Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Alexandra 4 stars

138 Boulevard Hebert - Grande Plage du Sillon, Sillon, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#51 of 74 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 138 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Best place I've stayed in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The position to the wall city was perfect. The beach was just in front of the hotel. But most of all the staff where friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The resturant was a bonus the best food I've ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast options - unfortunately they were not able to cater for allergies and there was no freshly cooked breakfast option.

    Location Cleanliness Parking off road

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff - very helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was in very bad shape - the water was barely running at all from it.

    Nice staff - very helpful and polite. Nice big room with a terasse. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Treat your partner special and pick BW.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything great.

    Everything. Fantastic beach front location, easy walking to st malo ( 20 minutes) along promenade. Wi-Fi excellent. Bed super. Loads of storage space. Secure underground parking. Staff super nice. Lots of TV channels. BW costs a bit more, but they really go all out to treat you special, with free newspapers, bathrobes, and complimentary water. Go for it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    Very nice area and the Beach was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room Larger, Television of good quality would have been nice.

    With world cup football and Wimbledon Tennis on during our stay the Television was very poor. Very dark picture which the Hotel could not resolve. The room was very very small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Large family room with outside decking seating area, hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of evening meal high for quality with one nights stay evening meals breakfast and car park 300 euros

    Large family room with outside decking seating area, hotel directly on beach, pleasant walk into old town along beach front.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Exselent location, helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room with beautiful ocean view was good for me, because I was alon. But it's extremely small for two people. No space for two suitcases. The breakfast coast 17 Euro, and to poor for this price.

    Exselent location, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Literally on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent only one night at this lovely hotel, but we would love to come back! The hotel is literally on the beach, and the historical city centre is in walking distanse.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for our short cycling break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Style is what it is - see photos - not designer or funky, but with cleanliness, friendly staff and all facilities we were very satisfied.

    Welcoming staff at desk, in restaurant and room cleaning. Very cheerful and proactive with help. Room and all areas exceptionally clean. Surprising amount of clear horizontal surfaces for our stuff in a small room. Great view from our balcony and easy access to prom/beach and old St Malo.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Location with great sea view, comfort, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location with great sea view, comfort, excellent staff. We would stay there again if in St. Malo

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI did not really work.

    Nice staffs. Great location. You've got the facilities to cook which would be practical for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Another great holiday in St Malo,our 8 trip and a different hotel, would reccommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Little outside maintenance i.e. grass cutting?

    great place, great location, glad we had a seaview.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great location and inspiring to see the locals using the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of stale smoke on the 4th floor

    Location of the hotel right on the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small

    Location , parking, restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff and restaurant staff amazing, kind helpful and very friendly ☺️

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Would go back there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the beach.

    The restaurant. Friendly staff and an excellent meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, all was asper our expectations.

    Excellent Hotel, we would go back ant time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Cozy and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy and clean! The view is great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Bed was very comfortable and a fab balcony off the room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable and a fab balcony off the room .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable.

    The room was larger than average.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi a bit variable

    Very good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.8
    Not up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a good 30 minutes walk from the port Bar closed early and could not get a drink

    The room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    4.6
    No coffee available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee available. Staff did not want to serve while it was written that bar was whole day open. also far from st malo intra muros. Old building and not been renovated since long. Everything is painted yellow.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    I always stay at Alexandra, reason is its consistant in...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I always stay at Alexandra, reason is its consistant in every way, whether it's two monthly or six monthly visit, you always know there is a warm welcome, and the staff are very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Amazing location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was terrible . Kept dropping out and then you would have to start the log in process again and again . Impossible to use !

    Amazing location . Comfortable room . Lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    Handy location as we were attending a wedding at Inn on The...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our corner room was quiet and bright with a terrific view but spoilt by dated decoration and a bed with a well worn mattress. You could literally feel the springs. The management was very understanding and moved us on the second night to a far nicer, recently renovated room with a bigger and better bed, though without the lovely view. We didn't take the £15 a head breakfast as we thought it too expensive given we normally just want tea and toast.

    Handy location as we were attending a wedding at Inn on The Lake next door.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    The hotel overlooks the beach which is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We travelled with our 11 month old baby. we chose a hotel with a family sized room and a restaurant to avoid the hassle of going out. However the restaurant is very adult and we did not feel at all comfortable dining there with our child and we wish we had looked elsewhere. Also its an expensive restaurant with no vegetarian options so my vegetarian wife had to have omelette and chips (again). The phone in our room did not work and the room could have been a lot cleaner.

    The hotel overlooks the beach which is fantastic. The staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    Restaurant staff very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    tv controls and tv not functioning property .Took five days to be remedied . comment from lady at front desk ' if you don't stop complaining i'll need to call an engineer! Wifi virtually non-functioning very irritating !Had to go to front desk for toiletries tea and coffee a real pain!

    Restaurant staff very nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    The more mature staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    My room was not the best ( ceramic tiles at the entrance were really uncomfortable. The bar fridge was also not stocked and no tea making facilities.

    The more mature staff was excellent. Marco was really outstanding and is a real asset to the hotel. He helped us with everything, from visits, food recommendations to my rental car.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.3
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too soft and too small.Although the bath had an integral shower, the bath sides were so high it was difficult to access.

    The location. The sea view was hypnotically beautiful even though the weather was awful..The room was thoughtfully and comfortably equipped .The food in the restaurant was superb.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    8.3
    Good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't find the fire exit?

    Good staff. Nice room. Excellent parking. Great position.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    Central location with good off street parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi very poor

    Central location with good off street parking

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Location and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lift was a bit clunky

    Location and comfort

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel furniture Old

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.9
    Sea view rooms and the friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi poor couldn't connect in room. Standard of the sea view rooms vary.

    Sea view rooms and the friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    good bedroom, well fitted pleasant dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good bedroom, well fitted pleasant dining room. Sea views at front

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi in the bedroom a bit patchy

    Great location and great food

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    Location,Room size,Coffee Maker,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location,Room size,Coffee Maker,

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    8.3
    Location and sea views
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Business centre computer not working so couldn't access to print off boarding passes.

    Location and sea views

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.5
    location, car park, although chargeable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms and beds small

    location, car park, although chargeable

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: