Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western La Metairie 3 stars

1 Rue De Fouquieres, 62199 Gosnay, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Gosnay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 130 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.1
    Convenient but basic not what you expect for a Best Western
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms feel very dated and could do with modernisation you have to walk over to the other hotel if you want a drink as no bar facility and then you feel you should have booked that one but price is the factor

    The hotel is right next to three good restaurant and had plenty of good carparking and an is in easy reach of Eurotunnel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly staff, nice room and grounds lovely to walk around, with very nice restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to speak/understand the language very well, it would of been nice to have a choice of News channels in English. Or subtitles! On television.

    Room was ready on our arrival, clean and easy access. Friendly, welcoming staff, happy to help with directions on places to visit, supplying items missing from our room. Grounds were lovely to wonder around and nicely kept.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel to stay at for the Somme or a channel crossing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism was that the breakfast was poor value.

    Very nice hotel with good parking and large clean rooms. Would definitely stay there again. There are 2 very good restaurants on the site.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Still a good stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more choice in the restaurant would be good.

    We have been staying here for many years as a one night stop over on the way to/from the south. The rooms are clean and comfortable although they are starting to look a little tired. The restaurants on site are good but the food is becoming more niche oriented.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Welcome oasis near Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    About 45 minutes drive from Calais - you MUST have SavNat in order to find the place - middle of nowhere, but only a 10 min drive from the motorway.

    We were driving in from UK/Calais and booked a family room at 10pm, last minute - arrived around midnight - amazingly, the staff had received the booking, were up and ready for us, and had a lovely triple room with a huge bathroom available, and a huge free parking lot for our large car with bikes. Location is very isolated so quite safe for the car/bikes. Breakfast standard continental fare.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice stopover ~ 50 mins from Calais for journeys to and from Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a few flying ants in the room but soon dealt with them. Shouldn't have opened the window but it was very warm! Correct entrance not easy to spot as it seemed to be located some way from grid coordinates (or I entered them incorrectly in the Satnav). Easy to spot the chateau though and there are links between the two.

    Nice big rooms. Separate (large) bathroom and WC. Great choice of restaurants - either the bistro, the distillery or in the adjacent chateau. Nice walks in the chateau gardens. Plenty of parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    No gel in shower gel and hand wash, no tea, only tisane,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gel in shower gel and hand wash, no tea, only tisane, very small bath towel, sheets old and pilled. When raised with staff asked why did not contact reception. In middle of shower? Luke warm apology, but no offer of reduction. Restaurant offered green asparagus, but produced white tinned. In middle of May!! Poor value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    the location was ideal for where we wanted to go.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not that comfortable - it was sinking down in the middle. The breakfast is 14 euros I believe which is expensive. In La Distillerie restaurant the dessert I chose (tarte tatin) was burnt underneath.

    the location was ideal for where we wanted to go. Breakfast was adequate for me. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had a good main meal in La Distillerie restaurant (recommend the cassoulet maison au confit de canard)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Good well located hotel with good parking and available restaurants to 10pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little soft for my liking however everyone's preferences are different.

    We used as we crossed into france from UK and arrived in france about 7.45pm so being roughly 50 minutes into france perfect for a stopover before a long journey the following day - the car parking and location were excellent also a couple of good restaurants available close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.5
    Excellent stay and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is a little dated and needs a longer shower screen as when you have a shower the bathroom floor ends up very wet.

    Dining in the restaurant was very pleasant with good food and wine. bed was comfy. Breakfast was a little limited but sufficient . Room was very quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Easy access from motorway.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an issue with the hot water.

    Easy access from motorway. We travel with dogs that sleep in the car & we can park outside in view of our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Good overnight on the way south/back to the UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was starting to feel a little tired and we were unable to alter the air-con to provide heating.

    We have stayed here about a dozen times when travelling south/back home. The restaurants on site (both the Vasco and the Distillerie) serve excellent food and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Just an hour from the Channel Tunnel/Calais it's an ideal overnight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Many good things, but a few glitches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the minus side, there are three things to look out for here. First, we stayed at the end of the corridor in the main building, and there is no wifi reception there. The hotel's router is not strong enough. We weren't particularly bothered, as the end of roaming charges meant we could check mail on our phones when we needed to, but those who are wifi-dependent need to ask for a room near to the reception area. The second was that the drain in our bathtub/shower was blocked up, which wasn't a lot of fun. Finally, the breakfast buffet is very basic and not worth the money the hotel charges for it. You will get enough to eat, but it's not something you'd look forward to if you stay there again.

    The hotel is part of a set of historic buildings converted from an old charterhouse. Behind the hotel are spacious gardens, including a fascinating and beautifully landscaped organic vegetable garden. You have a choice of two different types of room. Most of the rooms have direct entry from the street; some are on street level, others are one floor up. These rooms are quite attractive. There is a smaller number of rooms in the main building, where we have stayed the past two visits, and these are what you would find in any chain hotel. They are spacious and clean, which are the most important things. The site has three restaurants, although we've only ever eaten in the one that serves traditional French food. In the past we found the food there only adequate, but this time it was very good indeed. You do need to book in advance, however, because the restaurant is also popular with local residents, and not just guests at the hotel. The hotel staff are friendly, very helpful, and very competent -- 10 marks out of 10 for them. The hotel is only an hour from the Channel Tunnel, and just 4 km. from the motorway, making the location very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was so poor, we would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast terrible. Food left uncovered. Tables not cleared away after use. Only dried bread and stale croissants available. One small bowl of fresh fruit, uncovered.

    Cleanliness and choice of three restaurants for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Spectacular grounds, comfortable hotel 1 hour from Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Always very pleasant staying in this hotel which is set in the most spectacular grounds with beautiful gardens and enormous vegetable area. Truly a chateau in every sense of the word. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Access to several great restaurants on site and the hotel is only 1 hour from Calais just off the motorway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stop overnight en route from Calais and further into France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel didn't seem to have the booking in its system on arrival (I had only booked that afternoon via the booking.com app) but there wasn't a problem being accommodated.

    This hotel is on the same site as the more upmarket and expensive chateau. All three restaurants were available and we could walk in the beautiful gardens. We chose to eat in the International restaurant (mid-range) - there was a gourmet restaurant and a brasserie. We were suitably impressed. We loved our large spacious room and the hotel's breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel. Exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It had everything except a swimming pool!

    A very well run, comfortable hotel. Great location, an hour from Calais and all services provided. Very impressed and would use again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dogs barking 5am and cockrels

    extremely convenient. bed large and comfortable. on site restaurant very good- book ahead. 3restaurants on site. beautiful gardens

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    favourite stopover in France
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is fast becoming my favourite stopover in France. We have now tried both the Vasco and Distilliere restaurants, both are superb. Great food, great staff. The hotel has a large garden where we enjoyed a lovely walk after dinner. Quiet rooms at night, very peaceful and relaxing. Not far from motorway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quite expensive @ 14 euros per person & not good value for money.

    An excellent hotel with a very good evening meal in Le Vasco restaurant. Room comfortable & helpful & friendly staff. The hotel gardens & grounds were wonderful. We had difficulty in locating the hotel initially but once found it was really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Good stopover when travelling to Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent room, well equipped and comfortable and warm on arrival. The room had direct access to the grounds which was perfect when travelling with dogs. Grounds large and beautifully maintained. Ideal one night stop over.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    great stop over with great place to eat
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator in bathroom was far too hot, dangerously so, hot enough to burn. had to turn it off during the night after a close call nearly got burned.

    easy to find from motorway, just over an hour to tunnel, good parking, friendly helpful staff, good restaurant for evening meal, Had a lovely meal at Vasco, with good service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath drain was blocked and slow to drain. Under the bath rim needed cleaning as there was mould there.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent restaurants, choice of 3. Very nice continental breakfast. Plenty of parking. Excellent location for A26.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Great stopover en route to Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty basic breakfast and coffee sometimes too strong or too weak!

    We always stay here as it is a good spot to spend the night on our way to Calais. Friendly staff, clean rooms and 3 restaurants on site.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath mat would be helpful as the bath is surrounded by quarry tiles and when wet is quite slippery

    Lovely room, choice of restaurants. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic garden food and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic garden food and parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Mouldy bread at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy bread at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Stunning room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning room. 3 excellent restaurants on the site. Convenient location less than an hour from Calais.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Ideal stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything .it's the perfect place for an overnight stay with car parking facilities , wonderful staff and breakfast in room .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    I had a feeling that our room had been used for a dog at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a feeling that our room had been used for a dog at some stage.Maybe I was wrong ,but it was a little off putting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel for a short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor of the room was a little dark.

    Beautiful grounds - we particularly liked the kitchen garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware the crowing cockerel in the early hours

    Dinning options

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient for a night stopover on the way back to the UK via Calais
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meal but a good restaurant within 100 metres of the hotel

    Very fast Wifi is a bonus for this rural area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent overnight stay near Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms, quiet considering near motorway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Prefer the Comfort Rooms to the outside Charm rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prefer the Comfort Rooms to the outside Charm rooms. The Restaurant La Distillerie is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    pas de surprise par rapport à nos attentes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    RAS

    hotel correspondant à nos attentes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable and will certainly stay there again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at breakfast

    Everything there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location not far from the motorway with 2 restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location not far from the motorway with 2 restaurants on site to choose from

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All extremely good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.3
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More staff

    poor breakfast and the only staff member could not even cook a boiled egg!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    One hour from Calais just off the A26 so quick and easy access .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very calm .Close to A26 three restaurants on site

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Peaceful & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere Peace & quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great Destination for a fantastic weekend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tennis courts need some work. Moss under the tree line was a bit slippery.

    Loved the three restaurants and the service. Gardens were also wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast very aversge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very aversge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Booked on line and was very pleased with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent. We had a very comfortable nights sleep in a very comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    great stopover, with a choice of restaurants.
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    love the space in the charm room. Had a lovely meal again at le vasco. Lots of parking. Enjoyed a walk around the gardens after dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Excellent we would recommend to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and lovely restaurant nearby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Convenient stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Comfortable quiet rooms. Choice of restaurants. Good welcome, and easy access to and from motorway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    great place but expensive
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little over priced

    location superb with great grounds for walking the dog

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Within an hour of eurotunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to motorway and tunnel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    Safe secure and comfortable. I can relax at this place.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like the security of the place I like the gardens and the food and service at the restaurants and the service from the receptionists.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    Under an hour from Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Less than an hour from Calais. Large garden for the dogs. Our dogs stay in the car & you can park with your car near your room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    the shower head in the bathroom in our room needs fixing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower head in the bathroom in our room needs fixing otherwise absolutely no complaints

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Have stayed a number of times - although Calais is only a short drive away it adds to the holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very good - nice of be offered a menu in English

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Rooms, food, staff area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing,perfect.

    Rooms, food, staff area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.1
    Location and dog walking in the gardens
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar - overall value for money

    Location and dog walking in the gardens

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room full of character and retaining some of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was rather hot and hard to cool down unless we opened front and back windows which, since we were on the ground floor meant we felt a little vulnerable. But this was only a minor problem.

    Lovely room full of character and retaining some of the original features from whatever the building was years ago. Very comfy bed, great bathroom. This is our second stay here and we are coming again later in the year. Very handy for a 50 min sprint to Calais in the morning. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful. Would be great for a wedding.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    7.1
    all staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    arrived at 3pm and given room that had not been cleaned yet, it was sorted out quickly when pointed out. Restaurant Robert food was overpriced compared to other hotels of same standard we have stayed in.

    all staff friendly and helpful. easy access from A26

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.8
    Excellent stop over for travelling on to Geneva the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent stop over for travelling on to Geneva the next day. Very close to motor way and easy to find. Dogs welcome and space to walk around the grounds. Excellent restaurant next door.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    We have stayed here several times and we are never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be a little more imaginative and replenished more often.

    We have stayed here several times and we are never disappointed. The Charm rooms are delightful and the onsite restaurants - the Distillerie and the Vasco - are excellent. Indeed my Melon 3 ways followed by rack of lamb was one of the most memorable meals I have had for a long time and must be close to a Michelin Star level.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    Near to Calais, making for an easy drive to the Eurotunnel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathrooms are attractive to look at, but not entirely functional (you can't shower without getting loads of water all over the floor). The drains also need unblocking. But for an overnight stay this is not a lot to put up with, given the hotel's many good points.

    Near to Calais, making for an easy drive to the Eurotunnel the next day. The hotel is located on large grounds in a rural setting, with low-rise buildings and lots of open space, so you don't have the claustrophobia of a typical city hotel. There is plenty of free on-site parking, so you can leave things in your car overnight. There are three very decent restaurants on-site, so after a long day's drive you don't have to go hunting for somewhere to eat. Staff are friendly and helpful. All in all, a relaxing place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.6
    We arrived really late and our booking was wrong, BUT they...
    • Group

    I don't seem to have got wifi in the room, but not major problem

    We arrived really late and our booking was wrong, BUT they really impressed us by upgrading us to the hotel across the courtyard and opened the bar so we had a drink and a sandwich at midnight. Really pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Very interesting room - it seemed like a converted barn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It didn't bother us as it wasn't hot - but we didn't see air con.

    Very interesting room - it seemed like a converted barn. Lovely staff, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    As usual a lovely last night of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast here is very poor, I don't think we will bother again, asked for omelette waited 15 minutes and never got it. Waitress did not speak English and the reception staff had disappeared.

    As usual a lovely last night of our holiday. In the past we have stayed in the barn conversion, When asking if we could move from hotel to the barn, was advised we would be cooler in the hotel as that had air conditioning. We were very grateful later that evening.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Great location and surroundings, beautifully maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location and surroundings, beautifully maintained garden, car parking facilities and the staff were professional, friendly and very helpful. The La Vasco restaurant was good but not as good as it's neighbour Il Distillerie which unfortunately was closed on the day we were there. La Vasco was understaffed and did not make for a relaxed dinner experience. The room was vast and very comfortable with lots of facilities

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Fabulous place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fabulous place. Acres of gardens, stylish rooms with old terracotta floors and vaulted brick ceilings, direct access to outside perfect for dog. An hour from the tunnel. Will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.0
    The motel style room as we travelled with our dog.
    • Couple

    Our dog was chased by three of the dogs which had kennels in the garden and was frightened to go out the rest of our stay.

    The motel style room as we travelled with our dog. The excellent restaurant 50 metres away. The amazing kitchen garden

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    6.7
    pet friendly, gardens, helpful staff, plenty of free parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food in bistro was average a) unimaginative vegetarian offering (very basic pizza)& smallest portion of potatoes ever seen!

    pet friendly, gardens, helpful staff, plenty of free parking in grounds

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.2
    Upgraded to a better room and as always the grounds and La...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not up to the usual standard. There was a lack of supervision which was clearly required. Food was not replenished when this was clearly required and whilst it was a busy period this should have been managed better. We certainly missed Severine's excellent management. As it appears that bread is baked on site, why not offer a wider choice? We are sure this would be greatly appreciated.

    Upgraded to a better room and as always the grounds and La Distillerie restaurant were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.2
    3 good restaurants and close but not too close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The standard rooms are fine but the superior rooms in the annex are outstanding. Should have taken my own advice!

    3 good restaurants and close but not too close to the autoroute.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    Quiet comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would prefer breakfast to be included in room rate. Basic breakfast which was expensive at 13 euros pp. Parts of the room needed TLC - couldn't open the door to the mini bar, door to main wardrobe sticking, bath fittings in poor state of repair. On site restaurants a little expensive.

    Quiet comfortable room. Lovely grounds. Car parking on site.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.3
    Huge room in motel type accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No easy chairs. Very poor lighting. 3 restaurants, food good, but all expensive and no other restaurants nearby.

    Huge room in motel type accommodation. Bathroom had shower cubicle and bath. Separate loo.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.6
    The room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room became quite hot overnight and, being on the ground floor, it was not really feasible to leave windows open

    The room was spacious. It is very convenient to be able to park nearby and unload luggage. There is a good choice of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    9.2
    Gardens are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tried Vasco restaurant. Average. Next time will try the other restaurants. I suspect they will be much better.

    Gardens are lovely. Room very good. Parking in front of hotel. Convenient to motorway. Staff excellent

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.6
    The 'charme' room live up to its name.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 'charme' room live up to its name. It's very convenient for a stop over but. It would be a shame not to look around the grounds while you are here. The only problem was that the room was rather too warm. The Distilleries restaurant was typically French, and the staff all friendly and helpful.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: