there were no male colleagues who work in the time when I arrived. And she told me I had to pay the parking fare. I didn't ask them to give me free parking and even breakfast however he just told me and made us confused. At the result I was very upset and had spent long time in the morning. How they could compensate my morning moods and time that spent for explaining whole situation.

    Only the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, very close to the train station. The room is quite big, very suitable for family to have a very cozy vacation. And the light in the hallway outside the room is automatic which is excellent for saving electricity.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    The Hotel was not unlike many others, and would not have been exceptional if it were not for the wonderful staff who without exception, did all they could to assist us when we arrived and during our stay as a consequence of some bad luck we experienced prior to our arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay in our trip in 6 diffrent places, this one was the best !!!! The room is big, very clean, the stuff is very helpfull. Good location in Avignon and goog start for travel in the erea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was not winter anymore the air conditioning was not working and we had to ask for a fan because the room was hot

    Excellent location and has a parking close

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited English channels on TV.

    Room was divided into two areas - bed and sitting area with balcony. Had wi-fi that worked. Staff were very helpful and spoke English. Staff arranged tour guide for us. Easy accessibility to trains and Place du Papes. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pot for boiling water was a bit small to make coffee for 3 or more people No proper porcelain cups for hot drinks.

    Reception staff spoke English well and were helpful. Hotel was very near the train station. Room was clean and confirrtable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chose room with a garden view but all I saw was roof of a building and a tiny bit of garden so don't bother paying more for the view. Wifi is very weak and keep disconnecting. Hotel was being renovated so smell of paint was everywhere. Only one person at the reception so it took ages to check in or out.

    Location was good. Some of the staff (not all) were nice. Room was reasonably clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location - just across from City Gate, 1 block from train station, walking distance to all sites. Elegant spacious room. Breakfast available in hotel & room service. Hotel partners with another hotel & recommends them for dinner. However there are many dining choices close by. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    First of all I must mention that this hotel is wonderfully located – just a step from the old city wall of Avignon. From one hand you need only 10 minutes walk to reach Popes’ Residence and from the other hand hotel is easily accessible by car. At the same time I must mention that Avignon is the right place if you wish to make a trip through Provence region and visit other different towns, including Nimes, Arles, etc. Breakfast. Breakfast should be considered like a minor point of this hotel as the choice is absolutely unacceptable for 4 star European hotel. In principal you would find something to eat there but it is far from the real 4 star hotel breakfast, especially taking into consideration that price is 15 EUR. Coffee is extremely poor quality and I would not recommend you to use hotel breakfast at all, please choose some other option to have your morning start. Parking. There is a public parking, partially under the hotel with elevator bringing you directly to the hotel and the price is 15 EUR/night if you validate your parking ticket at the reception. The entrance to the parking is located just over the corner from Grand hotel and you woun’t meet any problem to reach it. The reception staff is friendly and welcoming, they are service minded and we never had any problems with them during the week we staid there. At the same time I must mention that house-keeping service must be improved because the way they do their work could be hardly acceptable for the level of hotel. Just to give you some examples - room carpet was not cleaned properly, plastic glassed were not replaced, wine goblets were never cleaned or replaced, some days shower and shampoos were not refilled, one day housekeeper took away bathrobes without returning new. Eventually nothing extraordinary but in general you normally expect to receive a higher service level, especially when it is not high season and hotel was practically empty. Room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no gym or restaurant on site. You can take a short walk to their sister hotel for these facilities but in very cold weather this requires determination .

    We got an amazing deal for 3 nights in a garden view room which is more like a small suite.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much! If I have to be picky, they would have more English TV channels. ;)

    The hotel is a great place to stop for the night on our way from Switzerland to Barcelona each year. The staff is super friendly and accommodating, the hotel is very nicely appointed, and the room extremely comfortable and spacious. As a bonus, our happy little labrador gets a warm welcome to! :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The seating round the bar area and drinks were very expensive .

    The rooms were very nice and looked onto a courtyard , The staff were very helpful and friendly .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception you can see what there is behind the bar which if it is not tidy up give a cheap impression which does not fit with the overall prestation

    Spacious room Customer service

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: