Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Bastide de Marie

Route de Bonnieux - Quartier de la Verrerie, 84560 Ménerbes, France

#4 of 5 hotels in Ménerbes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Gorgeous. Did not want it to end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use better wall mirrors in the room for makeup and dressing. And a bedside charging station for cell phones. Other than that. It was perfect.

    The facility is beautifully stylized and decorated, provides ample nooks, rooms, patios for private time yet has a wonderful dining room and terrace for drinks. The breakfast is delicious and generous and served on the stone terrace with linens. The dinners are expertly prepared by a talented chef and staff and kindly includes three easy entree options to satisfy anyone. The chef also kindly prepared a salad in lieu of a weightier first course and fresh fruit for dessert for my daughter and me. Without fuss. The winery on the property is lovely and we arranged a private tour and tasting that was both casually easy and also a highlight. The wine is very nice. The beautiful stone hilltop town of Menerbe is easily situated a five minute drive away. This trip was a celebration of my 20 year old daughters one year cancer remission. And it was perfect. I’m very grateful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    the vineyard surrounding the site, the fireplace at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast was average, maybe because it was included in the room price, the espresso could be improved if a better machine is installed. not all rooms have a bathroom with a door, and to have so, you might be asked to accept to upgrade the room. recommended: separating the functions of welcoming guests/helping with luggage from the function of the boss of the property.

    the vineyard surrounding the site, the fireplace at the salon,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    La Bastide de Marie is the most elegant, refreshing, and gorgeous location. After seeing it on various travel and lifestyle blogs, it met and still exceeded my expectations. Already trying to figure out a way to get back someday! The breakfast was amazing, and we ended opting for the dinner and apertif option, which we did not regret. One of the best meals I've ever had!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A magical place in Provence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of a thing that could have been better.

    La Bastide de Marie is an extraordinary vacation destination. The accommodations are luxurious, the food is exceptional, the staff is attentive and friendly, and the location is second-to-none: the beauty of Provence is at your doorstep. We did the half-board, which included breakfast and one meal, with wine. By all means, breakfast at the property, use the day for touring the Provencal countryside and then have dinner at La Bastide de Marie. The food is exceptional and is perfect after a day of sightseeing. Between breakfast and dinner, the food is so plentiful, we didn't need anything else. And the wines of the Domaine de Marie are very good. The staff was friendly and cheerful and eager to make our stay exceptional. They were truly a joy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious but friendly, with excellent food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was in the bath and the bath was very difficult to step into.

    Beautiful, peaceful environment; decor; casual atmosphere; friendly and helpful staff; excellent food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    beautiful landscape, convenient location (some yummy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some minor flaws. Housekeeping seems tedius. Although I hang 'do not disturb' card but they kept knocking so hard when my mother was alone and came in and insisted to have cleaning. Mini bar not arranged well.(it was not fully equipped in line with the list, some were already consumed, i was worried that it will be charged to me mistakenly) No water kettle in the room. Lastly I didn't like the towels. there were lots of lint.

    beautiful landscape, convenient location (some yummy, cost-effective restaurants nearby!) , super-kind reception! at first I did not like the view in the room and asked if i can change the room with better view. Reception was very cooperative with my request and the next day they offered me a room with the nicer sea view. I was satisfied with their service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    A luxurious pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is wonderful in every respect: the food, the room,the pool, the decor-straight out of an interior design magazine-homely, comfortable luxury. Easy to find off the D3 past Menerbes and a great touring base.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Doesn't get much better!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Marie
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place was amazing. From the service, the location in beautiful vineyards, the delicious breakfasts, the lavender smell throughoutt the farmhouse, the wine and food at dinner. Loved the fresh apricots, cherries and lavender in the rooms. It's only a 5 minute drive to Menerbes, a gorgeous hilltown with some restaurants and views. Would go back in a heartbeat. !!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    A hotel we would definitely return to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gem in the lovely Luberon - beautifully furnished in a restfulll vineyard setting - attentive & helpful staff - attractive pools - very good spa - delicious dining experience in attractive conservatory dining room or on spacious terrace - lit fireplace for relaxing with a book or cocktail - returning guests testify to its welcoming ambiance & location -thank you Margot, Laurent & Mireille for your personal service!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff extremely friendly. Surrounding beautiful and food and wine top notch! Will return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful view around hotel, nice classy style of decoration...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view around hotel, nice classy style of decoration, bed is very comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Marie
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful accommodations, excellent food and helpful, friendly staff. Perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Bathroom small and incovenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Extremely satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It suited us very well

    Atmosphere,local wine and food.Staff attentive and good humoured.Local walks.Interesting places to visit.Parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Intimate;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single reason

    Intimate; romantic and old world French with a large comfy bed with beautiful linens

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    The food was delicious and the place had a lovely informal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bastide Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was delicious and the place had a lovely informal feel with friendly staff . Hope to go again .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.9
    Some of the staff was unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Marie
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff was unfriendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    A special place to return to even if you don't believe in repeats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Marie
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place, excellent staff and fantastic food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, wonderful food & wine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small things...noisy fan in bedroom window, better ventilation & tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, wonderful food & wine, friendly staff - what could be better? Very nice touch is that on half board package, you get your wine from the onsite winery included

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    5.8
    Most idyllic and romantic place in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service team sometimes not very professionel. The "formule" with the diner including all drinks is not suitable for everybody. Food was not up to expectation. Toilets have a smell. All over all the price is quite strong.

    Most idyllic and romantic place in the middle of the Provence with short drives to the many places of interest. Beautiful decoration with open fireplace. Breakfast complete and creative

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful location, excellently designed and decorated space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the Blue room, and the toilette and shower combo does not work at all. We are both thin and had a ridiculous time trying to get in and out of the shower and out the door. Guessing you were limited by the space/window/plumbing, but it definitely stands out as poor planning and very uncomfortable.

    Beautiful location, excellently designed and decorated space overall - especially patio and dining area, fireplace wonderful, staff very friendly and attentive (seemed to love being there), delicious food, and the wine was superb!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Lovely property with excellent facilities and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely property with excellent facilities and staff. We had a charming room although a little unusual with shower and toilet upstairs and sinks and tub downstairs we got used to it. Really a top notch experience.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful bedroom and bathroom and perfect, quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one had told us that lunch finished at 1.30 which is early for france/summer/holidays so we technically missed lunch which was very annoying. We were given a salad but as the rest of the tables were still being served their food we thought this was unreasonable. The larger swimming pool needed tidying up - alot of the plants around it were dead.

    Beautiful bedroom and bathroom and perfect, quiet location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    Dinner was fabulous .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mauve room was disappointing ... Bathroom as you walked into the room which wasn't ideal ... Had to keep moving toiletries from shower upstairs to bath and basins downstairs ... And noisy aircon

    Dinner was fabulous ... Was amazing to have dinner next to the vines

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    Toilets with wash basins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilets with wash basins!! Toast ( proper) with eggs. Consistently good coffee with biscuits etc. and other little things which would make a good hotel a great hotel!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    Difficult to find but in a wonderful scenic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine.

    Difficult to find but in a wonderful scenic area. Staff was terrific! Extremely helpful and friendly. Great food also.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Most preferable place for honeymoon and wedding !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overprice breakfast

    Most preferable place for honeymoon and wedding !

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.6
    Out of a movie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Out of a movie! Beyond beautiful, lovely, such kind staff. Great food & wine. Can't even describe how lovely.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Amazing place and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was terrible. It is a big problem if you need to stay connected for work.

    Amazing place and great staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    8.3
    Lovely setting in vineyard, very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny shower

    Lovely setting in vineyard, very nice room. Great staff and beautiful outdoor areas.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: