Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Belazur 3 stars

23-25-27 place d'Armes, 62100 Calais, France

#30 of 34 hotels in Calais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 958 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in the below average bathroom, which had one light out and no natural lighting. When I queried the hot water they said it was fixed yesterday both days we were there?! The alarm went at 11pm just as we were relaxing for the night. And parking is extra. Linen was nice but bed was not comfortable, none of us had a good nights sleep.

    Location is right in the centre of Calais and close to ferry terminal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very old, hot water and wifi went out during our overnight stay. Breakfast is overpriced, 8 euros per adult, 5 per child for the amount of food that is offered.

    Hotel was directly in front of Calais central square near the Eurotunnel and Ferry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) the shower in my room flooded 2) shower was cold in all rooms 3) shower heads and rails were broken 4) there was blood on the bed linen 5) they tried to charge us an extra €3 per Bike to keep in garage

    It was difficult to like anything due to feeling angry and disappointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tatty. Stained carpet, curtains that don’t hang properly. Loo seat not properly fixed, very slow to get hot water through shower & very low pressure

    Staff were friendly and tried to be helpful. Breakfast was fine - nice bread and coffee!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is dark and full of broken doors. Lift not working. Room is smelly. Blanket is smelly. Not soundproof, it is very noisy at night and room not clean.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is clearly on its last legs, as seen from the slapdash painting of the gloomy grey walls everywhere. The morning staff did not wish to serve us just cafe au lait instead of breakfast - but he did dash out with a small paper cup of coffee when he saw me standing outside - that I am clearly an invalid - so thanks. Still, it served us well as a stopover before taking the boat home.

    We obtained this room at a special low rate. The (evening) receptionist was helpful, and the bed comfortable - and we had extra pillows as requested.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t too helpful or friendly no tea or coffee making in the room room wasn’t clean and bathroom was dirty no cups or shower gel not explained how to get in to hotel if was out till late

    Was facing the town centre and was comfortable very basic hotel and shower was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit basic too, bit too basic for 8 Euros I thought. The outside of the hotel is really shabby. People might not realise that the inside is clean, if a bit basic in some areas.

    Beds Clean and comfortable. Bathroom a bit basic. Staff exceptional, welcoming, helpful, kind, thoughtful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worn appearance, absence of bar or other facilities, very utilitarian fitttings, carpets, furniture, etc. Only one man as staff?, probably little security in consequence.

    Central position, friendly helpful reception, but hotel is tired and in need of complete renovation. Room was spartan, with no bedside light or control, fused bulb in shower room so difficult to shave, but clean and served its purpose. Quiet and easy to sleep, breakfast adequate in rather empty spartan room, and coffee machine past its best but excellent croissant and bread.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paintwork a bit shabby, bathroom small, have to negotiate space between shower door and sink! When we left Sunday am, no staff on desk, waited 10 mins, knocked on kitchen door to hand keycard in.

    On our arrival the guy on reception was really friendly, helpful, welcoming. Room spotlessly clean, light and bright. Lovely crisp bedding on comfortable bed, clean carpets and furniture. Modern tv and remote. Clean bathroom with loo-roll, soap, lashings of hot water. Our room looked over the back and was quiet, no noise issues.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to be sure of system to get back inside after a night out. Someone seemed to be waiting outside to let us in. Is that how it usually works?

    Fine functional hotel. Ideal location. Would us it again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drink facilities in room would be appreciated. The very small cranky lift (l suffer from claustrophobia) but due to age couldn't handle lugging the bags up the stairs, so my problem, not to put others off. That Booking .com was not clear that there was plenty of restaurants right on the doorstep, also that it didn't reveal that the hotel overlooked the square where there was plenty of parking.

    That the room overlooked the large central square, which had so many places to eat was difficult to decide on which one to choose. That also part of the square was designated for parking (but to get a space arrive early as soon fills up as evening descends). If breakfast wasn't required a free cup of coffee or glass of juice was available. The room was clean and adequate for a nights stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little bare. Perhaps a little bit of colour to brighten it up!!

    I was greeted in a polite and efficient manner, good staff training. The location is very convenient, 20 minutes walk from the ferry. I've used many hotels in Calais, and will probably use this one again. Food and drink within 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets are in need of a cleaning but otherwise all was good for the price paid.

    Location was good for us and the price for our booking online was the best. Front desk staff was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first of all . when arrived my booking was prepaid. but receptionist said it is not and I need to pay commission of 50 euros. door didn't close so basically didn't sleep all night. weird people walking around a hotel. hotel dosn't look anything like on the pictures. there was hair and blood stains on the bed. had to had my clothes on. absolutely horrible place. DO NOT STAY HERE!

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we stayed in had old furniture shower wasnt working properly toliet seat was also broken dryed up paint also on floor..

    Inside of the hotel was welcoming, the hall way was quite smart.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room could have been vaccumed, it was slightly bitty. However overall a good experience.

    It was very close to where we needed to be, and the amenities were on the door step.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of room- facing outside rubbish area Very slow check in- we were the the only people at check in no breakfast noisy lift broken down tiny rooms not very clean

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Third time at the hotel. This time I landed in a shoebox! Tiny room, bathroom and shower tiny, shower broken, TV not working properly at all, and Wifi superslow. Its amazing the variety of rooms available, from tiny to spacious and amenities great to amenities bad. I had good ones and bad ones. This one was unsatisfactory...best to communicate ahead of yourself. Nevertheless bed was good and all was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived after the official check.in time, but check in was painless and quick. Room was much bigger than expected as I got a family room with extra stockbeds. Bathroom was spacious, Wifi was good. I was happy about everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lock and a handle on the bathroom door would have been handy ! Breakfast advertised at 7am not available till 8am by which time we were on the ferry!

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not nice, stains on carpet, shower looked very tired, old windows which allowed every little noise to be heard in room and the hotel is in centre of Calais so we didn't sleep till 2am not by our choice. It may be better if you get room on the back of property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their parking with fees (not written in the ad) The dirty floor in the room The lights / spots not working in the room 1 out of 4 in the bathroom and 2/4 in the room

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very tired building and the carpet needs replacing.

    A very cheap accomodation for a family of 4. We stayed overnight after travelling from Italy and crossing over back to UK the next day. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night club below our room that played music very loudly till 2:00 am. No other room abailable I was told. Also people talking until late at night in room next door. Breakfast not good value for money.

    Staff very welcoming and offered car park after struggling to park outside hotel. Room clean for a 2-Star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lights were not working and despite asking twice they didnot repair it. The water outlet of bath was bloked and despite asking twice they didnot repair it. Elevator was defected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place in the city, Casual breakfast was better than expected. The surroundings where nice. Good starting point to walk around the city. Nice coastal town with history.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working. Shower very under pressured. Late checkout was agreed in advance, shame housekeeping weren't informed.

    Excellent welcome from charming man on reception desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets are really dirty and overall felt like a dingy place.

    The hotel is perfectly situated if you need a place to stay when you arrive by ferry late at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected parking at the hotel (one of the filters in my booking.com search) but there is none so we had to drive around looking for an on-street space.

    Late check-in, easy to find

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a dump, the room was dirty. There was no iron. The bathroom was filthy. Once again Booking dot Com’s description of this hotel was miles off the mark.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very very basic for 8 euros - I imagine you could get something much better for the same price if you go to one of the restaurants or cafes in the square. Would have liked a nicer bathroom but given the price I wouldn’t complain.

    the first room I had was fine although the bathroom left a lot to be desired (lots of plaster coming off the ceiling and walls, the shower didn’t have a mount so you had to hold it up yourself), but the room i moved to was better although still basic and with some minor flaws (broken loo seat, shower took ~10 minutes to warm up). Staff friendly and helpful. They had a garage where I put my bike which was reassuring. All in all pretty much what you’d expect for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a great stay at this hotel, the same as we always do. Clean, comfortable and quiet overlooking the square, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. Free bus just outside takes you to the centre of the town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was an amazing help, me and my dog were travelling to London and stayed for two nights,they were super hospitable and kind, always a huge smile on the face!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -No tea/coffee making facilities in the room but then again this is not mentioned so it was not expected either. -The "view" was dull, facing only the rest of the building but it was cheap and again it should not be expected for the price you pay - this is not a negative point as such only something I mention which I "disliked". -There is free Wi-Fi throughout but this is capped at 0.52Mbps max so don't expect to be streaming video on this, it's fine for casual browsing and e-mails. -We didn't like the lift but it was working fine, just felt a bit closed in and dark - we used the stairs instead after the first time ;-)

    +The hotel was very basic but also it was clean; the sheets were clean and fresh. + Being an English group, the gentleman at the reception desk was happy and delighted to help us in English. +The location was perfect, central to everything in Calais. +Don't expect miracles - the hotel is a little shabby in decor but it is clean and cheap and you get what you pay for which is good value for money. +The shower in our room was lovely, 3 of us stayed the night in a joining room and there was plenty of hot water for us all. The bed was really very comfortable, we asked the gentleman at the reception desk for 2 extra pillows, we laughed because he delivered them at like half 10 at night but it was fine we are happy that he delivered them to our room and he was extremely polite and willing to help :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had burnt out lights.....especially in the bathroom. It should not have been rented out till fixed. Overall it was in rough shape, dirty carpets, broken toilet plunger, no bedskirts, uncomfortable beds with springs. We knew it was less expensive so was fine with the bare bones but things should be clean and comfortable.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water did eventually run through but by that time I had had a cold shower and my husband had a tepid one. Bathroom could do with finishing off properly as it looks shabby and toilet seat needs fixing. Although I found the bed comfy to lay on, my husband did not as I think the mattresses must be quite thin.

    Room, towels and bedding all clean and fresh. Hotel situated in a very convenient location and Staff were friendly, polite and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above ...the coffee at breakfast.

    It all depends on perception and of what one may expect, but frankly the hotel is not sold as anything other than what it is : a GOOD but basic room with few thrills, but it is VERY well located for the main part of Calais and its offerings. Its not super quality luxury, but it IS VERY good value. Even the breakfast for a small extra expense is not a massive British breakfast, but it offers choices and one can have enough to sustain a morning and a long drive. (Coffee is chicory strong though, quite common for French Breakfasts, but not to my liking, but there is water and tea bags!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows rather lumpy! Carpet was old and marked, but was clean. Outside decoration needs improvement, but doesn't affect the inside!

    Very clean, warm and lots of hot water, a new mattress. Great value for money with Booking.com

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no English tv and couple more pilliows

    we arrived late at night so parked in large car park opposite we checked in then we went back out to check a drink around 1030pm the man on reception failed to mention there was a market the next day and so we woke to our car been towed away !!!! we had to make 3 trips to the police station then back to the depot at a cost of £150 to get our own car back all because the idiot on the desk didn't mention about no parking the car park was full and with only one sign in FRENCH we had no reason not to park there !!!!! it ruined our short weekend we told then other workers they were very apologetic but the night shift really could have mentioned it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was basic, shower had no pressure so took ages to wash my whole body, no toiletries which is disappointing but luckily had my own. Good for overnight stay if you are passing by but price a bit high.

    We had a balcony, pet friendly hotel so was able to take my dog. Location is good as has plenty of restaurants around in walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The box in my room was broken, when I bathed the bathroom all wet.

    Comfortable, clean hotel, located near supermarket, bakery, restaurants, casino, bus stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lacking in clothes hanging space , it didn’t have any tea / coffee making facilities which we assumed it would . Very basic but a great price for short break stay . Clean , tidy , nice tv in room . Beautiful shower / toilet . Great location to various shops, restaurants , places of interest .

    Very friendly and helpful staff . Great situation . Lift to each floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a central location but very tired and in need of a major refurb.

    The chap on reception was very helpful despite the fact that he was on his own and clearly pretty stretched.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on street found a place in the street nearby which was fine.

    Stopover on way to alps. Arrived at 10.30pm. Really nice staff made us feel welcome. Nice room but tired although clean with good wet room style shower etc. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bar close by that was playing loud banging music until 3am unfortunately.

    It’s in a great location for travel, close by the channel tunnel and the port of Calais. Close to local restaurants and shops. Seemed to have plenty of parking spaces around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the two rooms was over a nightclub!!!!! In our room only 1 out of 3 down-lights worked in the bathroom. Only 2 out of 4 lights in the bedroom worked. The shower doors let water through onto the floor. Bathroom door handle mechanism loose making closing the door difficult. No toilet flush push button. Bedroom needed vacuuming.

    The beds were clean and comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to connect to internet where i had to go up and down my room for 2 times and asked the receptionist to help me to connect because neither my husband nor me was able to connect. Internet speed wasn't brilliant either. Staff was not welcoming or smiling. Lift was shut down when we checked out at 6am with luggages and carrying my small kids/

    Spacious room and toilet/shower. Clean and comfortable bedding. Good location if you need to cross the tunnel back to UK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was manky. Toilet was clean but the drain was clogged. So when taking a shower the water would come out of the shower area and comes into the room. There were few doggy people coming in and out of the property. During check-out the man at the reception asked us to play €25 for taxes and charges. Where as we paid €600 including all taxes and charges. The man at the reception goes that we have to pay a sum of €25. If we don't pay then he will not open the shutter of the garage where my car was parked. He said " NO MONEY NO CAR". And delayed our departure by 30min. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. He is responsible for spoiling our holiday mood on the very last day.

    Nothing as it was filthy. Place was not the same as shown in the photograph on the website. The room was tiny.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price you will get what you paid for.

    Good value well located basic Hotel with polite cheerful staff.Hotel needs a spring cleaning job carried out sooner rather than later.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water took a while to come through but hardly an issue. The breakfast was a little lacking, there was no ham as advertised and the coffee machine was an issue but still if we had eaten outside we would have paid far more. I will return to the Belazur

    The staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough to accommodate, one even came out and held a parking space whilst another on our departure helped carry our bags to the car. The room was clean and the bed and quilt comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the square which was perfect as was the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy as it overlooks a square with bars and restaurants

    It is very central, very clean and comfortable, excellent value for money for us before catching an early Euro Tunnel train.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    size of room

    We Booked 2 Twin rooms but had only 1 twin and 1 double, but the double was so small there was no wardrobe or hanging space was really only a single room with a double bed but no room in it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Heather was not working, the room was freezing we had to wait half an hour for the staff to bring a portable heather. 2. Not bin in the bathroom or bedroom 3. Shower drain blocked. U shower the water does not drained and start floading on the floor. 4. Shower walls cover with mold 5. Old toilet paper which appeared to have been soaked in the water or urine. We had to call the reception to get a new roll. 6. An old and stinky carpet in the room u will not fancy walking bare feet. 7. No tv remote i had to walk to the reception twice to request a remote. 8. Staff not friendly, no helpful and no welcoming. While i was talking to the reception staff i felt like i was disturbing him. 9. Parking €9 per night 10. Balcony with dirty floor cover with mold. U will not fancy gping there even in summer.

    1.Close to the local amnesties 2. Mattress and pillows were comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sheets and pillow cases were freshly laundered - certainly cant say the same for the pillows and mattress which was quite stained we had 3 rooms and all were the same - bedroom carpet was dirty and had several burn marks on it, we had 2 bulbs in the room which did not work, bathroom ceiling had very large damp patch in corner and smelt musty - no plug in bath, bathroom door handle had been snapped off. outside the room was big hole in the ceiling with cables hanging.

    Hotel had a lift and was in good location close to ferry and on the main square in Calais - really these were the only good points

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could have been stronger..lol and on a serious note a bigger bathroom ..shower too small for my carcass..and the outside looks very tired. But it was exceptional value and we will go again

    Was always under the misconception that Calais was just a dirty port town and had avoided it on purpose ... HOW WRONG WE WERE... we had to stay an extra night due to worming our dogs too early so a trip to the vets and a night in Calais was in order.. We were not looking forward to it at all after driving from Italy ... Got a ridiculously cheap room with no extra for our two dogs !!! Bonus... The guy on reception could not speak English but a smile is a universal language so we got by easy enough... And he came round to meet our dogs as did two others at reception... We had a 3hr wait to check in so we walked the dogs and went for a drive.... Found the beach... What a fantastic beach.. Surfers etc made the most of the constant trail of ferries coming and going.. But an excellent sandy beach and its being developed all the way along the shore line The hotel itself was clean enough and the room was a bit tight but for the money we paid it was excellent. Had a nap then went out to find food, they would all be shut if you read every menu the place was teeming with choice..loads of bars and restaurants to choose from , just brilliant and we shall certainly include Calais on our next excursion.. Don't read the guide books just go...ITS A GREAT NIGHT OUT...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy from a disco to 2:30 in the morning. Breakfast was rubbish for 8euros each.

    The hotel was opposite the market square, had lifts & rooms were typically French. Price reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly hard bed but only bothered me before and after I nodded off.

    despite some reviews the hotel was ok Its 2 star A night for thirteen and a half quid you cant expect the Hilton for that so we were prepared But pleasantly surprised clean tidy comfy bed clean towels staff nice If ive got to make a comment the bog seat was missing but I have a b@b myself so not a big surprise We trip regular so will for sure book again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like a refund as there was 'No Bath' 'No Satellite' 'No Controlled Heating' 'No Phone' No Kettle nothing - This is the worst Hotel or Place place I have stayed in since the 1950s. All your sales Gumpf is lies about this Hotel. I was so cold I left in the morning at 8am but not due to get the ferry till 5 pm It was warmer in the car till I got the ferry at 11 am - There is Nothing to recommend this Hotel for The Room maids were Super The reception was Rubbish. How can you sell this rubbish ? This is about a hostel rating and that is pushing it. Refund of some sort please asap

    Cold room, No Kettle, Very weak lukewarm Radiator heating, I was Cold all night.Shut the bathroom door and turned the Hair dryer on to get warm No Phone No bathroom sink plug No satellite as advertised no bath as advertised tv was 6 inches from ceiling what a joke Neck ache trying to watch . The Breakfast is non Existent with a Machine dispensing Tea and coffee. This is two star and thats pushing it not three star as you Advertised. First night there and Reception could not speak English or German Only French He Knew not what sat nav was. I paid £44 every one else (Just 4 persones) paid £27 I was had over by Booking.com and no bath as I expected and ask for a refund asap

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    MORE FACILLITIES AT THE HOTEL

    THE BREAKFAST WAS LOVELY, GOOD CHOICE AND LOVELY FRESH BAQUETTES, SHAME THE HOTEL HAS NOT GOT A BAR, OTHERWISW ITS A VERY GOOD CENTRALLY LOCATED HOTEL'

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was broken and we 3 elderly people had to carry our stuff to 3rd floor with no help I had stayed there in same room about 1 year ago and the same stain was on the carpet

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A plug for the bath, a holder for the shower attachment, a toilet seat that was fastened down and more than one toilet roll that wasn't even a full one!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reading lamp on desk did not work.

    Staff were great and one could easily communicate with them. Location was central - train station within easy reach. Church was nearby and an excellent Bakery shop was next door to hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really - perhaps more pillows but I expect we could Have asked front desk, we were just too tired

    Great location from the ferry terminal in a lovely Calais square location and good parking. Got double rooms which worked well. Good clean comfortable place to rest before onward journey after taking Dover to Calais ferry

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stains on carpet floor Room 203

    Have used this hotel on several occasions. Hotel has been modernised and redecorated over the recent past. Unfortunately the lift was not working on this occasion and we were on the second floor. There is a balcony and it is nice to look out over the Place d'armes and the fountains both in the evening and on waking. Free parking is usually available opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only parking was at the back opposite the port - hotel carpark seemed closed.

    functional hotel - a bit faded by bedroom was comfortable and clean. Good restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was basic and so were the rooms, only suitable for an overnight stay

    This was an overnight stay as Ferry came in late. It was ideally placed off the Place D'armes and not too far from ferry terminal. Property has a lift, which is ideal for an elderly person

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable. Bathroom facilities were not nice (e.g. broken toilet seat and flush button, etc).

    The room was very cheap last minute. Ideal for late night stay near the eurotunnel. The staff, though their English wasn't great, were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was very noisy lots of louts on the street below shouting woke us many times throughout the night and the Holiday Inn had garages just by our room which proved noisy too. Appeared to be a 2 star hotel.

    For the price this hotel was good value. The bed was comfortable and the shower/bathroom was fine. No extra charge for our dog. Convenient for the restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar. Carpet in the room really needed replacing, very bleach stained, but clean. Room was very warm even though the heating wasn't on (some may say this is a good point) Maybe a chair or two on the balcony wouldn't go amiss.

    Central location, close to shops, bars and restaurants Friendly staff. Lift to all floors. Lovely outlook over the square. Blue badge parking right outside the door, but plenty of parking only 20 metres away. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking in the garage was not the best introduction to the hotel. "Around the back" was perhaps the seediest place i've been for a long time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i had to fix the shower before i could use it , the toilet seat had duct tape holding it together and the carpets looked like they have never been cleaned

    the owner was very amenable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave us was already occupied and smelled heavily of cigarettes, the next room was fortunately not occupied but the sink had a bad leak so when we used it the floor got soaked.

    It was ideally located near the city centre and the ferry port, plenty of places nearby to eat. It also had WiFi although it was a bit hit and miss at times. We paid a low price for the room so it was definitely worth what we paid for it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem when we got there, the room that they gave us had dirty sheets and towels. So we left them to clean the room.But when we got back they gave us a New room and said we are so sorry.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic hotel; the pictures must have been taken decades ago. Beds were clean but the room were very basic and the bathroom quite shabby. Wi-Fi not working. Central location, secure garage parking. Pretty expensive compared to what you get.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: