Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Le Dauphin et Le Spa du Prieuré 4 stars

29 Rue Gémare, 14000 Caen, France

#32 of 63 hotels in Caen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 920 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey in the lane outside of our room. Woke us during the night. It sounded like students celebrating.

    The decor of the room was very funky. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Restaurant for dinner.. superb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking spaces were extremely narrow and very few. However, I can't fault the hotel for this - there simply isn't that much space.

    The quality of the room was very high. It was probably refurbished not too long ago. The bathroom especially had a very modern and stylish feel to it, with a walk in shower with very high pressure and different modes. The hotel provided free parking space, which is a very nice bonus since most travelers rent a car to visit Normandie.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good value for money. Good position. Easy parking. Relaxing spa area after 400 miles in a motorbike. Ate out but restaurant looked very good and certainly popular. Staff extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we got there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed on bank holiday as were most places in town. Difficult to get dinner ( However staff did ring around and found one open) Difficult car parking for large car ( but grateful that they did have some in centre of town)

    Great location. Helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location proximity to Caen city and castle, very accessible to Caen war sites and museum, visitors must trip to Falaise and take in the "route de cidre" as well as war sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking was terrible. Location was difficult to find. Much time was wasted simply getting in and out of Caen.

    Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Food in dining room was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. All facilities were an expensive extra. Had to ask to have the heating on as the room was freezing cold day and night, was initially given an electric heater but then the heating came on. Parking was very tight especially with dinner guests parking making parking an art form

    A great city central location. Friendly, helpful, very polite staff. Our room was on its own floor so no disturbances from other rooms etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking was very challenging - too few spaces, crammed in at funny angles We had to open our window, which the maid kept closing to cool off our room, even though it was never hot outside. The "double bed" was two singles pushed together. The croissants were not good at breakfast.

    The location was great and the staff was helpful and friendly. The restaurant was very good for dinner, albeit a little formal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There was a bottle of mineral water and a packet of three biscuits on arrival along with some tea and coffee bags etc. We usually had to ask for more tea bags and milk but the water and biscuits were not provided again. The daily rate for the room was the same for the nine nights so why no more water and biscuits? They had no answer apart from that I was right "in theory". Whist there is a car park, it is an awkward shape and most people did not park within the marked out spaces, making it very difficult if one arrived late to fit the car into a available space

    The hotel is right in the centre of Caen by the Chateau which was perfect for visiting the sights and restaurants and bars. The breakfast was superb and the service was exceptionally good, but not worth €16 per person for the buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were received in a ground floor room with windows facing the street. The rooms are nothing special, can get better accommodation for what this hotel charges.

    Good location close to the city center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hard to say

    Dinner in the Hotel restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was comprehensive and well served/ attended There were perhaps 20 rooms in the hotel, maybe fewer, so very comfortable and quiet. Incredibly central, Caen Castle just outside, and still quiet. Town restaurants in Rue Vaugeux were a terrific cluster of good restaurants. The history of the town (William the Conqueror's capital) and his two Abbeys, for his Queen and himself, plus the Bayeux tapestry of the conquest 15 mins away by train, make it a great place for a city break. Never mind the invasion and the Battle for Normandy in WW2

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe didn't work in the room. My wife ordered Kir Royal but the champaigne was flat. Our wine at dinner had "gone off". We were not given the opportunity to try it before it was served and nobody was around to complain until after we had finished our meal. There was an offer to replace the wine after we had finished eating. When selecting a light breakfast we were not allowed to go not the dining room and had to eat in the corner of the bar area. The room was noisy and we were woken at 2 in the morning with what I think was staff leaving the hotel. I felt that there was a lack of management to ensure the quality of service provided.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast seemed expensive probably due to too many options

    Well designed bedroom with ensuite shower room, well lit and decorated retaining some of the character of the old priory. Limited off road parking which was great but you need to arrive early and do town on foot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is ridiculous - very small area, very tight spaces and odd angles. When full you have to wait for other people to leave in order you can get your car out. Not helpful when you have a ferry to catch. The receptionist was very understanding and helped us source a space that we could actually get out of though. The other area of concern was the phone ringing an early morning call at 4am to everyone in the hotel - apparently a glitch, but nevertheless rather annoying......

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible, only a small court yard. Free parking at night on the road if there is space but charges apply at 0930hrs so don't lie in. Breakfast was a typical continental but very basic and for 16 euros it was expensive.

    Great location with only a short walk into the town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is very small and we had to park in the street and feed a meter in the morning.

    The room was very spacious and the bed exceptionally comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful with good information on where to go and eat in Caen. They all spoke good English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking facilities were not adjusted to the number of guests. It was hard to find a parking place in the neighbourhood. Maximum time you could park was 2 hours then you had to remove your car (except overnight). Why not make a contract with the parkinghouse ( 7 minutes walk) to have some reservated places on reduction for the clients. I think most are willing to pay for it.

    Spacious ,clean and silent room.Great variety and fresh local products at breakfast. Friendly Staff . Outstanding dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed too hard and it took me over an hour to get to sleep as I just could not get comfortable. There was no air conditioning so the room quickly became stuffy luckily you could open the window and as it was on the first floor, we could leave it open all night.

    The room was very quiet which was just what we wanted. The hotel was well situated for visiting the sights of the town and there was car parking on site which was very convenient and safer than leaving it in the street or in a public car park. The staff we came into contact with were professional and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast, The bacon was not cooked properly, for me I like it to be crispy rather than under cooked.

    the pastries were very nice and we ha to wait for a fresh lot to be baked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a problem with the shower when I arrived which was quickly fixed. The safe in the room didn't work.

    The staff were excellent. Very helpful. I didn't eat breakfast lunch or dinner at the hotel as I preferred to walk out and find somewhere different. There are a number of restaurants and cafes within a five-ten minute walk. It was ideal to secure a carparkng space on site but there weren't many!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Use of the pool was €15 each! Room was unbelievably noisy with appalling sound proofing. My complaint was met with a shrug of the shoulders. If you are thinking of booking at this place, seriously, re-consider.

    The batroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slope around entrance difficult for my husband who walks with two sticks but staff helped and all was well. Room quite small but perfectly alright.

    Good restaurant - very helpful staff Room on the ground floor (as requested) near the road but no disturbance - slept well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC. Staff spoke very little English, which was a problem with basic questions. Restaurant not consistently open.

    Great location. Breakfast on site daily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In regards to parking at the hotel, it's on a first come first served basis and if you are lucky enough to get a space, it's not that easy to park if you have a large car, the spaces are tight and not very much room to manoeuvre. But it is free of charge. The room didn't have aircon, opening the window meant we were overlooked. During our stay the temperatures were around 30C/85F - No fan provided. The receptionist on check in wasn't very helpful at all, unable to help store our luggage whilst we parked the car off-site, or help locate a reasonable, secure, carpark. A different receptionist on check out was very friendly & helpful.

    The Best Western Le Dauphin Hotel is fairly central with a short stroll to either the Place Saint-Sauveur or the Quai in the other direction. The room was a reasonable size & well maintained. Worth noting the free Wifi was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy rooms. Dated. STAFF. Described as a spa hotel and yet it would have cost us (a family of 3) an extra 45euros ( above the 135 euros paid for the room) to use the miniscule pool.booking.com should be ashamed to associate with this dump.

    Rudest staff I have ever met. Luckily I have recorded a video of the receptionist stating my 8 year old daughter could sleep on the street..... making her cry

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were not advised that the restaurant would be closed which was very annoying no check out staff at reception at 7.15am when we had to leave to catch ferry no milk or teaspoons in room for making a drink

    position of hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seriously overpriced compared to other hotels, also an expensive breakfast for what is it and mini bar is paying while we expected it to be included in the price.

    The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was newly renovated but badly needed air conditioning as it was not possible to open the windows. Car park is not suitable for large vehicles

    Great choice for breakfast. Excellent dinner with varied menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot that we could not sleep - no air conditioning or fans. The bar was over priced as was the cost of the room for one night.

    The parking was good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was without air conditioning (in a four star hotel during the summer heat). Staff offered a room with a/c in another wing on the third floor but without lift. It was a bad experience to find all this after a long car ride in the evening hours. They were not willing to refund the money although they could transfer us to another hotel of the same chain. The receptionist was very helpful and furnished us with a ventilator. This was not a four-star experience.

    The efforts the staff made to accomodate us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning in room. Windows opened but very noisey - especially the bloke screaming & shouting at 4.30am! No notice of Fun Run in the city! Couldn't access hotel, got very lost driving round the city which was blocked. All roads blocked off until 10pm. Hotel should have pre-warned booked in guests. Shoddy service which was unfortunate. Was forced to walk 15 mins with heavy bags to check in.

    Room was lovely, beds were very comfortable, shower was amazing! Right in the centre of town which was very convenient. It would have been perfect 10/10, if hotel warned us of the fun run. We could have got there earlier.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows not so comfortable. But that was a minor issue. everything else was great.

    Staff were extremely helpful. It was in a great location, the room was brand new and very modern. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Professional, clean, efficient is the way I would characterize this hotel. Quick wifi. The experienced staff gave personal attention to details. I had an expertly prepared meal in the dining room, even though it was late and the kitchen was about to close.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator (for those not so mobile)! Very little parking!

    They have a superb chef, restaurant WELL attended for good reason! Recently renovated Rooms tout comforts + Wifi. Above average Helpful & courteous Staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The croissants were waxy and soggy.

    The room was quiet and very comfortable. I was attending an event at the university, so the location was perfect. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is small and parking was very tight !

    We stayed in Caen after arriving on the evening ferry from Portsmouth - The location for Caen old town centre was good, although we arrived too late to explore. The welcome, check in, check out were good and the room was comfortable. We knew that the hotel kitchen would be closed when we arrived, but they kindly supplied us with beer and sandwiches on arrival..

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is no where near the standard of a UK four star. The room was small basic and very cold Fixtures and fittings were cheap and of poor quality. Horrid

    Good Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HIDDEN CHARGES and POOR SEVICE. DON"T STAY HERE We booked the property because it had a spa featured in its online advertisement but it never mentioned there was an additional 15 euros per person cost for using it! (It did mentioned there were charges for facials, massage, etc, which is understandable.) We pointed this out to hotel manager when we were charged 30 euros for a 15 minute dip in the pool, but they refused to do a charge back. There was no sign posted about the charges before one entered the facility. Also for this 15 euros one got ripped small towels -- the size of a hand cloth -- to use at the pool -- certainly not 4-star quality. also, we left very early and forgot to mention that we drank a can of coke. they tracked us down via email and requested payment for this "lost" item . . . we have no problem paying for this but we feel we got totally ripped off with the spa services. Also the attitude of the morning manager was very insulting. We were paying in cash and the manager was put out that he actually had to come from the bureau to the front desk to accept the payment instead of letting the lady at the desk process it using a credit card. Also, the ad said there free parking but there are only 8 parking spaces so if you don't arrive early, you're out of luck. you have to find street parking in a very crowded neighborhood. All in all, very deceptive advertising and an establishment not to be trusted.

    the location was central

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs up to the accommodation are narrow but there is a tiny lift for those who struggle. Would've like to have seen a bit more enthusiasm and smiles from the staff!

    The interconnecting rooms were great for us as a family of 4. Bathrooms were modern, clean and the shower was just what i needed! Le Dauphin Restaurant is fine dining and they were very accommodating for our children (8 & 6) and were able to offer to cook a meal off the menu which was brilliant. Food and service was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the place is advertised as a Spa hotel only that you have to pay £15.00 per person as a guest of the hotel to enjoy the facilities which where less then welcoming. No staff in the Spa, you have to walk across the car park to the reception to get a towel etc....... we booked the hotel to have a rest in the Spa which we could not have at the end ..... Never again Best Western

    Nothing really very disappointing that this place holds 4 starts !!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was Tiny! One lap and you're at the end, also you have to pay £15 so I was very disappointed. The room was cold with thin bed linen and in winter wasn't good! Also the room was basic and maximum 3 star. Plus the location was very very noisy so We could sleep. Worse of all was the shower. It was hot and cold throughout and using the tap and flushing the toilet affected the temperature so I decided not to shower as want sure it was toilet water. There was also no power with the shower. The next day I politely tried to explain to the lady who was working my concerns and she shouted at me and i was horrified. I'll also be complaining to booking.com as I use them all the time and they're usually accurate with their reviews but this was bad and they should know.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle in the bedroom didn't work and the bacon, hash browns and sausages for breakfast were cold and tough. A shame after such a good dinner.

    Dinner was exceptionally good served by delightful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking very small and difficult to manoeuvre with large car. Restaurant rather expensive. 'Rapid' breakfast not so rapid! WiFi rather unreliable and slow.

    Large, comfortable and well appointed room. Very comfortable large bed. Extremely helpful staff. Excellent restaurant. Good location for centre of Caen.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind of false advertising listing as "spa." Also, parking can be hit and miss if you arrive late. They don't have enough parking spots if hotel is fully booked.

    Great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Manager's attitude. Air con unit was not working when we arrived. We were in a garret at the top of the hotel and it was 30 degrees outside but like a sauna inside the room. When they got the unit working it made little difference and was still too hot. Manager effectively told us to suck it up and then charged us for bottled water from the bar rather than plastic bottles. We left after the second night. Bar prices were astronomical. I have paid less in 5 star hotels. Would not go back there.

    Location was fine, a short walk to the castle and the centre. Breakfast was good and the staff in general were good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is very small although there is on street parking (payable) close by The rooms are very small The pool is not real size and a very expensive extra charge for the facility

    The location of this hotel is very good with plenty of bars and restaurants in the immediate area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvets are too hot for this time of year, a sheet and rug would be better.

    The room was spacious, the parking was nice and close, it was very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and no staff on arrival so had to carry bags up three flights. Not a great area and restaurant was closed, breakfast was horrible, bathroom door wouldn't stay closed, no air control. All way over priced.

    The bed was comfortable, room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking this hotel, I telephoned first. I asked was the restaurant open. I was told YES. I also asked was the Spa available, I was told YES. I asked was there a room that had air con, I was told they only had three rooms with air con. They told me they had a comfort room available with air con at an extra price. So I payed extra for a comfort room. They told me parking was available on the hotel car park. On my arrive, after a 7 hour journey, I went to my room. It was not a comfort room. Small at the back of the hotel, the window could not open as a shelf had been put over half of it. I went to put the air con on.... No air con. I telephoned down to reception, to as where is the switch for air con. They said we don't have air con in that room. Plus now you are on the phone will you move your car and park it one the main road as the staff need to get there cars in. Later I go down to the spa..... No Spa......it's closed for the season..... I go to reception in the evening and asked for a table for two ...... No CHEFF......he's on holiday... So no food in hotel.... I asked well what about breakfast ... The reply was.... Oh there is a breakfast.... Next morning .... There was a breakfast.... A young boy was doing breakfast...... We got served this....... See pic..... I just had a coffee..... I went to speak to someone in charge.... I got no where.... I was just asked was it a boy or girl who I spoke to on the phone......

    We was glad to leave this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning not working in the room (so we had 27 degrees in the room, ridiculous gym (very small space with 3 machines in total, where tapis roulant not working and not even mats available), swimming pool available under payment - but didn't try. A way too expensive considering the period of the year and the facilities offered. Breakfast not included. Pretentious in my opinion

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa facilities were a little disappointing and were not worth the 15 euros per person extra charge expected. We ended up not using the spa although we had brought our bathing costumes especially.

    Location and convenient parking -but be early as parking is limited

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked hotel based on on-site parking, which turned out to be full. I had to pay for on street parking. The staff did not care and were very unhelpful. The room i had was facing the main street. It was very very noisy all night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A menu in English would have been helpful.

    The scrambled eggs were great and freshly cooked. The restaurant was excellent. The help and support by the staff was excellent. The location next to William's castle was an unexpected delight.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic hotel - nice rooms but no other amenities.

    Very accommodating staff, great restaurant - dinner was very tasty and wait staff very attentive, comfortable updated rooms

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at rear of hotel was noisy on a Saturday night, voices shouting & singing from nearby bars until 5am.

    Excellent location close to centre of Caen. Limited free parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was noisy at times as we were at the back of the hotel and the neighbours stayed up late. Having to ask for items to be replenished eg. soap, milk etc.

    Our room although fairly small was comfortable and provided most things we needed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight parking spaces

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add here

    The owners and the staff were extremely helpful and clearly wanted to help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space in the room

    The beds and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not value for money. It was rather poor in selection and service.

    location and style of property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More places to plug in electronics.. as sign of the times..

    Welcoming even with a late arrival,, good food, comfy room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean with everyday clean up service. The reception is very friendly too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a nice hotel, if a bit pricey.

    Beds comfortable. Did not eat, as leaving on boat for England early.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SPA is too small 2 people max then it’s overcrowded

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was too much expensive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was OK but very limited choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit small. Breakfast expensive at 15 euro.

    Great location. Newly refurbished. Clean and modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very small bed. Onsite parking is limited.

    Very close to town centre and historic site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found it a little expensive.

    Location is very good, staff very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, they had so many different items to choose from. Delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    It was a perfect place to relax enjoy good food the staff are friendly and professional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing expensive on breakfast and drinks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on the 2nd floor on a part out of the hotel. I felt like put away... didn't like it.

    hotel near the casttle"

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up at 4am by automatic early morning call in both rooms which we hadn't booked

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value "speedy breakfast". Plenty of coffee - a plus!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: