Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balanea 3 stars

6, rue Clémenceau - Port De Plaisance, 20260 Calvi, France

#38 of 55 hotels in Calvi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 210 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Deluxe Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No comfortable chairs in room with lights for reading. Breakfast was poor (machines for coffee etc. and "juices".

    Very spacious room and lovely balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Deluxe Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the busy summer period when the access road to the hotel is closed except for tradesmen access early every morning. This means a long haul with luggage along cobbled streets. We did not reserve parking and had to park about 500 m away. The reserved parking is closer but still a bit of a trek. The breakfast room, un-used by us, was a windowless interior room, although the breakfast looked ok but a bit pricey at 15 euros when you can get the same on the front for 8.

    The location is excellent one higher level back from the front line with great views overlooking the marina. Right amongst all the towns main restaurants, bars, shops and entertainment venues. Our room on the first floor had a decent sized balcony with great views of the marina and mountains in the distance. It was also a large room with a nice bathroom. Closest beach was about 500 m where you could rent 2 beds for the day for 20/25 euros and good restaurant facilities. All the marina restaurants we used served great food at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We unfortunately did not have a view of the port from our apartment. There is also no iron/kettle available in the rooms.

    The staff were very helpful and were happy to answer any questions we had. The view from the reception balcony ia fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Standard Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic view from balcony across the harbour and bay. Nice bathroom and bedroom. Friendly and very helpful staff. Off-site parking where I Could leave my car for 3 days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Standard Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful helpful, friendly and thoughtful staff. Our room overlooked the harbour and mountains- a superb view. We enjoyed seeing the activity in the harbour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standard Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt a little poor n in need of care . Broken coat hangers and no full length mirror, shower wet the fooor . Also v noisy st the week end even though windows work really well

    Fab location n views and bed was good n staff nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room - Fifth Floor with Terrace - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loading and unloading the car - not possible after 11am in front of the hotel which is in a pedestrian zone

    The view was lovely - the hotel is in the heart of town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room - Fifth Floor with Terrace - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was so much delayed maintence ( actual cleanliness ok) that there were subtle hazards such as molding that flops causing one to trip and low hamging metal screen that anyone over 6 feet would hit their head on going to the terrace, I dont think the air conditioning filters had ever been changed and probable mold causing respiratory problems.

    The terrace overlooking the port and the walking distance to the train and shops and restaurants were great. Nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room - Fifth Floor with Terrace - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazon location and great views. Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Deluxe Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little storage space for clothes

    Balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of rooms are to high! Many things are wrong

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room rather dark and low ceiling made it feel small initially. Shower starting to go mouldy around the tile edges and some of the sockets were not working and in poor condition. Bathroom door handle falling off. Access to the hotel is not ideal as you cannot access by car closer than 200metres after 12.00. However, the staff very quickly offered to use the golf buggy to collect the cases etc so it was not a problem. However, knowing this information before arrival would be a help as guests go round in circles trying to find the access road ! A little disappointed - room not up to 4 star standard.

    Lovely position in the bay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great position on the front overlooking all the harbour and the cafes and restaurants. Great choice of local activities from Citadel - sailing - walking - scuba diving - boat excursions etc. Old Calvi is a beautiful port and the back streets have a lovely atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We locked ourselves out on terrace for 1.5 hrs. Shut the door to keep the room cool with the air con but door didn't have a handle to open it on the terrace side of the door. We had to wait till adjacent guests came home to raise the alarm that we were locked out.

    Powe locked ourselves out on sition, view, staff, private terrace

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi cut out every so often after which I had to reenter my wifi code + password. Very inconvenient.

    The hotel is excellently located between the port and shopping/restaurant streets of Calvi and a 10 minute walk from Calvi's beach. Because of the nightlife sounds and noises, it's recommended to bring some earplugs, as it is hard to keep live music outside, even with the doors/windows closed. Upgrading to a seaside room is worth it, you'll have a lovely view on the harbour and the sunrise if you're up early. TIP: skip the hotel breakfast (12 euro's per person per day is pretty expensive). Next door is a great bakery shop and a traiteur shop that open early and provide fresh sandwiches, quiches and pastries.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the shower has very less water; the light next to the bed didn't work

    The view to the harbour was beautiful and the central place was very comfortable; staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was quite strange - the WC was made for tall people (when I sat on it my feet were in the air...), the shower has no paddling so it is easy to make a little flood in the bathroom.

    Perfect location near the port and railway station. In the area there are many restaurants, bars and shops. The staff was very helpful - we could check in earlier and there was no problem to get along. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work most of the time - very frustrating!

    Perfect location for access to shops, restaurants, and harbor. Nice balcony to watch all the activity.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast poor choice, restaurant poor. Bathroom cramped and dilapidated. Decor in bedroom. Shabby. Insufficient air conditioning

    Staff friendly and helpful, super location

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We didn't have a balcony or view, the window faced a crumbling building next door (but we also didn't choose to pay extra for an upgraded room). Walls are thin, we could hear people talking in adjacent rooms.

    Great location near restaurants, harbor, and shopping. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Updated bathrooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable quiet room, Hotel is in a great location and within easy range of the old citadel. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. We should have taken the offer of breakfast in our room to eat on our balcony as the dining room is inside the building. We didn't, so this was our mistake!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to Calvi centre.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location close to harbour and amongst shops and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ..bad wifi in hotel..

    Perfectly situated just in heart of Calvi,perfect view to the port,see,bay..very nice persons-staffs..rather expensive..

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean rooms Great location Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Best service, best stuff.... Best everything we just loved it

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of restaurant

    location

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice hotel at a good location, close to seaside, good restaurants and sightseeing locations. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in a nature reserve, on a riverbank.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: