Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel - Hostellerie Berard et Spa 4 stars

Rue Gabriel Peri, 83740 La Cadière-dʼAzur, France

#9 of 17 hotels in La Cadière-dʼAzur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Charming property but sleep disturbed by staff noise. Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny and cramped would not have wanted to stay more than 1 night. Staff were fairly indifferent at check in and check out. Nobody enquired as to quality of our stay. Room 9 is above the kitchen and close to staff quarters. We were kept awake after midnight by staff clearing up - scraping furniture across floors. Sometime early in the morning (before 7am it was still dark), we again heard staff banging and clattering. At approx 7.15, someone was literally banging a metal mop bucket about in the corridor outside our room which woke us up properly. In comparison to the other 4 hotels we stayed in on this trip it was the worst value for money.

    Location, La Cadiere is stunningly beautiful, exceptionally quiet. The hotel itself is a charming selection of attached properties. We had an incredibly beautiful view from our room. We had a small balcony(but no stool or chair to sit in on the balcony).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    An excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We like the location in the village. The room which was large and comfortable. Everything was prepared for our grandson: bed and towels. The breakfast was amazing, as always did.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Save up for it but well worth it for the experience of fine dining in Provence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not cheap!! Bistrot style restaurant next door was disappointing. Little choice and poor list of wines

    There are two reasons for going there. First the little town of la cadiere which is sensationally pretty. Thev other is the restaurant which is one of the greatest that I know, a splendid institution and ab essential part of the Bandol experience. The wine list is exceptional though with prices that can seem high for the top names. Food is very good and Provence inspired. And before it gets too dark, there is a wonderful panoramic view to savour. Rooms are small but very cosy. The whole is a destination in itself

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful old village with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is in a beautiful location. The old village is quaint with the perfect level of amenities (bakery, green grocer, couple of bars and other restaurants, handful of jewellery shops, bank, tourism office). The hotel rooms and restaurants have an incredible view over the countryside. The Bistro de Jef restaurant has a delicious set menu- I was very impressed. I was lucky to be in the village on a Thursday when the market is on, selling fruit, veg, kitchen things, dresses, bags- it was very sweet. The hotel and pool were very quiet when I stayed. This meant that breakfast was very quiet and relaxing (with views ver the countryside too!) and I was the only person by the pool. I stayed at the hotel by myself so all and all it felt very relaxing! The spa is a lovely touch too. I had a great massage and it’s handy that it is right in the hotel so you don’t have to walk far. I found the staff to be very polite and attentive. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a base for travelling round Provence (with a car) or as a lovely relaxing haven to escape to for a few days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    The best place in Cot D'azur. A beautiful and cozy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    The best place in Cot D'azur. A beautiful and cozy place. I recommend everyone to spend at least one night there. The atmosphere is magnificent and the street where it is located looks like a medieval story. In addition, you can enjoy a delicious dinner at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    One of the nicest hotels in France
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are slightly on the small side. But still beautiful!

    Beautiful hotel with stunning location and amazing staff. Incredible place to stay. Super comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great stay at a beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi requires to login if device is switched off and it is of low quality - a pity that such a great hotel has such bad wifi. The gym was in a tiny closed space in the basement and could have a more improved location.

    The hotel is made of multiple old buildings and during this time of the year (October) , the hotel is not full which makes it extra special: the attention from the staff is second to none. We arrived very late (around 1am) and the lady at the front desk was waiting for us and was helpful and kind taking us to our room. The room had a view over the swimming pool and a beautiful view over the garden and the city and surroundings. Breakfast lady was amazing always knowing what we would like and what we had the previous day. Service overall was truly impeccable: very clean room all the time as well as the overall hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Good location but very quiet place. Hotel rating too high. Suspect it is only because of the restaur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very poor. Bath so narrow that difficult to exit. Shower at bath tap hopeless. Toiletries poor. Wardrobe space grossly inadequate. Building needs upgrading. Stair carpet threadbare.

    View from room. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    I highly recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One way street system in village, which makes sense for a lovely old village, but confusing to get to the hotel, and then parking on your first ever visit. Not the hotel's fault though.

    Excellent hotel, helpful staff, wonderful food at restaurant. Hotel comprises several old village houses in charming medieval village. We had a marvelous view of the valley from our room. We enjoyed the charming swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    The Central location for the property was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything at all. Perfection.

    The Central location for the property was excellent. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The view from the breakfast room was magnificent and so was the view from our room. Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, perfect for exploring Nimes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building so the rooms at the back are very dark but you spend so little time there during the day this didn't bother me at all!

    Excellent location, perfect for exploring Nimes! Very comfortable traditional rooms. Great air conditioning. Really helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A hidden charm in the Badol wine region 15mins from the Paul Ricard driving track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Driving through this hilltop village to get to the hotel is an interesting challenge first time !

    The location is beautiful and the hotel is charming - family run with an excellent 1 star Michelin restaurant. Mme Berard is a wonderful host, welcoming, charming and authentic. We stayed an extra night and will return here next year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    lovely position and lovely restaurant staff, lovely room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    with a few exceptions, as before the reception staff were not particularly friendly ofr helpful and left us leaving wondering why they are not more welcoming and should we really come back again

    lovely position and lovely restaurant staff, lovely room with wonderful view, within the village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    location in the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room, but we knew that in advance, so no complaints

    location in the village

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Great find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great find. Would stay here again and again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Great food experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bistro was disappointing

    The staff were very good the hotel restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    We really slept well and enjoyed our stay. We look forward to staying in this hotel soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service very friendly!! The bed was very comfortable. Peaceful area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The view is absolutely gorgeous, the breakfast amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is absolutely gorgeous, the breakfast amazing and everyone very kind. Very sofisticated. Loved my stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel hidden in the hills with fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous little hotel in an amazing old village. Beautiful views surrounding this hotel. A step back in time very relaxing and calm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice location for a one day stop
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too far from the reception / a lot of stairs Starred restaurant a bit overrated

    Staff courtesy View from the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel with fantastic views of the surrounding vineyards. Delicious food and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views, location & architecture as well as historical value of the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay there again, spa wasn't available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, tiny room

    Grumpy staff, arrogant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    a very pleasant relaxing stay, beautiful pool, clean room and great staff. thank you I will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Wonderful hotel, extremely pleasant staff and helpful. I would highly recommend it. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with spa and gourmet food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two excellent restaurants in the hotel and a couple of other good restaurants in the village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    So nice hotel to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Antique and cool interior

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    The spa is amazing, the hotel fabulous and the staff lovely
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is amazing, the hotel fabulous and the staff lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    8.8
    Great location in the centre of an historic village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    May not suit the less physically able, but that is just the nature if this location.

    Great location in the centre of an historic village. Beautiful views across the country side from the room and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.3
    Loved the charming little rooms with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service in the michelin restaurant was quite slow and did not match the fantastic food.

    Loved the charming little rooms with great views. The food was fantastic in both restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.1
    - Staff is very attentive and well trained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - we missed the breakfast deadline on our first day and decided to go buy fruits and croissants in the village. We then asked for cutlery /plates at the front desk and were told by the owner that they would not give it to us even though ordering the hotel's breakfast in the room was totally fine. They seem to consider their clients as cash machines vs being committed to deliver a great experience.

    - Staff is very attentive and well trained. - the village is nice and has a lot to offer (supermarket, shops, restaurants). - our room had a nice view of the valley and a gigantic bed.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    We loved so much about this hotel: the setting, the comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like paying 9€ for a cup of cappuccino at the bar.

    We loved so much about this hotel: the setting, the comfort of the room and easy access to facilities, the charm and taste throughout the hotel. This is our second time staying here!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    6.3
    Great and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness of the rooms is very poor.

    Great and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location in Le Cadiere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very expensive. Typical French breakfasts.

    Great location in Le Cadiere. Very quirky. Good food. Service good.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    The setting and view plus lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The setting and view plus lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.3
    Location and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa cost extra

    Location and comfort

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location and lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    The food, wine and people are wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - we love this place and visit each year.

    The food, wine and people are wonderful

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    The village is beautiful and the spa is very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The village is beautiful and the spa is very relaxing. Bandol is just few minutes drive away for hanging on the see front.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: