Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Val Vert 3 stars

10 Les Portes de Bourgogne, 21320 Pouilly-en-Auxois, France

#1 of 4 hotels in Pouilly-en-Auxois

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 303 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely owners more than helpful, very comfortable bed, the rooms are more than adequate. Courtpaillle restaurant adjacent to the hotel, and of course the hotel is adjacent to the motorway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really, a couple of comfortable chairs in the room would have made it even better.

    The room and hotel generally were spotless, well appointed and kept to a high standard. We were two in a family room but that gave us more than enough space. Breakfast was very good, Marie and Etienne proved welcome and accommodating hosts nothing was too much trouble. We stayed 4 nights and ate at the grill next door a couple of times and enjoyed the meals and service there too. As we were touring in a classic car the secure gated car park influenced the Hotel choice and we would happily return. The hotel is a little way from the town but that was not an issue for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful couple who are running the hotel Very nice breakfast with fresh fruit, pancakes, bread, cereals, eggs, etc We stayed here one night on our way back from our holiday. It is very close to the high way but you have the advantage of staying in a small village

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was limiting for food options. The "garden view" wasn't much. The coupon given for the restaurant next door was expired.

    Breakfast was great. Value was good. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much around - although we did find a lovely little restaurant 4km away.

    Great location just off the motorway for an overnight stop. Very friendly staff and a good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have arrived after midnight (black saturday) and it was not an issue. Big room, quiet and clean. Separate bathroom and toilet are nice. We enjoyed the French breakfast and hospitality of the staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was outstanding Propper scrambled egg, bacon, cured meats and cheeses. Lovely bread and pastries. Even a juicer and citrus fruit to press. It is the best hotel breakfast we have ever had.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was very comfortable and modern, with helpful & friendly staff. It was extremely clean and there was a convenient restaurant next door. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean room excellent breakfast good parking for bicycles

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night

    Breakfast is excellent and staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing breakfast and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is closest to the auto show area

    Good breakfast and comfortable and clean bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything OK

    Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks to have been refurbished throughout, so appears as brand new. All very clean and tidy, excellent and close to the auto route.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pleasure to stay, nothing to complain. We arrived late, and had a warm welcome, and a great breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable beds and a good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to note.

    Great location for a stop over point and to see chateauneuf &/or to walk along the canal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note.

    Excellent location for stop over. Friendly and helpful owners. Large car park. Quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proximity to Canal de Bourgogne and motorways Attentiveness of staff Cleanliness Quiet despite being next to A16

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Extremely kind and helpful management and staff - lovely people. Very practical large rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet. Good storage for bikes and plenty of parking. Convenient for town, autoroute and canal. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing interesting in the area. Ibis hotel and McDonalds nearby, another restaurant next door (franchise).

    Big and clean rooms. Easy access from highway. Ideal for stop-over in long trips.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shame there's no restaurant on site. Place next door adequate but unexciting and terrible for us as veggies! On return part of our journey asked owners who directed us to a gorgeous itLian restaurant in the village 5 minutes drive away that we loved.

    Exceptionally friendly and clean. Good sized room. Had a quadruple set up of a double and 2 proper single beds for kids. Great value. Most hotels lucky to get a sofa bed for kids.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Could hear every step of the guests around us due to parquet floors. Air conditioning would have been great but we knew this when booking

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We missed airco, because that particular day was very hot.

    Good location, only 1 minute from the highway, very clean room and bathroom, very nice breakfest, good price, very friendly people! Close to a very nice town Chateauneuf, which is nice to visit and to eat somethinh.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing / it was perfect for what we wanted.

    The manager was very friendly and helpful. We arrived hot and sweaty after cycling along the Burgundy canal - she locked our bicycles up in the shed out the back and checked us in early. After showers in modern recently renovated room we had lovely cold beers in the bar. The restaurant next door is good too.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was advertised on booking.com as having facilities for making hot drinks. This was not so and was very disappointing after a very long journey to the hotel.

    Very friendly welcome and being able to have breakfast from 7am which was great for an early start for the long drive ahead.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price is a little high for the hotel facility is very basic. The bed is too soft.

    Good location, near high way/ Mcdonnalds' and a small supper market. The host family is great and very helpful, the room is big ( 4 persons for us two ), free parking and wifi signal is good.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If you travel in a wheelchair the shower is a bit difficult to access.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. There was no problem that we arrived 20 minutes after the latest possible check-in. The breakfast buffet was great and thoughtfully arranged.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Warm welcome from the staff

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly reception. Clean and basic comforts.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near to the Burgundy canal La Paille Courte restaurant next door was ok, but not special Madame was very friendly and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice and friendly, Good and clean. Nice long breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great little hotel for a stopover, friendly staff and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet was not well ventilated.

    The couple running the hotel were great.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Best breakfast so far on our tour of Europe.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for us attending a wedding in the region, very clean and quiet. Perfect for what we needed.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice host and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to note.

    Friendly owners. Child friendly. Well located just off autoroute. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nearby restaurants not to our liking? Room was unusual?

    Bed was comfortable, and hotel was easy to find.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: