Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Benvengudo 4 stars

Vallon De L'arcoule, 13520 Les Baux-de-Provence, France

#4 of 9 hotels in Les Baux-de-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was such an amazing place for a ladies' getaway! The staff was so helpful, the property is so beautiful and comfortable, and the location just couldn't be better. I wish I could have stayed for longer than 4 nights!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really wanted to love Benvengudo as it looked lovely from the photos on the website. Decided to splurge on a garden room as their location looked so delightful. We were assigned room 29 which was a corner room overlooking the gravel driveway and the tennis courts! Unloaded the luggage from the car and parked in the car park a five minute walk away. Decided to recheck my reservation on booking.com to make sure I was not mistaken about the type of room to expect. Room 29 in no way matches a garden room description for location. Complained to the receptionist and manager who agreed that the room was not what I should have expected although "technically" (the managers air quotes) a garden room. Mention was made that perhaps the location was not critical as the weather was not great that day! Unfortunately the only other room available was a cheaper room in the main building above the restaurant and up two flights of stairs. As it would mean retrieving the car to move the luggage and then get it up the stairs as well as the location of the room, we declined. The room was comfortable but the coffee making facilities were an electric kettle and instant coffee powder and no creamer! Hardly four star! Apart from offering a room that we did not want, no other compensation was offered. Not even a glass of wine! Poor customer service!

    Comfortable room and good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and lack of privacy. Walls are thin, could hear neighbors.

    Amazing restaurant, lamb Provence style is delicious, very friendly staff. Beautiful place, very relaxing with lots of nature around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on ground floor next to reception with glass doors, meaning all passing guests of hotel and/or restaurant could see inside. The curtains were thick, so either you exhibit yourself or you're left in a dark room. I requested a change of room at 7-8pm; they only had one other room of a higher category, but we would need to pay extra. I didn't accept. We were asked multiple times (even before arrival) if we wanted to dine at their restaurant. After seeing no interest of personnel to accommodate us, I didn't see the point in spending extra time or money in accommodating their financial interests. Then the bath water was beige/brown. This was at 8am, so I only told reception later. They said sorry, it hadn't happened before. And that's it.

    Very nice grounds with pretty garden. Pool is a good size, though not heated. The breakfast is very nice and good value for the region and level; delicious made-to-Oder omelette. We shopped around and at 20€ it was cheapest amongst "nice"/5* hotels which had what looked like defrosted croissants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it big stylie

    Beautiful setting and beautiful hotel, lovely French decor, muted colors a la beige!! We loved it here. Typical Provence relaxed vibe, lounging around is welcomed. We visited early September pool was freezing, took us half an hour to fully submerge ourselves, saying that we are both wimps! Very refreashing once we were in. Very close to the fabulous carrier lumier which is an absolute must, amazing spectacle - we were mesmerized.. We will return. Au reviour

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners did not speak at all. They were among the guests but no interest, not even "good morning". Other than that minor issue a great place. One detail, pool is next to the road. During the can be noisy. In evening hardly any traffic, nice and silent place to have dinner

    Room and dinner area outside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception did not offer to help with our 5 bags, and spoke poor English. Long trek to our rooms and no information that we could have driven our car to the room door. No bath - a common complaint about French hotels.

    Dinner was pricey but one of the best meals we've had recently, and with first class service. Very comfortable beds. Large shower cubicle. Perfect location for seeing Les Baux.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were sorry the restaurant was closed for 2 of the 3 nights we were there. However the hotel notified us ahead & we booked for the one night it was open - the restaurant is excellent

    The general ambience is contemporary French Provincial, elegant, with all the modern comfort one would hope for. The rooms are furnished with antiques yet the limestone bathroom has high end fittings a great spa bath. Benvengudo is Picture Perfect. We stayed in a suite in the main building which was lovely. The garden & pool area was also very elegant & the staff very accommodating to your every need. We were extremely happy with accommodation & very reasonably priced breakfasts. The staff were warm & friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small house (Max 2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive but great for a treat. Not as close to Les Baux as I was led to believe on the information but was a 20 minute walk.

    We had our own little apartment which was really clean, quiet and the bed was amazingly comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave after three nights. We wish we could have stayed longer.

    Absolutely stunning setting, Luxury accommodation. Very attentive staff and remarkable cuisine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening choice could have been better.

    It is wonderful. Staff is incredible . So peaceful after the madness of Baux onde Provence. Loved breakfast. Lunch. Poolside snacks.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining in a poorly lit room at extravagant prices with mediocre service and wine - not worthy of a Michelin star. Indifferent staff.

    Beautiful location and nice property. The room was comfortable but nothing exceptional given the price range.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While food was excellent, service was VERY slow and a request for simple room service (soup) was initially flatly refused because kitchen was too busy preparing dinner.

    Lovely inn in beautiful setting.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo,no table on porch,thin towels, no coffee machine and a staff that got snippy when you pointed these things out. THIS IS NOT A FOUR-STAR HOTEL!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was extremely soft.

    Tranquility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice tranquil property close to Les Beux Des Prov nice village. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was superb but expensive. Same for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included at that price & pillows too big, apart from that everything was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was wonderful ! Room was ok!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Badly managed. No sign of daily manager - nobody to identify with.

    Good pool and pretty gardens

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    luggage transport

    Photos did not do justice to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best dinners we have ever had. Must book fo dinner -excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI is so slow that it was unusable for even basic internet searches.

    I liked the location and the upscale feel of the facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large house
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noting

    Great location, big privat house with fireplace, nice restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything! The staff were kind, the room was impeccable, and all of the surrounding villages were so scenic!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very pleasant hotel. Great location for exploring Les Baux, St Remy, etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in bathroom sink not so good

    Bed excellent location excellent service excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    All of it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large house
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful simple Provençal. Exquisite attention to details.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom quite small.

    Lovely setting. Very comfortable bed and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Street noise

    Wonderful staff. Quite a good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    disappointed inmeal

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bastide Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking

    Great view on the hermitage hills from little garden, Very attentive staff, good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Bastide Side (Max 2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used more staff

    Beautiful grounds, lovely suite, Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Specific location beside a main road. Breakfast rather poor quality for such an establishment and price. No real privacy, as there is no separation between room terraces and gardens. Poor sound insulation in rooms with adjoining doors. Some staff rather brusque and not overly keen to assist with requests.

    Greater location in the Alpilles region, with easy access to many beautiful towns, villages and sights. Beautiful grounds with pool. Newly refurbished rooms in tasteful design, with excellent bathrooms and power showers.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our only minor quibble would be the range of food for the evening meal. However, one does not have to eat in every night and the hotel supplied us with the names of first class local restaurants.

    We liked everything about this hotel. Beautiful rooms and gardens, excellent and friendly staff for whom nothing was too much and first rate food.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We arrived at 14h40 butapparently we could only check in at 15h00. No problem we decided to have drink on the lovely terrace. The eoom was only ready at 15h25. The beautiful appartment lacked simple things like a hairdryer or wineglasses. There is also zero view despite the beautiful location. The downer was breakfast: they told us 8h30 till 10h30. We arrived at 10h15 (on a Sunday) and there were zero viennoiserie left, zero baguette and a little left over bread. 10h25 they started putting stuff away like jams. The milk was turned (but replaced when we mentioned it).When we asked for eggs they made it sound like they were doing us a big favour, same for croissants. At 10h40 a woman came and told us that exceptionally-this being Sunday morning- we could stay longer and they would bake extra croissants. There were 6 people in the room left.. The appartment is 420 euro a night and breakfast is an extra 18 euro. When checking out, they offered a very generous 9 euro half price for the teenager of 14. Don't know, didn't think we asked for anything unusual at this rate.

    Location is lovely and the big appartment is really huge.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly we arrived in rain and had to take the suitcases up one level on outdoor steps

    The room on the second floor had a wonderful view of the gardens and the main building with restaurant was so very welcoming. Only had one day and would have liked to stay longer

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic! Superb ultra modern room-just perfect. Spotlessly clean, beautiful decor and the comfiest bed ever.Patio onto amazing garden. Cuisine to die for-the lamb smoked on thyme will remain in my mind for years, and the parmesan and potato infusion that went with it utterly sensational. There was so much more. Pricey OK but there can be few better places

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2nd time I have stayed here, and complained last time about the service at the poolside. They do not seem to have made any headway with this, it's still poor. You need to relax by the pool, not keep searching for someone to get you a drink.

    Very pleasant Hotel, fabulous surroundings both inside and outside the confines of the Hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was weak and the temperature varied. Everything else was excellent.

    This hotel was fabulous. The setting was beautiful with a large open garden and pool. The staff were very very helpful and courteous. We arrived late and they organised a late dinner on our arrival. I wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful setting. Exquisite food and immaculate accommodation Only regret - our reservation was just for two nights. Would have no hesitation in returning to Benvengudo.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was very disappointed that after having spent over 800 euro for 2 nights I had to pay 2 euro per coffee pad, only 2 coffee pads per day was free of charge, not very friendly.

    The hotel was very well presented, very friendly staff and good restarant.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything you hoped Provence would be. Beautifully renovated hotel, on lovely grounds. Excellent room, lovely décor. Amazing bed.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was average and over priced. Accommodation was average.

    Excellent dinner

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful grounds, private balcony, excellent food and service

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The AC wasn't very good

    the location, all of the above

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wine was overpriced

    The food was delicious, the staff very professional and the setting very beautiful. Will definitely go back

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Photos of refurbished rooms are accurate - the rooms are lovely and clean! Food was excellent and the gardens were delightful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are very helpful, however the only negative is that there are simply not enough of them. Overall, though, we had a very good experience.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spacious room, beautiful landscape, nice breakfast by the pool, we enjoyed staying there.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous setting, friendly staff and superb food and wine.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lavender-lined entrance road. Lovely garden. Charming, comfortable room. Excellent dinner on terrace.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Moscitos and flies. The road is quite close to the hotel, you can here it. Too soft bad.

    Well trained staff, clean room, fantastic territory

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: