Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel balladins Arles

1 Chemin Des Moines, 13200 Arles, France

#41 of 42 hotels in Arles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 691 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.4

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    It was all very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all very bad. The check-in machine did not work So we were waiting 4 Hours until someone came, WiFi did not work the whole time even though we went to the reception 3 times to tell them, the shower was cold, the toilet did not work So we had to change the Room... The staff was Slow And did not care about anything. I would not stay there ever again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    2.5
    The worst ever and I'm no hysteric, I've left it a few days before writing. AVOID.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noone at reception for 25minutes, I went all over the 'hotel' shouting and loud whistling, noone. In the end I phoned reception and finally he came down followed by his female assistant and just said 'we were upstairs'. It happened again when I wanted to complain about no heating in the room (January 20&21) and no WiFi.The WiFi he told me, about a dozen times, 'in 20 minutes'. Never on. The room, particularly the carpet, even the wallpaper, was dirty, bathroom sliding door hanging off, 'tired' doesn't come near. That room, 106, is so dark with every light on, and they seemed like 20w bulbs, it's impossible to read, only standing up next to the (small) window during the day. The worst place I've ever stayed in bar none, and as I say, we do all the cheap and cheerfuls, Ibis, Campanile etc but never a Balladins again.And this was the 'Hotel Superieur', God only knows what that implies. AVOID.

    Nothing, honestly - I'm a cheap and cheerful type and travel a lot but this place was beyond the pail and you're doing yourself no favours having them represented by you, no agenda here, no rows with the manager, it was just awful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    3.8
    Worst choice ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rents cheap rooms with private WC, climatisation, free wifi and a supplement for breakfast, the minimum we were happy to have. We weren't expecting the best, but neither the worst... the wifi was not working, the air conditioner either, and it was not possible to open the window because of the smell of the industries surrounding the hotel. The room was old and poorly maintained, the carpets and shower were stained, the bed top cover stinky. The bed white sheets and the towels were clean (luckiely).

    The parking place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    It was really easy to find with ample parking, the staff are...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is in serious need of a make-over, everything is very tired and worn. It is surface clean but most definitely not immaculate. Also the heater element was permanently hot and couldn't be turned off as the controls were all broken. There was no kettle in the top although there were facilities for one. The carpets were filthy with stains although vacuumed, I didn't dare to look at the mattress or the pillows. Although check-out is at 11am the chamber maid opened my door without even knocking at 10:25 when I was in the bathroom. Although it was cheap and convenient I will not rush back here.

    It was really easy to find with ample parking, the staff are really welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    3.8
    Going to Arles during a festival? Think and book in advance.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms depressing. Better to go there if you have a car: During the day there is a bus, but not after 7:30 pm, so you spend in taxis and phone calls what you saved on the hotel. IF you can find a taxi during a festival. Wi-Fi did work some 20 hours (not all together) out of five days. My room's hair dryer wasn't working.

    Two out of three people at the reception are really kind, though overworked. Some restaurants around, and supermarkets, not the best quality but at least you can eat. The hotel is going to make some renovation. There are places much farther from the city: at least you can walk to the hotel, though I've made nicer walks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    5.0
    If for one night you could make do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and on second floor with a lot of baggage. On walking to my into my room,the carpets looked as though they were the original carpets from when first built, I would say about 30 years old. On entering my room, it smelt like a cabbage field and the air con did not work. The receptionist changed my room which smelt a bit better, but the bathroom was falling to pieces. Their were tiles hanging off, a towel rail with no rail and loose fixings, and a toilet seat which moved 2" to one side when you sat on it. Also, the hotel is on a very busy roundabout and major road.

    The receptionist was the best thing about this hotel. She was extremely well presented and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. It was easy to find and the parking was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.8
    No staff in attendance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff at hotel. Staff only can be contacted by phone, and I had no phone. I had to borrow the phone of another resident I met. Staff cannot take bookings - bookings can only be done at location using machine outside.

    Staff answered the phone promptly. Room was satisfactory.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    4.2
    Only for one night stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was a bit rude with us and treated us not as well ad usually should be

    When we asked to the reception to have a different room they accepted our request

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.9
    BAD CHOICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warning! Picture talks very dirty and smells bad! We did not sleep there., lost 60 euro..

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    No airco while offered on the website (37 C°).
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No airco while offered on the website (37 C°). No fridge and no water heater on the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    There was not lift so we had to drag our bags up 2 floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not lift so we had to drag our bags up 2 floors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    The tv was out of order
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    3.8
    Not very clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet was very small and badly kept.

    Car parking was good and easily accessible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    Staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff helpful. Accommodation ok for the price. Some of the facilities a little bit dated and needing some attention.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    Wifi is a disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is a disaster

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift.

    Clean! I slept so well so it must have been so comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice place to stop for a sleep during your travel
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't close to the center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Well priced and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not available 24 hrs

    Easy walk to town centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    Wifi was rather bad and not working at all in the morning
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was rather bad and not working at all in the morning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    The carpet is more stained than a dog kennel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet is more stained than a dog kennel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Wi-Fi unreliable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi is completely unreliable. Seems to be switched off half the time

    Quiet, rooms are nice and clean. Decent bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.3
    Free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.5
    Good for over night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or food facilities at night

    Girl on reception was really helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.0
    Good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The girl charged us for breakfast that we already paid with the reservation. We call next day to ask for an object we forgot in the room, and the unfriendly man of the reception said that he doesn't speak english, and automatically said that was nothing left in the room. The installation is ok for the price but the customer service is bad.

    Good price

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.0
    Comfortable bed and staff were pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room dirty and in poor condition. We were told that the security gate to the car park and the front door to the hotel would be locked at 10pm and we were given the codes to open them This was not the case they were left open all night

    Comfortable bed and staff were pleasant

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    8.8
    Very affordable stay for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was touring on a motorbike and they confirmed the security barrier would be closed every night at 10pm...well it wasn't shut for the entire four days of my trip! I had to ask that the cleaners not leave my door open while they were not in attendance as anyone could walk in and take my iPad/keys to the bike while I was in town, took the bike rather than the bus to make sure it wasn't taken. The staff spoke to the cleaners and it was sorted.

    Very affordable stay for the price. Staff excellent and helped this Englishman understand that a laundry can be found in a petrol station!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a bit far from the city center. This is not a problem if you have a car, since they have a big parking area. I arrived by walk from the train station and it was a long walk.

    The hotel is comfortable and clean. The staff is helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    4.6
    They staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loose panel lying in bathroom. Dimly lit throughout.Walls dirty. Base of shower black with I don't know what. Breakfast awful considering they charge 9 euros

    They staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    6.3
    The hotel was well situated, easy to find, just off the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I asked to change rooms, the allocated room was very tatty, well past its 'sell by' date. In particular the shower required attention and the carpets were covered with stains. The room I moved to was not much better. The cleaners were very thorough, but the carpets were way past saving. I would suggest that they remove them and replace with laminate flooring - similar to that in the bathroom which was much fresher and noticeably cleaner. The hotel was non smoking but I could smell cigarettes and there were burn marks on the furniture and carpets

    The hotel was well situated, easy to find, just off the main route. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good value and everything was fresh. The communal areas were light and fresh and the parking area was good.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.5
    This hotel suited us as we had a car and could drive into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic hotel, dull lighting in bathroom. No lift and a bit outdated. Fine for a short stay.

    This hotel suited us as we had a car and could drive into town without having to stay in town. There was secure parking which was convenient and only a 5 minute drive into town.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    8.3
    Human quality of the responsible, easy to find, quiet place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    price for breakfast, the parking could be nicer, the light outside enter in the rooms.

    Human quality of the responsible, easy to find, quiet place, boulangerie just crossing the street

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    6.7
    Close to provincial roads, supermarket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far from centre of town (20-25 minutes walking).

    Close to provincial roads, supermarket. Quiet place. Secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    4.2
    Dirty room, the carpet was really dirty and smell like pee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty room, the carpet was really dirty and smell like pee.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    5.8
    Free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit run down, not terrible though. Had to drive in and park to see the city Centre. A bit expensive for what it is.

    Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Superb !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Superb !

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, good orientation at arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Equipment bit dingy, but clean, so good. Breakfast with very little choice (and costs EUR 9).

    Very friendly staff, good orientation at arrival.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    5.5
    THE MOKET ON THE FLOOR DIRTY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    THE MOKET ON THE FLOOR DIRTY. No shampoo. Bathroom not so good

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.5
    Stains all over the carpet in the room and in the hotel...
    • Couple

    Stains all over the carpet in the room and in the hotel corridors.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: