Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Baumanière - Les Baux de Provence 5 stars

Route d'Arles, 13520 Les Baux-de-Provence, France

#6 of 7 hotels in Les Baux-de-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 261 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Very Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought our room was going to be more resort style and spacious than what it was, so that was a little disappointing considering the amount of money paid.

    All staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful. Great location and lovely grounds. The bed was very comfortable and room very clean. Dining at Carbo d"Or was fantastic and really appreciated the quality service and food. The village was readily accessible for tourist activities and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful area, but the property needs some updating to bring it to the 5* rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 5* property, we were surprised that the grounds, pool and outdoor spaces showed wear and did not show attention to details. There was a patio area outside of our room that had outdoor umbrellas laying on the ground and the furniture needed updating. The pool areas were nothing special with cracks in the bottom and leaves in the pool. There was an area for children that appeared to be an afterthought with plastic play equipment and some poor goats that should be released to live in a sanctuary or other better conditions. We dined at the La Cabro d'Or and were pretty surprised by the lackluster meal considering the other restaurant on site is a 2* Michelin. Our server was wonderful, but they were out of our first and second choices for bottles of wine on their list, rather surprising. The food was ok--our foie gras terrine was served cold right out of refrigeration, and the main course was a strange combination.

    Beds were lovely, the views from the property gorgeous and the proximity to Les Baux-en-Provence fantastic. The bath tub was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The distance between 2 main blocks is very big and hardly feasible by walking as there is no special road indicated. No buggy cars available and the reception is 1 km away, which is ridiculous. The hotel is located in a sort of a niche, which gives a lot of insects, unsupportable heat and no wind. We had to change our room as the one the hotel gave to us was almost on the basement, dark and with tiny windows. The village nearby is beautiful; however it is a Disneyland type of empty village with no market of grocery store.

    Swimming pool area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Unique location and beautiful facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive but that is the price you have to pay for such an amazing experience

    Unique location and beautiful facilities. Amazing ambassadorship of the French gastronomy and taste of life

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a little impersonal. The sommelier in La Cabro d’Or was a bit inattentive.

    Lovely setting. Lovely room. Both restaurants were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location for visiting Les Baux and the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very overpriced, but probably normal for a luxury hotel. Only ate breakfast there one time.

    Our room was very lovely and spacious, we had upgraded our room. We had an excellent meal at La Cabro D'Or

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Baumarnière is also a perfect winter escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot for a winter visit.

    Beautiful hotel next to the village. Views were very nice and restaurant perfect, and staff were great across the sites. Facilities, gardens were lovely but would be nice if pool was heated. Carrieres de lumières is a must!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    + Well-proportioned room (junior suite) and possibly a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Heating system switched of during the night and we woke up freezing cold around 4:30am- had to get up and work out how to reprogram system to heat - seems time was set wrong and went to day mode - Clearly "off-season" with limited services (Spa, main resto closed during our stay) - saw comparable room rates at nearby Domaine de Manville with open Spa.

    + Well-proportioned room (junior suite) and possibly a recently renovated bathroom (although location of the room made it a bit dark) + The grounds are nice for a walk

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous and the room was spacious. The views were fantastic and the level of service was phenomenal. Great place for a romantic getaway and the restaurants on-site are stellar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    A hotel with a history and next to the "history".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel with a history and next to the "history". A wonderful place is the canyon and the castle. Great restaurant. The chief prepared a "live" menu, bread is magnificent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Certainly a place I would love going back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom layout. mirror end of room with little light. Nothing to hang on when stepping out of bath after showering.

    Second restaurant (not michelin star one) serves great food at reasonable price in beautiful surroundings. The gardens were lovely and peaceful. Short walking distance to village and carrieres. Had a blissful massage at the spa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service is terrible. We waited for ages to be served, people were working but ignored us. They could have given us a signal to say they would just a be a minute as busy but no, just ignored. Other guests came in and went ahead to a table, it was our first time and we expected to be seated and shown where the breakfast was, options for cooked food, drinks orders etc. Finally we got served and shown to a table, but the attitude was that we were not welcome and we were not asked whether we wanted to be inside or out, shade or sun. I asked a question regarding the food options but the waitress ignored me. My wife could have asked in French, if the problem was the language, but the waitress just looked at us like we were idiots. This is a Relais Chateaux 5 star property, the breakfast is very expensive, we expected some service. Reception staff seem inexperienced. Again, it could be a language problem but there is not much effort to make us feel welcome or to explain the facilities, compared to other similar places we have stayed. The most helpful and friendly staff were the night manager on reception and the maintenance guy who helps with organizing bikes, parking etc. These are the people that should be front and center for a 5 star establishment.

    The facilities are outstanding. Beautiful buildings, rooms, swimming pools. The site is big but everything conveniently located. We hired e-bikes and toured the local area. Michelin star restaurant is worth every penny. The goats and ducks were very cool, just hanging out. Despite the negative points regarding breakfast we will definitely stay here again, just without the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    A paradise on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location: Baux, Carriere de Lumiere, Alpilles walk and cycling tours. And Arles, Tarascon, Camargue in near vicinity. Magnificent restaurant. Quiet and relaxing pool at the Manoir. A beautiful breakfast setting in the gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Experience expected for a Relais & Chateau with charm on top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was very bad to acquire within the room (acceptable in the private patio outside) and considering there was little mobile network as well, it is a bit annoying

    The domain is exquisite, the room is nice and very well equipped. Excellent bed. The Oustau restaurant is a delight (OK normal for a ** Michelin) and the breakfast served on the outside patio was all you can expect from a Relais & Chateau. The spa has a nice "Sensory Pool" and Hammam (Charge 20E extra) and 3 large external pool (included)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Provincial Luxury, Gorgeous Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At times we struggled with the English/French conversations, especially over the phone. We would also have liked a cheap and quick dining option, especially for lunch.

    We stayed at the Baumaniere for several days for our Honeymoon. We were blown away by our entire experience. The hotel is located in a beautiful valley surrounded by high hills and rocks, beautiful vineyards, and olive orchards. The grounds are spectacular- gardens, paths, and terraces to explore, relax in, and eat in. Our room was in the Manor house and came with its own private terrace where we ate breakfast most mornings and dinner one evening. The room was clean and we received both a morning cleaning plus an evening turn-down service. The staff was always extremely accommodating and willing to offer advice. We ate at both restaurants and would classify them as dining experiences rather than just a meal. The food is remarkably prepared, and each course is some of the finest food we have ever tasted. While we were there, we enjoyed the garden pools most days, spent a morning at the spa, played tennis and went for a hike, and ventured up on foot to Les Baux des Provence and toured the medieval castle ruins. We had a luxurious stay and cannot wait to return!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Grat place, another version of Paradiso!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was great appart from some aspects of the cleaning service - the guys need to do some fixes in bathroom, but no major problems. For all staying there I recommend tobook restaurants in advance, as impossible to gate a table withour prior booking.

    Grat spot, great place, happy to come back! It was just 2 of us - me and my wife, but we enjoyed it so much that we plan to comeback with kids in Autumn. Also it is a great base for exploring nearby towns and attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    We loved this hotel it was out treat and the only 5* we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel it was out treat and the only 5* we stayed in. Great pools and set in gorgeous gardens. We visited the 2* Michelin restaurant and enjoyed every part of it. Lovely experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.0
    Great restaurant in poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a lot: - great service in restaurant(highest level possible), but poor in hotel - no heated pool and the SPA is good for hostel (but overpriced with non professional low-level cosmetics) - according to the day, sometimes too noisy (very close to the road) - rooms and breakfast are good for 3 star hotel max. - no design, except pretty Provencal boutique Hotel is overpriced and too overrated.

    Top gastronomical restaurant is really worth to visit and enjoy a great food with a nice ambiance very close to wonderful Les-Bau-de-Provence. Honestly, the restaurant for me is one of the best in France. Ask for the rooms with terrace. View from terrace is nice. I like this area and huge choice for superb accommodation. Local shower accessories (good), but with a poor quality (cheap). Good Provence style boutique.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.8
    Paradise in Les Baux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other than the fact that the price of the rooms is a bit over the top, there was nothing about this establishment that I did not like. I would hurry to make plans to return.

    I liked everything. The comfort and tranquility of the room, the location of the Hotel, the stunning property, the acceuil, the warmth of our welcome, the people in general were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    FAB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the whole experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Free room upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free room upgrade

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Everything about this property were exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about this property were exceptional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful time at this charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sun loungers at the two pools should be upgraded.

    The gardens are amazing. Very good dinner at the hotel. Very relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered fresh juice for breakfast I never got

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting and luxury venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snotty waiters

    Most beautiful gardens in a unique provencale setting. Superb accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    A real treat and did not disappoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michelin started restaurant.

    Fabulous restaurant and wonderful setting. It’s our 3rd time here and we’d love to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous gardens, friendly staff, lovely rooms and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Gorgeous gardens, friendly staff, lovely rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable but you do pay for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service could have been quicker

    The unfussey atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    We came 10 mins before breakfast time was supposed to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came 10 mins before breakfast time was supposed to be over, were shown to a table and then simply ignored. No service!!!!'

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    an amazing and unforgetable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all was up to our expectation

    the quality of food, the pool, the breakfast and the 2 star Michelin restaurant which is an experience not to be missed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    The dinner at Cabro d'Or was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner at Cabro d'Or was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Although very expensive, management (not the staff) is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although very expensive, management (not the staff) is not gentle enough to solve small requests Room was small

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Real Provence with luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the swimming pools could be heated.

    Beautiful gardens, very secluded, nice pools.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    3.8
    terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception far from the rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Pool too cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool too cold. Breakfast too expensive. No coffee in room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Great retreat in Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English proficiancy of staff

    Surrounding, facility itself, the property, restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.5
    The dinner in the main restaurant was absolutely wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner in the second restaurant was not good at all. Our bathroom was not fit for purpose. The shower head had no proper fitment and leaked all over the floor. The basin tap sprayed water all over one & my husband banged his head on it when leaning forward.

    The dinner in the main restaurant was absolutely wonderful & also very expensive. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    8.3
    The two restaurants, with wonderful French cuisine, from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wanted to rent a car, since the hotel is far from any big town, Avignon or Arles, but I had to manage pretty much by myself.I wish the staff would have helped me more, then just put me in line with whatever car rental company I chose.

    The two restaurants, with wonderful French cuisine, from Provence, with a wonderful chef. The spa was nice too. It was winter, so I couldn't appreciate the gardens as much as I could have in the spring or the summer.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service was terrible. It shouldn't take more than 45 minutes for them to bring something we asked to our room. I can go on. I was served a bottle of wine that was corked; when I pointed that out to the sommelier, he arrogantly told me that that was what it's supposed to be like. He has no idea how much I know about wine; it was corked, period. In any case you don't argue with the customer regarding this; we paid thousands of euros for our stay and the wine was just €110; it's not worth it. Everything is so good about this place except service.

    Location. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    The setting, the facilities are marvelous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't bother to eat at the 2 star Michelin restaurant; the food in the lower restaurant is just as good and half the price.

    The setting, the facilities are marvelous.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Think we got one of least attractive rooms from pictures I have seen, but the room was comfortable, although up 2 flights of steps.

    Beautiful setting. Excellent service although very pricey for only morning coffee.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    Michelin starred Oustau restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold Pool. Confused check-in due to two centre arrangement of Hotel.

    Michelin starred Oustau restaurant. Lovely room. Location near Les Beaux. Gardens. Lovely Staff. Cabro D'or Restaurant in main Hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.8
    Gardens and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom, old matress, not properly working A/C, bad Wi-Fi, expensive and bad breakfast- poor value for money. Not what it used to be 20 to 10 years ago!!!

    Gardens and pool

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    10
    The Baumaniere has always been a class act.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Baumaniere has always been a class act. The addition of Cabro d'Or has not diminished it. The grounds are beautiful, the room was amazing, the food, the gardens, all fantastic. 5 star all the way!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    Location, food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We took our 14 month old, and initially were put in a suite on the 2nd floor, and although it was beautiful it was anything but practical. The suite itself had 2 levels. We eventually got moved but only after threatening to check out early. After the move it was much better on the ground floor. Staff aren't helpful (except for the bell boy who was brilliant), we weren't told that breakfast wasn't included, so not best pleased about that. Food is top notch if a little pricey. A lovely place, but not ideal for kids.

    Location, food.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.5
    The hotel was very calm and quiet and we enjoyed relaxing in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel just opened that week after the winter closure and there were lots of building works happening at the front of it. Not great.

    The hotel was very calm and quiet and we enjoyed relaxing in its beautiful grounds

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    Quiet surroundings, lovely grounds, comfortable and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kettle and tea/coffee available in the room

    Quiet surroundings, lovely grounds, comfortable and well located to see this part of pRovence

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    The price per value ratio in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The price per value ratio in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    Le restaurant la cabro d'or
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Le restaurant la cabro d'or

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    The setting is magical.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The setting is magical. The food is excellent without being trendy or fancy. The wine list is a treasure trove!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Amazing location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing location and service. The food was superb!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Fabulous restaurant experience and stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous restaurant experience and stunning location.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    The food is outstanding and the situation marvellous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting of internal paths and roadways needs improving.

    The food is outstanding and the situation marvellous.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    Food, service and location all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a bit unorganised still since the merger between Baumaniere and La Cabro D'Or

    Food, service and location all excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Great place to stay, good air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How to get there by car is not very clear.

    Great place to stay, good air. full of grass scent,

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel, situated central to multiple other lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel, situated central to multiple other lovely destinations . Perfect for luxurious home base when exploring the area

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: