Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Saint Antoine 3 stars

2 Rue du Gond, 16000 Angoulême, France

#4 of 12 hotels in Angoulême

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 642 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff. Will definitely use next time we are in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel always fits the bill for our annual trip to the Circuit des Remparts, It's convenient and has parking opposite. It's not flashy but is clean, comfortable and good value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The rooms were very clean and comfortable, looks like they...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable, looks like they have recently been refurbished with a lovely modern bathroom and comfortable bed. Good French breakfast, staff pleasant, out door terrace very nice for a relaxing drink.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money in a well maintained hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although location by river was very pleasant the surrounding area was rather dingy and dilapidated. This of course is not the fault of the hotel. It was quite a long walk to the historic centre of the city where there were many restaurants and cafes. Receptionist did recommend a nearer restaurant but we wanted to see historic centre.

    Room was spacious, light and very clean. Double glazing effective at keeping out noise of traffic. Receptionists (two brothers) were very helpful and friendly. Location by river was very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab 3* family run hotel in a quiet but very safe area. They couldn't do enough to make your stay a memorable experience. Very close to walking and cycling tracks. 20 mins steep walk to the old town where there was a selection of bars and restaurants. Looking forward to returning and staying in this hotel again in the near future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Good family hotel in an interesting city with helpful staff and good breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heat! Nothing that the hotel could do about that and they provided us with fans for each bedroom and advised on how to use the shutters to minimise the heat in the rooms in the day.

    Our family suite was 2 rooms each with their own en-suite bathroom, spacious and modern and spotlessly clean. All the staff were friendly and the manager was very helpful, giving us advice on how to get into the city centre for the evening and giving us bottles of water, very welcome in the 38 degrees C heatwave. Breakfast was a generous buffet with good quality local produce.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Nice budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best part of Angouleme but this is reflected in the price. It really is a lovely little budget hotel which is spotlessly clean.

    Very helpful with local information. Nothing was too much trouble. Service with a smile. Intriguing decor in dining area with a charming little garden terrace at the rear.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    A beautifully clean room and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly. As we arrived on a Sunday and check-in is not until after 6pm, they had emailed us the code for the front door and left the key in an envelope at the check-in desk so we could get into the room earlier. It looks like it had recently had a make-over and there was an excellent shower. There is also a sports room available to guests - it is not huge but is there for guests to use. The breakfast was great with ample choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Clean, easy to get to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half of hotel has had refurbished the other half sits somewhere in the 80s! Pillows were uncomfortable and room very hot as no air con

    Clean, easy to get to

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Functional
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night receptionist was not at all helpful and at 21:40 he had locked the outside terrace. We told him that we would like to have a hot drink and sit for a while with the dog, his reply was that it was too late because people were sleeping, yes 21:40 was the time. I respect peace and quiet but it’s a hotel, not kindergarten!

    The first receptionist was very polite and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Good quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it about a mile from the old town the walk is a very pleasant one along the River Charente.

    The reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is modern or has been modernised and the quality is evident. The room was quite spacious and comfortable. There is no air conditioning (not expected at the price!) but every room has an efficient fan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Despite being on a busy road it was remarkably quiet once in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been a bonus to have had tea making facilities in the room. Parking is an issue, although there is an area in which you can park, this is shared with other properties. It's a 20 minute up hill walk into the city.

    Despite being on a busy road it was remarkably quiet once in the room. Bedding was very comfortable and a very good breakfast. The family running the hotel were very friendly and spoke excellent English. The highlight for us was the beautiful garden courtyard to the rear of the hotel. We hope to go back one day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Whilst not at the centre of town we had dogs and right next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst not at the centre of town we had dogs and right next to the river with great walk and lovely restaurant nearby. A great stop over on the way to Spain, really clean and very courteous and accommodating family owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a bit more parking space at the back.

    Bed was comfy and room was clean. Bathroom and toilet were separate too. Terrace outside the bar was pleasant to sit out and drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance didn't look as good as the rest of the great hotel

    Very frinedly, prepared my arrival late in the night, felt welcoming; Friendly personnel, very clean, great room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nowhere to park outside the hotel, so that we could unload our suitcases. We had to park illegally to do that, and parked the car across the busy road in a parking lot.

    Inside, the hotel is not typically French but modernised and in danger of being soulless. However the staff were polite, helpful and friendly, and forgiving of my atrocious French. It was clean and tidy, and wonderfully warm on a miserable January evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a short stay, friendly and helpful staff. Don't be put off by the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and provided me with location of pizza restaurant unfortunately it didn't open until later in the evening, so I had to opt for one from Domino's which was close by and pointed out to me by the hotel staff. Initially I thought that parking was going to be an issue, as there is only parking for about three vehicles directly outside the hotel and the signs indicated that you required a parking disc and were restricted to ten minutes. Having spoken with the staff at the hotel it appeared that this was not the case and I parked outside overnight with no issues.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in modern room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    distance to city centre is quiet far on foot

    recently renovated: modern and up to date accommodation seperate toilet and bathroom very quiet room (even though close to the street) good value for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    My husband and I strongly recommend this hotel not too far from the station and center of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the bathroom could have been better and there was a lack of shelves in the shower to put shower gel , shampoo ...

    The staff was very pleasant , the room very clean and spacious enough, parking facilities excellent .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Adequate for a short stay, if you are prepared for 20 min walk into old town - worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected parking to be more secure, but it was open and accessible to anyone. No decent restaurants nearby.

    A simple, comfortable hotel on outskirts of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.5
    The usual good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is nothing not to like. I think 2 ** is a bit harsh

    The family owners are always so polite friendly and helpful. Always on hand but very much in the background. This was our 4th stay and we will be back in 2018. Monsieur B was an mazing car park organiser. Moving other cars so that all of the classic cars could park. e didn't have to do that but that is how considerate he is

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money in Angoulême
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a 20' walk from the hotel to the center of Angoulême.

    Overall it's OK. The value for money is good and the breakfast is better than in most hotels of this category. The personnel is very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is not sucure and the hotel front makes you think you have made the wrong choice but all is good on the insides

    The rooms were clean spacious and good value idea for a family staff spoke enough English to direct us to all we needed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Very clean hotel and Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Very clean and spacious room. Comfortable beds; modern bathroom facilities; attentive, informative and very pleasant staff. Good location for old town Angouleme. Great value for money - would fully recommend this hotel!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was perfect. There were actually two rooms with two bathrooms that opened from a single door. The staff were helpful, the room was clean, and the value for money was great. It turned out to be easy to walk up to the old town since driving in the old town streets is challenging - lots of narrow roads and sharp turns. It was also located within a very short distance to the museum we had chosen the town for. Our only problem was they were redoing the tarmac around the round-about on the night we stayed so we heard the noise of the road crew most of the night. Other than that, it was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    A great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like.

    This is a lovely little hotel. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and given directions into the town centre and where to find places to eat (we arrived on a Sunday evening and unfortunately all the restaurants within walking distance of the hotel were closed). Our room was extremely comfortable and spacious with a bathroom and separate W.C. and spotlessly clean. An excellent continental buffet breakfast is offered with a good selection of quality items. The breakfast room is delightful and there is a beautiful outside terrace/courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Boutique hotel that tries hard to please
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room environment. The family owners had obviously spent a lot of Euros on decorating the hotel to a high and boutique order. Its a pity they did not budget to install air-conditioning. Whilst it was a mini heatwave at the time of my stay even in normal summer temperatures the rooms were hot and sweaty. Your choice was a cheap fan that was timed to turn off every 2 hours, necessitating a broken nights sleep to switch it back on, or, the open the window onto a busy roundabout and traffic noise.

    Location. Being next to the river and an island made dog walking relaxing and easy. Breakfast was usual fare but plenty and fresh.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Good room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking Watson street which is not the best for motorbikes. Having said that they were not tampered with.

    Good room size. Excellent en suite. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing. Can definitely recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast was very good. We did not have to use the car as there is an excellent bus service up to the old town. Our favourite restaurant is L'Entrecote which is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Near to the river and some great walks.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.5
    Good size room very clean, good bathroom, pleasant staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cold in January with only one small electric heater on the wall by the window, I asked a member of staff if he had an extra heater that we could use and he said NO!

    Good size room very clean, good bathroom, pleasant staff, very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    5.8
    OK but too far from town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from centre of town to walk and parking in town not easy. Not enough power points in bedroom and those were too far from bed to be convenient.

    For a one night stopover, it "did the job"

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Good 2nd stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a good size, it was nicely decorated, had a separate toilet and shower room, it was at the back, it was clean and very quiet, the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is in a good position to explore both the Charente river and the town, if you turn left out of the hotel along the river there is a bus stop just along that road where you can catch a bus up to the town and it is a nice walk back, we do not eat breakfast but they were happy to give us coffee, which we had in their spacious nicely decorated dining room overlooking the garden. We had a very pleasant stay, there was nothing to dislike, the family were polite and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Great find, will recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were very thin.

    Pleasantly surprised with this hotel. On arrival the gentleman could not have been more helpful, his English excellent. The room was very spacious with a comfy bed and although facing a busy roundabout the glazing kept the noise at bay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Very efficient checking in and out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu

    Small garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff very nice.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea making facilities Too far away for us to walk to the centre. lots of traffic noise

    Staff very nice. Hotel very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the hotel might put you off, but once you go in it’s fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Exceptionally clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from centre ville (uphill)

    Exceptionally clean and modern

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Our stay was good and would use the hotel again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit awkward too find.

    The room and staff were really good it was well situated, room was quiet bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money, with friendly welcome, and great breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was weak.

    Friendly Staff , convenient parking - great breakfast and good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location, stayed before and hope to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good location, stayed before and hope to stay again. Friendly staff, ample breakfast and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Good value with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location good. 20 min walk to old town. Very quite at night. Very helpful staff- good English spoken.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    The owners are very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated Bout 20 minutes walk from the old town

    The owners are very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent room for family of 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant on site and town centre is 20 minutes walk

    Excellent room for family of 5

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Very good hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff and roomQ

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little two far to walk to the Centre of Angouleme.

    Comfortable bed and parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Charming hotel with excellent hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The recent reburihment meant that everything was clean, smart and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Great sleep for a family with big kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second visit to the hotel. Big family bedroom. Lovely staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Very good value, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.5
    Excellent for the overnight stop when traveling through France
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the owner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    Ideal for overnight stay if travelling N to S or visa versa
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great family run hotel, ideal for overnight stay if travelling N to S or visa versa. Good breakfast selection from buffet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable two star
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy plumbing although it did not disturb us during the night.

    Room size.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.3
    Clean, quiet and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet and friendly. Good location, private off road parking. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Easy stop on our way to the south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big bed. Quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Helpfull staff, good bed,good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Circuit des Remparts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Excellent value hotel, not far from the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, apart from the location on a busy roundabout

    The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable, the breakfast good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.4
    Extremely noisy due to hard traffic the whole night long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy due to hard traffic the whole night long.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant staff, first class cleanliness, comfortable bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Pleasant staff, first class cleanliness, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Bus stop close by going to the town if you prefer not to walk. Our whole experience at this hotel was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.8
    Hotel interior looks like new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel interior looks like new. Very clean, quiet room with good quality of bed. Breakfast is very fine. I've liked the chat with Boss who advised us very well. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    I was delighted when I saw the exterior of the hotel on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A comfy chair in the room would have been nice. I walked a long way and it would have been good to come back to that.

    I was delighted when I saw the exterior of the hotel on arrival, it looked so bright and well-kept. Excellent location with a 20 minute walk, mainly along the River Charente, to the centre of Angouleme, the latter part a bit of an uphill climb. I think it was family members manning Reception, they were very helpful, informative and kind.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.3
    Very accommodating with our late arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very accommodating with our late arrival. The bed was a good combo of comfy and firm so you don't get bounched of the bed when the person next to you moves in their sleep.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.5
    a decent hotel not far away from Angouleme city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi slow.

    a decent hotel not far away from Angouleme city centre. Breakfast OK. Family room excellent size for 5 people. relatively calm area with some passing traffic.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.2
    Able to park directly outside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Able to park directly outside the hotel. The town is very old with narrow streets. Parking is a lot harder nearer the centre of the town and this is within walking distance (though uphill).

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is well located, rooms were clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with more storage space in rooms. Finding somewhere to eat in the evening could be an issue.

    The hotel is well located, rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with a reasonable variety. Staff are very heplful and friendly. Would use again.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad, but the parking is shared and during the day is full. Better to park after 18.00.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotless and the breakfast area was continually cleaned and food topped up. Good variety of choice also. The rooms had nice bed linen and were spacious. 15 minute walk along the riverside to the centre. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    10
    Excellently placed to walk along the river and into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellently placed to walk along the river and into Angouleme. Easy parking in car park opposite. Friendly, efficient and informative reception staff. Big room, stylish and spotlessly clean. Will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    Very clean hotel that appeared recently refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were looking for Hotel Balladins but it is actually called Hôtel Saint Antoine, so it took a while to find. Very small car park at rear but there's a big public car park but the river directly opposite. No towels in the room and although we asked for some they never arrived, so had call someone out when we got back from dinner at 11pm. Reception is closed at night, so if you arrive late you will have to make arrangements to get the code and your room key. Breakfast was very basic.

    Very clean hotel that appeared recently refurbished. Quite Spartan but good value for money. Nowhere nearby to have dinner, so we walked along the river and up a very very steep hill into the old town which is beautiful. Remember the way back because the streets in the old town are very disorientating. Would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no facilities to have a drink after a long drive. There was a beautiful garden but no opportunity to sit there and have a relaxing drink which was a shame. The area was run down and there was nowhere nearby to eat.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was decorated beautifully. Next to it was an excellent garden with chairs.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    An excellent place to stay in Angouleme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    not applicable

    An excellent place to stay in Angouleme. The previous week we had stayed at another hotel near the railway station at a comparable price and were very disappointed. This hotel was a wonderful surprise. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    5.0
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel under construction. Nobody on reception but luckily a guest let us in then called the hotel from the lobby to check us in. The guest was incredibly helpful.

    Comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast at the Hotel was excellent and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was not very good and there is no restaurant at this hotel. Lots of road noise.

    Breakfast at the Hotel was excellent and the room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    The whole hotel shone, is in a great place on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole hotel shone, is in a great place on the river. much better than staying in the town, there is a bus stop nearby if you don't fancy the walk, but most of it was along the river, before going up the hill. The décor of the whole hotel is great and included some quirky bits, the garden was very pretty and a great place to relax. Our room was pristine, the hotel is family owned and they take great pride in it, hence they were only too pleased to help and to provide a very happy stay. Along the river is a pizza restaurant (a boat), which was very good, also there is a creperie nearby on the grass. We plan to return to this hotel in the future because it was so good

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    We loved everything please do not be put off where you are...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We loved everything please do not be put off where you are the walk into the city centre was a good one up a hill and steps but then you are in the heart of the city or you could drive it in 5 mins drive. We enjoyed the helpful staff and the good service . The views from our window was nice and over the river and we saw some memorable sunsets. Beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    7.5
    Central Location on outskits of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No refreshments within the room (Tea/ Coffee making facilities)

    Central Location on outskits of city. Not to Noisy close to river with ample parking close by.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    8.3
    We really liked our room and the gentleman at check-in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Maybe a clearer policy on breakfast as although we were told we could decide in the morning we felt like we had upset them when we turned up

    We really liked our room and the gentleman at check-in was fantastic and dealt with a booking error sensitively. The hotel is not right in the centre but it is not far and close to a lovely river walk

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel Saint Antoine traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: