Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Najeti Hôtel de L'univers 4 stars

3&5 Place De La Croix Rouge, 62000 Arras, France

#3 of 10 hotels in Arras

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 675 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff distant. If you cannot be guaranteed a parking space it is a nightmare to get parking anywhere near the hotel. Underground car park 15minutes walk away. Overpriced gin and tonics.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very boring, almost no service. Although no choice to eat out during public holidays. Dinner, food was fine within expectation, but servers slow, not responsive and can't speak English. Overall dragged out slow dinner. Wifi was fine but slow.

    Location is great. Arras a nice city to visit, good for bicycle rides too. (an hour drive to national park in Scarpe Escaut bicycle ride) Own private parking in city centre Small but nice building, courtyard view preferred. French restaurant food was not bad for dinner for one time (see below). (side track, avoid another town Lille Wazemmer market, run down and poor, and my car was unfortunately vandalised)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar is not staffed so the reception staff serve the drinks, not atmosphere in the bar at all as there wasn't any guests using it. Nice terrace to sit outside though.

    Nice quiet hotel in excellent location and parking is a bonus. Breakfast at 16 euros each we felt was a bit steep, however it was good quality, albeit self service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea/Coffee facilities very mean, especially the milk, only 2 tiny cartons, most hotels leave a minimum of 4. Whilst we appreciate the French enjoy their Coffee strong, not all people have the same tastes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As above, more clothes storage space.

    Stayed 27th April 2018 to 30th April 2018 and used it as a base to see WW1 batlefields and memorials. We did not have breakfast, so cannot comment. Excellent location in the centre but car parking IS a little tight. Having said that, we managed to get a large Mercedes estate in and out with only a little hassle. Staff excellent, particulary Angelique and Caroline with whom we dealt most; professional but courteous, informative and friendly.. Charme Doubles are small, particularly if there are two of you in the room. Myself and my friend had a room each. Biggest problem in the Charme Double rooms is lack of adequate storage place (eg no drawers and a small wardrobe), particularly if the weather is inclement. Overall, I would definitely come back to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant menu very limited and not as good as three years ago when we last stayed. Poor service as too few staff serving. And the bar was unmanned every evening. Hotel hard to find by car with the one way roads leading to it. It needs far better signing in the town.

    Very nice building and rooms. Very nice helpful lady on evening reception/

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Preauthorised my card on 31/3. I am still awaiting the money to be released 17/4. DO NOT LET THIS HOTEL SWIPE YOUR CARD

    A very nice hotel with good parking and good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar staff non-existent. each of the 3 evenings we were there we had to request bar staff who didn't come to serve drinks for 30 minutes - and no apologies. Bedrooms tired looking. Only mirror was in the bathroom - no storage space and the room was small. generally the hotel was disappointing and didn't live up to its exterior and location.

    Lovely building. reception staff friendly. Food at dinner good. Breakfast not worth paying for but there was a good variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hopeless bar. Very difficult to get service. Dull and repetitve restaurant menu. Dont plan on eating or drinking there. otherwise nice hotel but where is the management?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel sadly let us down. It was very unfriendly, and although provided dog friendly rooms, our room was extremely dirty and run down with broken furnishings and dirty mouldy window coverings. Our dogs were not allowed in any public area, consequently we were unable to use the dining facilities for dinner or breakfast. Car parking was also an issue as the small car park is a very tight squeeze indeed.

    There was nothing we liked about this hotel and if we could have found another to stay in for our one night stay we would have done.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel could be so much better if it paid greater attention to detail. As examples why was the door leading to the toilet so difficult to open, why didn’t the toilet seat stay up and why was it so hard to turn the shower on. The towels were perfectly clean but a bit on the threadbare side. The organisation of the bar was really poor - almost impossible to get a drink without waiting ages. It can’t be that difficult to provide a drinks menu or put a small bowl of nuts / crisps on the tables. Not a bad. Hotel but it is not exploiting it’s potential

    Good central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was not that good which was disappointing and the staff although pleasant were very inexperienced. The room although a good size was quite noisy as the door was not well fittted.

    The location and general ambience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited on-site parking, booking in advance essential, also expensive at 10 euros a day. Breakfast pricey, much cheaper in nearby bars.

    Friendly, helpful staff, picturesque setting, attractive rooms, very close to local services- restaurants, shops, sights, rail station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not what we had requested. The price as it was offered £35 cheaper 3 days before our trip with allowed cancellation. At this point I could have cancelled the first booking and booked the same again saving myself said £35. However I decided to discuss it with the hotel. I was charged the original price. I was very dissapointed as i have genius status with booking.com too. we also had an evening meal at the property. The waitress got our order wrong for my husband and did not seem to understand us.

    The receptionist was excellent. And very helpful. Apart from not being able to give us the room we had requested with the booking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is absolutely overpriced. The food is good, but for the cost I was definitely expecting more.

    The hotel is nice and my stay was absolutely pleasant. Just I found the price not proportionate with the hotel: the care of the details, the breakfast and service do no justify the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible service in the Restaurant and Bar. Did not even receive any water or wine till after our main course had been received. Terrible cheese board, smallest ever seen.

    A lovely hotel, good bedroom and location. The Receptionist was polite and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in the restaurant was limited and although the breakfast was buffet style (hot & cold) and there was plenty of choice, the cost of €16pp was high for what it was !

    The location, helpful and friendly staff, onsite car parking albeit at a €10pn charge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent an hour driving round looking for signs for Najeti, had to phone for directions; follow signs L'univers. Limited sound proofing between rooms and might be noisy if function rooms are in use. Breakfast is overpriced and quality of coffee poor, this should be freshly made rather than kept in a hot flask.

    Very central in a quiet courtyard. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for the centre of Arras but, even though central, it was very peaceful. The room was comfortable & very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Secure parking on site was great (€10)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N a

    We’ve stayed here before. The public rooms are in old cellars with exposed brick walls. The bedrooms are very French. We had a bright red one this time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't informed about paying for the parking. Only did notice it on the final bill. With such a class hotel one does not expect to pay for the parking.

    The bed and bad were great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited freee car parking at the hotel we parked for free on a square close by.

    We visited Arras to see the Christmas market and finish our Christmas shopping. The hotel was comfortable, warm and clean. It is also in a very central location. We would visit again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was reasonable but congested around some of the items....could be better organised, but staff were superb.

    Location was excellent for the Christmas market. Rooms were very comfortable and the hotel was spotless with plenty of character

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the hotel was deep in the heart of the old town and they were putting Christmas trees up everywhere, it was more by chance than navigational prowess that we managed to get to the hotel. It's not very well signposted, the signs tend to disappear and we found ourselves in a blind alley surrounded by no entry signs (or the way we took, which was designed for bicycles!). All this is hardly the fault of the hotel, but be warned. Thank goodness I had checked the street view and spotted the alleyway down which you have to drive - it had Claire's Accessories on the corner, which proved an invaluable signpost.

    It's an extremely good location, but remember to book a parking spot if you intend to drive there because parking is strictly limited and you wouldn't want to find somewhere else in town nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main menu slightly limited, excellent food but not much choice if staying for more than a couple of nights,

    Location perfect for Arras city and visiting war graves in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a minor issue but worth knowing for those driving. The streets leading to and from the hotel are very narrow.

    Incredible evening meal, served until 10pm! Tesla charge point

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The atmosphere in dining room on Sunday evening - we were the only people eating and found the meal expensive - maybe this was the reason. The room was very hot and although we could turn the radiator in the room to low, the duvet was far too warm.

    helpful receptionist. Close to town center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress room 109 was in need of changing, it was very uncomfortable and squishy

    Location to the town centre approx only 5 min walk. The hotel was lovely and warm and clean. We also arrived early and was permitted to check in, which was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking could be difficult with regard to length of car because it is a traditional cobbled courtyard with cars parked on either side.

    Very good draught beer in the bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and there were no drawers and only six clothes hangers for two people. We were put furthest away from reception in a hotel where we saw very few other guests.

    The breakfast was the best thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude and capability. My card was used for pre-authorisation but got charged. So I paid twice for the room - I am sure it will get resolved but it's unnecessary

    Great location and good. Secure parking area near to town centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on an outside wall and at times there were street noises that we could hear - would recommend a room overlooking the courtyard.

    Hotel was comfortable and within a 5-10 minute walk of the main squares in Arras. Bathroom was modern and well appointed. Parking was very convenient in a courtyard surrounded by the hotel - easy to get in and out of. Breakfast was good although a little pricey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our bathroom was in need of some basic maintenance. The shelf below the mirror was at a rakish angle and was almost unusable and there were several loose tiles in the floor. Only little things but they detract from what is otherwise a good hotel.

    The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to most of the historical/cultural sites, shops and rail station. Onsite parking is available at a cost. Very good, though rather expensive, on site restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues

    Old and stylish building. Good secure parking but you should definitely reserve. Vey good restaurant. Located in the town centre so easy access for shops etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was very poor one waiter for the whole dining room whilst also running the bar 2 hours + for 2 courses

    Rooms comfortable,quiet, and v good bath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff could not make a Kir consistently. The first was lovely the second mediocre. We asked for nuts or crisps to have with our apperitives in the bar but were told no. Apperitives in the restaurant came with nibbles. The gourmet meal was nicely presented but mine lacked flavour and was expensive for what it was. We asked for an extra teabag in the bedroom and were told it was one per person per night. Accessing the bath/shower was difficult as the bath was deep and there was no handle. The decor was shabby chic including ripped curtains that I photographed but cannot attach. The view from the bed was a wall. The most expensive night of our holiday and the one that delivered the least.

    Parking safe and secure but booking is required as limited. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unimpressed by the superior room - it was very small - no room to move around - right in the eves of the hotel so banged ones head when getting out of bed(and I am only 5ft 4ins) The second room did not have two twin beds as in the photos so we were obliged to up grade to a family room at extra cost. The television had been set to come on at 6am as an alarm - not restful.

    Position - comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a quite room and were given a very small shabby room with large stains in several areas of the carpet and some of the furnishings, the room smelt very fusty and the bathroom was also tatty. Although both rooms were generally clean. We had booked a deluxe room which this definitely wasn't. Lady on reception was very helpful and apologetic when I complained and moved us to a junior suite.

    Liked Arras and would visit again but not this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist needed a personality transplant, she obviously didn't like the English. Room was small, bath was unstable, tiling on bathroom floor was loose. Only one bath towel for two of us. When we checked out, another guest was complaining about the food in the restaurant, the staff, and having to wait an hour to get served. They tried to charge us 32 euros for the breakfast that we never had having told them at checkin that we didn't require breakfast.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very small & had a sloping ceiling which impaired getting in & out of bed. The ensuite was good with a large shower. The wifi signal was not strong enough in the bedroom.

    Very convenient for central Arras and its two squares. Dinner was very good quality, the fixed menu was good value but the wine was overpriced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The secure parking in the centre of the hotel wasn't available due to a wedding which was great as we had just driven for 10 hrs to get there. The helpful garçon on reception said go and find somewhere to park. Cheers for that, there was a festival and no parking available anywhere. We drove around for over an hour. No apology, no solution, nothing. Noise all night from the wedding and a 32 euro breakfast for a stale croissant. All in all complete tripe.

    Nothing, it was diabolical from start to finish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No communication re lack of parking during our stay so had to park across town in a public car perk which cost a lot of money and was very inconvenient for us with our luggage etc. Also lack of any assistance in locating a car park. We had chosen this hotel because it did offer parking on site!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it is and why do they all charge for a pet €13 for precisely nothing!

    Nice building great staff good pre book able and chargeable parking on site great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner service was very slow: more staff needed: breakfast limited- boiled eggs were the only cooked option for a 16 euro charge.

    Centre location: secure but limited parking, which must be pre-booked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was horrible, there was nothing to entertain the children, there was no English speaking television channel, it just wasn't good enough for the money we spent

    Location, the property is near the high street

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old bathroom in need of upgrading, there was a loose floor tile and very wonky bath so you had to be careful where you stood in it. The shower was difficult to operate. The whole thing needed a face lift. The restaurant was the biggest let down it was simply terrible. We waited ages to be seated and asked our friendly receptionist to assist which at least got us to a table. Other people were looking around to find a waiter and had clearly been seated for some time. The restaurant staff seemed inexperienced and did a good job of ignoring the customers which became very frustrating. We lasted 30 minutes in which time we got our menu but that was it. The servcie was so appalling we left in the end as we were fed up waiting and went elsewhere in the town. We told the receptionist we were heading out and she tried to do something but it was all too late. There appeared to be some known issues.

    The hotel itself was attractive and stylish with a pretty courtyard where you can park and in easy reach of the town centre. Very helpful and friendly lady on reception when we arrived who addressed the confusion over our car parking. NB you need to book the car park to be sure of a place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After receiving the booking acknowledgement I called the hotel to ensure I had a parking place and was assured it was no problem. On arrival I was not permitted to take my car on site as all parking slots were allocated. I had to leave loaded car on a street nearby overnight. I was told that there was no record so nothing could be done. I strongly recommend reserved parking but make sure you have something on paper

    The bed was excellent, The room decoration and condition were also excellent as were the room facilities. The most central but quiet place to stay in Arras

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit of a challenge to find from the main street, is sort of tucked down a cobblestone lane way from the main street but once you see it you will be surprised it was obvious from the road. Just a heads up if you arrive mid afternoon and haven't had lunch you will need to search around since most food service stops between 2 and 5 (even domino's pizza) and reopens in the evening for dinner. There was a restaurant in the square that was serving food called the bureau which was good.

    A quaint hotel in Arras, nice staff and comfortable room, we did n't use the restaurant so I don't know what it was like but it looked nice. The staff helped us book a taxi to go to see the Vimy Ridge memorial and the driver was profession and polite, he also returned to pick us up. The room was on the small side but the bathroom was spacious. Good location for shopping downtown, the fashion street and the two main squares in town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been staying at the Hotel De L'Univers since 1989, and watched its transformation through at least three owners. They must be careful not to lose the original charm, my main reason for returning.

    The breakfasts were excellent, but we didn't use the restaurant in the evenings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here during the swelteringly hot days of July. Unfortunately with no air conditioning anywhere in the hotel the stay was extremely uncomfortable - even for 2 healthy adult males. However, even if the weather had not be so extreme, we would still have to say the hotel was disappointing in all areas other than location. Having done our research and read many positive reviews it was not as we expected.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very mediocre , both of us had chicken which I felt was boil in a bag and the fresh fruit salad although having a good selection of fruit was so cold it was tasteless

    Extremely convenient and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast - poor quality ingredients, uninspiring selection, nothing fresh. Staff not engaged. Booking not on their system. Decor very old-fashioned and tired.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was tiny with the bed pushed against the wall. one light didn't work and I had a small window overlooking the roofs. The bathroom was large enough with a small bath and overhead shower. Two people would be hard pushed to put all their stuff in there as it s meant to be a charmed doubled. My colleague who paid the same price and which was on the same booking had a much better room, much larger with a state of the art modern bathroom.

    Beautiful hotel with a cobbled courtyard. Very good breakfast if expensive at 16 Euros We had motorcycle and the very friendly receptionist came out to have us park on the terrace rather than on the awkward cobbles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minute room.No chest of drawers.No aircontitioning.Window opened onto flat roof so felt unsafe to leave it open.Some sort of motor outside window very noisy.

    Position

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 3 rooms & Wifi was only accessible in one. In this day of travel using the internet, it was frustrating not to be able to use it unless in the reception area

    Location , clean, comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very overpriced We got down to the restaurant at 09.30am, disappointingly what was left was very sparse. We paid €16 each, the most we've paid for sometime. This was a shame because everything else was excellent.

    The location, the building, the ambience,the parking and staff all excellent and to be recommended/commended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff pushing carts in the courtyard early in the morning made a lot of noise. A better designed trolley would reduce this.

    The bed was very comfortable and it was great to be able to park right outisde the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service v.slow and menu v.restricted. Poor value for money. No a/c, poor considering the room rate.

    Location is v.good, reception staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are rather airless and the Wifi intermittent.

    This works as a perfect base for Arras being central and with parking. The reception staff were delightful and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed previously, so came back again for great location. This time on arrival (by Motorbike) I parked up in parking space outside reception, and was quickly asked to move to the furthest corner of the courtyard - no big deal, but car park had 11 empty spaces so seemed pointless. Arrived early and room was not ready, we were told it would be around 30 mins, and they would come get us, 1 hour later the room still not ready, was then allocated a room with disabled facilities (#111 1st floor above dining room), I did not feel this was the Deluxe room I had booked. had travelled 7 hours, 300 miles in 30 + degree heat so just wanted to cool off - should have complained! A coach load of guests arrived late evening and proceeded to trundle suitcases across the cobbles and then general loud HubBub from the dining room - kept us awake. This review based on latest experience, it was very hot weather and had to have windows open. there was no Air con in room and no fan either. Checked out early next morning to catch channel crossing, and was charged 10 Euros for the "Secure" parking" even though I did not use a parking space - Very mean!!!

    Have stayed previously, so came back again for great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the breakfast was very good but perhaps 16 euros pp was a little pricey We had a largeish hire car and the parking - 10 Euros per day - was a little tight. No aircon, which was a small issue on one very hot day

    very good location - a few minutes walk from the main squares - and very friendly, helpful staff, who all said 'bonjour'. The rooms and beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the lights in the courtyard were on until midnight every night. even with blinds down i could not sleep for light and noise. No consideration for guests by people moving trolleys late at night. Very noisy.

    The breakfast was excellent, much better than expected

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were helpful and friendly the room although a little small was clean and stylish. The food in the restaurant was delicious with a good choice would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was somewhat cramped and I found it annoying to keep avoiding the dormer which came over the bed. Bumped my head several times.

    The bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe get larger croissants - the one's available are tiny and look like they are intended for children. Room layout is a bit quirky - navigating to your room can be tricky.

    Non corporate appearance is welcoming. Rooms traditionally French and well appointed. Simple breakfast selection but absolutely acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't included and was charged at 16 euros per person. The breakfast was very poor and certainly not good value.

    Lovely quaint hotel with rooms overlooking a courtyard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not possible in room and sloping ceiling meant bending over to move past.great position

    Access to all things we wanted to see and for meals in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a deluxe room and were given one on the top floor under the eaves It was impossible to get out of the left side of the bed and walk upright as I had to walk bent over under the eaves. We booked for friends at the same time. Their deluxe room was totally different and resembled the one illustrated in the booking. I wanted to complain but my husband did not want to embarrass our friends.

    Very good choice at breakfast . good coffee and selection of breads, scrambled egg and bacon as well as fruit , ham, cheese and yoghurts etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very shabby,curtains faded,dirty and missing tie back.bathroom ,tile grouting black around bath,floor dirty,shelf over basin dangerously loose ,toilet bowl discoloured. English tv channels picture but no sound,staff knew of problem already ,gave impression ongoing problem .worst best western hotel we have ever stayed in.certainly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only point for me was that apart from the robes and slippers, the decor of room did not seem de luxe. That said, bed linen and beds were lovely. Coffee making in room, thought teens twin room was missing a kettle.

    Good location near the main square. Nice and quiet. Car park full so thankfully got free parking just outside the barrier. Cheerful staff very helpful and the whole place very clean and tidy. The main square is lovely at night. Loads of restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of dinner could be better! Not quite as flavoursome as we like and rather expensive for what is on offer. English speaking TV Channels (BBC News & one other) lost during week stay, once mentioned to reception we had picture but still no sound for 4 of our 7 nights stay.

    Very comfortable room with plenty of room for my wheelchair! Good access in all areas of the hotel. All staff were pleasant, friendly and professional. We would recommend the hotel to others. In a perfect location for WW1 War Cementaries and Memorials in the whole area! Hotel was very easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, but the service on the night we ate there was rather slow! Good buffet breakfast though.

    Very good value - I think we had a special rate. Nice comfy room with shower and bath - bonus! The hotel is currently being redecorated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The towel rail would have benefited from a thermostatic valve as fitted to the bedroom radiators.

    The bathroom was excellent. A large heated towel rail, adequate shelf space and, to the delight of my wife, a properly illuminated mirror to make-up by and a full length mirror.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being able to stay longer!

    The room was wonderful, spacious & beautifully decorated. Restaurant food & service was excellent Great location & highly recommend booking one of the limited parking spaces. Lovely town to explore Perfect for exploring WW1 & WW2 battle sites etc - had wonderful tour with Jackie from www.battlefieldsexperience.co.uk - need to go back for more exploration :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very taken back by the totally shredded 3 sets of curtains, both vertical and horizontal and should never have been allowed to remain in otherwise a very good hotel.Mentioned it to the hotel staff but they did not take much notice what I said! The 3 course dinner charged at € 29.95 too high and particularly the main course lacked any flavour and hardly anything on the plate. Dessert very good. Asked for cheese - 3 miniscule slithers and at € 10.00 grossly overpriced. ( settled for € 6.00 in the end after some arguing) Charge for a small dog exorbitant.

    We liked the ambience of the hotel and it was cleverly converted with interesting brick features. Particularly appreciated the parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: