Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel De Paris 3 stars

22 Rue De La Paix, 53000 Laval, France

#4 of 14 hotels in Laval

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 767 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and helpful, all of them spoke English. The room was quite spacious for Paris standards, we were very comfortable. The location was excellent for exploring Paris. We experienced a little noise from the street, but considering we are in the middle of a city, it was minimal disturbance - keep your window closed and no problem! We felt it was good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly small property and some kind of outdoor space would be nice.

    Good location 10 minutes walk from train station, small supermarket next door and restaurants and bars near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner in our room unfortunately did not work, also the shower knob was very difficult to turn on and off.

    Easy check in/out, friendly, helpful staff, comfy bed, very clean, fantastic location, nice big bathroom, quiet at night, nice breakfast, delicious crepes and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in the center so very good place to discover the city. The staff was very nice! Parking is limited. The room was clean and comfortable! The elevator is a bit small. It was a good value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps it was my error but the website appeared to indicate that check in commenced at 5.30 pm. We arrived mid afternoon and had no problem t that time.

    The central location gave us the chance to explore much of the town during our one night stay. The hotel is comfortable. We didn't have breakfast but it looked good. The selection of restaurants nearby was limited but we had an excellent dinner at the Brasserie beneath the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a droning noise throughout the night, probably from a fan.

    This hotel is conveniently situated in the heart of Laval, a delightful town. I have used it several times as a staging post in my travels in France. It is very close to the motorway leading to and from the heartland of France. The rooms are good and the one I was allocated this time had recently been refurbished, so it had a very nice bathroom. Another great advantage of this hotel is that it has a really super restaurant next door serving fabulous seafood and lots of other dishes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good except ran out of tea bags on third day which is not good when you are allergic to coffee.

    Room nice size and lovely modern bathroom. Location great for seeing Laval.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good , just could have done with certain items i.e eggs , ham being topped up a little quicker , as were are a family of 5 suddenly descending on the breakfast room we weren't left much by the people before .

    The staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. They allowed us to leave our cases with them after checkout at 12 until 5 , with no fuss. We would definitely recommend a stay here , very good location, clean and even a kettle and a small selection of tea and coffee in the room .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny one person one case lift. Hotel car park was full so had to drive around looking for parking.

    Location good. Bed comfy. Quiet room requested and it was.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Literally EVERYTHING excellent. The room was spacious, the bathroom was bright and modern. The room even had tea/coffee making, almost unheard of normally in France! And was a few minutes walk to the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed in a Best Western the night before in Pornic, which was cheaper, the rooms did not compare. They were much smaller and there weren't the facilities in the room. Bathroom was much smaller with nowhere to hang your towel, no toilet roll holder and not much room to put your toiletries. Very little room for comfort apart from the bed. The room was very clean, however, and ok for a one night stay. No parking at hotel so had to pay for on street parking which was not outside the hotel. Overnight parking was free but charges started at 9.00am so had to feed the meter the night before.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a good restaurant immediately next to the hotel and it is a short walk to the river. Breakfast was good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding (and leaving) the hotel within Laval's road system would have been difficult without a satnav. It was a warm day but the air conditioning didn't seem to be working at all. Able to open a window.

    Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Parking space for us (mobility problems) was essential as was the tiny lift. Restaurant next door was very good. Bathroom good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room, though comfortable, was a little small. However all the rooms are under renovation, consequently the overall image is not good and there are all the sounds associated with these works from early morning. The room rate should have been reduced to reflect this and there was no indication of thi situation when booking.

    The location and convenience for enjoying Laval.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't require any room servicing during my brief stay, however cleaning staff ignored the DND sign on my door and fiddled around inside.

    Nicely located in central Laval. Electric kettle and coffee in room. Nice big TV.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable - the springs could easily be felt. The shower leaked and there was no toilet roll holder. A quiet room was requested, but the soundproofing between rooms was somewhat inadequate.

    Breakfast well worth the money - really good selection. Receptionist really helpful and allowed us to borrow an adaptor. Underground parking - reserved in advance - a definite plus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift a bit small.

    Very close to train station.right in therror middle of the town close to shops and restaurants. Friendly staff and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our reception could have been a little more welcoming. Only six secure car park spaces so need to reserve well in advance. Minute elevator.

    Excellent central location near river and old town. Nice size room with bath. International TV stations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reservation of our parking spot hadn't come through, but was very kindly solved.

    Clean room, friendly staff with good recommendations for restaurants, room was very quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    World's smallest lift - one person with luggage! Garage is small and not as clean as the rest of the hotel.

    Good, clean, recently modernised town-centre hotel. Decent bathroom, comfy bed and the best WiFi of a two-week trip round France. Handy for a walk into the old town. Friendly staff. Best of all, good value

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and there was a duvet on the bed (no separate sheet). Otherwise, all good.

    Bed very comfortable. Room and bathroom very clean. Herbal tea and kettle as well as coffee and tea in room. Very good location and nice brasserie next door.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot day and air conditioning was not working in our room, however it was cooler than outside.

    Breakfast was good and rooms comfortable. Decent restaurant next door.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We tried to book for a larger party for later this year and was told on the telephone, NO we are fully booked. When we asked at reception whilst there they told us they had lots of availability.

    This hotel is very dated and the Beds were not comfortable. It is in need of a refurbishment

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom wasn't very light. The shower was in the bath. The staff on reception werenl't very chatty or particularly welcoming. The decor in the breakfast room was dismal.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room a little cramped (we chose to walk around the corner for a croissant and coffee)

    Ideally located near to the river and opposite a nice corner bar overlooking the water. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A typical Best Western without frills but good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    Not a large selection of breakfast foods. But enough not to go hungry. Bedroom, being basic, was of good standard, this is not a boutique hotel and does not claim to be.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator extremely small, bathroom somewhat small, cleaning material was covering all entrance floor, parking was full

    Nice decoration

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost

    Very clean & great Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The quirky, friendly nature of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, Alsace restaurant next door. Good lock up parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived early, offered breakfast while waiting to check in , it was on the House ,now that’s great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Tea and coffee making facilities. Friendly welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally clean,staff all very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rien

    L’isolation Phonique. La situation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was small

    Bathroom was lovely size and plenty of tea and coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laval has practically zero Taxi availability

    Clean and comfortable, great location, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking limited

    Excellent brassiere next door staff friendly &* helpful in hotel breakfact good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike

    Our room was bright and spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly updated, spotless and well equipped, for once plugs and mirrors exactly where you need them and a good light and airy bathroom with a window

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good hotel. I will come back again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and we had a poor view over the rear roof

    Very good location and a an excellent restaurant next door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheerful reception and excellent disabled facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather claustrophobic bedroom and difficult shower to get into for my elderly partner

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lobby is really ugly

    newly refurbished rooms, clean comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift, but kept fit climbing 3 flights

    Older property with elegant staircase; good breakfast; spacious room; comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    fantastic location, good value (50% off) parking for the motorbike

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, good size bedroom and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window to the backyard, bed smell coming from outside, small bathroom, no minibar.

    Good breakfast, central location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one thing I was not very happy is that there was some noise (maybe boiler, or something else) all night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the entrance to the parking was not signposted and incredibly tight

    the newly re-furbished rooms were lovely the lobby a bit garish

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small and fairly plain. I would rate as 3 star. Breakfast was very basic.

    The location is nice and central.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dowdy. Depressing Smokers room but we ordered no smoking

    Clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but good value

    Good central position, easy to find by bike.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was rather small but adequate.

    All was good with friendly staff. We were able to park easily in street nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room haven´t been cleaned the second day

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Very good central location, nice staff, clean room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention.

    Excellent hotel, very comfy and clean, ideal central location, very friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cramped, stuffy, air con did not work properly, but could not open windows because extreme traffic noise and fumes.

    Location was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Le lit! The bed can be better. I could feel the springs.

    Chambre spacieuse mais exceptionnel. Spacious room, but it was an upgrade otherwise rooms are tiny like all French hotels.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did find some excellent restaurants, but that took a while. The receptionists directed us to basic restaurants serving crepés.

    The situation was ideal, the rooms were comfortable and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car Parking only for 6 vehicles. Must reserve if parking required; also very narrow.

    Closeness to town. Good restaurant next door to hotel. Quite room, but must request.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient position. Within easy reach of restaurants but there was an excellent restaurant next door, you did not need to get wet as they shared a canopy. On site parking.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast -was not well organised, poor menu

    Convenient location, close proximity to the river bank and old town. A parking place good for SUVs with a box on top.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wasn't aware that we had to pre book the car park. Wasn't too bad as we parked right outside the front door for 2 E as on road parking was free after 18.00hrs

    Very comfortable, spacious and clean room. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good to have tea making facilities and a safe in the room. Very convenient for town centre and restaurants. Convenient garage - worth paying extra for.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning did not work. We complained, and the staff member did come to the room, but could only close the shutters, which did not help the problem

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lift was dreadful tiny corridors dark and dismal,,,room was good size but very basic,,,breakfast room small and stuffy,

    The location isn't bad on a very busy road but it was close to the river ,,,,reception pleasant on arrival

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel in a great location in the centre of LAVAL. the bonus of underground parking was great (book in advance as the garage has limited spaces). large rooms were a real plus.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I book this hotel on behalf of my colleagues attending business trips, I find the communication between myself and the staff to be great and they are always very helpful. As I wish to pay for the room on a company card, I can always get through to a member of staff to take my payment prior to my staff attending the hotel. Every member of staff that has visited this hotel enjoy it here and never have any complaints, therefore we are more than happy to continue using it when we visit our Offices in Laval!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast. As part of the service included within the reservation the breakfast options from "open buffet" where really poor. The service in the "food area" could be more often and only limited space for siting.

    I like the location and the comphort of the room. Fast free WiFi make my visit much more productive. Location is next to really great restaurant so dinners where really nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit Noisy near the main street but also makes visiting and shopping easy since hotel is near everything!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • People with friends

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking very small, elevator small, breakfast really poor.

    Room are ok, location perfect in the downtown.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The little lift.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is a bit sombre and the price expensive for Laval.

    I slept well and the bed and bathroom were very clean.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: